Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Fatshark, War of the Vikings is a new standalone entry into the War-franchise that will pull players into the brutal and bloody Viking Age, challenging them to design a personalized warrior and sack England as a mighty Norseman - or defend it as a brave Saxon.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 19
  2. Negative: 2 out of 19
  1. Jun 12, 2014
    79
    War of the Vikings is faster than War of the Roses, but otherwise makes all the same mistakes. Almost fun, but if I want to stare a bunch of gauges, I play flight simulators. Copy melee from Dark Souls, please. [June 2014]
  2. Jul 14, 2014
    74
    War of the Vikings provides gamers with entertaining and hectic online multiplayer combat that ultimately suffers from a slow unlock system and lack of unique gameplay features.
  3. Apr 28, 2014
    70
    From my view then, this is a game of unrealised potential; it hangs on the verge of being 'good' and instead rests sadly in the realms of 'pretty decent'.
  4. Apr 23, 2014
    60
    Although the early access logo is now gone from the official site, War of the Vikings feels far from finished. The premise shows a lot of potential, but we won't be returning until after a couple of patches.
  5. Jul 9, 2014
    60
    Even after release, War of the Vikings is still at the Early Access level in terms of balance, variety and net-code.
  6. 60
    It is certainly not a bad game, but it feels like War of the Vikings has room to grow, and is currently not as much of an advancement over the last game as I would have liked.
  7. Apr 22, 2014
    35
    The mechanics don’t match the execution, and everything suffers as a result.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 25
  2. Negative: 7 out of 25
  1. Jan 21, 2014
    10
    Fast and brutal skilled based game play, that will get your adrenalin rushing through your body as arrows, javelins and throwing axes fly by your head! Outsmarting people is key to victory in this game, and you'll get fight till the bitter end! This game is one heck of a good game play experience, since most of the players are mature gamers. Comparing this game to such a title as Chivalry, is like comparing chess with uno. A must for history lovers and viking-enthusiast! Personally I can't wait for the full release! Expand
  2. Nov 4, 2013
    10
    Just can't get enough of this game. And it's only in Alpha early access! Still finding out new ways to fight, new tactics to try. Real competition in what feels like a real down and dirty streetfight vs Saxons or Vikings. Gorgeous maps, more on the way. Recommended. Expand
  3. Oct 7, 2013
    10
    A sequel to War of the Roses, this game features timing- and physics-based combat along the lines of Mount and Blade's classic series of games. Graphics are much improved over the engine of that game, and its armor system is slightly improved with the addition of armor based hit-zones... unlike WotR, set in the medieval times, WotV does not have any heavier armors or mounted combat, instead adding beards and thrown weapons. Expand
  4. Mar 4, 2014
    7
    War of the Vikings is decent so far but just doesn't have the excitement that War of the Roses had. Combat feels awkward and slower than the combat I came to love from War of the Roses. Also, latency issues are a constant problem so I'm hoping that they will work on that. Otherwise, I feel that this game has serious potential and shouldn't be judged harshly until release. Also for the people who complain about blocking, PRACTICE! This game takes skill. Expand
  5. Nov 10, 2013
    5
    2/10 for me at 200+ ping. Cant hit a thing. Very slow to attack, dodge, etc. Awkward controls with having to press left mouse button and a direction for the mouse at the same time, which sends your view all over the place. Looks nice though. If only it had enough players in Australia to make it worthwhile. Maybe come back in a year after official release. Expand
  6. Oct 16, 2013
    3
    Have a reason for choosing this game because Viking and the name seize out it.
    There is a good game in the others to this type.
    There will
    be no need to choose this. Expand
  7. Apr 27, 2014
    0
    This is war of the roses .. unfortunately with the same bad netcode , without horses , one attack direction removed ( dumbed down ) .. and parry delay

See all 25 User Reviews