Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 765 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the far reaches of outer space during a new Dark Age, WARFRAME introduces the Tenno, a race on the brink of extinction after being enslaved by the Grineer for centuries. Players enter WARFRAME on the cusp of the Grineer's victory over the Tenno until they begin to arm themselves withSet in the far reaches of outer space during a new Dark Age, WARFRAME introduces the Tenno, a race on the brink of extinction after being enslaved by the Grineer for centuries. Players enter WARFRAME on the cusp of the Grineer's victory over the Tenno until they begin to arm themselves with WARFRAMES - an ancient exo-skeletal technology only they can operate. Hidden within the Orokin Derelicts of a lost civilization, new WARFRAMES lie dormant and undiscovered. These artifacts are the Tenno's only hope for survival. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Sep 11, 2014
    77
    The idea with the Tamagotchi-space-dogs is already absolutely amazing.
  2. With the lack of a Pay to Win system and easy engagement for new players, Warframe offers some quality time.
  3. Apr 3, 2013
    70
    Digital Extremes has created something that's often genuinely fun to play, and given the cost of entry, Warframe's well worth a try if you're in the mood for something different.
  4. Apr 12, 2013
    70
    Warframe isn't anything special. It's not revolutionary, exceptional or timeless. Still - every time I returned to the game, it kept playing for at least an hour (without regret). Digital Extremes has made an enjoyable, engrossing, spectacular game. Especially, when you find yourself a team or - even better - invite some friends. If you need a new opportunity to slaughter aliens, you should try Warframe.
  5. Jul 1, 2013
    70
    As a free-to-play game, Warframe is a nice surprise that sets the base for a promising future.
  6. May 6, 2013
    65
    Warframe is a good title if contextualized in the panorama of FreeToPlay, however the high level of competition on this front would make us hope for a more solid and strong product.
  7. Aug 2, 2013
    60
    Some problematic menus pale in comparison to Warframe's real problem: a pervasive tendency toward repetition.

See all 9 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 260
  1. Apr 30, 2015
    10
    Don't listen to the negatives, you don't need to be rich to have fun.
    The graphics in Warframe are absolutely stunning for a F2P game, even
    Don't listen to the negatives, you don't need to be rich to have fun.
    The graphics in Warframe are absolutely stunning for a F2P game, even if it would be a Pay2Play game, it would still be jaw-dropping. However, in Warframe, you could play on med-high setting and still get 60+fps while getting an amazing experience making you feel as if you're going at max speed on a rollercoaster, completely dazed
    In this game, the tedious amount of farming required to earn an item you really want to craft is just unbelievable! Although I didn't mind farming the other 50+ hours for some little things, I was completely enraged when I realized I spent around 10 hours trying to get a single blueprint part for a warframe ( a full warframe is made of: systems blueprint, a helmet blueprint, chassis blueprint, warframe blueprint and a random material). But in the end I did find the part that I needed, however I gave up trying once I traded for another part and couldn't find any more parts.
    In Warframe, there's two currencies, Credits and Platinum. You can get credits for just playing the game, but can also get platinum as a daily reward (around 20). Every player starts with 50 plat. You could pay for nearly anything in the game using platinum, including more slots for warframes or weapons, speeding up items that are being built, and use it to trade. A daily reward is also a coupon that can even give you -75% the normal price of platinum, so you could buy the most amount of platinum (3000 if I remember correctly) for only around 100 of whatever currency you use (WAY less than half price!). So you can go the easy route and pay your way to the games core, or just get free stuff as you go along, which is one of the best things I've ever seen in a game!
    Expand
  2. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    One of the best MMOs I've ever played. The graphics are really beautiful, it gets lots of updates and it's free to play. There is aOne of the best MMOs I've ever played. The graphics are really beautiful, it gets lots of updates and it's free to play. There is a marketplace where you can buy stuff with real money, but it's not really necessary. after playing for almost 100 hours, the only thing I bought was a color pack for my warframes.
    The best and the most important part of this game in my opinion is farming. You'll need to farm to build yourself new frames and weapons. The farming in this game is fun, you can always choose which type of mission suites you best.
    Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    10
    Really great game. It has large updates that are put out each month. It keeps getting better. Very polished gameplay. One of the best freeReally great game. It has large updates that are put out each month. It keeps getting better. Very polished gameplay. One of the best free to play games I've played. I would highly recommend experiencing it with your friends as it was meant to be played cooperatively and it's a far more fun than when played solo. Expand
  4. Jul 15, 2014
    9
    FREE TO PLAY DONE RIGHT. None of the "Hey you need to give us all your money before you can really play" garbage. This is just a really great,FREE TO PLAY DONE RIGHT. None of the "Hey you need to give us all your money before you can really play" garbage. This is just a really great, fast paced shooting game with an interesting and complex upgrade system. The developers get you to pay money because it's a great game, not so you can actually play the full game. AT NO POINT did I ever feel I had to spend money. Definitely check it out. It's free after all. Expand
  5. Jan 8, 2015
    8
    One of the most interesting TPS titles on the market. F2P system is not completely perfect, but you can play without depositing money.

    The
    One of the most interesting TPS titles on the market. F2P system is not completely perfect, but you can play without depositing money.

    The player starts with a choice of three characters. Other characters, which is currently 30, are already for money. But even the starting figure is quite sufficient. The problem occurs with weapons and gradual improvement.

    I recommend joining the game every day. You get a reward for it. The ideal is to dial a 75% sale on the purchase of a premium currency exchange and 1000 and get 12 euro. Which parts at a price of 10 and the most expensive 375 characters is a good price. In addition, you will support the creator.

    The style of fighting is then up to you. Would you like guns? Take shotguns, machine guns. Would you like a cool yet firearm? Bow, crossbow. It also can be found. Dozens of different weapons to ensure that you find your own style. Each part, from the characters to "guardian", has the opportunity to improve through mods (you can get it in fights) and leveling up each other.

    The game itself may get bored after a while. Many of the battlefield are much alike. But a quick fight, interesting characters, and weapons will certainly make up for it. Creators recently added a kind of campaign, where you can get wings for flight in space or their own protector on the road of death. For myself, I highly recommend.

    8.5 / 10
    Expand
  6. Apr 13, 2014
    7
    I give it a 7 of 10 i would give it a 9 of 10 but it JUST KEEPS CRASHING for absolutely no reason.
    If anyone knows how to fix it message me
    I give it a 7 of 10 i would give it a 9 of 10 but it JUST KEEPS CRASHING for absolutely no reason.
    If anyone knows how to fix it message me on steam :billybobapb101.
    Expand
  7. Feb 21, 2014
    0
    Digital Extremes has created something that's often genuinely fun to play, and given the cost of entry, Warframe's well worth a try if you'reDigital Extremes has created something that's often genuinely fun to play, and given the cost of entry, Warframe's well worth a try if you're in the mood for something different.

    DE got 200 people working on this, yet they decided to A. kill end game. B. Allow exploits without consequence even though the community is outrageous. C. Game currency will cost your dinner + lunch.
    Expand

See all 260 User Reviews

Trailers