Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Mar 8, 2014
    95
    I can say, without an ounce of hyperbole, that I have never shouted, cheered or laughed so much playing a game in my life. TowerFall Ascension is designed to evoke these reactions in every single match, and it always, always does.
  2. Mar 7, 2014
    95
    If you do have some local friends who can come over and hold a controller, buy this game immediately and invite them over, because TowerFall: Ascension is easily one of the best things you can do on a couch.
  3. Mar 26, 2014
    90
    A single-screen platform brawler that’s about as good as the genre has ever been—in versus or wave-survival mode.
  4. Mar 13, 2014
    90
    It's a whole-brain game with minimal controls, and it's the most fun I've had with a bow and arrow since The Year Of The Bow – or even the 1980s.
  5. Mar 12, 2014
    90
    This is the type of game that creates memories and dissolves friendships, soundtracked by the pained swears of the defeated and the uproarious cheers of the victors. If that's not worth moving your life around for, then what is?
  6. The best compliment I can offer the multiplayer of TowerFall is that it makes me wish it had been around when I was 22 and still living with three roommates who would often spend an afternoon delving into hour-long matches of Super Smash Bros. Melee or Mario Kart 64/Double Dash. TowerFall would have made an excellent addition to that rotation.
  7. Mar 25, 2014
    89
    A fun and approachable battle royale that makes excellent use of its deceptively simple retro looks and classic arcade platforming style.
  8. Mar 24, 2014
    88
    The best additions in Towerfall Ascension are not the most advertised ones. The new Quest Mode is a nice diversion but of course the cornerstone of the experience remains the Versus Mode, with great new arenas and customizations.
  9. Mar 13, 2014
    87
    A surprisingly addictive experience, with loads of fun to offer as long as we have friends to bring home and play with, since it's multiplayer-focused and there's no online modes.
  10. Jun 5, 2014
    85
    TowerFall: Ascension is polished to almost perfection in both style and substance.
  11. Mar 26, 2014
    85
    Towerfall has frantic, addictive and fun gameplay with an incredible local multiplayer. A game that loves the pixel and sprites age.
  12. Mar 25, 2014
    80
    This may be the age of the single-screen brawler, but TowerFall is among the most feature-rich of its kind.
  13. Mar 25, 2014
    80
    In TowerFall Ascension, there are no inevitable deaths. Every time you stare down the shaft of the Grim Reaper’s arrow, there’s always a way out. You just have to be smart and quick enough to put a plan into action before someone nails you to the wall first.
  14. Mar 21, 2014
    80
    Quotation forthcoming.
  15. Mar 19, 2014
    80
    Towerfall Ascension is a fantastic multiplayer game. A surprisingly addictive experience.
  16. Mar 7, 2014
    80
    With a few friends, Towerfall Ascension is a fantastic multiplayer game that offers a ton of variations on its enjoyable archery combat. Just make sure those friends can join you on the couch.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 131 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 23
  2. Negative: 6 out of 23
  1. Mar 16, 2014
    0
    Oh well... points down because it does not have online multiplayer, which would make it hold the interest solvingly longer. If you have peopleOh well... points down because it does not have online multiplayer, which would make it hold the interest solvingly longer. If you have people who you can play with, at a games room at work, at school, or if you are a child, this is ok , IF you're not hardcore gamer kid or CS kid. .If you are an adult used to gaming with friends online, dont buy. Full Review »
  2. Feb 10, 2015
    0
    No online multiplayer boring gameplay over Hyped by the gaming media. They cant even follow their own vision and need a sexist radical to tellNo online multiplayer boring gameplay over Hyped by the gaming media. They cant even follow their own vision and need a sexist radical to tell them what to do and how to do it.
    TowerFall Ascension is everything wrong with gaming today. I wouldn't waste my time or money on it.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 16, 2014
    10
    Good game. Perfect to play together with 2-4 friends on 1 PC. Is very fun and challenging. But mabye you will be a little hurt after one game session.