Warhammer Online: Age of Reckoning PC

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 372 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 57 out of 372
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnH.
    Oct 7, 2008
    4
    PvE seems very unpolished: mobs that warp around, they keep chasing you after being snared, cast bars not representing the actual casting time, cooldown counters are not precise, animation that doesn't represent the game state (if you try to cast while you're knocked down, you jump up and fall back down), the UI buttons don't get grayed out when you're knocked out .. PvE seems very unpolished: mobs that warp around, they keep chasing you after being snared, cast bars not representing the actual casting time, cooldown counters are not precise, animation that doesn't represent the game state (if you try to cast while you're knocked down, you jump up and fall back down), the UI buttons don't get grayed out when you're knocked out .. etc I mean these things are so obvious, they should feel ashamed of releasing a game with problems that are so clear and obvious. On my server the RvR was completely absent. During the week I played, I have not seen one single assault on a keep. I grinded some BGs, but could not buy any more gear since order didn't hold any keeps. Public Quests are nice, but again there seems to be a lack of participation. You eventually end up solo grinding them, and rarely do you get enough players (4 or 5) to push them over the 1st stage (grind 50 mobs). There are no official support or community forums either (WTF ?!?!?), the best I've seen was a fan forum I think. The game has some performance issues too, there are bugs that make the game choppy on machines that play crysis on high settings. Expand
  2. ConradW.
    Dec 5, 2008
    3
    Don't be lured in by this game. It looks great and at first would appear to be awesome. Everything goes fine, then other players decide that you play your character too well, or you gear is too good, they file complaints about how they died in pvp against you (boo hoo). Suddenly you get nerfed to death by the developers (in the form of a 'patch'), and have to start a new Don't be lured in by this game. It looks great and at first would appear to be awesome. Everything goes fine, then other players decide that you play your character too well, or you gear is too good, they file complaints about how they died in pvp against you (boo hoo). Suddenly you get nerfed to death by the developers (in the form of a 'patch'), and have to start a new character because you played your previous one too good... Then you pray they don't nerf your new character... Expand
  3. Nov 25, 2011
    4
    I know many of you will discredit me when saying this, but I tried WAR coming from WoW. Tbh, I probably would not be into MMO's if it werent for the PvE of WoW. I was given 2 months of paid subscription from my friend, since he knew I played the free version and didn't like it, and I couldn't play it for more than a day... The graphics and mechanics all point towards an unfinished game,I know many of you will discredit me when saying this, but I tried WAR coming from WoW. Tbh, I probably would not be into MMO's if it werent for the PvE of WoW. I was given 2 months of paid subscription from my friend, since he knew I played the free version and didn't like it, and I couldn't play it for more than a day... The graphics and mechanics all point towards an unfinished game, and the PvE is just terrible. PvP is decent, but I couldn't get into the RvR. Expand
  4. BrandonC
    Sep 20, 2008
    2
    The concept of the pvp system is good, but thats about it for positives. The flow of combat is incredibly slow and undemanding, giving virtually no room for skill improvement. The pve system has obviously not been a focus of the developers, something thats fine with me, but i know a lot of players like an interesting story-line in pve quests, something this game is completely lacking. The The concept of the pvp system is good, but thats about it for positives. The flow of combat is incredibly slow and undemanding, giving virtually no room for skill improvement. The pve system has obviously not been a focus of the developers, something thats fine with me, but i know a lot of players like an interesting story-line in pve quests, something this game is completely lacking. The graphics remind you so much of wow that you will be constantly reminded that the gameplay and funfactor over time is very, very far from that of wow. Expand
  5. JoelK.
    Sep 19, 2008
    2
    There are several good concepts in this game, such as the Tome of Knowledge and public quests that everyone is on about, but the game still feels stale and old. The combat is excruciatingly slow and dull, a throwback to the early days of MMO's and the art direction is a bleak copy of WoW imitation. Even Age of Conan, with all it's flaws, have MUCH more heart and soul, and thus There are several good concepts in this game, such as the Tome of Knowledge and public quests that everyone is on about, but the game still feels stale and old. The combat is excruciatingly slow and dull, a throwback to the early days of MMO's and the art direction is a bleak copy of WoW imitation. Even Age of Conan, with all it's flaws, have MUCH more heart and soul, and thus more long-term potential than this. Expand
  6. Kxzut
    Sep 20, 2008
    3
    Game with almost no potential. The combat is slow and dull. Public Quests is just a different grind for reputation (influence). Instanced scenerios are small and there's just few of them. World RvR is nothing new as well, in fact it's just dumbed down DaoC system. The graphics are dreadful with very low visiblity range (forget about beatiful sceneries).
