Total War: Shogun 2 PC

  • Publisher: Sega
  • Release Date: Mar 15, 2011
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1197 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 12, 2015
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
  2. Apr 8, 2011
    9
    An utterly brilliant sleep stealer!
    Minor bugs and limited Campaign modes aside,Shogun 2 is a gorgeous,well thought out strategy title.If you have any interest in strategy,logistics,history,ninja,diplomacy or samauri,you must play this game.
  3. Jun 19, 2013
    9
    Never played multipalyer for this game, but I did like the campaign mode. I am an avid Total War fan all the way to the first Shogun game, so I was giddy when I heard they were making a modern sequel. As I expected, it is much similar to the first game but with massive improvements in graphics, AI, game elements, and gameplay. The AI is still not the best, but it still does a good job andNever played multipalyer for this game, but I did like the campaign mode. I am an avid Total War fan all the way to the first Shogun game, so I was giddy when I heard they were making a modern sequel. As I expected, it is much similar to the first game but with massive improvements in graphics, AI, game elements, and gameplay. The AI is still not the best, but it still does a good job and generally makes smart moves. Sometimes the AI definitely gets to be in a pain in the neck when they make a move that I unfortunately failed to see coming and they begin razing my towns ugh! But that's part of the fun of this game.

    The best part, other than the actual strategic elements on the campaign map, are of course the real-time battles that you can dive into. My gaming rig thankfully can handle maxed out graphics, and this baby is GORGEOUS! I wish there was blood and gore though; I honestly haven't checked if there's a mod or DLC for that yet.

    I wish the mini-cut scenes for agents were more varied, but as always I am intrigued to watch and see whether they succeed or fail. Speaking of cut scenes, the generals' speeches before every battle are always fun to listen to and watch. Yes, they if you think about it they are kinda funny and cheesy, but if you set your mind to it you do appreciate that they try to make it inspirational and immersive that way.

    While some reviews here complain that all it really comes down to is who has the bigger army, particularly in caste sieges, I beg to differ. I have won countless battles now in my dozens of hours of gameplay where I was outnumbered, sometimes even 2:1. What truly matters is unit experience, unit type, and how you deploy them in the battlefield.

    One grip I do have about the sieges is that the fortress/city or whatever aren't realistic or as expansive/detailed as you would expect one to be. It's mostly a huge empty space where your army is deployed, guard towers (if you have any), maybe a building or two and a shrine, and then the walls. That's about it, which is unrealistic. That said, it is nice to see there are buildings beyond the walls, like small villages around the main city, but again even those aren't as big as they should be.

