Warcraft III: The Frozen Throne Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 748 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Frozen Throne provides gamers with a vast new chapter in the epic Warcraft saga. In the single-player campaign, players revisit the war-torn world of Azeroth. Several months have passed since Archimonde and the Burning Legion were defeated at the battle of Mount Hyjal, yet a new threatThe Frozen Throne provides gamers with a vast new chapter in the epic Warcraft saga. In the single-player campaign, players revisit the war-torn world of Azeroth. Several months have passed since Archimonde and the Burning Legion were defeated at the battle of Mount Hyjal, yet a new threat has arisen throughout the land. One new Hero per race, each possessing powerful spells and magical abilities. A host of new units, each equipped with new abilities and spells, giving players the opportunity to create diverse strategic and tactical forms of combat. Player-built shops, unique for each race, equipped with items carefully designed to improve and aid the units of every race. Neutral Heroes, available for recruitment by all players, that can supplement and strengthen a player's army with all new spells and abilities. Expanded multiplayer options over Battle.net including multiple new game types, clan and tournament support. [Blizzard] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 22 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. 100
    More than just an expansion - technically, I think the game could be considered a sequel with all the depth that is in the game. If you have Reign of Chaos, this is a must buy for you and RTS fans everywhere.
  2. If all the features that come with the game aren’t enough value for your hard earned gaming dollar, well you’ll be playing for at least 60-80 hours on the campaign alone.
  3. Frozen Throne has wonderful controls that are smooth and really intuitive. Plus the game adds a whole slew of new things for players to control, from units to heroes.
  4. The quintessential expansion pack; with more to do, see, and experience on many different levels. [Sept 2003, p.122]
  5. An enjoyable expansion despite the terrible dialogue and subpar story from the original continuing on.
  6. Manages to fix the balance problems that crept up in WarCraft III, but is unable to fix the fundamental problem. The game remains at an uncomfortable middle-ground between strategy and tactics, not giving enough of either or focusing explicitly on one.
  7. The single-player game’s extreme difficulty will throw off many people, and the less than satisfactory ending will leave a bad taste in your mouth.

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 80
  2. Negative: 2 out of 80
  1. DavidW.
    Jul 5, 2003
    10
    This is the best game I've ever played. PERIOD.
  2. Oct 22, 2011
    10
    CONTAINS SPOILERS !
    This expansion, completes the story of the fallen prince leading him to became "ONE" with the Lich King. One of the
    CONTAINS SPOILERS !
    This expansion, completes the story of the fallen prince leading him to became "ONE" with the Lich King. One of the best stroy telling in its Genre with an amazing story, Frozen Throne is not an easy game to beat in its single player campaign. One, should play this expansion before starting WOW series inorder to have a full understanding of the events. It is not satisfactory to read it from forums since it is important to feel like Arthas before killing him in WOW. Arthas had reasons before walking through his dark path. 10/10
    Expand
  3. Samtam90
    Nov 8, 2005
    10
    This is simply the best RPG ever. It would be already enough to see how many custo maps there are for this masterpiece at This is simply the best RPG ever. It would be already enough to see how many custo maps there are for this masterpiece at http://maps.worldofwar.net like some of the best RPGs maps you'll find for any game. It has probably the best editor ever, which is even more powerful than Morrowind's becuase the customization is TOTAL: you can create WHATEVER YOU WANT, from a simple linear butchery map to a complex nonlinear and dynamic RPG with vast and living world. Add to this the multiplayer and then enjoy. Thank you Blizzard. Expand
  4. Jan 2, 2015
    10
    Warcraft 3: The Frozen Throne is one of the greatest games ever created in history. It is perfection and an ultimate stroke of genius. It isWarcraft 3: The Frozen Throne is one of the greatest games ever created in history. It is perfection and an ultimate stroke of genius. It is up there with other timeless classics and great milestones in gaming. A 10 does not give this game justice, as the Warcraft 3 editor toolset has been absolutely groundbreaking in gaming. Warcraft 3's release back in 2003 was so influential it rippled across multiple genres. If there would be a "Mona Lisa" of gaming, Warcraft 3 is it.

    Warcraft 3 spawned not one but TWO new genres - MOBA's (Yes, League of Legends can thank Warcraft 3's modding community) and TOWER DEFENSE.

    This review is a long time coming. I've waited quite a while to write this as I've been playing Warcraft 3 for over 7 years straight. Yes, you've read correctly - been playing since 2006. Over my time playing Warcraft 3, I've probably played over 50,000 games and counting.