  7. John
    Sep 27, 2008
    4
    Now, I've been a fan of the Warhammer series since I was like 12, when I would play using my Dad's models, and while I rarely play anymore I still enjoy the universe. Now I was excited for WAR when I first heard of it. They promised a lot, and since it was Mythic I thought they would deliver. I'm sorry to say, but they did not. Let's get this out of the way. The game Now, I've been a fan of the Warhammer series since I was like 12, when I would play using my Dad's models, and while I rarely play anymore I still enjoy the universe. Now I was excited for WAR when I first heard of it. They promised a lot, and since it was Mythic I thought they would deliver. I'm sorry to say, but they did not. Let's get this out of the way. The game is a WoW clone from head to toe. They have a few extra gimmicks tacked on, but it is what it is. Now is this a problem? Not really, WoW had a fantastic UI, and was great in it's simplicity. But, WAR did not copy paste this perfectly. The combat still feels incredibly slow. Especially when playing as someone who isn't incredibly heavy on damage. The things that do separate WAR from WoW, (RvR, Siege Weapons, Public Quests), feel incredibly tacked on, and some feel incredibly gimmicky. Public Quests sound great in theory, but very rarely do they go beyond Kill 100 Soldiers Kill 10 Champions Kill 1 Hero. So all you're getting is some kind of pseudo-raid, where every schmuck who did nothing is getting the chance to roll on gear. RvR and World PvP as a whole is also pretty terrible. I've mentioned this in previous posts, but if you rolled Order, you will never win. Ever. The game requires very little skill to be good at, especially in Group PvP, where the majority of it is just Zerg Rushing, and since Destruction outnumbers Order immensly, Order will always win. Ocasionally you'll group with some people who have a strategy, but that rarely lasts more than 20 minutes. The game promised to revolutionize PvP, but I don't see where it did this. RvR was ripped directly from DAoC and was just watered down to acommodate the incoming flux of WoWtards. Scenarios are just BGs, (some are just complete copy pastes in fact, there is no difference at all between Dragon's Bane and Arathi Basin. Hell it even takes place in a basin). Keep Sieges suffer from the same problems RvR and World PvP do, where Destruction just destroys because they have more numbers. I already said how the combat is slow, but it also looks terrible. The animation is choppy, is prone to bouts of extreme twitchiness, and are slow. Not to mention just incredibly boring. I'm not going to say that WoW's were perfect, but compare a Female Undeads animations to a Female High Elves, and you'll sort of get the picture. One of the things that WAR substantially lacks is PvE. While they do indeed have dungeons, I can tell you right now, that NO ONE does them. And for good reason. Having been through only 2 dungeons myself, I can already say that there's a reason why. The loot sucks, and the bosses are poorly scripted. Most of the bosses rarely go beyond tank and spank where they just do more damage than usually or have some kind of stupid spell they cast. Leveling through PvE is also a terrible endeavor, since the quest options are even worse than WoW's, where every single quest is just "Kill X of Y, Talk to Y, Collect X, or Kill and Collect X of Y" Also, the crafting system is incredibly poor. I have yet to see a single reason to even do one. Now on to End-Game. End-Game consists of grinding Tier-4 scenarios and the occasional Keep Seige. That's it. It's just WoW again where you do nothing, but grind BGs and Arena. Also, there are a lot of balance issues. Which is really typical of Mythic, since they have a track record of terrible balance that would make even Blizzard blush. Bright Wizards are completely insane when it comes to damage, while classes like Engineer are almost completely useless. That's not to say that there was nothing I liked about WAR. I liked how armor in this game actually looks like armor instead of WoW's warpaint and giant shoulders, and I also liked how you can level up by PvPing, something that should have been added to WoW at the beginning. WAR needs work. A lot of it. The game needed at least another 6 months in development, but of course, EA being the greedy %@*#s they are, rushed the game out to steal some customers before WOTLK crushes Expand
  8. FrankG.
    Sep 4, 2008
    3
    This game is in its current state no more than a decent wow clone with somewhat updated graphics. The pvp system is good, but no better than wow and with its goal obviously being wow v2.0 it will in my view surely be just another game that people will try out and yet again be disappointed with the lack of fun factor where wow so greatly succeeded.