    One of the best RTS games you can play, with samurais and ninjas! How awesome is that?? Very.
    Expand
  4. Aug 28, 2011
    8
    Shogun 2: Total War is a great game in a great series. It is, naturally, focused on 16th century Japan and returns to the more traditional 'swords and archers' roots of the Total War series. The aesthetics and music are very pleasing and serve to draw you into the setting, and the battles are, for the most part, as fun as ever, though cavalry is decidedly less-than-useful in this outing.Shogun 2: Total War is a great game in a great series. It is, naturally, focused on 16th century Japan and returns to the more traditional 'swords and archers' roots of the Total War series. The aesthetics and music are very pleasing and serve to draw you into the setting, and the battles are, for the most part, as fun as ever, though cavalry is decidedly less-than-useful in this outing. Specialist units such as ninja and monks function very well, and you will quickly learn to both fear and love them. The only serious complaint I have is that Shogun 2 is perhaps TOO focused. In Empire/Napoleon and even Medieval 2, you had the ability to expand and invade other continents or areas of interest and fight varied units of other cultures. Shogun 2 dials that back and you are pretty much stuck in Japan fighting reskins of your own army, just with a different specialty (swords, spear, bow etc.) Multiplayer is a blast, however. I don't feel Shogun 2 deserves a 9, but I can't give an 8.5 so I'll go with a reluctant 8. Expand
  5. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    After 50+ solo campaigns and 2k hours multiplayer, all DLC plus maxed out avatars, I can confirm that this is a good game. The multiplayer is the true core of the game and close to perfect if you can be patient with the standard rough edges of the online community. However the single player game is finally pretty BAD. Diplomacy, trade and political economy are all undeveloped. Shogun 2 isAfter 50+ solo campaigns and 2k hours multiplayer, all DLC plus maxed out avatars, I can confirm that this is a good game. The multiplayer is the true core of the game and close to perfect if you can be patient with the standard rough edges of the online community. However the single player game is finally pretty BAD. Diplomacy, trade and political economy are all undeveloped. Shogun 2 is just another case of the same old campaign: conquer 50 territories and win. Nothing has changed or improved from the first Shogun in this regard. CA needs to put much more time and effort into designing a campaign that has more to it than a boring, repetitive, unrealistic mechanical expansion of a realm. They could learn a thing or two from Paradox Interactive and at least attempt to add some dimensions of diplomacy and pschological nuance to the machine. Diplomacy and trade need total (pun) re-building. And the economic management of territiories also needs much more depth. In all honesty Rome 2 will not be a better game if CA only continues to upgrade the visuals and animations. Much more care thought and effort is needed in building a campaign structure that actually requires thought and diplomatic effort to win. Expand
  6. May 24, 2011
    9
    The best Total War game ever made. It takes features that Empire introduced and perfects them (such as naval combat and a tech tree). The graphics are gorgeous, but you will need a computer built for gaming to run them at the highest level. The gameplay takes all the good from every previous Total War game and leaves all the bad. It's a huge, epic game of strategy and tactics that I thinkThe best Total War game ever made. It takes features that Empire introduced and perfects them (such as naval combat and a tech tree). The graphics are gorgeous, but you will need a computer built for gaming to run them at the highest level. The gameplay takes all the good from every previous Total War game and leaves all the bad. It's a huge, epic game of strategy and tactics that I think will impress any true strategy gaming fan, and probably even a few people who aren't fans of strategy games. If you've enjoyed any of the previous Total War games, this is a must buy. Expand
  7. Aug 12, 2011
    9
    Shogun 2 is a fantastic addition the Total War series. The game improves upon the original Shogun in nearly every way. Visually, it is the best looking Total War game to date and frankly one of the most impressive looking games I've ever seen. New to Shogun 2 is character progression. Your daimyo, generals, and even agents like metsuke and ninja gain rank as they successfully performShogun 2 is a fantastic addition the Total War series. The game improves upon the original Shogun in nearly every way. Visually, it is the best looking Total War game to date and frankly one of the most impressive looking games I've ever seen. New to Shogun 2 is character progression. Your daimyo, generals, and even agents like metsuke and ninja gain rank as they successfully perform tasks and win battles. Ranking up gives you points to improve abilities, like map movement speed, defense, moral, bonus to assassination attempts, etc. It's nothing revolutionary and doesn't change they way Total War games are played, but provides another level of customization in how you're sculpting your army and the tactics you choose to employ. My only complaint is that the factions don't feel very differentiated. All factions have access to the same units for the most part and the only tangible differences lie in stats for certain units. For example, the Chosokabe have better samurai archers, the Hojo have better siege units and their castles are less expensive, etc. All this boils down to is that certain faction traits or unit stats favor one strategy over another. It has little bearing on how you build your nation but more impact on how your armies fight. Multiplayer options for Shogun 2 are excellent and well executed. The main attraction here is the avatar mode in which you customize every feature of your general and are brought to a simplified campaign map. Rather than vie for territory against other players you select which territory you want to "occupy" and then fight an online battle against a human opponent. If you win, you gain the territory and whatever unit or army bonus it corresponds to. There's a more tangible sense of progression than in the singleplayer campaign as you fight to grow your avatar's army into what you truly want it to be. Another minor complaint is the campaign map interface. It's the same mess that's plagued other Total War games and takes some getting used to. Army movement in battle maps is sometimes questionable as well. Attempting to move an army without first putting it or chunks of it into groups will end in disaster without fail as the game sends groups of units seemingly wherever it wants forcing you to either move en masse as a group or micro manage unit movement to a T. Opponent AI will sometimes make strange decisions when defending forts but is generally very competent and a challenge for most players. All in all, Shogun 2 is excellent game with loads of new features and superb multiplayer content. Expand
  8. Apr 8, 2012
    8
    Fun game. The tactical side of it is great. I tend to autoresolve a lot, but there's also RTS stuff for those who like it. Multiplayer is really fun when it works (I play in co-op games), but I had a problem with turns getting stuck and had to get my friend to send me his autosave file before we could continue. Worked fine after that. This far after release that kind of quality issueFun game. The tactical side of it is great. I tend to autoresolve a lot, but there's also RTS stuff for those who like it. Multiplayer is really fun when it works (I play in co-op games), but I had a problem with turns getting stuck and had to get my friend to send me his autosave file before we could continue. Worked fine after that. This far after release that kind of quality issue really isn't acceptable, and I'm docking points for it. Expand
  9. Jul 2, 2015
    9
    This game is great in many aspects: Great graphics, I love this japanes setting, the gameplay is complex and with a strategic and tactical part very interesting. There are a lot of mods that improves the game even more. Especially the KI is better and shows great job on the battle with good maneuvers and only small mistakes (more on the easy level, that you should leave very early ;).This game is great in many aspects: Great graphics, I love this japanes setting, the gameplay is complex and with a strategic and tactical part very interesting. There are a lot of mods that improves the game even more. Especially the KI is better and shows great job on the battle with good maneuvers and only small mistakes (more on the easy level, that you should leave very early ;).
    There are some problems ingame: Realm Divide: When you have a lot of power and your victory is not so far away every KI is starting to be hostile to you and almost all of KI Clan declare war on you (even your allies). In the reality you would have no chance, but this mechanic is only designed to have only an artificial challenge -.- , so the whole Japan will not attack you at once. Is is realistic, is it fun? No. Fortunately there are mods, that changes this. Another mere little problem is the KI on the campaign part, that shows illogical moves and the same in the diplomatic system. Why on earth do my most powerful clan pay tribute to very weak clans to get a trade treaty or military agreement? They should give me money for that. Other bad points are the very small manual, for this complex game you need a good manual and not this consolish paper. I dont like the binding to steam either. 9/10 from me
    Expand
  10. Jan 22, 2012
    8
    As a complicated strategy it may be good. Maybe the best in 2011. But I'm a regular player that digests all genres and this game didn't appealed to me. It was too difficult, too complicated and did not offer as much fun as I expected it to give me. Maybe with it's developer on my back I would have understood it better. I regret that such a good game doesn't offer much for interested butAs a complicated strategy it may be good. Maybe the best in 2011. But I'm a regular player that digests all genres and this game didn't appealed to me. It was too difficult, too complicated and did not offer as much fun as I expected it to give me. Maybe with it's developer on my back I would have understood it better. I regret that such a good game doesn't offer much for interested but not so strategy-oriented players... Expand
  11. Sep 28, 2013
    8
    This is a very good game, and I love it.

