• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Trackmania 2 Canyon is a racing game by Nadeo.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 37
  2. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. Oct 4, 2011
    90
    This is the most complete, large, fun and ambitious Trackmania game ever made. It improves upon the formula that has make the game succeed, and again challenges us to beat our best times and also our rivals'. And at a very attractive price.
  2. Sep 19, 2011
    90
    Offers just enough tweaks to the formula to make it worth the download. Visually, it's not the prettiest racer out there, but the lighting can be particularly gorgeous at times and the system requirements are very reasonable. As the community settles in again, the amount of content will only grow from here given the excellent creation tools included.
  3. Nov 13, 2011
    85
    Canyon serves as an excellent continuation of the series, and if you loved it before you won't be disappointed.
  4. Oct 3, 2011
    83
    If you're looking for a high-fidelity racing sim, TrackMania isn't for you. If you're looking for a way to express yourself with custom-designed race tracks without having to invest months of effort, this is the game you're looking for!
  5. Oct 17, 2011
    80
    A streamlined front-end and more clearly spelled-out progression would probably go a long way. But if you're up for digging around and find the idea of a driving game that's a little left-of-center exciting, TM2 is kind of incredible.
  6. Sep 22, 2011
    80
    TrackMania is back, and just as fun as ever. The new environment will no doubt be a hit among both new and old players, though it does feel a bit disappointing to go from seven environments in TrackMania United Forever to just one (so far) in TrackMania 2.
  7. Sep 21, 2011
    65
    If you are someone who enjoys their racing games with more structure, something like Gran Turismo or Burnout Paradise, then you may find that Trackmania2 will leave you cold. However, if you are fan of the first game, or fancy flexing your design muscles, then there is a lot of fun to be found here. Just make sure you know what sort of game you are getting yourself into.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 18
  2. Negative: 5 out of 18
  1. Mar 11, 2013
    10
    Superb racing game. The actual gameplay is as you would expect it from a Trackmania Title: fast, crazy, "easy to learn but hard to master",Superb racing game. The actual gameplay is as you would expect it from a Trackmania Title: fast, crazy, "easy to learn but hard to master", simply addictive. Besides, the building aspect of this game is just fantastic. I can't say how many hours I just spent building my own track in the editor. Again, "easy to learn but hard to master", since it's incredibly easy to create a map, but harder to find nice, smooth, flowy transitions to make it memorable. The ManiaPlanet platform also allows players to create skins, change textures, own 3D objects and even scripts to make an own gamemode. So, if you want to play a highly mod-able racing game with thousands of tracks, get this game, you won't regret it! Expand
  2. Jul 10, 2013
    10
    A very fun arcade style racing with awesome huge ramps and stuff. Drifting is very important and the graphics are amazing compared to theA very fun arcade style racing with awesome huge ramps and stuff. Drifting is very important and the graphics are amazing compared to the older trackmania games! 10/10 Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2011
    10
    I am obsessed and in love. TrackMania 2 Canyon has arcade style car handling that is precise and responsive. Easy to learn and hard to master.I am obsessed and in love. TrackMania 2 Canyon has arcade style car handling that is precise and responsive. Easy to learn and hard to master. Graphics are simple, clean and impressive. The online ranking system is revealed layer by layer in an involving fashion that is massively rewarding. This is my favourite game to play hot seat with a friend or group of friends in local party play. I have had an absolute blast playing this game for the last few and I can see myself playing more and more as time goes on and I get into the massive customisation options and start downloading tracks. Now, excuse me while I go improve my time... Expand
  4. Oct 25, 2011
    8
    very interesting game to play, great graphics, challenging gameplay in multiplayer mode, plus the feature editor is making a true gamers arevery interesting game to play, great graphics, challenging gameplay in multiplayer mode, plus the feature editor is making a true gamers are reluctant to move from the front of the monitor.
    but the weakness is the lack of bots. if there is a bot maybe this game will dominate the market with a genre of racing games
    Expand
  5. Oct 27, 2011
    7
    It's still Trackmania. It still has all the features that made it so fun. But Nadeo, unfortunately, has been influenced by currentIt's still Trackmania. It still has all the features that made it so fun. But Nadeo, unfortunately, has been influenced by current most-selling titles. For example: the titular Canyon looks good, very good, but the blocks with all those additional buildings, fences, and the rest of the stuff, are now harder to be used in the editor.
    If you enjoyed previous TM games, you'll also enjoy Canyon. But if you haven't played any of them yet, you may find hard to find yourself in that one.
    Expand
  6. Jul 26, 2013
    4
    I'll make it short. If you like Trackmania, get Stadium and/or Valley. If you don't know what Trackmania is, get Stadium and/or Valley.I'll make it short. If you like Trackmania, get Stadium and/or Valley. If you don't know what Trackmania is, get Stadium and/or Valley.

    Why? The Canyon car has very loose handling and is all over the track in turns, while over half of the available track pieces are extremely narrow and loops and wallrides are undriveable due to a lack of grip. Unless you limit yourself to building tracks out of the same 20 pieces over and over, it is very hard to create something fun in this game. The elimination of blockmixing (using third party tools to combine blocks) by the developers isn't helping.

    With the cheaper Stadium and vastly superior Valley available now, there is very little reason to recommend this black sheep in the Trackmania series. Its dead multiplayer is testament to this. Don't get me wrong don't take your money elsewhere. Just spend it on Nadeo's *other* titles.
    Expand
  7. Apr 4, 2012
    0
    First you should try trackmania united for free,if you like that game you wont like this one,if you dont like that game you also wont likeFirst you should try trackmania united for free,if you like that game you wont like this one,if you dont like that game you also wont like this one

    i can play sim racing games or arcade racing or a mix between those two but TrackMania 2 Canyon fail on every part

    it looks ok and that is it

    the main problem is the driving,in trackmania united driving is incredible in this one it is a joke,very irritating,also bumper cam view is too low and with all the crashes and spining you are forced to use a case cam and that sucks

    driving in trackmania united is one of the things that made that game special and they completly changed that

    only thing i do like is how the game looks and the car,i dont like formula and that is it
    Expand

See all 18 User Reviews