  9. Bazm.
    Jan 20, 2009
    0
    This game is a piece of over hyped garbage that should have never been released even after push backs. Jon S you are completely retarded, collision system rules? From what I see warhammer online has the most horrible collision system in game existence. Getting stuck on 90% of inanimate objects is the least bit "ruling". I for one wanted to see the game crush WoW, hoping for some skill This game is a piece of over hyped garbage that should have never been released even after push backs. Jon S you are completely retarded, collision system rules? From what I see warhammer online has the most horrible collision system in game existence. Getting stuck on 90% of inanimate objects is the least bit "ruling". I for one wanted to see the game crush WoW, hoping for some skill based rvr, and all I got was the /stuck command and skill spamming pvp. Where is the fun in that? MMO's have failed. Expand
  10. JeffV.
    Oct 11, 2008
    2
    One of the things that WAR substantially lacks is PvE. While they do indeed have dungeons, I can tell you right now, that NO ONE does them. And for good reason. Having been through only 2 dungeons myself, I can already say that there's a reason why. The loot sucks, and the bosses are poorly scripted. Most of the bosses rarely go beyond tank and spank where they just do more damage One of the things that WAR substantially lacks is PvE. While they do indeed have dungeons, I can tell you right now, that NO ONE does them. And for good reason. Having been through only 2 dungeons myself, I can already say that there's a reason why. The loot sucks, and the bosses are poorly scripted. Most of the bosses rarely go beyond tank and spank where they just do more damage than usually or have some kind of stupid spell they cast. Leveling through PvE is also a terrible endeavor, since the quest options are even worse than WoW's, where every single quest is just "Kill X of Y, Talk to Y, Collect X, or Kill and Collect X of Y" Also, the crafting system is incredibly poor. Expand
  11. MarmoT
    Oct 10, 2008
    0
    Reasons why WAR sucks: 1. Graphics. The games graphics are terrible, running them at max settings still looks worse than games released many years ago (FFXI looks better and that has graphics optimized around the PS2.) When i first installed the game i assumed the default graphics had been set to very low, or some analogous setting. Wrong! They were at max. I cranked them as much as I Reasons why WAR sucks: 1. Graphics. The games graphics are terrible, running them at max settings still looks worse than games released many years ago (FFXI looks better and that has graphics optimized around the PS2.) When i first installed the game i assumed the default graphics had been set to very low, or some analogous setting. Wrong! They were at max. I cranked them as much as I possibly could, and they still look horrible. This is not acceptable in the gaming world today. Now, don't get me wrong, graphics aren't everything, but WAR's graphics are *so* bad that they actually hurt the enjoyment of the game. 2. Customization. There is no real character customization. Sure, you can give your toon a glass eye. Woo! Awesome! But all of the face options are just variations of the same thing. Everyone looks the same. You want to make a bright wizard? Get used to the thought of looking the same as everyone else - And not just when you first make your character. Because of the gear system, you're going to look like all other Bright wizards for the rest of eternity. It's natural to have some pieces of gear in an MMO that are so good that everyone ends up obtaining said gear, and there is a lot of similarity across the world. However this is similarity based on choice, rather than being foisted upon you by lazy design. 3. Lag. The game has such poor graphics there's no real reason for it to lag. The game gradually slows down as you play it more, and crashes periodically. Don't let people fool you, this is hardly a stable release. 4. Fluidity of animation. I can't believe this actually deserves its own category, but if you play WAR, you'll understand why. Example: A shadowhunter uses a bow - a bow that has no bowstring - a bow that doesn't use arrows (you don't even see the arrow) - a bow that you fire straight into the air if your target is 5 feet in front of you - a bow that fires your imaginary arrow sometimes, other times you see nothing. In other words, it's a big stick, and you just have to pretend you're shooting arrows from it. Example 2: The witch hunter can shoot his/her pistol while running. That's awesome! Too bad the bullet crawls at a snails pace (slower than you run) and has a comet like tail on the end of it. Quest example: You have to fire a ballista at harpies. Too bad you don't actually fire anything. You click on the harpy and it disappears with a "AYEEE" noise accompanying its presumed death. Honestly, that quest felt less fun then opening my web browser. Generic example: even character running looks fake, you slide across the ground, and your steps happen in such a way that it appears like you wouldn't make any progress at all. 5. The PvP fails. And not just because your graphics don't mesh with what you're actually doing, or because spells/abilities fizzle randomly, or because you get a burst of lag and drop from 100% to dead. The PVP fails because the abilities are just uninteresting, and leave very little room for anything besides just "DO MORE DAMAGE TO ENEMY BEFORE ENEMY DOES LETHAL DAMAGE TO YOU." There is very little in the way of control, or the ability to out-play your opponent. A good fight involves both players trying to gain the upper hand by doing things besides just spam dps moves and snares, while jumping in a circle. 