    However it does game design a disservice to pretend that this is a 10/10 game. It isn't. Much as it pains me to say, this game has a number of serious design flaws that leave it a long way from perfection. First and worst is the design of the single player campaign. It seems the crew in CA are unable to grasp the key point that a factional civil
    This is a very good game, and I love it.

    However it does game design a disservice to pretend that this is a 10/10 game. It isn't. Much as it pains me to say, this game has a number of serious design flaws that leave it a long way from perfection. First and worst is the design of the single player campaign. It seems the crew in CA are unable to grasp the key point that a factional civil war requires a POLITICAL game. Personalities, loyalties, betrayals, economic considerations, deals and diplomacy SHOULD be at the heart of the experience. But NONE of that is there. CA has a very simple political model based on linear expansion of an empire. There is nothing that approaches wheeling or dealing or THINKING requires in the campaign EVER. Nor can we take any deal or alliance seriously, since the AI always breaks its deals and alliances on a whim. Over-all this is the tragedy of the creative Assembly. They have failed to grasp what was good about Rome (1). And they have failed to develop any kind of political-diplomatic engine or gameplay. A big fail.

    Beyond that all the actual war mechanics: The UI, the graphic art. unit balancing, music, voice work, in-game movies are all BRILLIANT! magnificent! Multiplayer is fantastic with the avatar system. All the nuts and bolts of a brilliant franchise are polished and chromed and gleaming. There is definitely too much time lost in loading screens. Other than that, its a fantastically built game.

    But at its heart, a true heart is missing.

