World of Tanks Image
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.7

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1471 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: World of Tanks is the first and only team-based massively multiplayer online action game dedicated to armored warfare. Throw yourself into the epic tank battles of World War II with other steel cowboys all over the world. Your arsenal includes more than 150 armored vehicles from America,World of Tanks is the first and only team-based massively multiplayer online action game dedicated to armored warfare. Throw yourself into the epic tank battles of World War II with other steel cowboys all over the world. Your arsenal includes more than 150 armored vehicles from America, Germany, and the Soviet Union, carefully detailed with historical accuracy. A flexible system of authentic vehicle upgrade and development allows you to try any of the vehicles and weapons in the game. Whether you prefer to exhaust your foes with fast and maneuverable light tanks, make deep breaches in enemy lines with all-purpose medium tanks, use the force of giant tanks to eliminate opposing armored forces, or become a heavy sniper with long-range howitzers, each unit type has its own advantages and can be extremely effective when operated by a true tank ace. But being a great tank commander alone isn't enough to win! In World of Tanks, it's all about teamwork. Victory is achieved by combining your combat skills with those of the other members of your team, each playing their own role on the battlefield. Just add your favorite strategy to build your own iron empire and manifest the indisputable authority of the tank! Feel the tank power! Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. Aug 25, 2011
    100
    Unique and confident in its place in the free-to-play world, this team-based MMO is a surefire winner, balancing fun with depth and detail with action.
  2. Jul 6, 2011
    92
    All in all, World of Tanks is a ruthlessly addictive game.
  3. Jul 21, 2011
    85
    This is by far the best free to play MMO out there at the moment. Its well polished, with good sound effects, well detailed tanks and terrain and regular updates and maps.
  4. PC Gamer
    Jun 18, 2011
    80
    An ambitious and unique shooter, World of Tanks starts slow, peaks in a few hours, and soon runs low on fuel. [Aug 2011, p.72]
  5. Nov 29, 2011
    80
    It might be a little cruel to pick apart World of Tanks like this while it's still in beta, but Wargaming.net is nevertheless charging people for a boxed copy. Still, the game is progressing well and constantly seeing new maps and new tanks added, with a whole slew of French units soon to be released.
  6. Jul 21, 2011
    75
    It manages to straddle pure tank simulation and shooter action to produce something that, despite being flawed, remains genuinely fun.
  7. Jul 5, 2011
    60
    The ground it treads is hardly innovative, and the grind is intolerable. Clan play helps to skirt these issues, but in general, World of Tanks is a dull slog to be enjoyed solely between rounds of other, more interesting games. Vision slit.

See all 38 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 98 out of 418
  1. Apr 20, 2011
    10
    FPS in armored vehicles. I had mixed feelings when Ijoined up during their closed beta period in December 2010, but reckoned that it would beFPS in armored vehicles. I had mixed feelings when Ijoined up during their closed beta period in December 2010, but reckoned that it would be good enough to pass a couple of hours during the christmas holidays.

    Boy was I wrong.. This game is addictive - severely. The developers have found a nice mix between pure arcade and historical simulation. The tanks are very nicely modelled graphically, including small details such as tool strapped to the outside, holes appearing from shell hits, and the landscape is absolutely amazing.

    The game itself is easy to get into, and hard to master. Even though you can use in-game gold currency and the ingame Credits to buy items for your tank, they don't guarantee you a victory. You'll still be hit, you'll still depend on the other members of your team to win, and you'll still die. The good thing about the gold currency, is that it enables you to purchase premium status, which increases the amount of experience and credits your tank earns in battles. That allows you to progress faster through the various tanks, even though it is stil very much possible to do so without ever spending a dime on gold.

    There are still some issues in the game, which the developers are working on, even if their patches isn't issued as frequently as in other games I've played. Now that the game has gone live, they will have to live up to their promises in the upcoming 0.6.4.0 patch, which should fix a whole slew of issues reported in the beta. I don't doubt they will be able to do this, since they seem very dedicated to their game. I've even met and played against some of them, and been able to beat them in a regular competion called Killed The Mods.. Got in game gold for my victory as well.

    For a free to play game, World of Tanks is exceptional good value and fun. I'll be sticking to this game for quite a while, since they project it to run for at least 5 years, with content and new features added during the lifespan of the game. The next addition to the game, a global Clan Wars persistent world fighting for territories is going to be introduced this summer and sounds very interesting. Untill then I am playing with my clan mates in platoons and tank company battles, and thouroghly enjoying it.
    Expand
  2. Sep 11, 2011
    9
    WoT is not perfect but then what game is?

    With over 20 years experience playing video games this for me, has to be one of the most addictive
    WoT is not perfect but then what game is?

    With over 20 years experience playing video games this for me, has to be one of the most addictive games of all time.

    It has a simple formula that works.

    The game does have it's problems but they are not game breakers as other suggest.

