Unity of Command Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 48 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Unity of Command lets you replay the epic conflict that was the Stalingrad Campaign of World War II. In this turn-based game of strategy and cunning, observe how opportunity leads the German army to advance recklessly into the steppes of southern Russia. And as the story unfolds, join the Soviet campaign to repel the invaders... As these legendary battles play out on the hex board, the tension of decision making and difficulties of conducting operations on a massive scale emerge. Command armies and fronts in maneuver warfare, thrust and encircle, capture cities and cross continents; but never, ever forget to watch your supply lines. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Mar 1, 2012
    90
    Both challenging and elegant, Unity of Command is perfect for both novices and hardcore gamers alike. [March 2012, p.58]
  2. Jan 26, 2012
    84
    Unlike most Eastern Front wargames, Unity fends off overdone unit counts and dull AI. Wargame of the year material. [Mar 2012, p.80]
  3. Dec 16, 2011
    83
    Unity of Command is a looker. Its minimalistic, but stylish visual design is sure to please the fanciful "iPhone generation" of gamers. The map is clean and accurate, and the interface is a picture of user-friendliness. Beyond this delightful façade, there is a wargame that's deep enough for experienced armchair generals and welcoming for newcomers.
  4. 80
    One of the most refreshing turn-based strategy games I've experienced for some time. It's clever and deeply tactical, yet also manages to be relatively quick-paced and exciting.
  5. Mar 9, 2012
    80
    This strategy game is a real gem. It's easy to learn and play, very smart and – thanks to a really evil computer opponent – very challenging. I just wish it had a bit more content, especially in the multiplayer department, but don't let that stop you from giving it a go.
  6. Mar 20, 2012
    80
    Unity of Command is a good turn based strategy game: so difficult but so accurate and deep. A must have for all fans of this genre, but a little bit too difficult for all others.
  7. Mar 17, 2012
    80
    An interesting and challenging strategy title that will make hardcore fans of the genre happy.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 4 out of 24
  1. Jun 25, 2012
    10
    Wow, How did i miss this one? i like war games, but many are too much for me to learn, this is incredibly deep but surprisingly easy to learn, glad i spotted this one. Has a lot of scenarios to play, and seems to be a big community. For a wargame it is beautiful, normally we are use to 20 year old sprites but this one has a perfect UI and graphics, challenging, elegent game, Superb! Collapse
  2. Dec 16, 2013
    10
    This game is exactly what wargamers have been looking for from a computer wargame!

    Not as complex as Gary Grigsby's massive (but great)
    games and not as simple as Panzer General. This is a subtly deep system which rewards careful play with those hard-to-achieve "Brilliant Victory" rewards! Multiplayer can also work but to be honest it is set up for solo play primarily.

    I was also amazed that this is produced by a four person company somewhere in Croatia, the hotbed of computer game design!

    Buy it on sale direct from them or on Steam and you won't be disappointed! Looking forward to further DLC and applications of the system.

    Highly recommended!
    Expand
  3. Mar 2, 2012
    9
    Playing Unity of Command since beta test. I am very pleased with this game. Design, artificial intelligence and user interface are the best I've seen among turn based wargames. Research and gameplay are really good also, and I wonder how such small independent studio (two guys basically!!) made such solid, stable and interesting game that is suitable for newcomers and veterans of wargaming. But yeah, nobody is perfect, so better multiplayer system and ability to undo last move would make Unity of Command even better. The good thing is that actually developers actively support their game so we can expect more ecxiting news in future. Expand
  4. Jan 25, 2014
    7
    The game has very nice, if simplistic mechanics, scenarios are generally well designed, AI is OK, but limited to defensive scenarios, probably because it cannot perform any consistent offensive moves, if you try setting it in scenario editor.
    In general it is nice frame to work with, but lacks meat. There's just a single campaign, others are released as DLCs. There isn't much user created scenarios, so after 5-6 hours you're done with the game, unless you want to repeat campaign for perfect score, which is really painful, as random bad weather will make it impossible to reach objectives in time.
    In general the game reminds me old Panzer General, but PG is still better game. Amazingly no game got close in over 15 years.

    It's worth to buy on sale only, due to lack of content.
    Expand
  5. Dec 14, 2012
    7
    If you liked Panzer General you will like this game, because it plays almost exactly the same. Its a good remake of the 90's classic panzer general, so casual gamers can get into this as well as a grognard, but grognards need to remember its not a full blown war sim. They have incorporated a pretty neat supply system, making sure all your units stay in supply is very important, but its very annoying the CPU will sacrifice 2-3 CORPS just to interfere with your supply for 1 turn, which does have a pretty heavy cause and effect, but its like the CPUs main mission in life. Since it plays like panzer general combat is not considered simultaneous so I can attack the same enemy unit with every unit I have until its defeated, not realistic but it is what it is, all you have to do is keep rotating out units that attacked and rotating in units that are fresh, each hex is considered to be 20KM so this bugs me, and this is how the CPU will always find a way through your lines to interdict your supply lines, very very annoying, Except for this I find the game fun to play and capable of stealing many hours of my life. Expand
  6. Feb 16, 2014
    6
    The game is ok but didn't live up to my expectations. It's biggest weakness is it's lack of customization. You don't get to pick your units like in PG series. You can carry over experienced units if they happen to show up in later scenarios but it can be very difficult to level up a large number of units. In addition, the game penalizes you for attempting to attempt a sound military victory and instead forces you to simply get units to objectives as fast as possible without regards to casualties or the state of your battle line, something no commander would ever ignore. Overall I give it a 6/10, it could have been much more than it is. The PG series did all of these things with a good level of balance that this game does not provide. I have not played the DLCs. One good aspect of the game is the supply function, that while frustrating, provides additional tactical considerations. Expand
  7. Apr 15, 2013
    0
    To explain this one best: for the simple-minded. This game portrays the hard fought eastern front of ww2 as a fairy tail, with generics and odd terminology. The AI is nearly non-existent and the graphics are below normal compared to other strategy games of its kind. The number of campaigns are lacking and the tutorial is bugged completely. Stay away from this mess if you value your money. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews