Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 560 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Trine 2 is the sequel to the 2009 downloadable PlayStation 3 and PC action platformer.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 51 out of 55
  2. Negative: 0 out of 55
  1. Dec 28, 2011
    98
    Alone or with friends, Trine 2 is simply one of the best PC games you can play this year. You can check out the demo on Steam if you need further convincing because words and screenshots simply don't do this game justice. Just make sure you experience the magical of Trine 2. It is an unforgettable adventure that will keep you glued to your PC for days and weeks to come.
  2. Dec 19, 2011
    92
    On the whole, the creators of Trine took the safe route in crafting Trine 2. They strayed little from their original concept, resulting in a game that is equally as enjoyable as the first.
  3. Dec 14, 2011
    90
    Trine 2 is a genuinely lovable game, and one that I can safely and heartily recommend to nearly everyone.
  4. Dec 12, 2011
    85
    It's a step forward in every direction from its predecessor. If you love it the first time around, you have no reason to miss this one.
  5. Dec 19, 2011
    83
    The short length of the campaign and a few overly challenging puzzles are minor blemishes in an overall entertaining and worthwhile experience. Fans of the side-scrolling and platform genres need not look elsewhere, Trine 2 offers a wealth of truly innovative puzzles that are a welcome getaway from the current market of repeated genre titles.
  6. Jan 10, 2012
    80
    In the end, while the core gameplay remains wholly unchanged from the original (not to mention that expert players can still cheese their way through most areas by abusing the wizard's crate-creating spells), the stunning visual details and effects do more to enhance the already-robust mechanics then one might expect.
  7. Dec 13, 2011
    70
    Trine 2 is a fantasy platforming game that is the most fun in cooperation. It's short, but the design and the animations are extraordinary. One of the most beautiful games this year.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 95
  2. Negative: 6 out of 95
  1. Dec 7, 2011
    10
    Amazing graphics, perfect controls, improved physics puzzles and finally online co-op multiplayer. It is even better then the first TrineAmazing graphics, perfect controls, improved physics puzzles and finally online co-op multiplayer. It is even better then the first Trine which was excellent. I miss inventory from original a little. This little cutie and good developer support is really worth more then release price. Expand
  2. Feb 25, 2014
    10
    An incredible game. The original Trine was awesome, but Trine 2 managed to significantly improve what was already a fantastic game. TheAn incredible game. The original Trine was awesome, but Trine 2 managed to significantly improve what was already a fantastic game. The major improvements over the original in order of significance: (1) online co-op. Need I say more? (2) the ability to save mid-level (cannot stress enough how much I appreciate); (3) combat - while the mechanics are the same, enemies are much more challenging, compelling and aesthetically interesting. I enjoyed combat in the original, but repeatedly killing skeleton soldiers wasn't all that gratifying; (4) puzzles - after only a few levels I noted that the puzzles seemed slightly more challenging than those in the original. Perhaps this is a trade-off for the ability to save mid-level. Whatever the case, I found the overall difficulty to be about perfect. I also loved the new environmental additions, such as water that makes plants grow, etc. Great stuff.; (5) graphics/art design - the original Trine was a gorgeous game and yet the sequel is noticeably more visually stunning. Probably the single prettiest game I've ever played.

    I cannot recommend this game enough, particularly at the very low prices at which it can typically be had.
    Expand
  3. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    For the genre, Trine 2 is a true 10/10 game, improving on its predecessor in every way. Combat, movement, and gameplay in general are fluidFor the genre, Trine 2 is a true 10/10 game, improving on its predecessor in every way. Combat, movement, and gameplay in general are fluid and intuitive. Puzzles, especially reaching the optional experience orbs, are extremely satisfying. The art style, music, and atmosphere create an immersive fairy-tale-like world. Expand
  4. Jul 14, 2012
    9
    It was wise of Frozenbyte to delay the release of this game to give it that lil extra polish, and that decision's paid off because the visualsIt was wise of Frozenbyte to delay the release of this game to give it that lil extra polish, and that decision's paid off because the visuals in Trine 2 are simply stunning. In essence this game is a standard platformer fused with the occasional puzzle along the way. Playing solo requires you learn the abilities from each of the three characters available to progress. Where this game really shines however is through the use of multiplayer. Highly recommended. Expand
  5. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    It's very funny how people reviews it with low scores because they don't like the 2D games pr they say they're dead...LOL

    Amazing game,
    It's very funny how people reviews it with low scores because they don't like the 2D games pr they say they're dead...LOL

    Amazing game, amazing artstyle, amazing coop with friends online or local (greatly apreciated). Very nice game, with mod tools it would me more awsome though
    Expand
  6. Nov 26, 2012
    8
    The first games graphics were amazing, but the sequel actually makes them look bad. Not only does the game look great, it's full ofThe first games graphics were amazing, but the sequel actually makes them look bad. Not only does the game look great, it's full of imaginative encounters that will leave you smiling. My only issues with the game is the "endurance" areas where enemies attack in waves and you have to be very defensive to make it through, and also some of the physics puzzle. You can work out the solution to a problem, but the physics to accomplish the solution are so fiddly it can bring the entire game to a screeching halt for an extended duration. Expand
  7. Feb 17, 2013
    3
    Boring. 3 character just make this game complex. not depth. I had a hard time controlling the characters and getting used to them, so I gaveBoring. 3 character just make this game complex. not depth. I had a hard time controlling the characters and getting used to them, so I gave up. The puzzles weren't that hard, and not feeling in control of the characters made me give up I may give it a shot later. Expand

See all 95 User Reviews