• Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Sep 3, 2013
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 71
  2. Negative: 7 out of 71
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    40
    If you will play literally anything featuring Total War and Rome in the same title and don't value your time, this is for you. [Nov 2013, p.80]
  2. 40
    The series stays put and to add insult to injury, this installment is half-baked. Looks beautiful, plays like a chore. [Issue#234]
  3. Sep 16, 2013
    40
    In time, it may well become a great strategy game to stand alongside the franchise’s true classics. But for now, it’s a bloated mess, and it’s unfair for the developers and publishers to take everyone’s money and then give them a game that has so many obvious problems. Maybe Creative Assembly and SEGA will learn a lesson. Maybe Total War fans will. Unfortunately, I’m not optimistic.
  4. Sep 13, 2013
    40
    In six months time Rome 2 could be a decent game. At present, it’s in desperate need of a lengthy patching schedule to shore up the walls against a barbarian horde of troubles.
  5. Sep 10, 2013
    40
    This reckless, half-cocked release is not just insulting to the thousands of gamers who’ll pay full price to receive an inferior product that others will buy cut-price a few months down the line when it’s finally been chopped and changed into a playable state, but detrimental and damaging to a team of developers who clearly have a real passion and love for the games they create.
  6. Sep 6, 2013
    40
    Rome: Total War is one of the most brilliant games I've ever played. Total War: Rome II inverts far more than the name. This does not channel the greatest military empire in history so much as the pale shadow of its ending; a bloated, technically corrupt and unfocused mess.
  7. Sep 6, 2013
    20
    I am astonished at the state of this game. Did they think that I wouldn’t notice the clumsy interface, the wretched documentation, the absolutely untenable naval combat, the weird bugs, the lock-ups, the game-killing glitches? Did they think I wouldn’t notice the AI? Did they really think this was an acceptable AI for a single-player game? A single player game with disappointing multiplayer compared to the clever multiplayer in their last release?
User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 3410 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Sep 4, 2013
    0
    So after I played over 10 hours, I will adjust my 10/10 to a 4/10. The AI is just too stupid, a donkey i a compliment to them! I can defeat 3 armys with 1 on legendery! The AI is killing the game.. Also, i have lag... while I can run all other newest games on ultra settings! I have to tune down alot of the settings to have 20+ fps.... stupid framerate! If they fix all of this, i will change again to a 8/10! I am very sad about this.... Full Review »
  2. Sep 3, 2013
    2
    Horrible UI. Horrendously confusing unit cards. Poorly optimized. Fix the triremes. Where is my guard button. Make a unit card that covers half my screen.

    2/10 for releasing.

    Glad I paid 60$ for beta testing.
    Full Review »
  3. Sep 3, 2013
    0
    It is broken. As per all CA games. They sell it to customers. Expect us to be the beta tester. Xmas comes about and people can buy the ready game at half the price...

    In all srs. They should not be allowed to do this time after time. They need to spend some of the preorder money on testing/optimisation.

    I will not be buying any CA game again. And this comes from an avid total war gamer since the beginning.
    Full Review »