6. The questing fails. Why implement wow-style quests to a game that should strive to be better than that? Everyone is sick to death of WoW questing, why wouldn't they realize this, and make pvp the hands down most optimal way to level? Public quests are a great idea. However, they're just like group quests in other games, with the added benefit that the WAR developers assume (possibly correctly) that players are too retarded to right click each other and select "invite to group." I would like to see public quests in future games that aren't terrible. 7. Fundamentally, players don't have enough stake in the pvp that's happening in the world. Shadowbane, while being buggy as hell, and failing due to a bad programming team, got risk vs reward in pvp correct. Losing your entire guild city and your guild as a result of losing a battle makes you really, really, want to win. If shadowbane was re-done in todays MMO world by a competent dev team, it'd blow WAR out of the water. Collapse
  12. gewthenk
    Oct 28, 2008
    0
    Played for about a month. For this game to be fun and enteraining it needs to have a heavy population, but few servers have high populations consistently throughout the hours of the day. I'm interested in PvP, but it seems there is only enough people during the evening hours. There are hardly any public groups when I login and I bought this game for the grouping not for solo play. Played for about a month. For this game to be fun and enteraining it needs to have a heavy population, but few servers have high populations consistently throughout the hours of the day. I'm interested in PvP, but it seems there is only enough people during the evening hours. There are hardly any public groups when I login and I bought this game for the grouping not for solo play. There are so many other off line games out there that are better than the solo play of this games. Another drawback is that there is nothing fundamentally new or different in this game compared to others. Another drawback is that for most classes there are mirrors of each other on both destruction and order sides. They are presented as different, but mostly they are just a repacking with different graphics and words. For example, the shaman and the arch mage have the same play mechanic and skill set (there are minor differences, but not enough to make the mechanics of playing the two different). Another problem has to do with the graphics. A skill that has you through an axe at a target sometimes shows the axe being thrown and other times it does not. Other graphic glitches is when you are running away from an attacker in RVR or senarios you might be ten feet away from them, yet you are skill taking damage from their 2 ft sword (not dps condition). Anyhow Marmo has some good points and I won't repeat them (any more than I already have). Though for some people who are brain dead and have never played a MMORPG, then this might be fun.... Expand
  13. BrandonM
    Oct 30, 2008
    3
    I play Warhammer and wonder why they added a world. 90% of the game is RVR mini games, then later on once you're around 35-40. You try to take some cities, this all seems slightly exciting; the taking over the city part that is. Until you realize, the game is made on a engine that is best used when fighting computer npcs. When fighting other players, it is barely entertaining. No I play Warhammer and wonder why they added a world. 90% of the game is RVR mini games, then later on once you're around 35-40. You try to take some cities, this all seems slightly exciting; the taking over the city part that is. Until you realize, the game is made on a engine that is best used when fighting computer npcs. When fighting other players, it is barely entertaining. No real skill is involved, just "planning" if anything. Put your best abilities on 1-5, every now and then when your morale is up, click it. Then if you're a caster or ranged, your job is even easier. 1-5, click the morale, and you never have to hold down w. Now don't get me wrong, this IS how much MMORPGs are played. Or at least, were played. Warhammer feels likes it 4 years old and should have been released at the same time as WoW. Instead, its 4 years newer and has nothing to show for it. The fact is while Warhammer is trying to get its feet set, WoW is raking in money; and in the meantime Blizzard is working on a next gen mmorpg. Between Warhammer's mediocrity and Blizzards intelligent design, I can't see EA mythic's game lasting too long. You can only pretend a game is good for so long. Warhammer did not deliver, nor did it reach reach any expectations. Its doomed to suffer the fate of Age of Conan, and Age of Conan was fundamentally, better. An engine and game play of a next gen mmorpg, killed by a poor company director. Oh well, hopefully Champions online can breathe some life into mmorpgs while we wait for Blizzard's next. Expand
  14. RyanS.
    Sep 21, 2008
    2
    Full of good ideas, the game is plagued by poor implementation of nearly all of them. The art, modeling, animation, and user interface are all sub-par for a modern PC game. Not destined to be the Warcraft-killing title that many hoped it would be.
