Metascore
71

Mixed or average reviews - based on 4 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 72 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Put your foot soldiers, snipers, cavalry, and fighter pilots to the test in Toy Soldiers. Poised to be a smash hit on Xbox LIVE Arcade, Toy Soldiers is an action packed strategy-based game in which players command antique WWI toy soldiers vying for control of the trench-filled battlefields of Europe. Deploy an exciting arsenal such as tanks, cavalry, biplanes, and flamethrowers in vintage WWI toy dioramas. Developed by Signal Studios exclusively for Xbox 360, Toy Soldiers allows you to take control of individual units or control the entire battlefield from a strategic view. Integrating multiple game genres and world-class visuals, Toy Soldiers is a unique and action-packed entertainment experience! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 4
  2. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. May 10, 2012
    75
    A solid mixture of polish, inventiveness, and just plain fun. Its blended style of fantasy and authenticity supplements its accessibility with pleasing flair.
  2. May 4, 2012
    70
    Toy Soldiers still has a lot to recommend it. The PC version comes with the Kaiser's Battle and Invasion DLC expansions, and its level designs have just enough variety to make at least one playthrough interesting. Some of those scenarios I'll probably come back to a few more times to improve my score. But still, Toy Soldiers is just a little too repetitive to enter the tower-defense hall of fame occupied by games like Defense Grid and Orcs Must Die! The clue is in the name: it's a brilliant toy, but just short of a truly great game.
  3. 70
    Nice combination of tower defense strategy with action elements has only minor issues connected to mouse control and camera glitches. [July 2012]
  4. Jul 14, 2012
    70
    The detail is there, but thanks to the mild handling and thin, generic audio, the magic isn't. [Aug 2012, p.97]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16
  1. Apr 28, 2012
    10
    A combination of awesomeness and epicness makes toy soldiers for pc. the only thing that is bad about this game is windows live, but who cares? Buy the game and see for yourself =P Expand
  2. Jul 8, 2012
    10
    This was a surpise for me, a budget release through steam that I hadn't heard of. Well, it was amazing - huge game, superbly detailed and crafted game area with real attention to detail. No bugs at all that I saw. I played it all through then sat back happy. Then I realised ALL the DLC was included too, all for a fiver! Bargain of the year. Expand
  3. May 23, 2012
    9
    An ingenious twist on the classic Tower Defence genre, allowing you to actually control the units themselves - planes are pilot-able, tanks are drivable, you can man a sniper tower or even control the individual guns themselves if you want to focus your attention on units that the AI doesn't. Plenty of upgrades and units/game modes to unlock, and Games For Windows Live is a nice touch, adding extra achievements for you to aim towards. A game you come back to again and again, thanks to it's ingenious Survival and Invasion modes, and the opportunity to always improve on your tactics and your score. Great audio and visuals, excellently tough bosses, only hampered by the awkward camera controls (pro-tip: use WASD as well as moving the mouse to the edge of the screen for faster panning). An all-round really nice game for under £10. Well worth every penny - one of the best Indie games released on Steam - just a shame there's no Multi-Player mode on the PC version. Expand
  4. Oct 6, 2012
    8
    I did not expect anything after the game interesting. I sometimes play a game of Tower Defence, but only just about, out of boredom. So what could I expect from Toy Soldiers? Apparently nothing, and there .. the game sucked me in many hours of gameplay. An interesting idea for a war with plastic toy soldiers, toys. For this idea except that they can shoot from land, it is really great, and finally you really can not get bored of the game Tower Defense. The game has a really great atmosphere and everyone who likes Tower Defense indeed almost love this game. It is a pity that the game actually has disadvantages. After a while it gets really too heavy for that is not perfect, there is nothing. In the game, however, most people should be drawn, and it's not like o .. for a while ... My rating -7.5 / 10 Collapse
  5. Feb 1, 2014
    8
    Toy Soldiers does what it wants to do: It wants to provide nice quirky fun, from anywhere to experienced players, to casual players.
    PROS:

    +The art style is cute, and it makes you chuckle when ever you see an enemy soldier explode into springs and gears.
    +It is fun, it just makes you happy and it is extremely satisfying mowing down waves of enemies with a machine gun.
    +You have a lot of options; overall it is just an okay port, but they do have extra options you don't see in many other games.
    +Invasion mode is goofy and a challenge. Very silly fun!
    CONS:
    -The final level in the campaign is a major jump in difficulty. It has to be 90% impossible. I think you have to set everything up just right.
    -A few levels make you have to position everything 'just right'.
    If you want to have a cheap game that'll provide hours of fun - get it. If you like strategy games, what are you waiting for!?
    Expand
  6. Oct 17, 2012
    6
    Now that Toy Soldiers uses Steamworks, it's not too bad. You will have some fun moments with it but it really isn't anything memorable. The levels are decent size and there is a good amount of enemy variety, but the gameplay just starts to get stale when you being playing through campaign+ (just re-used versions of the original campaign). This edition does come with the DLCs though so that adds some more variety to it. Unfortunately, the multiplayer has been completely left out of this version. The controls are also very clunky and the camera is just awful. There is also a weird bug where the sound will start to cut out if there is too much going on at once in a level. Overall, it's not a bad game per se, it just has a ton of flaws and cut content that doesn't exactly make it worth your while, let alone your cash. Expand
  7. Jul 14, 2012
    2
    A great game, despite the GFWL integration, for every reason but one: the "there is no valid excuse for this on earth" terrible camera. It's abysmal, and completely prevents you from enjoying the game in any way whatsoever. If this isn't fixed by a patch, it's a criminal offence. DO NOT BUY THIS GAME UNTIL THIS IS RESOLVED. Now, to see about getting my money back... Expand

See all 16 User Reviews