Unstoppable Gorg PC

Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 26
  2. Negative: 1 out of 26
  1. Jan 24, 2012
    65
    The idea of rotating orbits and fantastic aesthetics make Unstoppable Gorg feel striking and unique to start, but the rest of the game doesn't live up to that great first impression.
  2. Feb 3, 2012
    72
    Unstoppable Gorg combines innovation and tradition in the tower defense sub-genre, featuring a complex single player campaign and paying tribute to the '50s sci-fi movies.
  3. Jan 28, 2012
    70
    Unstoppable Gorg is a surprising tower defense game. The cutscenes are unique and in perfect '50s style. Challenging and interesting.
  4. Feb 8, 2012
    70
    There's plenty of style to go around, with an excellent foundation. Unstoppable Gorg provides a fresh new twist on the expected system; however, its limited selection of combat mechanics keeps it from truly taking off.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Mar 8, 2012
    60
    Nice try to make an unusual tower defense game with a touch of old sci-fi movies suffers from exaggerated difficulty and lack of online rosters. [Feb 2012]
  6. CD-Action
    Feb 14, 2012
    70
    Unstoppable Gorg differs from other tower defense games and offers enough content and variety to provide a couple of fun evenings. [March 2012, p.63]
  7. Jan 27, 2012
    72
    Quotation forthcoming.
  8. PC Gamer UK
    Mar 23, 2012
    73
    The game's later levels get brutally devious, and the trial and error can become tiresome. [Apr 2012, p.113]
  9. Mar 9, 2012
    70
    Unstoppable Gorg provides a new and exciting take on tower defense. It's a much more "active" game than most tower defense games, because you constantly have to work to keep the turrets in optimal positions, and it can be really really tough at times too. But it is highly addictive, and the presentation is lovely.
User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 29 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 3 out of 11
  1. Jan 20, 2012
    6
    I like TDs, ive always liked TDs, so after watching the TB "review" of this game i thought this was a no-brainer, i just gotta have it. But,I like TDs, ive always liked TDs, so after watching the TB "review" of this game i thought this was a no-brainer, i just gotta have it. But, after spending about two hours in the game i get struck by buyers remorse. Its a very neat game in some aspects: The graphics and style of the game with the 40's inspired cutscenes and general laoyt are fun. The dynamic aspect of the game is a great idea and i bet alot of people will applaud the game for just that. But well, i dont like it that much to be honest. You see i hate juggling in TDs, i hate when the game forces me to always replace towers to make it optimal for just that wave, i much more prefer to build a solid defense and watch if kill everything. The dynamic mechanic here where you move around the towers all the time is sorta like juggling, and i just feel stressed and annoyed when i have to "kite" an enemy with my towers. And since i dont like that part, its kinda hard to like the game since its such an major part of the game. I guess i will play thru it, but im not having as much fun as i thought i would. A pricetag of 9â Full Review »
  2. Jan 21, 2012
    9
    Back in the day I used to love TDs. As the genre got more saturated and more and more copies of the same recipe were released, I got bored.Back in the day I used to love TDs. As the genre got more saturated and more and more copies of the same recipe were released, I got bored. It's great to see that recently there have been new titles which introduce new aspects to the already boring "build and wait" mechanics.

    In my books Unstoppable Gorg is a 9. The main story could be a bit longer and as a PC game it could be a little bit flashier. Overlapping enemies are also sometimes a bit annoying, as a bigger creep might hide something else under it. However for me the pro's outweigh the cons. I love the presentation and the oldies sci-fi. There's also a huge amount of replayability, ensuring that even if I get bored after a long session, there's still alot to come back to. The game keeps introducing new interesting stuff as the story goes and especially the last couple of weapons are extremely fun to use.
    I love that the game isn't too casual and offers a real challenge although it's very easy to get into.

    I wish there was a multiplayer mode, like a co-op or something though.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 3, 2012
    8
    Unstoppable Gorg is a great game, in my opinion. It kept the old fashioned tower defense action and excitement while delivering a fresh breathUnstoppable Gorg is a great game, in my opinion. It kept the old fashioned tower defense action and excitement while delivering a fresh breath of air to the genre. The music was pretty catchy too, even though it got repetitive after a while, and the stereotypical horrible 50's sci-fi "special effects" made me chuckle along with the narrator. The only problem is that, depending on how you play, some of the towers were kind of superfluous. It was also a pretty challenging game without being crushingly difficult. I'm not gonna lie, I'm kind of addicted to it. Full Review »