    We can appreciate that in Rome 2, there is the beginning of CA trying to expand the victory conditions: they have the idea of an 'economic' or 'cultural' victory. But nowhere near enough. They probably need to hire a team to rebuild the core of gameplay, but a lot of energy and resources into getting the HEART of the game right. When they append their own great visual assets to an enhanced, politically-focused engine they will finally pull their franchise out of the swamp of perennial 'could have been great' titles and achieve an honestly great game. Nothing else would be a just reward for all the great things CA has given gaming over the years than to see them reach Nirvana, turn the corner, and hit a home run.

    Shogun 2 was a great effort, but caught in the outfield.

    orctowngrot
    Expand
  12. Dec 21, 2011
    8
    A great game, with a long singleplayer campaign and detailed battles. Personally I think it is very unbalanced however, since samurai - who are trained from birth into accepting death - still flee easily when outnumbered. I really do not like the way the morale system is balanced, or the pathfinding for units either, for that matter. Also, archers and cavalry are very weak and navalA great game, with a long singleplayer campaign and detailed battles. Personally I think it is very unbalanced however, since samurai - who are trained from birth into accepting death - still flee easily when outnumbered. I really do not like the way the morale system is balanced, or the pathfinding for units either, for that matter. Also, archers and cavalry are very weak and naval battles are slow as hell. As a whole the game isn't that bad though. Expand
  13. Nov 21, 2013
    9
    Another great addition to the total war series. These games are consistently getting better with each release. The new skills for generals, and the multi-stage siege battles keep me on the edge of my seat.
  14. Dec 26, 2011
    9
    This is simply the best total war game ever. I've played most of the games from the series and Shogun 2 is a dream come true, that goes back to the original root, but with all the refinements of the last decade. If you are into deep strategy and historic accuracy you can't miss it.
  15. Jun 11, 2012
    9
    Brilliant atmosphere, immersing you in Japanese culture. Great and varied gameplay, lots of units, upgrades, and government management.

    The online play, though, can be dodgy: with people farming their avatar level by rigging siege matches (for example, they will take nothing but gunmen on a multi-tiered castle and take infantry moral reducing abilities).
  16. Jan 26, 2014
    8
    It took me long time to get into Shogun 2 but with some help from Radious Mod i have to say that i'm really enjoying Shogun 2 now. The artstyle and graphics are amazing in the vanilla shogun and the music really adds to the atmosphere especially on the campaign map, which looks and feels beautiful.

    The AI is a lot better in Shogun 2 and i found myself really struggling at times against
    It took me long time to get into Shogun 2 but with some help from Radious Mod i have to say that i'm really enjoying Shogun 2 now. The artstyle and graphics are amazing in the vanilla shogun and the music really adds to the atmosphere especially on the campaign map, which looks and feels beautiful.

    The AI is a lot better in Shogun 2 and i found myself really struggling at times against large stacks of enemies landing behind my lines, especially after Real divide. The battle AI still has its flaws for instance generals still rush into danger and the tactics it employs can be pretty predictable, however on the whole its alot better.

    However vanilla Shogun 2 has to little unit variety for my liking hence why i was forced to use Radious Mod and while i like the RPG elements on agents and generals CA seem to have removed a lot of the natural growth generals had in earlier titles. Naval battles are also quite hit and miss but that might just be because i'm a terrible admiral.

