User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 238 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 33 out of 238

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Andyg
    Aug 24, 2009
    3
    Average graphice. far too easy, I can't remember running out of ammo at any point. Unlimited recharges of your powers at points all over the place. I played on one down from the top level. The deaths look good, shooting in the throat and the guy drops to the floor gurgling, pretty nice. Some abolutely terrible features. You have to make your way to a resistance fighter secret cellar. Average graphice. far too easy, I can't remember running out of ammo at any point. Unlimited recharges of your powers at points all over the place. I played on one down from the top level. The deaths look good, shooting in the throat and the guy drops to the floor gurgling, pretty nice. Some abolutely terrible features. You have to make your way to a resistance fighter secret cellar. When you get to the house you see a massive red logo painted above the door. I guess the SS couldn't see this for some reason. Some of the NPC's eyes are looking away over your shoulder when you are speaking to them too. A bit annoying as I thought I might have had dandruf on my collar! Expand
  2. May 13, 2012
    4
    Wolfenstein takes the gamer back to the 1940's to shoot the same Germans over and over using over-powered firearms while listening overly poorly acted English-German accents. However, they've added a twist this time around; you get special "veil" powers which can slow down time, make you move slightly faster, give you a headache when turning them off and on (There's no real point inWolfenstein takes the gamer back to the 1940's to shoot the same Germans over and over using over-powered firearms while listening overly poorly acted English-German accents. However, they've added a twist this time around; you get special "veil" powers which can slow down time, make you move slightly faster, give you a headache when turning them off and on (There's no real point in turning the powers off except to conserve veil power energy. The game is simply easier with the powers turned on and the only price you pay is that your entire gaming experience is surprisngly similar to looking through your grandpa's negative film collection.) and make you feel awkward when playing with the powers off. You are also able to walk around a town which acts as a sort of "hub" between missions. As the player progresses, he can travel to more parts of town and purchase upgrades for weapons by finding gold to pay for them and veil powers by finding tomes that are hidden in walls. You will also find gold and tomes during missions and I often found myself having spent far more time on trying to find all the gold and tomes in a level than I did killing Germans. I am a huge FPS buff but this game was too repetitive even for me, combined with the horrible veil-power effects I quit playing about three-fourth through and haven't picked it up ever since. Expand
  3. TomD
    Nov 6, 2009
    0
    Just awful, took so long to get it to work on my PC. And the game itself was just another bland FPS shooter, with nothing of the id charm it's predecessors had.
  4. DN
    Oct 18, 2009
    1
    Seeing the fact that the only thing thats Wolfenstein about this game, is the name. Singleplayer part was barely playable, and the Multiplayer part was, and is, an insult to anyone who ever liked the previous games. A sure waste of your money.
  5. rivrs
    Nov 28, 2009
    0
    The game was unfinished, no support, no mp fixes, no communication... its dead on arrival. idsoftware has fallen to their lowest with no attempt made to fix this sorry excuse. Activision has just gotten to big and really the worst publisher at this point.
  6. JeffF
    Aug 24, 2009
    3
    Sadly with Wolfenstein, Raven has added another venerable Id IP to its list of twisted franchises. Like Quake 4, people will find themselves asking "why bother with this when its predecessor is so much better?" Wolfenstein will offer slow paced gameplay featuring tiny teams, tiny maps on which to play, poorly conceived classes, and a lack of game type options. Expect to find this title in Sadly with Wolfenstein, Raven has added another venerable Id IP to its list of twisted franchises. Like Quake 4, people will find themselves asking "why bother with this when its predecessor is so much better?" Wolfenstein will offer slow paced gameplay featuring tiny teams, tiny maps on which to play, poorly conceived classes, and a lack of game type options. Expect to find this title in the bargain bin in record time. Expand
  7. JacobS
    Sep 14, 2009
    3
    Very disappointed. I tried to like it, I wanted to like it! When I think Wolfenstein, I think heavy shooter lite to no story. What you get here is a bland attempt to cross RPG elements with a fast paced shooter. Why fix what isn't broken?? The story was so boring and uninteresting. The veil gimmick is so transparent and uncalled for, though a cool effect that might be fine IN A NEW Very disappointed. I tried to like it, I wanted to like it! When I think Wolfenstein, I think heavy shooter lite to no story. What you get here is a bland attempt to cross RPG elements with a fast paced shooter. Why fix what isn't broken?? The story was so boring and uninteresting. The veil gimmick is so transparent and uncalled for, though a cool effect that might be fine IN A NEW IP. The atmosphere felt nothing like RTCW's masterpiece. Skip this game. Expand
  8. JohnG
    Nov 1, 2009
    4
    I brought this game for $99.99 NZ and loved the idea of a new Wolfestein i have played every one. Now the open world was great for the fighting, the veil made me stop playing for a while it is really not called for i played doom 3 up till that gay soul cube and had to stop its just bad not fun and distracting. This game is not really worth 100.00 bucks in any country but if you can get I brought this game for $99.99 NZ and loved the idea of a new Wolfestein i have played every one. Now the open world was great for the fighting, the veil made me stop playing for a while it is really not called for i played doom 3 up till that gay soul cube and had to stop its just bad not fun and distracting. This game is not really worth 100.00 bucks in any country but if you can get pass the veil try it you may love it. Expand
  9. DanP
    Sep 5, 2009
    4
    Ho-hum, by the numbers, already been done, tired, boring, bland, uninspired, insipid, waste of money, waste of time. If you're new to games or just easily amused, you might want to look at this game. But there are eighty thousand other shooters just as mediocre for you to choose from. If you are actually looking for a game that will pull you in, and oh, I don't know, be worth Ho-hum, by the numbers, already been done, tired, boring, bland, uninspired, insipid, waste of money, waste of time. If you're new to games or just easily amused, you might want to look at this game. But there are eighty thousand other shooters just as mediocre for you to choose from. If you are actually looking for a game that will pull you in, and oh, I don't know, be worth $60 dollars because it's not just a re-hash of the same FPS ideas that've been regurgitated for what feels like eternity now, SKIP THIS GAME because that is EXACTLY what you will get. Raven Software set out to create an SKU that would generate money. They succeeded. They have no ambition otherwise. Please skip this waste. Expand
  10. JuanH
    Dec 8, 2009
    1
    My review in a nut shell: I'm not a hardcore SP guy, but I really enjoyed the SP campaign. I'm a hardcore MP guy, and the game is already dead after being out a few months. Nothing but empty servers except for one or two with some people in it, and the gameplay isn't even that great. I'd say skip this one; the SP is great, but not worth 50 bucks - and yes, that's My review in a nut shell: I'm not a hardcore SP guy, but I really enjoyed the SP campaign. I'm a hardcore MP guy, and the game is already dead after being out a few months. Nothing but empty servers except for one or two with some people in it, and the gameplay isn't even that great. I'd say skip this one; the SP is great, but not worth 50 bucks - and yes, that's what you're paying for, the SP, MP is non-existent on this game. What a disappointment. Expand
  11. CharlesC.
    Oct 13, 2009
    1
    Easily one of the worst games I have ever played. The single player is ok, but I buy games for the multiplayer aspect of the game. So for me, this game is beyond pathetic. Only a few days after release, and the online servers are all dead. Youll be lucky to find 20 people playing, globally, even at peak times. This game is so full of bugs and problems, quite honestly, I dont think it can Easily one of the worst games I have ever played. The single player is ok, but I buy games for the multiplayer aspect of the game. So for me, this game is beyond pathetic. Only a few days after release, and the online servers are all dead. Youll be lucky to find 20 people playing, globally, even at peak times. This game is so full of bugs and problems, quite honestly, I dont think it can even be fixed with multiple patches. Even the single player has many issues, where the game crashes out, locks up, causes your computer to reboot. If a class action lawsuit were feasible, I would be all for it. Do not waste your money on this game, I implore you. You will regret it. If you HAVE to try or play this game, wait a couple more months and pick it up in the $5 bargain bin at Wal-Mart. Expand
  12. Dec 13, 2012
    1
    This game is a big big big FAILURE---A major DISAPPOINTMENT...in other words---it a piece of TRASH !!!

