UFO: Aftermath PC

User Score
5.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 54
  2. Negative: 15 out of 54
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DavidR
    Jul 24, 2004
    1
    What a turd. I was so looking forward to this too , i shelled out over £30.00 pounds for this heap of crap. It is so full of bugs it makes you wonder if the development team even played it , I have upgraded to v1.3 and it is even worse. The original games were superb a fine balance of action and strategy , this is a poorly watered down version of the original. AVOID this piece of sh.t!
  2. SergiusM.
    Jun 2, 2006
    0
    This is what an alien base mission basically looks like: -Your entire squad starts in a hole. -You send one scout out of the hole to take a peek. -The 25 aliens surrounding the hole simultaneously fire a barrage at your scout, comprised of: 5 guided missiles 5 plasma guns 15 lasers -The rest of your squad loses contact with the aliens. -1 second later, 2 times 25 grenades fall into the This is what an alien base mission basically looks like: -Your entire squad starts in a hole. -You send one scout out of the hole to take a peek. -The 25 aliens surrounding the hole simultaneously fire a barrage at your scout, comprised of: 5 guided missiles 5 plasma guns 15 lasers -The rest of your squad loses contact with the aliens. -1 second later, 2 times 25 grenades fall into the hole. -You desperately scramble your team out of the hole. -The aliens reappear, shooting another identical barrage at each soldier as soon as he's in view, obliterating him. -Repeat until no soldiers left. -Mission failed. This game is quite probably the worst balanced, imagined and implemented game in the history of mankind. It shows zero quality control, and never mind whether it resembles X-Com! It doesn't even stand on its own as a decently playable game. Expand
  3. JasonB
    Jul 29, 2006
    0
    Sorry, this game fails to cut it on ANY level. While it is possible to use a limited form of strategy on the lesser alien beings, it is impossible to use a strategy on the reticulans, who seem to all be armed with rocket launchers...bye bye squad in 2 shots.You cant plan ahead as you are totally surrounded. smoke only lasts for about 30 seconds and then your squad is anihilated as they trySorry, this game fails to cut it on ANY level. While it is possible to use a limited form of strategy on the lesser alien beings, it is impossible to use a strategy on the reticulans, who seem to all be armed with rocket launchers...bye bye squad in 2 shots.You cant plan ahead as you are totally surrounded. smoke only lasts for about 30 seconds and then your squad is anihilated as they try to break out. Means you have to abort every mission with reticulans and thus lose the game. CRAP!!! There is no challenge in being anihilated. Why is it that when you down UFO'S they have 20 guards outside and another 20 inside? Do they not take casualties from dropping 35 thousand feet+? All in all this game is not balanced at all and players will find it frustrating...this is a very poor stand alone game and a dreadful ending to the first XCOM series..... Expand
  4. Aug 21, 2013
    1
    Taking place in the far distance future of um 2004 immediately after aliens have wiped out the
    overwhelming majority of life on earth, UFO Aftermath was supposed to be a mix of strategy via a global
    view central command with real time tactical missions and a somewhat crpg element in regard to control of tactical teams. In addition to this if you had played this title you would have
    Taking place in the far distance future of um 2004 immediately after aliens have wiped out the
    overwhelming majority of life on earth, UFO Aftermath was supposed to be a mix of strategy via a global
    view central command with real time tactical missions and a somewhat crpg element in regard to control of tactical teams. In addition to this if you had played this title you would have been required to do research to advance your cause against the aliens. A seemingly interesting balance of game elements right? Wrong.

    So what went wrong? The game was also to advance via the tactical missions. However, poor game balance blamed partly on an impossible learning curve left this aspect of the title unappealing. Except, perhaps, to those with nothing else to do, at all. What was leftover for those who did not free themselves from UFO Aftermath after a mission or so was a tedious and repetitive rut in an unoriginal game with unappealing graphics, amateurish voice acting and no sense of any real point to it.

    In addition, a frustrating optional hybrid system could auto-pause the game allowing the player to plan their next ''move'' before unpausing the game. Perhaps as an attempt to appease or appeal to the legions of fans of the venerable turn-based X-Com, some of whom were lead to believe that this clunker was some sort of ''spiritual'' successor to the X-Com series. A retro isometric style presentation would have been a better tribute to X-Com instead of the low grade 3D graphics that look so tediously similar to dozens of other Jim Crack RTS games. However, not even that would have saved this pot boiler from sub-mediocrity. Furthermore the old 1024x768 resolution leaves wide screens half empty. So please, do yourself a favor today choose the easy option and just avoid it. RATING 12%
    Expand
  5. Osprey
    Feb 10, 2004
    8
    It's fun and given patience can develop int a good RPG as well as everything else. It's not as bad as people say it is...
  6. Hellrazer
    Oct 17, 2003
    2
    As an avid fan of XCOM1 & XCOM2 I was jumping up and down with happiness when I saw this game was coming out and the reviews for it. But I have to say It is absolute rubbish, for a game that is released around 10 years after the first two, The graphics, the gameplay and controls truely suck, and compared to the fun and controls of the first two games which I give a 9 for there time, this As an avid fan of XCOM1 & XCOM2 I was jumping up and down with happiness when I saw this game was coming out and the reviews for it. But I have to say It is absolute rubbish, for a game that is released around 10 years after the first two, The graphics, the gameplay and controls truely suck, and compared to the fun and controls of the first two games which I give a 9 for there time, this one is lucky to get a score of 2. Expand
  7. HansY.
    Oct 18, 2003
    0
    WOW i never write down reviews for games but Hooshi D. is right this game is the worst thing i have seen in a long time. I can't even see how people can relate it to the origanal X-COM. I am sorry i just layed down some hard cash for something i could have found in a public bathroom. Everything about this game is poopi. PLs take my advice and use your money to buy something you will WOW i never write down reviews for games but Hooshi D. is right this game is the worst thing i have seen in a long time. I can't even see how people can relate it to the origanal X-COM. I am sorry i just layed down some hard cash for something i could have found in a public bathroom. Everything about this game is poopi. PLs take my advice and use your money to buy something you will enjoy like porno or drugs NOT this game! Expand
  8. AlessioC.
    Dec 3, 2003
    8
    Finally after many years an x-com like game. A good game, good story. Similar in many ways to the OLD X-Com with the lack of economical administering and base building features. Play it, you'll never regret it!!!
  9. GriffA.
    Oct 26, 2003
    10
    It's x-com how can it not be given a 10 out of 10?
  10. Peter
    Oct 28, 2003
    2
    The game is full of bugs. Most people thought that it continues the X-COM theme. I and my friends, which had played old series, think that this game is the worst we saw. The basic questions is why. 1) there is now economy. You have no money. You don't needto take care of payment for soldiers, base and equipment keeping. This game makes me filling that they think that people living in The game is full of bugs. Most people thought that it continues the X-COM theme. I and my friends, which had played old series, think that this game is the worst we saw. The basic questions is why. 1) there is now economy. You have no money. You don't needto take care of payment for soldiers, base and equipment keeping. This game makes me filling that they think that people living in now are so stupid that it is difficult to think economicly. 2) camera control isn't good enought, You can't zoom enought and see what you want. 3) You can't place your bases wher you want, you can't build them by yourself (also because (1) there is no economy as in "UFO: enemy unknow") 4) You can't manage what to build inside the bases. 5) You can't penetrate inside the buildings on the scenery 6)The interface isn't intuitive. It is hard to do anything by firt time. Changeing the weapons and equipment is very coarse 7)Controling the units is also strange. You can't rotate the soldier (for example if you want soldier to watch in specific direction) If you want soldier kneel always when he reach the target position you must firt plan it, there should be something like locking function. You can't grovel, too. 8) Saving the game is also difficult, there should be same short cut for save the game. 9)The graphic engine isn't so impressive. 10) The music don't keep the XCOM series climat. 11)The game isn't make me scare. 12)After some hours the game makes me bored. We don't understand peaple exciting that remake of XCOM, they may be forgot the oryginal series. So that's why we have rated UFO aftermath to 2. Expand
  11. LibertyToad
    Oct 6, 2003
    8
    This is pretty much an XCom clone with a few things missing. Although not as good as XCom (how could it be?) it is still a blast to play. Sadly, you can't design your own bases--probably the biggest difference provided my memory serves me correctly. However; the character development is superior to the original and makes up for the difference. It would be difficult for any modern This is pretty much an XCom clone with a few things missing. Although not as good as XCom (how could it be?) it is still a blast to play. Sadly, you can't design your own bases--probably the biggest difference provided my memory serves me correctly. However; the character development is superior to the original and makes up for the difference. It would be difficult for any modern game to beat the original, but this games comes fairly close to equaling it. Strategy players will enjoy it, but most RTS guys probably won't as UFO takes some planning and isn't one of those mindless "clickfest" games. Expand
  12. Mark
    Oct 6, 2003
    10
    Any X-com game is good.