    I started playing WoT during the Closed Beta and have over 7500 battles under my belt in total.

    For those that are finding it a constant struggle and frustration to play I will say this, this is not a FPS like COD4 or the likes but, a game that needs the use of good tactics and team work. You can't just go around running and gunning. You really need to think about how you engage the enemy and to use the equipment that you have to it's advantages whilst minimising it's disadvantages.

    The game is free to play and use micro-transactions that is in no way a "pay to win" model.

    Buy in game content only enhances your experience.

    A person who spends money on the game has no advantage over somebody who plays for free on the battlefield. Both can kill each other just as easily.

    So if you like tanks and blowing stuff up look no further than WoT.
    Expand
  3. Dec 29, 2013
    7
    Honestly I think this is one of the best F2P game out there. Good graphics, detailed tanks and very fun to play!
    Having said that I must add
    Honestly I think this is one of the best F2P game out there. Good graphics, detailed tanks and very fun to play!
    Having said that I must add that it does not come without its problems. No game is perfect and WOT has a serious problem that comes from being F2P! The biggest problem the F2P format is the incredible amount of "noobs" playing. I play WOT for 3 years now and is not the painfull XP/Moeny gathering, the artillery, OP tanks or the MM that often seems to be on crack that bothers me.

    My biggest problem with this game is that inexperienced players flood the servers making the game virtually unplayable. To be successful in this game is indispensable a platoon of at least two very experienced players.

    Play alone and get ready for 15 painful minutes of pathetic performace of players with less than 3k matches parading in their useless premium tanks, not doing anything to help the team and dying with only a few enemy shots.

    It's a fun game, but I must warn to not play fot a long time each day if you are a playing alone.

    Make friends and play in a platoon and try to have fun...which is very hard to do in this game!
    Expand
  4. Jan 19, 2013
    1
    The game requires the use of gold in order to enjoy. As others have said, things become frustrating, after a while, when you are incapable ofThe game requires the use of gold in order to enjoy. As others have said, things become frustrating, after a while, when you are incapable of playing well against opponents without upgrading.
    Additionally, the price of gold is obscene. It costs $100 dollars for enough gold to obtain a premium account for merely a year. I expect more than than that.
    Expand
  5. Jan 29, 2016
    0
    Gameplay is awesome if you have manage to spend money and got good high level tanks, but main problem not mentioning the grind or others. TheGameplay is awesome if you have manage to spend money and got good high level tanks, but main problem not mentioning the grind or others. The customer service is uttlerly so bad I dont even know how or what to compare ore describe it as. They dont have phone numbers, only allowed to submit tickets which have automated anwsering machines. only players are free to swear in general chat, even try swearing to bait a moderator to show him/herself. But nothing, they dont care about you unless your a famous youtuber other than that they treat you like your a worthless slave. I like the game enjoy it with my friends, and so on. Since no moderators the game it self should be rated PG 17 since it has excessive language. What really pisses me off is when I tried to contact them for support its is either FAQ with frequenlty asks "lies", forums which players help you or a stupid ticket machine which goes directly into their trash can after its has been submitted Expand
  6. Aug 29, 2015
    0
    Разработчики считают что они знают, чего хотят игроки, делают игру "лучше". Геймплей отвратителен, баланса нет, стабильный фпс даже наРазработчики считают что они знают, чего хотят игроки, делают игру "лучше". Геймплей отвратителен, баланса нет, стабильный фпс даже на достаточно мощных компьютерах отсутствует. Игроки жалуются, разработчики говорят что знают лучше, "мы делаем игру для вас, как вы хотите, но нет, этого не будет, того нельзя, мы лучше знаем, хоть и не играем в нашу игру" Expand
  7. Aug 12, 2012
    0
    Pay to win game don't waste your time.

    The episode starts out with Android 18 about to fight with Mr. Satan (who is scared out of his mind)
    Pay to win game don't waste your time.

    The episode starts out with Android 18 about to fight with Mr. Satan (who is scared out of his mind) at the World Martial Arts Tournament. Mr. Satan imagines what will happen if he loses to Android 18: Android 18 laughing at him, Videl disowning him, and the entire crowd booing and throwing things at him. He then laughs and says "Watch out, you don't know what you're messing with!" while walking backwards. He then charges at Android 18 with his fists flying, but Android 18 dodges each one. She then puts him in a headlock and says she will throw the match for 20,000,000 Zeni. She lets go but the crowd thinks Mr. Satan kicked her away.
    18 putting Mr. Satan in a headlock
    BeadtmdcAdded by Beadtmdc

    At the tournament, Mr. Satan throws Android 18 across the ring and she tells him to do his most powerful attack. He performs his Dynamic Mess Em Up Punch. She stands there and says "That was your most powerful attack". She then jumps out of the ring and Mr. Satan is declared the winner. Android 18 then says "I will see you tomorrow and get my money and if you don't pay I will kill you".
    Expand

See all 418 User Reviews