UFO: Extraterrestrials Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The year is now 2025 and on the newly colonized planet Esperanza our space devices have not just been approached by alien machines but attacked. The player controls a squad of soldiers, light and heavy support combat vehicles, robots and air units located in a base on the planet Esperanza that had been colonized by the spaceship Magalhaes in the year 2023. This squad was brought together by the Esperanza government to face a threat that comes from deep space. In case the player succeeds in averting an alien impact on Esperanza, the story will continue on the planet Earth which has been subdued by alien forces. The title combines global strategy with small, squad-based tactical combat against an alien invasion. To repel the alien invasion the player must take full advantage of the terrain and his surrounding environments. [Tri Synergy] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. 100
    If you have even the slightest interest in strategy games, and if you ever played the X-Com games, then just buy it - you will not regret it. And if you never played any of the X-Com titles then do yourself a favour and snap them up too!
  2. The true heir of the classic X-COM and almost as addictive. However, the game has a multitude of irritating design flaws that need correcting. [June 2007]
  3. UFO isn’t perfect, but it does breathe enough life into a genre that hasn’t seen enough action recently. You could do a lot worse.
  4. Given UFO:ET's $39.99 price tag, it's hard to recommend over the $5 copy of "X-COM: Terror from the Deep" on Steam, unless you're really itching for a minor graphical upgrade. [Aug 2007, p.68]
  5. Offers much of the pleasures of the original...and yet nothing has really been improved. [Sept 2007, p.62]
  6. Just a poorly made game. Almost nothing about it works, and there’s absolutely no reason why you should buy it when you could play UFO: Afterlight (or even Silent Storm) instead.
  7. The best that can be said about the game is that its sci-fi atmosphere and smart artificial intelligence make it a somewhat acceptable way for the desperate to whittle away a couple of dozen hours waiting for someone to finally do a proper remake of "X-COM."

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. TeemuH.
    Jul 12, 2007
    10
    Definately the best UFO remake yet, and easy moddability makes up the few flaws. Playable out-of-box, but like in TES4: Oblivion, the game transforms from good to excellent with a good modpackage. After you try couple of those, playing without 'em is like driving a bicycle with your hands tied behind your back. Expand
  2. Mar 20, 2013
    10
    I am reviewing this game using the UNI Mod which I think made this game the legitimate successor of the original XCOM. I have heard tha vanilla was not good but the one I purchase was the steam version using BT mod. It was okay at first and I would rate it as a 7 but it made the game for me TOO EASY. So I have research and some recommended the UNIMOD for advance players and I have not looked back. I even restarted my game and I love every piece of the UNIMOD for this game. This game thus elevates itself as one of my all time favorites. Expand
  3. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    I agree with the guy that gave it a 100... Easily... If you haven't played an X-COM game, I don't see how you couldn't enjoy this for the amzing strategy/rpg game that it is... If you have played X-COMs, then you would have to be compelled to say that his is by far one of the most challenging, yet fun one in the series! Collapse
  4. AndrewP.
    May 8, 2007
    8
    Definitely going back to the roots that made X-COM a classic and is a hell of a lot of fun. It has a few control issues though.
  5. IUnderwhelmed
    May 8, 2007
    7
    It's an Xcom clone, no doubt about it, and while it doesn't go out of it's way to be unique or set itself apart from the classic title, UFO:ET is something that all of the UFO: titles are not: A really good game, and a really good remake of the original. Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2012
    7
    UFO: Extraterrestrials is a recreation of X-Com where you fight an alien race from invading Earth by building bases, researching new weapons, recruiting marines and taking the fight to the aliens in turn-based ground-combat. UFO: Extraterrestrials Gold Edition has the added bonus that it comes with a lot of modifications that make the game more true to the original or simply less frustrating. Before you start a game, it is worth checking out all the options to make sure they're set to your expectations. Recommended for any one who enjoys turn-based squad-combat games if you can look beyond the horrible, horrible graphics! Expand
  7. Jul 4, 2014
    3
    Although having implemented the lite version of a community mod, the game is still a buggy mess.

    This means the game itself doesn't really
    worth a dent. Expand

See all 12 User Reviews