User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 135 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 11 out of 135

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 13, 2011
    3
    All in all, the story line seems pretty good. However after playing for a dozen or so hours, I discovered that it randomly crashes, constantly sending me backwards, which is VERY frustrating. Along side some very... odd behavior from certain units. I had a walker take off on me, wandering through areas where nothing was supposed to be able to walk through, which confused the AI and madeAll in all, the story line seems pretty good. However after playing for a dozen or so hours, I discovered that it randomly crashes, constantly sending me backwards, which is VERY frustrating. Along side some very... odd behavior from certain units. I had a walker take off on me, wandering through areas where nothing was supposed to be able to walk through, which confused the AI and made it's legs freeze and basically do circles. It had the potential to be a really good game, however the flaws within the game make it not worth the 20 price tag. Luckily I bought it on sale, so I don't feel completely ripped off. Expand
  2. MortenA
    Jan 20, 2010
    2
    The graphics of this game is absolutely horrible. The game screenshots looks really nice, but once you start the game you will discover the truth: It looks like graphics from the early 90'ies. The trailer looks really awesome. It is the same trailer shown when starting the game, but after that the trailers inside the game look terrible. The graphics in the in game trailers is so bad The graphics of this game is absolutely horrible. The game screenshots looks really nice, but once you start the game you will discover the truth: It looks like graphics from the early 90'ies. The trailer looks really awesome. It is the same trailer shown when starting the game, but after that the trailers inside the game look terrible. The graphics in the in game trailers is so bad you think it must be a joke. I normally don't mind graphics that isn't too perfect, but the graphics of this game looks like something that was drawn in MS paint by someone without any kind of artistic background. The sound is half decent. Think the first command & conquer and then reduce quality by about 50% and you reach the sound quality of this game. I can't believe I just paid for this game, I feel completely ripped off. The game isn't worth 20 Expand
  3. StuartD.
    May 30, 2008
    0
    I loved Petroglyph's efforts with Empire at War and its expansion. I really wanted to like this game. I installed it. After 2 minutes, a crash to desktop. I've troubleshooted it to death. Silly me, I thought a game that's been out for going on a year would be stable. May I propose a new name: Universe at War: Crash to Desktop Stay far, far away from this game. You've I loved Petroglyph's efforts with Empire at War and its expansion. I really wanted to like this game. I installed it. After 2 minutes, a crash to desktop. I've troubleshooted it to death. Silly me, I thought a game that's been out for going on a year would be stable. May I propose a new name: Universe at War: Crash to Desktop Stay far, far away from this game. You've been warned. Expand
  4. JohnS.
    Dec 20, 2007
    3
    What we see here is an evoluton of the standart RTS engine cash cow, a stereotype cliche typecast game with a dramatic storyline but no progress or evolution. Yes, it mimics starcraft in many ways, No its not deeper or better in any way besides graphical enhancements. There are a few good features - the transportation system is intuitive, the tech tree of course is an interesting idea What we see here is an evoluton of the standart RTS engine cash cow, a stereotype cliche typecast game with a dramatic storyline but no progress or evolution. Yes, it mimics starcraft in many ways, No its not deeper or better in any way besides graphical enhancements. There are a few good features - the transportation system is intuitive, the tech tree of course is an interesting idea that simply has very little depth besides the old Rock Paper Scissors system. The tech tree also happens to be very small, very limited unit selection. After seeing games like Supreme Commander and (What I can see as an acurate assumption) Spore, this kind of game is very boring to the more than average user. If your looking for ingenuity so far as gameplay and innovative tactics, look elsewhere. Expand
  5. joestevens
    Mar 29, 2008
    3
    terrible generic rts , 3 points are for scifi units an hacking to upload viruses the only half decent fresh idea in the game

    ithas no soul , broken multiplayer an a total bore of a campaign
    they pretty much sealed the fate of this game by using the windows live gold multiplayer another flop for sega dont waste your money
  6. Jul 18, 2011
    1
    Where is the story ? Is that a scenario ? The game is finished in one day - the movie is poor and character stuck - but well the badest thing is the story ... so quick ! Too bad - but this game become fastly boring with time.
  7. AnonymousMC
    Dec 27, 2007
    3
    The demo is quite limp. If it is indicative of the full version, Universe at War brings nothing new and cheeses up the old to the point that I momentarily questioned whether or not aliens are actually cool. This game is to other RTSs what Teen Titans is to the Justice League.
  8. AttilaB
    May 13, 2009
    2
    Boring and lame sums it up. Yeh the walkers and some graphics are cool but everything else including balancing/gameplay, tutorials, story, multiplayer, units all suck, big time. What a letdown. The creative director should get his you know what cut off on this project. Why did I just pay $5 for this on steam? I guess its because its worth about $5 or maybe less.
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 33 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Universe at War is a good title, but it isn't without it's flaws. As-is, though, Universe at War is a comfortable ride. [Dec 2007, p.64]
  2. 70
    Sophistication's not UAW's strong suit: It flaunts its influences on its sleeve and thrives on its absurd outlandishness -- an exploitation RTS, suitable for midnight screenings.
  3. RTS fans would do well to investigate Universe at War. [Dec 2007, p.96]