• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 71 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 3596 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Become the world’s first superpower and command the most incredible and vast war machine of the Ancient world. Dominate the enemies of your glorious empire by military, economic and political means. Your ascendency will yield admiration from your followers but will also attract greed andBecome the world’s first superpower and command the most incredible and vast war machine of the Ancient world. Dominate the enemies of your glorious empire by military, economic and political means. Your ascendency will yield admiration from your followers but will also attract greed and jealousy, even from your closest allies. Will betrayal strike you down, or will you be the first to turn on old friends? How much are you ready to sacrifice for your vision of Rome? Will you fight to save the Republic, or plot to rule alone as Dictator — as Emperor? Total War: Rome 2. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 71
  2. Negative: 7 out of 71
  1. Sep 2, 2013
    100
    Rome II is a testament to all that is great about PC gaming and should be a must buy for all its followers.
  2. Sep 2, 2013
    90
    Total War: Rome 2 is pure enjoyment. The strengths of the first installments are still there, mostly in the form of the diversity between different factions and armies. The limited amount of armies, freedom in missions and handy execution of 'auto resolve' only add on to this. It might not look as great as the images might have you suspect, but it's still an easy recommendation.
  3. Sep 9, 2013
    90
    Armed with a new engine, Rome II looks great, plays smoothly, and will be a challenge to both veterans and novices.
  4. Sep 2, 2013
    80
    Everything kind of just plods along and while you will get moments of brilliance, moments of wonder… they’re too easily buried by a startling amount of mediocrity. Total War: Rome 2 is a perfectly adequate/decent game. It should have been a bloody brilliant game.
  5. Sep 13, 2013
    80
    If you’re a hardcore strategy fan it’s definitely worth a look, and if you’re new to the genre and have the patience to learn, it’s not a bad place to start.
  6. Sep 11, 2013
    72
    The sporadic moments of greatness, when you’re storming enemy walls or have finally brokered a peace agreement, are swallowed by tedium. With patience, your inner imperialist is satisfied as you skillfully cultivate a sprawling empire. It’s too bad you have to put up with so much to get there.
  7. Sep 6, 2013
    20
    I am astonished at the state of this game. Did they think that I wouldn’t notice the clumsy interface, the wretched documentation, the absolutely untenable naval combat, the weird bugs, the lock-ups, the game-killing glitches? Did they think I wouldn’t notice the AI? Did they really think this was an acceptable AI for a single-player game? A single player game with disappointing multiplayer compared to the clever multiplayer in their last release?

See all 71 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Sep 3, 2013
    10
    Total War ROME 2 it's just a deep beatiful strategy game like every other game of the total war series! Don't be fooled by the bad reviewTotal War ROME 2 it's just a deep beatiful strategy game like every other game of the total war series! Don't be fooled by the bad review couse it has some imperfection but WHATEHELL it's only the performance that need to be improved and some Ai adjustement nothing more! Keep it classic and buy this game because it deserve it. I gave this a 10 couse there are people that give it 0 while they have played like 5 min into the game and then they keept playing Ride to hell Retribution. You will love this game as soon you start the campaign! Expand
  2. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    I've been a fan of the series for 10+ years. This game was pretty much almost everything I hoped it would be. I'm a fan of the bigger campaignI've been a fan of the series for 10+ years. This game was pretty much almost everything I hoped it would be. I'm a fan of the bigger campaign maps, and felt somewhat hindered by the size of Shogun 2. This game lets you build a massive empire. Since purchasing the game, I have had 0 crashes, and with the patches the CPU turn times have been greatly reduced to the point where they don't bother me. The one thing with this game is that you need a strong gaming CPU to handle it. Most of the complaints here are from people who simply just don't have a good enough CPU to run the game so they blast it because they feel cheated or something. The battles against the CPU could be tougher, but honestly, it's not that big of a deal. I really think most of the people who rated this game outrageously low are the same people who complain every time a new Total War game comes out. As a long time Total War fan, this game is a must have. Expand
  3. Sep 16, 2013
    6
    Rome 2 is a disappointment, however not a travesty. All those giving it 0's and 1's are just in the heat of the moment about how much of aRome 2 is a disappointment, however not a travesty. All those giving it 0's and 1's are just in the heat of the moment about how much of a disappointment it was. I can play this game for 66 hours, because i want to experience Rome like i experienced it all those years ago. It doesn't bring anything new to the game, it is just a streamlined new looking box, with the content being hollow and annoying. Please don't give this game a extremely low score because if you compare it to, for instance, ride to hell redemption, i would play Rome any day of the week over it. Rome can be saved here with patches, but its going to leave a nasty scar Expand
  4. Sep 4, 2013
    2
    Really big disappointment. I don't have any of the graphical lag problems that many people are complaining. It's not like any Total war gameReally big disappointment. I don't have any of the graphical lag problems that many people are complaining. It's not like any Total war game from the series... the campaign map is actually pretty nice and an improvement on Rome 1 but the battles really let the game down.

    Firstly the AI is really bad and predictable... secondly the strategy element it gone as you just charge your men in and hope you rout the enemy army and thirdly the battles don't last more than 6 minutes most of the time and 3 minutes is your men marching which means (like point 2) there is no time for any flanking moves etc, armies don't hold formation anyway so it all ends up in a big blob of fighting.

    Won't even go into the customizing generals part because they die in 20 turns (because turns are yearly and not seasons anymore). You find yourself just giving your next general the same stuff and not really caring because he will be dead soon anyway.. rinse and repeat.

    Co-op campaign? Great idea.. sadly me and a friend waited 3 minutes after each turn for the AI to run its course on the 114 or whatever factions... over 300 turns that's a lot of time just sat there staring at circles.

    Advise: Save your money until CA can fix the game or play the Superior Medieval total war
    Expand
  5. Sep 5, 2013
    1
    Horrible AI

    Sluggish graphics Poorly optimized Lacks any of the soul of other Total War games. An abysmal launch that is
    Horrible AI

    Sluggish graphics

    Poorly optimized

    Lacks any of the soul of other Total War games.

    An abysmal launch that is characteristic of Creative Assembly.

    Paid reviewers got paid to give this game high marks. The average joe who had to spend $60.00 on this got taken advantage of. Avoid at all costs!
    Expand
  6. Feb 17, 2015
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Terrible mechanics, enemy agent a permanent stop my army and the enemy was able to capture two of my main city, after which I lost and then went out and departed this game. HOW? As a small bum could stop an army of thousands of people for 5 years? !!!! 1 day maybe 2 days, too, the week is almost impossible, but not f***ing 5 YEARS! Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2013
    0
    Rome II is proof that the current system of "professional" reviewers is utterly broken or corrupt. As commercial magazines and websites (whoRome II is proof that the current system of "professional" reviewers is utterly broken or corrupt. As commercial magazines and websites (who rely on advertising money from game makers) pass out 8's and 9's to this newest entry of the Total War Series, long-time players and fans weep tears of sadness. Gone is the tactical depth the series was famous for. Gone is the strategic depth that the series was famous for. This game is a step backward in almost every way, and fans know it. Dumbed down, and made into an arcade-like casual game, Rome II may sadly mark the end of the Total War Series. If consumers keep buying dumbed down versions of previously awesome games, and reviewers keep showering them with fake praise, then the industry as a whole is spiraling down the toilet. If you haven't played a Total War Game, and want to know why they are beloved by fans around the world, try Rome I, Medieval 2, or Shogun 2. Farewell Total War Series. I will miss you. Expand

See all 1763 User Reviews