War Thunder PC

War Thunder Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 8 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 711 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: War Thunder is a next generation MMO combat game dedicated to World War II military aviation, armored vehicles, and fleets. You will take part in all of the major combat battles, fighting with real players all over the world.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Aug 14, 2014
    90
    Overall the War Thunder tank battles are great even at this early stage.
  2. Oct 17, 2013
    90
    Don’t be fooled: even if it's a free to play game, the qualities of War Thunder are so many that the game stands up as the new reference for flight and combat simulations.
  3. Game World Navigator Magazine
    Jan 25, 2017
    87
    One of the cornerstones of War Thunder is that player’s skill is more important than his wallet. Premium vehicles offer no combat advantages, there is no “microtransaction-only” ammo or consumables, so no amount of cash will buy you a spot on the top of the food chain. [Issue#216, p.56]
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    85
    It offers a lot of different play styles. Let's play in arcade mode or with more realism with g-forces and limited ammunition - or let's play in a more complex simulation mode.
  5. Aug 7, 2014
    78
    War Thunder rules the air but the lack of polish hurts, as does the dull ground warfare.
  6. Jan 13, 2017
    75
    The official launch of War Thunder reminded me why I like this game so much. It's adorably chaotic - in contrast to the reliably designed World of Tanks. That's why it can be really fun and frustrating at the same time. There's tons of great vehicles (and the planes are superb!) and a difficult simulation mode, but there are also balance and technical issues.
  7. Jun 20, 2014
    72
    With strong visuals and convincing audio backing it up, I thoroughly enjoyed the time I spent inside my P-36 Hawk, and its generous free-to-play model never got in the way.

See all 8 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 210
  2. Negative: 95 out of 210
  1. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    This is best simulation of World War II. Take your plane and prepare for best war simulator ever!yet better this game is simulator it MMo mode!!!!!!!!
  2. Jul 27, 2014
    10
    I have played a lot of flight simulators and this one is the best. I can't wait to see how this game pans out after oculus rift comes out.I have played a lot of flight simulators and this one is the best. I can't wait to see how this game pans out after oculus rift comes out.

    I like to point out that people cry about how this game matches you up with higher tier planes/tanks (VERY RARELY), they don't understand that this game takes in BATTLERANKS of the vehicle, not the HARDCODED tier. This prevents players from using highest planes in Tier X vs the lowest planes in Tier X which helps balance significantly.

    Another thing I want to address is that there are also people crying about how a specific faction's guns are a bit weaker. Ex. 3 Cannons Japs vs 4 Cannons Fw190. Despite historical accuracy, this is a great balancing decision. Using the above example. Fw190 is an energy fighter which requires a complete different style to fly (aka boom and zoom), which means that the window of triggering is only a fraction of a second. On the other hand, Jap Zeros are turn fighters which means they will have more time on target, therefore slightly less fire power to even out the playing field.

    I rarely give games 10s but I think this game deserves every single score of mine. Developers are CONSTANTLY adding more features and new vehicles with World War Mode coming soon (Don't quote me). It is a mode where everyone fight in different threaters of wars which influences each other (i think, not many details are out).

    Keep up the GREAT work Gajin!!!

    Note: This game is by all means NOT a P2W, Strict battle rank system ensures you will rarely be out guned because panzer 2 vs Tiger 2. Progression is VERY reasonable.
    Expand
  3. Sep 28, 2014
    9
    Excellent graphics, good immersion, and servers work well. Should be more maps, but the game is still on beta. To be a f2p game is an amazingExcellent graphics, good immersion, and servers work well. Should be more maps, but the game is still on beta. To be a f2p game is an amazing game. Try it Expand
  4. Apr 6, 2015
    5
    There is no proper editor when I could make for example 2 vs 2 with choosing airplanes for me and enemy. I cannot make mission where I wouldThere is no proper editor when I could make for example 2 vs 2 with choosing airplanes for me and enemy. I cannot make mission where I would have to destroy for example 4 tanks.

    Missions for single player and dynamic battle are just retarded. Enemy see only my airplane. They act like swarm. That is the worst **** in this dumb game. Maybe for multiplayer it is playable but then there is controls that allow to use mouse with lots of assist so even worst retard can play. This game is made only for MP and is forcing to play MP and allows uneven combat where only simulation can be played in MP with decent fun. But as for me there is no fun in this game because I wanted to create my own missions and have fun and develop my skills. But no this game is forcing players to go into MP straight to boring battles.
    Biggest turnoff is lack of proper mission creator where player could build his skills instead game forces everybody to go and play in MP and any SP modes are retarded making AI swarm player.
    It is retarded when on my tail I see all enemies while my wingmens and other airplanes try to destroy that swarm AI. This looks simply retarded and that game is worth 1/10 just for good engine and good simulation in simulation mode.
    Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2014
    3
    My score should probably be high but I don't believe that the developers deserve anything positive anymore. Before 1.37 the game was veryMy score should probably be high but I don't believe that the developers deserve anything positive anymore. Before 1.37 the game was very well balanced and fun showing the new approach and the company that cared for its users unlike World of Tanks/ Warplanes/ Whatever they have now. In 1.37 they basically turned the game into a massive grind (in hope that more people would spend real money on the game). When the update came out, everyone was outraged and there were tons of posts showing this. Gaijin decides to start locking lots of posts and many were ignored. I actually stated that I was unhappy with the way that Gaijin and the forum moderators responded to this and made a topic which discussed this. Then, I am told that I am not allowed to criticize the moderators. The game is still fun when playing a battle of 2 but it is too time consuming to get further in the tree. The ground forces was supposed to bring hope back to the game. The arcade of tanks was actually reasonably fun but the promised combined battles (planes and tanks) were bitterly disappointing. Another tool, the CDK which was to bring custom missions to War Thunder was another hope that became a disappointment. Gaijin attempts to block every single attempt to circumnavigate the grinding, requiring you to have a plane to fly it in a mission. The poor explanation and instructions of the tool are another drawback. Whatever you do in this game, don't spend money (real money) on this game as Gaijin needs to be taught a lesson. Expand
  6. Nov 29, 2014
    1
    It's got pretty graphics. That is literally the only good thing I can say about this game. Flight models are completely broken for mostIt's got pretty graphics. That is literally the only good thing I can say about this game. Flight models are completely broken for most planes, damage models for both planes and tanks are completely fubar....constant stealth nerfing of match rewards to slow progress to a crawl thus forcing people to pay to progress at a reasonable rate....no. This game WAS good back at patch 1.26 and 1.27...but here at patch 1.43 it's utter feces. Would not recommend to my worst enemy. Expand
  7. Sep 13, 2016
    0
    update........8 months ago i described this game as "terrible game,terrible gameplay, pretty graphics,.indifferent devs who just want yourupdate........8 months ago i described this game as "terrible game,terrible gameplay, pretty graphics,.indifferent devs who just want your money so make the free to play stuff such a grind that you will either quit or spend money to win.
    it has no balance, loads of bugs (that the devs don't want to hear about) massive russian bias (it's a russian made game after all ) the only plus this game has is it looks good and thats it!
    AVOID this game it is just terrible !" well i have just given it another go (hoping against hope it had improved) welll sadly it has not in fact it may actually be worse!! shame really but just as before AVOID THIS GAME IT IS TERRIBLE!!!
    Expand

See all 210 User Reviews