  13. BirezsTuFF
    Oct 9, 2003
    0
    Where is here X-Com? I dont know... I'm wery sad, it i'nt X-COM!I'm with Jok'r.
  14. Quike
    Feb 13, 2004
    6
    I think the game is ok, but it should be great with more, development, I mean, more complexity, more administrations features, like money, base administration... and so. I have heard that some people are making a remake of the original UFO, something called project Xenocide.
  15. GrahamB.
    Feb 6, 2006
    7
    A nice easy game which, after loading patch, gives a good frustration free gaming experience. One you can play the game "when my man dies he stays dead" instead of being scared to lose a good soldier. Entertaining without being too taxing.
  16. OlavL.
    Nov 12, 2003
    8
    This is a great game, though not as close to X-Com as many would wish it was... http://www.ufoaftermath.co.uk
  17. Pier
    Nov 16, 2003
    8
    It recall me X-COM....but a lot more funny!!! very cool!!
  18. WiktorZ.
    Oct 13, 2003
    9
    Truth is, if sequel is made after so many yeatrs, it is not made got please die-hard fans of series (they will buy it anyway :( ), but new players who never tried it before. So, I assume it's best we can get out of X-com these days, where most games are made for lazy kiddos :(... I miss whole menagement thing (but hey, you can start game with base in Europe or Asia!, just check out Truth is, if sequel is made after so many yeatrs, it is not made got please die-hard fans of series (they will buy it anyway :( ), but new players who never tried it before. So, I assume it's best we can get out of X-com these days, where most games are made for lazy kiddos :(... I miss whole menagement thing (but hey, you can start game with base in Europe or Asia!, just check out game menu) and complex combat enviroment, but at least i can sit and watch earth sphere with terminator moving hours long again... Still loads better then Apocalypse (THAT was a mistake!) Expand
  19. Miroslav
    Oct 14, 2003
    6
    Gameplay is good, but it lacks many things original XCom had... I wander why games in the past were more complex than today's games? Really...
  20. Jok`RdeMo
    Oct 7, 2003
    0
    Well, if it would be stand alone game then it would be OK, maybe even good. But as it was proclaimed as follower of X-COM then only thing what I can say is - it SUCKS!!! Why? Because it looks like for children, because it looks like for console, because it is so simple... 1. You cannot plan your bases, 2. U cannot chose where your base will be (for example I want it to be in Europe), 3. Well, if it would be stand alone game then it would be OK, maybe even good. But as it was proclaimed as follower of X-COM then only thing what I can say is - it SUCKS!!! Why? Because it looks like for children, because it looks like for console, because it is so simple... 1. You cannot plan your bases, 2. U cannot chose where your base will be (for example I want it to be in Europe), 3. There is only one floor. 4. Walls are unbreakable. 5. There is no scientists and manufacturers to hire. 6. You can abort mission whereever your crew is - they all will be saved (if they R alive). etc... (list goes on) So it was only marketing to say that this is follower of X-COM or Dreamland. Its Sucks - I better play Jagged Alliance 2 - at least you can get on the roof there... Expand
