Volgarr the Viking PC

Volgarr the Viking Image
Metascore
76

Generally favorable reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Remember when games were tough? Return to the Golden Age of arcades with a hardcore action experience that pulls no punches. Volgarr the Viking features simple controls, high challenge, and meticulous design - combined with hand-made pixel animation, an epic soundtrack, and buckets of blood.Remember when games were tough? Return to the Golden Age of arcades with a hardcore action experience that pulls no punches. Volgarr the Viking features simple controls, high challenge, and meticulous design - combined with hand-made pixel animation, an epic soundtrack, and buckets of blood. Flex your gaming muscles and step into the arena with Volgarr the Viking. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 16, 2013
    80
    Despite the lack of leniency, this game is definitely worth losing your hair over. It’ll kick you in the ass several times, but that’s honestly the best part about it.
  2. Nov 25, 2013
    80
    If you miss those old-school games where beating just a stage was already an achievement, where you'll die if you don't pay all the attention it deserves, this is the experience you're looking for.
  3. Sep 19, 2013
    80
    Volgarr the Viking is a brutal throwback to classic game design. Those wanting a challenge and who don’t mind repetition should not miss this.
  4. Oct 22, 2013
    80
    Volgarr The Viking is a very difficult but enjoyable platform game. You have to try it if you have loved Rastan Saga or another platform arcade game from the eighties/nineties.
  5. PC PowerPlay
    Oct 28, 2013
    80
    Volgarr does difficulty really well - but there's nothing here for anyone who doesn't like the taste of their own tears. [Nov 2013, p.87]
  6. Pelit (Finland)
    May 11, 2014
    77
    Völgarr the Viking is challenging, which is nice, but there are too few checkpoints. Repetition is never, ever fun. [Feb 2014]
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Oct 24, 2013
    60
    Brutal game that requires you to clench your teeth and dig in. If you do, you'll get a sense of achievement that is very rare nowadays. [Nov 2013]

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 30
  2. Negative: 7 out of 30
  1. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    There are several reasons this game is among the greatest within it's genre. First off; it's enemies are in predetermined locations and rarelyThere are several reasons this game is among the greatest within it's genre. First off; it's enemies are in predetermined locations and rarely deviate from a designated pattern. What this does is allow players to develop a level of cognitive memory in the same vain as classics within the Ghosts'n Goblins and Contra franchises as well as the more recent Demon's/Dark Souls. Basically, you learn as you play and improve with each mistake. eventually you will develop the reflexes required to navigate the later challenges in the game.
    Second. This games weapons are a sword and a spear. unlike the aforementioned Ghosts'n Goblins and Contra this game makes you use the same two weapons throughout. this works, in my opinion, better due to the games level design being built solely around these two weapons. The Spear is especially impressive due to it's many functions (and trick shots when you get the hang of it). It was also very smart for the developers to give the spear the same base strength as the sword so that it can be used as a primary weapon instead of a 'panic' or spamming weapon.
    Third; this game maintains the 'stiff' double jump as seen in Super Ghouls'n Ghost [SNES]. The level design is perfectly catered to this jump standard and despite what you may think, it actually makes things easier when you get used to it as it locks you in almost grid like jumping patterns. This ultimately helps you gauge distances better based on the games design.
    Fourth; The challenge. Although many critics and users will immediately dub this a "Hardcore retro game" it should be noted that it's actually easier than your standard early '90's 16-bit Platformer. Checkpoints can be found in the middle of each stage and before entering the next stage but, you have Infinite lives (unless you play the tougher "hard" difficulty levels). The levels aren't overly long and there is only 6 levels on the main route so with a bit of practice it's not bad at all. Enemies don't even act randomly (except the ghosts but they move very slow) so that is a huge help in the muscle memory department.The only thing I would consider "Hard" for newer players would be the fact that there is no checkpoint directly before to the bosses (like in Mega Man games). I can see this being trouble for some but the bosses have very simplistic patterns that can be learned with some dodging and observing before engaging.
    Overall, being a huge fan of this kind of game, I can honestly say that Crazy Viking Studio's nailed it. I would even go so far as to say it's actually better than most classics found in the arcades or on the SNES. My pick for GotY and I hope to see more from this studio.
    Expand
  2. Sep 22, 2013
    10
    First of all, this game is not for everyone. It's for real gamers,the ones from the the old-school era of gaming, back in the 80s and 90s.First of all, this game is not for everyone. It's for real gamers,the ones from the the old-school era of gaming, back in the 80s and 90s. Volgarr the Viking is a (very) hardcore action platformer game, and the only "saving" option here is the ability and skill you get each time you play the game. Every time you play it again you will go further, because you are learning how to play it. This game mechanics is hardly seen nowadays unfortunately, it reminds me of many games, like: Ghost n Goblins, Castlevania and even a bit of Zelda II Adventure of Link. The game has 3 different endings, each one harder to get than the other; leaderboards to compare your score with all players in the world, and trust me, a lot a fun packed. Volgarr is the kind of game that if you dedicate yourself to master it, it will reward you with many satisfying moments. Go for it if you like a good challenge! For the kind of game that Volgarr the viking is, and the kind of game that Volgarr the Viking clearly always intended to be, it deserves a 10 out of 10. Expand
  3. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    It does exactly what it's supposed to do!