  15. PaulD.
    Sep 21, 2008
    3
    Gets boring very fast. The pvp system is decently set up and gives you quite a few hours of fun, but for a mmorpg supposed to entertain you for months, this will in no way revolutionize the market. Rvr pvp is good, but you soon realize that its very little demanding. Its obviously built for the whole family, and if you enjoy the competition part of pvp, this will bore you very quickly as Gets boring very fast. The pvp system is decently set up and gives you quite a few hours of fun, but for a mmorpg supposed to entertain you for months, this will in no way revolutionize the market. Rvr pvp is good, but you soon realize that its very little demanding. Its obviously built for the whole family, and if you enjoy the competition part of pvp, this will bore you very quickly as there is pretty much no room for skill improvement in battle. Expand
  16. GaryB.
    Sep 23, 2008
    3
    I really enjoyed the first 6-7 levels, but then the game started to show how repetitive and flawed it really is. Now at lvl 19 I'm already starting to get bored, and it's not even been a week since release. Seems like I'll have to wait for Lich King, or until they fix Age of Conan, to get my MMO hat back on.
  17. SomeOne
    Feb 28, 2009
    3
    I have tried this game on two occasions for a 30 day subscription each time. The first time was roughly 15 days after it's release, and I had beta tested it a bit before it went live. My first 30 days were fun at first. A few of the races are quite fun the first time around especially the greenskins. However some of the other races quests are setup in probably the most annoying way I have tried this game on two occasions for a 30 day subscription each time. The first time was roughly 15 days after it's release, and I had beta tested it a bit before it went live. My first 30 days were fun at first. A few of the races are quite fun the first time around especially the greenskins. However some of the other races quests are setup in probably the most annoying way possible, requiring you to run to the same general location time after time and giving you items in your inventory you must click to continue but only in certain spots under certain conditions, etc. As I stated my first week or so was fairly enjoyable. Tier 1 (levels 1 to 11) is not too bad in scenarios. Tier 2 builds on Tier 1 but not favorably towards the up end of T2 because of knockbacks beginning to appear and everyone spamming them. I couldn't play much into Tier 3, the scenarios were horrible, the knockbacks were plentiful, and it was generally just a really un-fun way to play. So I made a lot of new guys during my first 30 days, and I became really tired of the quests overall. And PQ quests were nothing special when you had to have people to finish them in most cases. It got really tedious. And on top of this, the performance of the game was dismal. It had a "memory leak" like problem where after you played for an hour or two the game animations would start freezing up, the bar icons would become lagged, and lots of really quirky things would begin happening like the minimap going black or not being able to zone. Which forced you to reload your game (exit completely and restart) as soon as a symptom began because within 30 minutes the game would become unplayable either due to FPS or because you couldn't tell what was happening since the UI was glitching out. I didn't subscribe past my initial 30 days until Late January of 2009 when a friend of mine wanted to try the game. I was skeptical but had heard a lot of good things about their patches and how much better it was performance wise, etc. So I risked the monthly and was quite thoroughly punished for it. First, the good. The game performed better, not a lot better..but better. It took longer for the quirks to show up..maybe 4 hours instead of 1-2..and didn't make the game completely unplayable like it used to. And their CSR response times were much improved, however their ability to due anything useful has not. You'll get "We'll investigate further into this." a lot from them.... Now the bad. And there's a lot of it. Generally my first week was similar to my initial first week on my first month. Since I had to move to another server due to severe lack of players on my original server. Low/Low population every time I bothered to check it, and it was considered a "high population" server on their server move list...so I couldn't not salvage my characters to use on a non-ghost town server. So I spent my first week trying the one new class on each side (unimpressed with both) and doing the same old quests yet again. It seemed I got stuck a lot more often than I used to, I'd get stuck on anything I tried to jump over sometimes so bad I couldn't free myself without using /stuck. Very annoying. I mainly play Destro, and it was VERY common to be up against teams of Warrior Priests, Engineers, Rune Priests, IBs with a peppering of Bright Wizards. It was seldom to see anything else. So WP is basically a healing tank, Engineer is a high DPS range, RP is a mega healer, and IB is the tank to end all tanks. Got pretty dull with all the tankage and healing going on. On top of the very predictable team layout, you'd get bots playing. Mostly you'll notice shamans who are bots because they tend to get very low scores and spam their green beam attack (very visible), but I ran into other people botting. Or just people doing a little damage, then laying dead for the rest of the round, or going AFK in a corner of the map. CSRs would reply quickly and promptly do nothing about these worthless team members. So you'd spend hours getting queued with these guys. After my first week back in the game, I had a "naming policy violation" on my account. When i did a search for my character name on their website, I found a lot of names just like mine on other servers. AND the name found in violation was one of my non-played characters on the ghost town server. So I tried to dispute the violation, and found out you can't because their email system is misconfigured and bounces back with errors when you send emails to the addresses they give you for disputes. At this point, I called their support line, which is not toll free, complained and told them if they can't get someone on the phone to talk to me about it that I want my monthly fee back and they can just cancel my account. They refunded my monthly sub, and my account was still active for the rest of the 30 days. So I played a little, got a guy to Tier 2...was in no hurry to get to Tier 3 and Tier 4 because Tier 3 was such a drag..and nothing I was hearing from current players was changing my mind. And Tier 4...it seemed everyone in T1 and T2 was rerolling because Tier 4 was either bugged and/or pointless and they just generally preferred the T1 and T2 PVP gameplay. Take note that WAR Online has lost about half of it's subscriber base since launch, and I would say it's safe to say that they have lost more due to very spread out player base. They need to force merge a few servers together and work on clearing out the bots that infest the scenarios screwing up the team balance. But I believe by the time they react the damage will probably already be done...the game probably will go the route of Tabula Rasa with all the staff cuts they've had in the last 2 months. So, I'd suggest waiting or finding another game because this one needs a lot of work on the mechanics and general gameplay as most current subscribers seem to spend their time making alts instead of participating in the "end game" (which there really isn't much end game just a lot of repeated town raids). Expand