    The AI SUX BALLS, the enemy just keep respawning ---endless respawning !!!, the gameplay is **** and the camera just keep shaking so intensely---this is a piece of **** that you will regret buying it---or you just like puking at your screen playing with this **** !!!
  13. SeanM
    Aug 19, 2009
    4
    Well, first, the good things about the game. The cinematics are top notch and fun to watch. The game stays true to the Wolfenstein series to an extent. Now the bad things: The graphics are terrible for a new game these days. I mean even Left 4 Dead has better graphics than this. It's a boring WW2 game with a boring twist. If you want to play WW2 games with weird crap like this, go Well, first, the good things about the game. The cinematics are top notch and fun to watch. The game stays true to the Wolfenstein series to an extent. Now the bad things: The graphics are terrible for a new game these days. I mean even Left 4 Dead has better graphics than this. It's a boring WW2 game with a boring twist. If you want to play WW2 games with weird crap like this, go play CoD5: WaW and play the zombie mode. This game really has nothing new to offer anybody. Also, it's really, really green. I rate it a 4 out of 10 simply for the cinematics. If you can help it, just avoid this one all together. Expand
  14. Oct 25, 2013
    1
    Wolfenstein2009 is everything that Return to Castle Wolfenstein wasnt. We got an console port. That may have seen to many Rtcw players as an spit to the face. Gone were the different environments, gone was the superb A.I, gone was the music, gone was the artistic approach. Gone were the Germanic Knight Looking Super Soldiers and replaced with Japanese looking Power Rangers. Not to mentionWolfenstein2009 is everything that Return to Castle Wolfenstein wasnt. We got an console port. That may have seen to many Rtcw players as an spit to the face. Gone were the different environments, gone was the superb A.I, gone was the music, gone was the artistic approach. Gone were the Germanic Knight Looking Super Soldiers and replaced with Japanese looking Power Rangers. Not to mention the terrible Atmosphere and the silly looking guns. One felt literally like shooting green toothpaste. I cant consider this as an sequel to the francise. Its just an console game. But deffently not a game itended for pc. Expand
  15. Apr 28, 2014
    0
    Disgusting piece of crap that truly disgraced Wolfenstein name.

    Gameplay has nothing to do with Wolfenstein, gameplay is directly copy paste of Call of Duty. You gotta hide behind cover, sprint and aimdownsights and stuff. Weaponlimit is also present.

    Good ****ing gosh..
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 41
  2. Negative: 0 out of 41
  1. In the end this is a by the numbers shooter with slick graphics, and ample opportunity to shoot supercharged Nazis. It's not going to win any awards but it's worth checking out if you’re looking for a weekend to pass the time shooting everyone's favorite bad guys.
  2. Dated look and tired “twists” of the barely noticeable story fail to impress. Wolfenstein is a true mediocrity in all regards – it has neither shameful slip-ups nor flashes of inspiration.
  3. Throw away your fears – this game is not “oldie and weirdie” as some can assume. It’s a smart fast shooter with a couple of great features. Pity some elements don’t work as intended. [Sept 2009]