  21. DanB.
    Oct 9, 2003
    8
    Overall, I found this game fun to play even though there is repetition in the missions your squads partake on and that some of the aliens you encounter have god-like markmanship & stealth skills!! Compared to previous XCom games, some of the micro-management features are missing such as base design & hiring scientists & engineers. Personally, I don't miss these absent management Overall, I found this game fun to play even though there is repetition in the missions your squads partake on and that some of the aliens you encounter have god-like markmanship & stealth skills!! Compared to previous XCom games, some of the micro-management features are missing such as base design & hiring scientists & engineers. Personally, I don't miss these absent management features for it lets you concentrate on your squad members, missions, and trying to find out what the Aliens are up to. Also, I found the real-time combat (with pausing capabilities) used in this game very beneficial for completing missions quickly and speeding up game play. Furthermore, the rotating 3D camera angles was a nice addition to the game as well as some decent background music soundtracks. Lastly, I would like to mention that during the game you will have an opportunity to add a few 'good' aliens to your squad roster that can be sent on missions! If you like playing the previous XCom games, you should enjoy playing this new incarnation. Expand
  22. DavidJ.
    Mar 14, 2004
    7
    UFO: Aftermath is an interesting game unto itself. As an XCOM ?mock? sequel it slightly falls short of the mark, albeit a hard target to pin. There is no micromanagement, no money, and no base design. Only some minor macro management on a global scale exists. The combat system is improved and yet lack-luster. The map is not fully destructible, and buildings are not accessible. I miss UFO: Aftermath is an interesting game unto itself. As an XCOM ?mock? sequel it slightly falls short of the mark, albeit a hard target to pin. There is no micromanagement, no money, and no base design. Only some minor macro management on a global scale exists. The combat system is improved and yet lack-luster. The map is not fully destructible, and buildings are not accessible. I miss launching missiles through a window, door, and stairs to rest in the belly of an extraterrestrial bastard thus spraying his alien guts on the faces of my soldiers. Taste victory yet? However, there are loads of weapons and research available, a good sound track, nice graphics, and plenty of aliens. Also, soldier experience and training have been improved. For what it is, a stand-alone game, I give it a 7, enjoyable, yet not a worthy XCOM successor. Expand
  23. João
    May 22, 2005
    10
    Great game :) long live the good old times of X-COM:EU. Cheers!
  24. HooshiD.
    Oct 15, 2003
    0
    This game sucks. Combat is screaming for a round-based system. Bases aren't customizable. AI is awful. Pathfinding is a joke. Can't enter buildings and so on. The 10 year old original game is MUCH better. You can decide where to build a base. What you like to build IN the base, recruit scientist/technicians and hire soldiers. Sell looted alien-ware. Good Story and round based This game sucks. Combat is screaming for a round-based system. Bases aren't customizable. AI is awful. Pathfinding is a joke. Can't enter buildings and so on. The 10 year old original game is MUCH better. You can decide where to build a base. What you like to build IN the base, recruit scientist/technicians and hire soldiers. Sell looted alien-ware. Good Story and round based combat. Look at the new game..bland graphics no depth and no fun. From the quality/depth/story aspect THIS game has NOTHING in common with the old Xcom-Series. Expand
  25. [Anonymous]
    Oct 15, 2003
    5
    Actually I would have given the game 0 as rating, but the intentions of the game made me give it a score of 5.
  26. ManuR.
    Dec 10, 2003
    7
    es u juego bastante bueno, tiene sus detalles pero es como todos, interfaz amigable, graficos bastante buenos, una buena remasterizacion de X-com: enemigo desconocido.
  27. TerribleGame
    Oct 21, 2003
    0
    An utterly terrible game. Shallow as a ditch, awful AI, bland graphics, no resource management at all! Even the 3D view is pointless as you can't select your own view. The makers of this awful crap should hang their heads in shame for trying to ride the coattails of a classic and sucker XCOM fans.
  28. Dec 6, 2015
    8
    I've read the good and the bad about it, and here is why i liked this game quite a lot.
    UFO Aftermath has this unique atmosphere of impending doom and, strangely, alienation - not only did i feel hopeless (especially when the alien biomass starts to spread throughout the planet), but all throughout the campaign i felt like i was alone on the planet, abandoned, forgotten, forsaken. Might
    I've read the good and the bad about it, and here is why i liked this game quite a lot.