  18. JorgeP.
    Oct 22, 2007
    1
    Stale, sterile. graphics. Stiff and awkward animations. Slow combat system. Just plain boring.
  19. ScottD.
    Nov 6, 2008
    3
    This game is a natural continuation of the MMORPG genre with a few twists but its downfall is that it's a giant leap backward. Let's take it one at a time. Gameplay: Nothing new here. Punch buttons, cast spells, etc, etc. Scenarios are great except they pull the player base away from world PvP. er, RVR. whatever. Graphics: People looking for the next generation graphics will be This game is a natural continuation of the MMORPG genre with a few twists but its downfall is that it's a giant leap backward. Let's take it one at a time. Gameplay: Nothing new here. Punch buttons, cast spells, etc, etc. Scenarios are great except they pull the player base away from world PvP. er, RVR. whatever. Graphics: People looking for the next generation graphics will be disappointed. Perhaps they render more poly's per square inch and all that stuff but the game still looks old. Same themes we've seen before. I remember reading multiple threads in the WoW forums about what your first 'Wow' moment was. Some say Ironforge, some say Ragnaros. This game is completely devoid of 'wow' moments. Everything is sort of ugly. For artistic merit, I give this game a 2. You can pack as many polygons as you want into a character or scene, but if it's ugly (and this game is really, really ugly) then it's all for naught. World: Here is where the game really fails. It is supposed to be a MMORPG, but feels more like an arcade game. Instead of actually flying from one local to another, you get these horrible cut scenes that just take up time. Instead of being an entire world like Warcraft, it basically is just a series of instances. Each zone is an instance, each scenario is an instance. Yuck. Not at all immersive. Lag: You think WoW was bad? Try downloading to each client the image of each character and what they've dyed their armor etc and this game take you back 4 years to those Tarren Mill fights in Wow. Punch a button, wait 5 secs for everything to catch up and then try to press another before you are dead. Cheesy, Cheesy. We will have to wait a while before a game can actually deliver on what our imaginations know can be done. Crafts/tradeskills: laughable. Overall this game will keep you occupied for a couple of months, but the horrible art work, the terrible score, and the just overall general ugliness of the game will eventually turn most players off. Sound: OMG, is there sound in this game? Horrible, absolutely terrible amateurish music. I do more interesting stuff on my computer every day. Lots of ridiculous completely non-orchestral junk thrown in at all the wrong moments and the main theme is just one level above the Sesami street theme. Really terribly embarrassing. Expand
  20. MarkC
    Oct 28, 2008
    3
    Well I'm done with this game, on my way out...I left Mythic a Feedback on their Herald Page, can't believe they didn't ask me why I left, guess they really don't care. I have spoken on forums and emails to many beta testers asking them what went wrong with this game, while Most tell me that Mythic didn't listen too me I have a feeling much of the beta testing that Well I'm done with this game, on my way out...I left Mythic a Feedback on their Herald Page, can't believe they didn't ask me why I left, guess they really don't care. I have spoken on forums and emails to many beta testers asking them what went wrong with this game, while Most tell me that Mythic didn't listen too me I have a feeling much of the beta testing that went on was on the destruction side (for those that don't know thats the evil side of the game, with order being the good side). I will now give my rating and reasons for the rating. Community-3 ...Poor community that at first blamed the poor community aspect to the chat box, chat box is somewhat fixed now and still no community involvment, literally you can walk around altdorf for hours without seeing a word being typed, once in a while you will read a (Region) 1. / HELP!! at Reikland were being overrun....I don't know about you guys, but too me this sounds like a pretty weak community fanbase too me. Graphics-2.5 IF, you have a Nice rig with 640mb of video memory and a nice CPU you might squeeze out some decent video out of this game by tweaking your Nvidia control panel by "forcing" your AA to X12 or somewhere in those numbers, most folks don't know how to do this or they don't have the hardware for the specs so their game looks very choppy. Guild Wars which is a F2P game and has been out since 2004 looks much much better than the graphics of WAR this is pretty disappointing. Class Balance-2 Don't even know where to