• Publisher: Ubisoft
  • Release Date: Sep 14, 2011
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 86 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 86
  2. Negative: 13 out of 86

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 28, 2011
    2
    It's all about graphics, only graphics. This game is very, very boring. There isn't anything new compared to the old versions, the interface itself is almost a ripoff. I'm sorry for Nadeo, but this would work better as an add-on for TM Forever. Driving lacks of techniques to learn and gets repetitive after a few hours of play. Engine seems to be outdated. Sound was the big negative point of older versions and TM2 didn't improve even a bit. The maps looks all the same. While old versions were realistic, but in their own physic rules, TM2 is so artificial, not as titles like 'Drift city', but that kinda breaks the feeling. Many things are not intuitive, editor looks a bit messy, the game lacks of a guide and help section. There's not even two months from the release and 95% of Online servers are empty and the average amount of people Online is decreasing a lot last days. TM2 isn't worthy to buy and, except for the graphics it's by far the weakest game of the TrackMania series. As a recommendation, I suggest TrackMania United Forever, which is a must buy for all racing games fans. Collapse
  2. Mar 21, 2012
    1
    I don't know what to say.... okay i can't believe i spent i mean wasted 15 euros to this trash. Music sucks this game so bad i mean it's just so irritating. Game includes only one car.... and you can paint it. Yeah one car that's right. This game is so different game from other trackmanias. This game has only one type of tracks and when others has what? 4 or 5, don't remember. Anyway graphics is very detailed but... it looks boring and depressing. Sound effects are irritating too uhhhh. And... yeah 15 euros.... even 8 pringles cans would've been better purchase. Even the **** graphic ds version is sooooo better than this.... :((((((((((((( i want my money back!!!! soooo **** game in a long time. I deleted this game from my computer and get rid of codes and all. I will never be able to play this **** again and that's good but 15 euros!!!! :((((((((((( weeell it was fun at first for less than hour in online soo that makes me give one points you're welcome. I'm not trolling. This is all true. Expand
  3. Apr 4, 2012
    0
    First you should try trackmania united for free,if you like that game you wont like this one,if you dont like that game you also wont like this one i can play sim racing games or arcade racing or a mix between those two but TrackMania 2 Canyon fail on every part it looks ok and that is it the main problem is the driving,in trackmania united driving is incredible in this one it is a joke,very irritating,also bumper cam view is too low and with all the crashes and spining you are forced to use a case cam and that sucks

    driving in trackmania united is one of the things that made that game special and they completly changed that

    only thing i do like is how the game looks and the car,i dont like formula and that is it
    Expand
  4. Mar 10, 2013
    0
    Bought the game but cannot play it. I clicked on the link to play the game. Then I created an account to play. I have searched through the games menus but do not see an option to start a game. The game could possibly be good but it is impossible to know if there is no link to start playing.
  5. Jul 26, 2013
    4
    I'll make it short. If you like Trackmania, get Stadium and/or Valley. If you don't know what Trackmania is, get Stadium and/or Valley.

    Why? The Canyon car has very loose handling and is all over the track in turns, while over half of the available track pieces are extremely narrow and loops and wallrides are undriveable due to a lack of grip. Unless you limit yourself to building
    tracks out of the same 20 pieces over and over, it is very hard to create something fun in this game. The elimination of blockmixing (using third party tools to combine blocks) by the developers isn't helping.

    With the cheaper Stadium and vastly superior Valley available now, there is very little reason to recommend this black sheep in the Trackmania series. Its dead multiplayer is testament to this. Don't get me wrong don't take your money elsewhere. Just spend it on Nadeo's *other* titles.
    Expand
  6. Oct 28, 2011
    0
    It's all about graphics, only graphics. This game is very, very boring. There isn't anything new compared to the old versions, the interface itself is almost a ripoff. I'm sorry for Nadeo, but this would work better as an add-on for TM Forever. Driving lacks of techniques to learn and gets repetitive after a few hours of play. Engine seems to be outdated. Sound was the big negative point of older versions and TM2 didn't improve even a bit. The maps looks all the same. While old versions were realistic, but in their own physic rules, TM2 is so artificial, not as titles like 'Drift city', but that kinda breaks the feeling. Many things are not intuitive, editor looks a bit messy, the game lacks of a guide and help section. There's not even two months from the release and 95% of Online servers are empty and the average amount of people Online is decreasing a lot last days. TM2 isn't worthy to buy and, except for the graphics it's by far the weakest game of the TrackMania series. As a recommendation, I suggest TrackMania United Forever, which is a must buy for all racing games fans. Collapse
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Feb 13, 2012
    79
    Trackmania is back! Except it's the same old game once again, only more beautiful and somewhat more refined. Racing online is especially fun and addicting, but why is there only one environment and only one single player mode? The fact that this has about the same amount of content as the free Trackmania Nations is disappointing. [Feb 2012]
  2. Nov 16, 2011
    70
    Canyon may well become the definitive version of this smile-inducing stunt racer, but unless you're already a veteran it may be worth waiting a while before taking this sequel for a drive. [Issue#115, p.100]
  3. 80
    Great in singleplayer, incomparable in multiplayer Trackmania 2 brings competition to a whole new level. If the game editor was better there would be no other flaws. [Nov 2011]