Warhammer 40,000: Fire Warrior Image
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 39 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Welcome to the dark nightmare future of the 41st Millennium, the grim era of the Imperium. War is spread across a thousand different worlds. Powerful armies of Space Marines, Imperial Guardsmen and Tau warriors are in constant conflict, unleashing carnage via deadly war machines, crushing artillery, and vast starships. Warhammer 40,000: Fire Warrior follows one day in the tumultuous life of Kais, a young Tau warrior who must battle alone against a force that shows no mercy: The Imperium. Kais will soon learn there is a darker foe at hand and becomes entangled in a frightening story that leads him the darkest battle yet of the ongoing war. [THQ] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 13
  2. Negative: 6 out of 13
  1. For less than a buck per level, Fire Warrior is a bargain. [May 2004, p.74]
  2. 40K fans will probably not regret picking this up, and run and gun action fans will definitely get more out of it than gamers looking for something to present them with a major challenge.
  3. Comparisons with "Halo" are inevitable. Unfortunately, Fire Warrior shows how developers can steal elements from superior games, while fundamentally misunderstanding why they worked so well in the first place. [Nov 2003, p.101]
  4. Fire Warrior also breaks the cardinal rule of licensed games: There's hardly any feel for Warhammer. The personality of the universe doesn’t make its way into the game very often.
  5. This cheap PlayStation 2 port carries none of the punch that can be found in the tabletop game due to a positively antediluvian design that sees you running down an endless succession of corridors hunting for keys.
  6. The story is much the same as the game itself, and while there are moments when it seems it could be picking up, it shoots itself in the foot. Normal enemies that take full clips to dispatch, 'puzzles' that make Doom look like a brainteaser... the potholes are all too common and apparent. [Nov 2003, p.127]
  7. A frustrating experience that treats you to many bug-infested levels, freakish AI, monotonous plot, and a tedious atmosphere.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 4 out of 18
  1. Oct 17, 2013
    10
    This game is too big! So much levels it's even bigger than Daikatana! Hours and hours and hours of gameplay. Beautiful and original locations. After a while it is getting too difficult so I start using Godmode. Still had fun! Levels are also very big and impressive! Expand
  2. Rasconzathenightbringer
    Oct 15, 2003
    10
    As a fanatic warhammer 40k player I can only say that this game rocks!
  3. Daniel
    Dec 10, 2003
    9
    Excellent and well done. great graphics, and lovely multiplayer. bad thing was...... no sound for people during gameplay, and no talking during multiplayer. damn. well, good FPS anyway and..... LONG LIVE THE TAU EMPIRE, HAHA Expand
  4. ColinN.
    Jan 12, 2004
    7
    Great to see a 1st person Warhammer 40k game on the market, but the game is difficult to get running, most upto date drivers for audio and graphics are a must and you need the game patches. As a 40k fan I still enjoyed it. When, oh when, will someone realise that the rich and wonderful 40k world is just prime for someone to make a film. It might even challenge Lord of the Rings?? Expand
  5. JamesW.
    Sep 30, 2005
    5
    I have to say that killing enemies with poor AI got very, very tedious at the end, but somehow the game makes me want to keep playing. This is of course, the story I'm talking about. For the story alone, you should get this game. Forget about the repetitive gameplay, the buggy levels, and the stupid enemies, just watch the story unfold as you blast the imperium for the Greater Good, and see where Kuju didn't fail in this hopeful game. I actually play the tabletop strategy game, and everything in the game is special and unique; finally, i get to see chainswords ripping apart my fellow tau, my pulse rifles eating through armour, and of course my rail rifles blasting through gunships and whatnot. Most of the gameplay is scripted so your buddies are destined to die, but some parts of this game appealed to me in terms of sound and bits of the gameplay. Sure, the bad things of gameplay outnumber the good things, but the good things were excellent at best. The sound is okay, not as great as I'd hoped, but nontheless the weapons and explosions sound tops (the only thing ruining the sound quality is some of the enemies' voices, but the tau voicing is surprising good) . Oh, and forget about those petty review sites, just get this game for the story, because most of the gameplay elements are taken from other, more successful FPS's (Halo, anyone?). I'm giving this game points for the story and sound, and maybe some extra points for the good parts of the gameplay. But should you get this game? Yes! I live in Australia and I got it for $20AUS at my local EB. In pounds that translates to about 8pounds, and in american dollars it's about 15 or 12. I give this game a 5, and if you read the ending of this review properly you will get this game. It will dissapoint at some areas, but in the parts where Kuju weren't stoned, you'll think, "Yay, 20 bucks for an average game! At least some bits were good!" Expand
  6. PeteC.
    Oct 20, 2003
    5
    This game promises much but delivers little. The graphics are unimpressive and seem to be more of a step backwards than forwards and the enemy AI is fairly awful. Probably the biggest problem however is the bugs in the game. I found it very jittery at times even though my computer spec was above and beyond that recommended. Also walls and parts of the suuroundings have a nasty habit of disappearing and reappearingmaking it diificult to get your bearings especially when your being shot at, its especially annoying when you unload your gun at a target and the rounds impact an invisible wall. All in all the game could probably have been great but it has rush job all over it, that it has been released with so many bugs is pretty shocking really and I would think twice about buying anything by kuju in the future. If your really thinking about buying it dont, just wait for a few months and you'll be able to pick it up for peanuts on a budget label, it simply doesnt compete with the great games of the genre. Collapse
  7. TomW
    Oct 13, 2003
    2
    This is poor. Muddy, fuzzy textures and unresponsive controls can be forgiven, but on rails gameplay and finding the blue switch to open the (you guessed it) blue door is an archaic game mechanic. Its like half life and Goldeneye never happened (never mind Deus Ex or MOH). I thought this game was awful and I'm a huge 40k fan. Expand

See all 18 User Reviews