start here...you have the Order side, and you have the Destruction side...the Destruction side has Tanks Galore with the ORC, CHOSEN, and the Maurauder--and there about to get another Zerg machine with the Black Guard. While the Order side has the Ironbreaker and the Swordmaster, not only are the abilities and combat much better on the destruction side they are also asthetically looking more "cool" hence the "cool factor" comes into play, this creates a huge Imbalance in the game, and if you know anything about WAR it's all about ORVR, although you can't have a fun experience when you find yourself being overrun by a zergfest due to an imbalance in the servers, right now there is a severe imbalance in most every server in Warhammer a study done by Waralytics has confirmed this, you can google it and look for yourself. Mythic has done a very poor job of creating likable and combat effective characters on the ORDER side and it will cost them dearly. Skills and Abilities-3 ...Because of WAR's tabletop game and DAOC they have already pre-nerfed a lot of classes during the beta cycle and it's pretty clear that they have severly, severly gimped many classes to oblivion, case in point the Squig Herder, and the Shadow Warrior, not to mention the Magus (which currently holds the number 1 spot and the most undesirable character in Warhammer online with 4% out of 500,000, the only thing keeping it lower is the fact that they gave the Magus, along with the eng, one of the most bone headed skills in MMO history with Chaos rift, just type in "chaos rift+nerf" on google and you will see what I mean, too tired to go into it. Mythic "tried" to implement a dynamic combat system, that lets most classes jump around between stances or combat maneuvers, problem is LAG and Ineffective scripting has proven a challenge for players to take advantage of this new system...skills graying out, stance dancing, poor cooldowns and all kinds of issues with the combat system are severly killing this game. PVE-2 Pve is pretty much dead in Warhammer, while it seems like the world is big and grand it's also empty of many mobs, instances are empty like ghost towns, you have MT. Gunbad in T3 which looks promising, but lack of great loot, and buggy NPC's make for a frustrating experience even for the hardiest RP RPG players around, just horrible. Audio-1 most fo the time that I played I had my computer on mute, and just heard music, dead zones, crickets chirping, just really pathetic. it is evident that I can go on and on about this game, fact this, I'm not trying to make Mythic look bad, they did it to themselves, i'm a 20 year MMO veteran...should of gone in beta for this game, I went in beta for GW and LOTR, but In a way I'm glad I didn't, like I said most beta testers really had no impact on the game itself, and many of them are not even playing the game anymore, my advice to new players....stay away from this game, you will be disappointed. Expand
  21. AnthonyB.
    Sep 26, 2008
    4
    I've been playing WoW since the beginning, and this game does not really compete. I would say it's the best of the 2nd-tier MMOs, but the pacing is extremely slow, the PvE feels tacked on, and the character, style, and charm of WoW are nowhere to be found in WO.
  22. DanG.
    Sep 20, 2008
    0
    This game is terrible because of the choppy controla nd poor resolution
  23. RobertKerr
    Jul 7, 2009
    0
    Read the player forums.
    Loads of bugs, terrible end game, non existent class balancing, cheats/exploits rampant, low server populations...

    This game is in a death spiral while Mythic is arranging deck chairs.

    THE worst MMORPG I have EVER played and the worst customer service I have seen in any endeavour in my life.
    Don't buy it- wait for Aion.
  24. KyleK
    Mar 14, 2009
    0
    This game is laughably bad. I can't think up enough BAD things to say about it.

    The graphics are not good. In fact, they're ass. The game is laggy and jittery, the user interface blows, the quests are the same old fetch and kill bullshit. The abilities are the same old bullshit. Nothing about this game is fresh or original. I almost shat myself laughing when some NPC archer
    This game is laughably bad. I can't think up enough BAD things to say about it.

    The graphics are not good. In fact, they're ass. The game is laggy and jittery, the user interface blows, the quests are the same old fetch and kill bullshit. The abilities are the same old bullshit.

    Nothing about this game is fresh or original. I almost shat myself laughing when some NPC archer shot me and his arrow literally turned in midair as it tracked me as it flew at about 2 mph. The production values are horrible. The developers should be ashamed of themselves!!!!