    It's an homage to the difficult hardcore platformers of the 90's. If you aren't familiar with
    It does exactly what it's supposed to do!

    It's an homage to the difficult hardcore platformers of the 90's.
    If you aren't familiar with any snes or nes platformer, then you might as well give up before starting the game.
    The controls are reminiscent of the old Castlevania games.
    There's really not much else to say other than that it's well designed in an old-school kind of way.

    There are no instructions in the game other than an intro level that's a lot like Megaman X's intro level, so you're forced to learn all the mechanics while playing. This is not a bad thing at all and it just strengthens the old-school feel.

    So, to sum up gameplay: It's perfect.

    I wish the music was a little more energetic, though. I know what it's inspired by, but at times I feel it just doesn't fit what's going on in-game.

    The graphics are great, but seem a little muddy. Hopefully, they could add some kind of filter option to turn of that muddiness and keep the sprites pixelated.

    If you plan to buy this game; beware its insane difficulty. It honestly hurts my face.
    Expand
  4. Sep 14, 2013
    9
    ODIN BE PRAISED! Volgarr the Viking is here, and it's place is already secure amongst the honored dead in Valhalla.

    I don't really even
    ODIN BE PRAISED! Volgarr the Viking is here, and it's place is already secure amongst the honored dead in Valhalla.

    I don't really even need to go into massive detail here. If you watch any gameplay trailer, Volgar the Viking speaks for itself. This game harkens back to old school arcade sidescrollers and beat-em-ups, while also introducing a lot of nice additions when it comes to platforming. The satisfying combat is just the icing on the cake.

    You WILL die here, a lot. Obviously the difficulty means this experience isn't for everybody, but then again that's very poor criteria to hold against it. What I will say is that Volgarr gives me an almost Demon's Souls or Dark Souls style of vibe from it.

    It's well worth your time, and it's sure as hel worth your money...so hop on your longboat, grab your sword and spear, and prepare you favorite heavy metal for some Viking savagery!
    Expand
  5. Oct 4, 2013
    7
    Volgarr is a game I'll be playing for quite a while. After 5 hours I've only gotten past 3 stages. It's good to finally have a real challenge.Volgarr is a game I'll be playing for quite a while. After 5 hours I've only gotten past 3 stages. It's good to finally have a real challenge. It's a shame Volgarr wasn't released in the SNES era or it would have been a classic. Expand
  6. Jul 6, 2014
    6
    The theme and graphic style drew me in. The music was suitable and I reminisced about my days on the SNES and Genesis. But several hours in,The theme and graphic style drew me in. The music was suitable and I reminisced about my days on the SNES and Genesis. But several hours in, and still on level 1 I realised something.

    The game is hard NOT because it's hard, but because the jumping is absolutely terrible. Having no control over your jump makes this game artificially hard as 9 times out of 10 it was jumping into a pit that killed me because for some reason, Volgarr can't jump vertically up and a bit forward to get on a platform, but instead has to do this aberration of a left then immediately right jump to get over walls he's next to.

    I can accept the save system, the very few hp Volgarr has, and the quick reflexes needed at various points, but the jumping ruins everything. I recommend this game but only in 10 minute bursts, any more and you might find your monitor outside your house out of unfair frustration.
    Expand
  7. Oct 23, 2013
    1
    If ripping off awful, outdated games is a good thing, well done Volgarr. The graphics are a mess, with no real style or consistency, theIf ripping off awful, outdated games is a good thing, well done Volgarr. The graphics are a mess, with no real style or consistency, the controls are not fit for purpose and as mentioned, perhaps the worst part is that it's just unoriginal.

    Retro gaming is about the best parts of gaming heritage, but Volgarr is just the worst. To be avoided.
    Collapse

See all 30 User Reviews

Trailers