    Taking all into consideration Shogun 2 is a great game, it doesn't reach the heights of M2:TW or Rome:TW in my opinion but its alot better than Empire or Rome 2.
    Expand
  17. gas
    Mar 22, 2011
    8
    This title is without any doubt the best total war release of all time, the brand was loosing a lot of appealing with the last 2 releases, empires and napoleon, which are still plagued by several bugs and a limited by a crap engine/optimization.
    In this little review i talk about single player game, multiplayer is supported and seems implemented in a very nice manner, but im not personally
    This title is without any doubt the best total war release of all time, the brand was loosing a lot of appealing with the last 2 releases, empires and napoleon, which are still plagued by several bugs and a limited by a crap engine/optimization.
    In this little review i talk about single player game, multiplayer is supported and seems implemented in a very nice manner, but im not personally interested in it while playing tactical/strategy games so im not touching this aspect here.
    The only 2 words i spend on mp is the fact i have the opinion other rts, starcraft2 in primis offer a lot more depth in strategy cause they are made for multiplayer single battles as idea, so this title cant compete specifically on it.
    Shogun 2 graphically speaking does not support yet DX11 and AA, wich is a bit annoying, but the game is really nice to see both scenarios and units are great, also the engine finally is a good one so the result is a very smooth experience, with a lot of work on little details.
    About the gameplay, the tactical campaing is very interesting, and similar to rome/medieval2, even if improved with an rpg-style level up of your generals and units which is a nice touch, now you can choose were to spend "points" to improve your generals and special units and traits are no more random (even if specific events may trigger modificators to traits or even brand new traits that you cannot choose directly).
    At start you choose a faction with specific traits that are fixed, but during the turns you will have points to spend into 2 different trees to improve combat and economic side of your empire.
    A single game ends before reaching all the upgrades available so you have to carefully plan where you wanna excel or what to priorise using those points.
    The rts battles are very tactical and very involving, you need to choose carefully how to approach the enemy, and adapt to the units you are countering to be victorious, also the terrain can and shoul be used to gain advantage like hiding troops in the vegetation, charging from a hill etc.
    The AI even at easy level is not stupid on the battlefield and tends usually to have an "intelligent" approach, also the different factions may react in a proper manner related to their aggressivness, which you can see in the detailed in the "trade panel", so some may prefer a frontal charge while other factions may prefer to defend etc, also every faction tend to prefer specific units over others, so the battles can last long and can be quite different which is a must for a game like this.
    Talking about the audio, music and effects are are defo hi standard, not so various, but sure they dont lack in quality.
    The game is very stable, the engine moves very smooth on my pc that is sure not new (intel dual duo 3.2 + ATI 5770), i had a couple of crashes on 80 hours playtime wich is defo good, expecially compared to the old total war wich sure did not excel in game stability.
    Luckily it never happened so far the "last turn bug" that afflicted all the previous releases , and was the worst issue of all the Total war franchise imho.
    At the end this game is one of the best mixed tactical turn based/rts game around, so anyone interested in the genre will be pleased sure with this game.
    There are some minor issues that dont affect much the game but still they should be fixed, like units retreating from the battlefiled are no more "flagged" so to intercept them you need to manually find them on the field wich is quite annoying, and a non perfect pathfinding when moving into castles, even if 100 times better then previous total war titles.
    Also when defending into castles you need to babysit a lot units, especially archers to be sure they are looking where is logic and expected to.
    What i personally consider a great miss in a game like this is the total lack in customization, cant get why the total war franchise always forget / dont consider it a must.
    You can start a campaign with only premade factions, starting always in the same zone with fixed traits and background, and the victory conditions can be only 3 and the difference is only the number of zones to conquer.
    I can understand the historical work on this but from a title like this i expect more and various victory conditions, randomizable starting zones/traits, customizable factions, and maybe a map editor.
    Also the game difficulty cant be applied to specific factions and you cant choose a different number of opponents then the preset.
    Also another minor issue in my opinion is the fact if you choose the long campaign, when you are half way with around 30/60 zones conquered, going on is too easy and near the end the game really lack of interest, so basically going for the 45 zones condition or to the 60 changes nothing in terms of gameplay.
    So i give an 8, great game, best in the serie, but still lacks in customization that should be a must for a geek of those tactical/strategic games.
    Expand
  18. May 20, 2011
    10
    Love this game. I have over 100 hours played now (in single player). Call me crazy if you will, but there's something about games like this that are addicting to me.