    Expand
  25. DerrickC.
    Dec 5, 2008
    4
    I would say this is an OK game, but they keep messing up character classes by completely changing game mechanics with patches. It was recently patched and now character abilties are all messed up. Avoid this one for the moment, and if its still around in a few months maybe give it a shot if your still interested
  26. JayS.
    Oct 24, 2008
    3
    Orcs and elves and trolls ...oh my! Sound like more of the same? It is. And even more so, it is just like every other humans/orcs/dwarves/goblins/elves game you've ever played. Dark elves in bondage gear? Check. Dwarves that tinker? Check. Orcs using "Da (noun)" liberally in every sentence? You betcha! "Uninteresting," "done before," and "formula fantasy", that's just a few Orcs and elves and trolls ...oh my! Sound like more of the same? It is. And even more so, it is just like every other humans/orcs/dwarves/goblins/elves game you've ever played. Dark elves in bondage gear? Check. Dwarves that tinker? Check. Orcs using "Da (noun)" liberally in every sentence? You betcha! "Uninteresting," "done before," and "formula fantasy", that's just a few words and phrases that come to mind that describe Warhammer Online. What Mythic did was basically purchase the Warhammer license and built a sub-par game and graphics engine to recycle the same, boring Warhammer lore with nary a spark of originality or programming aptitude. The animations are akin to Saturday morning cartoons, and with the in-game dialoge, you'll swear you walked into "The Smurfs go to War." The graphics on highest settings are similar to the quality and bit depth of the original Everquest (1999). I gave it a 3 because RVR is mildly engaging, and the mechanism to find RVR battles quickly is good. Other than that, I can't honestly recommend this game. That is, unless you regularly watch Tom and Jerry and/or Looney Tunes. Expand
  27. May 30, 2012
    1
    there are a lot of things that just plain disappoint me about this game.. i mean its WARHAMMER.. one of the best fantasy worlds ever created. i play and love the tabletop game and i read a lot of the books as well.. but i mean this mmo is just plain dull. the characters move sets are slow and casting times take a while.. there's no normal attack so everything requires action points.there are a lot of things that just plain disappoint me about this game.. i mean its WARHAMMER.. one of the best fantasy worlds ever created. i play and love the tabletop game and i read a lot of the books as well.. but i mean this mmo is just plain dull. the characters move sets are slow and casting times take a while.. there's no normal attack so everything requires action points. compared to wow in the combat area it lacks greatly. where wow might have some slower cast moves it keeps the speed and excitement up with lots to pull off and your basic attack for some classes to be going at the same time. another thing is the world looks great but theyr isnt enough of it.. no expansions ither witch is a huge letdown. they needed to add more races i would love to play skaven with all my heart!!!!!. the story is dull and boring and could have been worlds better, why not have some epic quests including some good characters like gotrek and felix or a fight against grey seer thanquol :( sadly gotrek and felix just stand in a bar and do f*%k all all day year after year. if they wanted this game to be good they should not have only copied wows ENGINE.. they should have taken inspiration from the game as well and made it more epic with more of an rpg feel and a bigger world to travel and explore. instead its just all pvp and who owns what zones which is a cool idea but it kills the whole rpg exploration and epic adventure feel for me completely :(. i was so excited when i walked into my first town.. only to find out that you couldnt even go in any of the buildings and every npc was standing out infront of them.. and this was a problem that plauged the ENTIRE GAME. maybe once in a while you find a building you can actually explore but my god why is every other one jsut a set piece. the lands feel like they were just made with the leveling in mind.. its just a straight path with little areas cluttered with trees or rocks where all the mobs to kill are.. no dramatic area design here no no... in WoW it feels like a living breathing world. the lands are unique and you want to explore and see all there is to see and do all there is to do and there are so many hidden and extra things they just throw in for the people that want to play like that. warhammer online is just a series of small areas where you grab some xp.. meaningless enemies and meaningless, unimaginative areas and storyline.. one of the biggest letdowns of my life : Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. Mythic has dutifully done everything it needs to to compete with Blizzard's jack of all trades and master of most. Crafting is weak, and dungeons - the small, instanced experiences that really cement the group dynamics in an MMO - are frustratingly rare, but aside from that WAR does it all, and does it well.
  2. Touted as being the pretender to the throne of MMO games, expectations for Warhammer Online were running high. Whilst brilliant in a lot of ways, the lack of polish and a fundamental flaw in the game dynamic does not bode well for its longevity. It is certainly worth playing, but it will leave you wondering why it was not finished before release.
  3. Whether your preference is for PvP or PvE, the frustrations of aimless wandering and vague directions are gone.