Trapped Dead PC

Metascore
50

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 14
  2. Negative: 6 out of 14
  1. Feb 7, 2011
    45
    As it stands, there's hardly ever a reason to go beyond the obviously marked out route to the objective, as there'll not ever really be anything that interesting to find if you do.
  2. Aug 12, 2011
    40
    Killing the first few zombies in the tutorial level alone shows the violence and tactical planning that could have made the game something special. As you progress however, all the bugs, all the inconsistent controls, all the unbalanced gameplay, and the awful checkpoint system completely ruin the experience.
  3. CD-Action
    Aug 2, 2011
    40
    Slow pace wouldn't have to be a drawback if it wasn't for sparse checkpoints. In case of suffering defeat just an inch from one you just don't want to waste your time on trudging across the same area. [August 2011, p.58]
  4. PC Games (Russia)
    May 6, 2011
    40
    Trapped Dead is boring, monotonous and simply worthless. It only copes with nice visuals, but everything else is very low-budget. [June 2011, p. 101]
  5. Jul 22, 2011
    30
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. Aug 17, 2011
    20
    Returning to the horror genre's roots might be a good idea, but Trapped Dead doesn't offer convincing evidence of the idea's merits. It fumbles at every step except -- with the possible exception of mimicking comic books in its menus and cutscenes.
User Score
4.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 21
  2. Negative: 12 out of 21
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    3
    The game's visuals and art style are where the positive experiences of the game ends. The controls are slow and sometimes unresponsive, evenThe game's visuals and art style are where the positive experiences of the game ends. The controls are slow and sometimes unresponsive, even when they are responsive the in-game actions are just as slow. Many reviews spoke of bugs but I didn't get the chance to encounter many because a bug on the 2nd tutorial level made progress impossible. After re-trying the tutorial level I've already reached the point of never wanting to run the game again.

    I don't hate this game and appreciate the attempt at changing up the zombie genre with something that is less twitch shooter type of gameplay. Trapped Dead however fails in providing entertaining gameplay. I write this review to hopefully prevent anyone else from being convinced that the game is worth the cost to at least give it a try. As a zombie fan and a fan of tactical gameplay, I urge you to avoid spending time and money on Trapped Dead.
    Full Review »
  2. Jul 18, 2011
    10
    This game puts more emphasis on Tactics rather than mindless button mashing "just to kill as many as possible" unlike recent zombies games. 3This game puts more emphasis on Tactics rather than mindless button mashing "just to kill as many as possible" unlike recent zombies games. 3 zombies at the same time can be a problem, hence, kiting and careful ammo distribution is critical to your survival. All of this coupled with a "Command & Conquer" interface where each of your survivors can be given an order. You can even move the camera to see the horrors that lies ahead and plan carefully.

    The atmosphere and the setting is highly detailed, especially the map props. Any fans of George A. Romero's zombies and movies will feel right at home. Heck, the first 2 playable characters are direct cameos of his movies. It's like a big party and everyone was invited.

    I haven't tried Multiplayer, but thinking about it makes me shiver... Having "mean" players on your side, hoarding all the guns and ammo, talking trash in the chat saying "he's the boss and he doesn't give a f because it's the zombie apocalypse", closing doors leaving you behind with a horde, shooting you to death because you're bleeding and bleeding in this game attracts zombies... stuff like that... :P

    Last note... This game is for hardcore zombie movie/game fanatics only. Only these people may appreciate the great value of this game. That includes me, which is why I'm giving it 10/10.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 27, 2012
    2
    very bad control and navigation system. its very hard to play this game and the control make it not fun to play it. the graphics is okey. forvery bad control and navigation system. its very hard to play this game and the control make it not fun to play it. the graphics is okey. for the story i didnt continue playing since i was frostrated Full Review »