    It's difficult to write a full review for Warcraft 3 because there are two sides to this game. There is the campaign and standard multiplier melee. Then there are the custom maps. These are maps and essentially completely separate games created by an enthusiastic modding community using the Warcraft 3 editor , and eventually evolved to advanced editors that allowed even greater flexibility with the WC3 engine.

    The campaign follows the story that led up the events in World of Warcraft, and you play 4 major races of Warcraft. Warcraft 3 blended elements of traditional RTS found in its older games of Warcraft and Starcraft, and elements of RPG character progression. You control both armies and heroes. Heroes slowly level up and get stronger and stronger, eventually becoming the backbone of your army. The campaign is executed flawlessly - you can tell this is the similar talent that developed the classics of Diablo and Starcraft. Alot of passion was put into this game.

    Warcraft 3 had a great competitive multiplier scene that is still going strong today. Upon its release in early 2000's, we saw the development of competitive online gaming tournaments, or "ladders". Similar to the gameplay of W2 and Starcraft but with the new elements of added heroes. People generally consider WC3 to be much more fun to watch than Starcraft. This competitive ladder was groundbreaking. Starcraft was more influential but Warcraft 3 had its own ladder that was a force to be reckoned with. Better yet, the skill level required to play W3 was extremely high, as players had to have excellent skills to control their heroes and armies leading up to very exciting and close match ups.

    And then we get to the real groundbreaking aspect of Warcraft 3 - the custom maps.

    WC3 was one of the first games to release a fully featured editor that was easy enough to for enthusiastic gamers to get their hands on and start doing their own development. Back in 2000, modding communities were in their infancy. Wc3 nurtured these gaming communities with its powerful toolset and these communities have grown into the creative modding juggernauts we have today - take Hiveworkshop for example.

    This lead to hugely creative, fun, and experimental maps created. This spawned two new genres in gaming, the MOBA. Aeon of Strife from Starcraft led to Defense of the Ancients, or DOTA, the first major MOBA. Dota became hugely popular, and this all spawned from the creative minds of the modding community and the Warcraft 3 editor. Tower defense also spawned, another genre all unto itself.

    The Toolset is powerful. The custom map section is the real gem of WC3 - all sorts of maps were created and are still created to this day. WC3 become a brewing ground for experiments, testing, fun maps, stupid maps. Everything from modded standard maps to total conversions - even FPS shooters! You can boot up WC3 today and take a look at all of the kinds of custom maps on WC3. Each map offers a different experience than the other one, some completely different games. We're talking about THOUSANDS of different games:

    Castle Fight, Hero Wars, Hero Defense, Custom Hero Survival, Missile War, Castle Defense, Servant War, Enfo's Team Survival, Goblin Survival, Titan Land, Vampirism, WoW City Raid, WoW Reanimated, Impossible Bosses, Sunken City, Various Open-RPG with SAVE FEATURES, Tomb of Jarahcon, Moo Moo Defense, Survival, the list goes on and on and on! W3 modding has become very sophisticated, games even have save features which allows you to save scores, heroes, pretty much anything.

    Makemehost is the main area for hosting games - anyone can host, for free!

    The game is not without its problems. The engine is old and shows its age. When people lag and get dropped, they cannot reconnect. The bots sometimes have issues. W3 still runs on Battlenet's old servers, so you have an outdated friends interface. However, these can be overlooked for a game that is over a decade old and still is fun as hell to play.

    If I could I would rate higher than a 10. Oh what the hell - 11/10.
    Expand
  5. Nov 18, 2016
    10
    The Frozen Throne is a great expansion with an interesting story, splendid gameplay. If you liked the original game, as I did, it is worthThe Frozen Throne is a great expansion with an interesting story, splendid gameplay. If you liked the original game, as I did, it is worth playing The Frozen Throne. You will not be disappointed in case if you want to learn more about Warcraft universe. Expand
  6. RyanB.
    Mar 20, 2008
    9
    This "expansion" is more like, sequel and it adds a ton of new editor tools. The new tools add new depth not seen before to custom multiplayer maps.
  7. [Anonymous]
    Jul 4, 2003
    1
    I give this a one for the new features that were also added to classic. I didn't like the nuetral heroes, I didn't like boats. I I give this a one for the new features that were also added to classic. I didn't like the nuetral heroes, I didn't like boats. I don't like the way they changed creeping. I think I'll stick with classic WC3 instead of this mess. Expand

See all 80 User Reviews