    Now I just wish they'd start up the Warhammer Dark Omen series again (completely different setting, but the feel of the combat is somewhat similar). Total War Fantasy game, that would rock.
  19. Jul 30, 2011
    8
    Except for a couple of AI bugs this is probably the best strategy game you can get on PC right at this moment. some may complain that it doesnt have as much scope and variety of old total war games but I find that the more concentrated scope has allowed for more polish and its FAR easier to learn and enjoy the game.
    Graphics are great if your PC has the grunt. AI is good and would be
    Except for a couple of AI bugs this is probably the best strategy game you can get on PC right at this moment. some may complain that it doesnt have as much scope and variety of old total war games but I find that the more concentrated scope has allowed for more polish and its FAR easier to learn and enjoy the game.
    Graphics are great if your PC has the grunt. AI is good and would be great with a couple of tweaks (still waiting on that patch Sega!). Sound is OK, a bit more variety would be nice.
    Expand
  20. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    I would give this an 8.7 and for one reason only, they are starting to release DLC's that unlock content that was previously free if you just modified one notepad document, im afraid that the people who make total war games are starting to milk it for what its got rather than focusing on one masterpiece, on the bright side the multiplayer is lightyears ahead of napoleon total war, TheI would give this an 8.7 and for one reason only, they are starting to release DLC's that unlock content that was previously free if you just modified one notepad document, im afraid that the people who make total war games are starting to milk it for what its got rather than focusing on one masterpiece, on the bright side the multiplayer is lightyears ahead of napoleon total war, The strategys that you take on ARE actually specific to the faction you decide to play as, so when sombody on metacritic says "dont ever chose this faction because they have better boats" thats simply not true, you use the boat advantage to its fullest extent by blockading enemy ports and therefore giving you more income, or if you chose to get better archers you play more defensively, or vica versa with other factions. Im happy that they made a few modifications to just about everything and refined everything to a good point, for example : ship battles used to be about clicking at the right time in a starcraft like manner, but now its much more about positioning of your ships, there is now a food factor so you cant just build a billion castles. The difficulty is finally what it should be. All the other total war games I played were so easy its not even funny (even on hardest difficulty) with one exception, western roman empire in rome total war barbarian invasion on the hardest difficulty, but thats about rome total war, all in all shogun 2 total war has stunning visuals (only if your computer is really really awsome, I was sad when I found out I could not play in DX11, because seriously, the DX11 graphics are WAY better than the DX9 graphics) More strategy, more thinking, not as time consuming as empire total war and not as complicated (which i can understand why they did that) There are also important choices you can make that will affect your empire. If the game has a problem, its the DLC and how once you have claimed the shogunate and won the game its very boring because the battles all feel the exact same. Expand
  21. May 10, 2012
    9
    This game is the best Total war game to date. This Total war game does not have the best campaign to date but I can't explain why. The map has stunning visuals and a large variety of factions, maybe Im not as interested in Japan's history as I am in Napoleonic history. The actual battles are the what make the game. Shogun 2 has removed all of the problems of all the other total war games.This game is the best Total war game to date. This Total war game does not have the best campaign to date but I can't explain why. The map has stunning visuals and a large variety of factions, maybe Im not as interested in Japan's history as I am in Napoleonic history. The actual battles are the what make the game. Shogun 2 has removed all of the problems of all the other total war games. The game rewards attacking over defending(Crippling noob campers in multiplayer) by adding Keypoints in the centre of the map which give bonuses to the player that captures them. If a player captures all of the keypoints a counter begins which stops campers completely. This encourages players to rush for the centre, pretty much throwing all idea's of corner camping into the garbage. The sieges are just epic. Seiges have been limited to 20 minutes and attackers have been given more money to spend allowing the defenders to attack quickly instead of bombarding castles for an hour. Graphics are 5/5, Campaign 2.5/5 and gameplay is 4.5/5.

    Also get Fall of the Samurai.
    Expand
  22. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    This is the best Total Game in the series. BEst AI, Very polished. Amazing Multiplayer. This is how all other games should benchmark themselves. There are however some problems though. Some bugs which should be smoothed out with the inevitable patches. Sieges has the AI go to Sleep if you use certain tactics. (However, I must stress that CA has never really gotten the handle on sieges.This is the best Total Game in the series. BEst AI, Very polished. Amazing Multiplayer. This is how all other games should benchmark themselves. There are however some problems though. Some bugs which should be smoothed out with the inevitable patches. Sieges has the AI go to Sleep if you use certain tactics. (However, I must stress that CA has never really gotten the handle on sieges. Shogun 2 is heading the reight direction. There are some graphical problems, which seems to be mostly centered around the latest video cards. Slightly older top line cards provide a rock steady platform.