    UFO Aftermath has this unique atmosphere of impending doom and, strangely, alienation - not only did i feel hopeless (especially when the alien biomass starts to spread throughout the planet), but all throughout the campaign i felt like i was alone on the planet, abandoned, forgotten, forsaken. Might seem funny, but this mood was precisely what i loved about the game, and none of the sequels were able to capture it so well.

    Other than that - the cities are very well done - European style. Love it. Although some complain about tactical aspect of the combat - i enjoyed it for its smoothness. Perhaps i enjoyed it more because i was not expecting a sequel to X-COM, but evaluated the game on its own.
    Expand
  29. Dec 14, 2015
    6
    It's another XCOM remake, with a unique mechanics mixing turn-based and real-time combat which turns out to not work really well. Also, bad design of maps and especially the maze-like alien base layouts spoil it.
    Unlike in other turn-based games, there is no "turns" here. Instead, you give queues of orders to soldiers, and until a queue is complete or an enemy is seen, the game proceeds
    It's another XCOM remake, with a unique mechanics mixing turn-based and real-time combat which turns out to not work really well. Also, bad design of maps and especially the maze-like alien base layouts spoil it.
    Unlike in other turn-based games, there is no "turns" here. Instead, you give queues of orders to soldiers, and until a queue is complete or an enemy is seen, the game proceeds in real time, and then pauses until you give a new order to a soldier. In practice, this means that after you see an enemy alien (and it sees your soldier), both you and the alien start firing their weapon at each other non-stop. And since most aliens are bigger, have more hitpoints and do more damage than your soldiers, you can't defeat them in close combat, no matter from what side you approach them. The only tactics which works best is to make all soldiers snipers, and equip sniper rifles, to shoot enemies from afar while they run towards you to get into their firing range. Also, the auto-pause becomes annoying while you run around seeking for enemies. The real-time/turn-based blend works much better in Jagged Alliance 2 (the game runs in turn-based mode only when you are in combat, and in real-time while out of combat).
    Expand
  30. Sep 7, 2014
    6
    UFO After series took it upon it's shoulders to continue the legacy of XCOM Ufo Defense.
    As the commander of Earth's Remaining forces you fight to take earth back from the Aliens known as the Reticulans. Aftermath has a quasi-real time battle mechanic with an active pause and the ability to queue up multiple orders. On the global map you can do research, manage your troops, with a pretty
    UFO After series took it upon it's shoulders to continue the legacy of XCOM Ufo Defense.
    As the commander of Earth's Remaining forces you fight to take earth back from the Aliens known as the Reticulans. Aftermath has a quasi-real time battle mechanic with an active pause and the ability to queue up multiple orders. On the global map you can do research, manage your troops, with a pretty well fleshed out leveling system and intercept UFOs.
    It's definately not as good as XCOM or it's 2011 re-imagining but it's an interesting position to try out. Altar Games went on to create two more installments of the game and good on them, since Aftershock and Afterlight were noticeably superior to this one. Unfortunately mechanics here are clunky, the game gets unfairly difficult WAY too fast and longer sittings can turn into boring chores. With all that in mind Aftermath is a decent albeit flawed first attempt at an XCOM successor. It's definately worth a playthrough as the music, the atmosphere and the overall feeling of the game give it more of an X-Files vibe.
    Expand
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 23
  2. Negative: 1 out of 23
  1. I wanted a great deal to love this game. X-Com, after all, owned me. UFOA throws few surprises your way, resulting in monotony...The game is good, but with a little more depth and clarity it could have achieved greatness.
  2. 75
    While Aftermath isn't a bad game, and certainly has some wonderful and fun ideas, it just doesn't compare to other squad based tactical games I've played lately like "Silent Storm" (turn-based) or "Commandos 3" (real-time).
  3. If you’ve ever been excited by Sculder and Mully, or terrified by hydrocephalic children, there’s a game for you. It’s not pretty and it’s not perfect, but we’re so glad it’s there.