Universe Sandbox PC

Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 4 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 4
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 4
  3. Negative: 0 out of 4
  1. Nov 13, 2011
    84
    Fun with physics, if you're happy to dig to find your treasures, Universe Sandbox has them in spades. [Dec 2011, p.112]
  2. May 16, 2011
    75
    After a helpful (though light) tutorial, Universe Sandbox offers little guidance for aspiring unmoved movers. A more robust set of tutorials, a manual, or even the use of Steam Achievements to encourage varied behavior would go a long way toward helping players make their own music of the spheres.
  3. May 18, 2011
    80
    Universe Sandbox isn't a game per se; there are no bosses, aims or levels, merely an accurate model of astronomical bodies for you to fiddle with. It's really more of a toy – the virtual equivalent of a configurable orrery, except hugely more complex than any mechanical system.
  4. PC Gamer
    Jul 14, 2011
    87
    This is where universe sandbox succeeds brilliantly: players experience godly power to create or destroy, while almost unavoidably learning something about the physical properties or our universe. [Sept 2011, p.69]
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 111 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 33
  2. Negative: 9 out of 33
  1. Jul 19, 2011
    6
    I was expecting something more like a Garry's Mod toolbox environment with the ability to quickly place stars, planets, moons, black holes,I was expecting something more like a Garry's Mod toolbox environment with the ability to quickly place stars, planets, moons, black holes, galaxies, etc. The GUI is not very user friendly making it very cumbersome to try things out. It has a lot of potential, but they really need to focus on cleaning up the user interface so you don't need an astrophysics degree to figure out what is going on. Full Review »
  2. May 8, 2011
    7
    This isn't a game as much as a simulation. This title has a challenge in scale; Zooming out on a solar system will quickly reduce celestialThis isn't a game as much as a simulation. This title has a challenge in scale; Zooming out on a solar system will quickly reduce celestial objects into invisibilty. It's a cool way to get a sense of the largeness of space. The UI is really well put together given the giant subject matter... It isn't hard to find one of the 60 moons of Jupiter in the sprawling work area. I'm not sure how much I will play it. It's fun tossing a red giant on top of Pluto and watching everything hurtle out of orbit, but where does one go from there? I cannot knowledgably assess the accuracy of the physics; I'll leave that to the astrophysicists. Regardless, I think there is some solid educational value to this title. Full Review »
  3. May 27, 2012
    3
    It doesn't matter if you look at it as a game or a simulation - it is bad either way: plenty of bugs, crashes a lot, simulations becomeIt doesn't matter if you look at it as a game or a simulation - it is bad either way: plenty of bugs, crashes a lot, simulations become inaccurate pretty fast, and once you finish the tutorials and play around a bit...it loses its interest. The developers shouldn't have released it this way, or, as other have said, they shouldn't have charged so much for it if they did. Full Review »