    Played the Takeda at Normal, it provided a very very satisfying experience and most of all very fun. This is one game that I will be playing for a long time.
    Expand
  23. Dec 18, 2011
    10
    The firs total war i played was shogun when i saw shogun 2 i though plz tell me they didnt make it suck like napoleon and empire ! and now that i have it i must say its a hell of a game ! best RTS so far ! i didnt believe its better than rome total war too coz i was huge fan or rome as i was with the first shogun
    now u have rpg elements and finally the multiplayer is worth playing it ! its
    The firs total war i played was shogun when i saw shogun 2 i though plz tell me they didnt make it suck like napoleon and empire ! and now that i have it i must say its a hell of a game ! best RTS so far ! i didnt believe its better than rome total war too coz i was huge fan or rome as i was with the first shogun
    now u have rpg elements and finally the multiplayer is worth playing it ! its not a custom battle ! u can play campaign mode online and if u are playing singleplayer u give the battle from the system to one radom player online :D it has so much stuff and now the melee army is fighting better but still some times they stay there do nothing(not all the army just one or two ) the only bad think is that ... will they make another one as good as this?
    Expand
  24. Dec 31, 2011
    10
    This is a great game. It's possibly the best strategy game ever made. It runs smoothly even on older hardware. I can't say enough good things about it.
  25. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    Honestly after the rome 2 disaster i was hesitant on trying the newer total war games.. Boy was i wrong this game gets naval and land combat right its honestly a blast to see two groups of samurai split off for 1v1 combat in a skirmish. Not the big clump of men rome 2 has... The campaign map can be a pain to navigate with frequent slow downs on older PC's. Also this is the first total warHonestly after the rome 2 disaster i was hesitant on trying the newer total war games.. Boy was i wrong this game gets naval and land combat right its honestly a blast to see two groups of samurai split off for 1v1 combat in a skirmish. Not the big clump of men rome 2 has... The campaign map can be a pain to navigate with frequent slow downs on older PC's. Also this is the first total war game i played were in multiplayer more Calvary doesn't equal a win. Expand
  26. May 27, 2014
    10
    Strategy games can, honestly, never get better than this. Excellent campaign map, clear, concise tutorial, awesome naval battles, and bunches of detail, from the katana of a samurai to the biggest mountain.
  27. Sep 25, 2014
    10
    Just excellent game, only bettered by FOTS DLC. Little replayability though : all factions feel the same, but ikko ikki. The AI is the best in a TW game, even the diplomacy is good (unique in a TW game which all have **** AI diplomates)
  28. Apr 4, 2011
    10
    This is the best Total War game since the old MTW game. The difficulty levels are finally what they should be and the game is finally challenging again. It's not the prettiest of the series (still waiting on that DX11 update) but it by far is the best right now in gameplay and fun. I've ranted about the TW series from RTW forward because the game has felt like playing a romper room game.This is the best Total War game since the old MTW game. The difficulty levels are finally what they should be and the game is finally challenging again. It's not the prettiest of the series (still waiting on that DX11 update) but it by far is the best right now in gameplay and fun. I've ranted about the TW series from RTW forward because the game has felt like playing a romper room game. This one I've stayed up way into the night playing as time just flies by I'm having so much fun. If you've been on the fence get off of it and get out there and get this. I think GoGamer.com has it for $33 and some change or did. Don't listen to the panty waist little rts boys who can't stand a game that beats them. :) Expand
  29. Jul 7, 2015
    8
    Amazing detail in everything that happens on the battlefield. The game is paced a little too realistically though. Just when my lords are getting really great they get too old to fight and need to be replaced. In fact the real annoyance with this game is it follows the historical timeline too closely. The combat is solid and strategies usually pan out if you plan them well.
  30. Nov 8, 2011
    9
    Hoorah! , Indeed the gameplay in general has not changed much in the last ten years. But the graphics and this game racked me up for 200 hours. Value for money. Game Graphics are very good and its something a developer can be proud of. Buy it .
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 62 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 62
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 62
  3. Negative: 0 out of 62
  1. Jul 14, 2011
    89
    There is a je ne sais quoi elegance on how the game is presented and how well put together the game as an entire corpus is. Although it's still mired by some version 1.0 bugs, Shogun is highly playable and deserves a place on any Total War fan's hard drive.
  2. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    May 22, 2011
    90
    Beautiful, complex and varied historical strategy which offers hours of fun in single player and multiplayer modes. [Issue#203]
  3. 93
    The mix of turn based strategy (with economical, political and diplomatic ramifications) and real time battles is still wonderful, but the need to balance timing and aggression is more important than ever. Aggressive players will feel a little cheated, while diplomats will hate Realm Divide stage. Still, Total War was always about realism and the AI's scripted actions make logical and historical sense.