User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 808 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 99 out of 808
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PhillipM.
    Jan 31, 2007
    10
    This is a fantastic game to play. I am personally a 62 Paladin and working my way into the higher ranks. The fact that theres tonnes of new things like abilities, races, talents, professions... the list goes on. Its probably not helpful to those not around the level 60 area, but for those who are, they're in for one heck of a journey!
  2. AngieW.
    Feb 6, 2007
    10
    Most wonderful addition to the game, the new Draenei race is the perfect Alliance addition.
  3. ThiagoT
    Jun 27, 2008
    2
    The worst expansion I've ever seen. Burning Crusade DESTROYED that epic atmosphere I saw at the first game. Now we play at Outland, an entire map with green gear better than epics from Azeroth dropped from Kelthuzad's own ass. Even Hellfire Peninsula looking great I think the second game should be at Northrend. everybody wanted undeads, plague everywhere, Arthas and his minions, The worst expansion I've ever seen. Burning Crusade DESTROYED that epic atmosphere I saw at the first game. Now we play at Outland, an entire map with green gear better than epics from Azeroth dropped from Kelthuzad's own ass. Even Hellfire Peninsula looking great I think the second game should be at Northrend. everybody wanted undeads, plague everywhere, Arthas and his minions, etc! And more: we like 40 man, we hate 25 man. We also hate to grind hundred hours to get gear that we have already spent on 60. Where is the lore? Sieges? New classes? Pandarens? Why blizzard destroyed Warcraft? And fuck the Lich King and its new Hero Classes! I can see the same shit done before and worst. Still have a dream called Diablo 3. Expand
  4. TomH
    Jun 10, 2009
    9
    i really wanted to give this game a 10 but 10/10 implies that it is perfect which it isnt there are people that say it takes too long to be good at this game these are people that lacked skill in the first place in order to reach high lvls on this game you need to have a good idea of what is the best place to go what quests not to waste your time on and what items best improve your class i really wanted to give this game a 10 but 10/10 implies that it is perfect which it isnt there are people that say it takes too long to be good at this game these are people that lacked skill in the first place in order to reach high lvls on this game you need to have a good idea of what is the best place to go what quests not to waste your time on and what items best improve your class you could play for 8 hours a day badly and lvl no fastert then someone who plays 1-2 hours a day well another thing people claim all quests are the same which while partially true if you really think about it they arent exactly the same as soon as your fighting different things its a different quests every mob-type in the game fights differently and the people that dont try and fight things well and just button bash there way through the game will find it boring people who say PvP is unbalanced are the people that were the wrong gear for there class have no concept of strategy and place thre talents in all the wrong areas im sorry but if thats the case you will get owned people said that lich king should have been first expansion but then what would be second expansion? if you put illidan after lich king that would mean illidan is stronger than the lich king which clearly he isnt blizzard are ordering there expansions so they get progressively harder. people who say wow costs too much are the only people i have seen who have a point activision-blizzzards turnover in the frist 3 months of 2009 was $998,000,000.00 so they can afford to make WoW cheaper Expand
  5. BenJ.
    Feb 28, 2007
    0
    WoW needs to die, and this expansion is not helping. This expansion adds repetitive missions and does not improve anything about the game. Compared to other expansions out there, this seems like being handed a cup of sewage and told to pony up money. Sorry, but WoW has already blinded gamers' eyes from the actually decent titles, and this is just another blindfold over their eyes.
  6. SebastianB.
    Apr 7, 2007
    0
    A boring game which makes people addicted! Don't start playing cause you can't stop again. And the graphics is nothing compared to many other games.
  7. OnurYuksel
    May 6, 2007
    1
    I am playing WOW more than 2 year.I have paladin 70 level.but I really bored playing Wow.Before patch everything is perfect.Our guild members and me love playing it.We made hundreds of BWL MC A.Q and Naxx. we got our Sets T1 T2 T2.5. T3 nearly playing 1 year and more raids.We gave our all.After the BC patch Level 63 items are better than our T3 T2 T1 items.that means Blizzard forgetI am playing WOW more than 2 year.I have paladin 70 level.but I really bored playing Wow.Before patch everything is perfect.Our guild members and me love playing it.We made hundreds of BWL MC A.Q and Naxx. we got our Sets T1 T2 T2.5. T3 nearly playing 1 year and more raids.We gave our all.After the BC patch Level 63 items are better than our T3 T2 T1 items.that means Blizzard forget and don t think our efforts.Then I think when we again start Raid for T4 T5 .Blizzard again will release other patch to 80 level or up.Also our efforts will gone ! So dont play BC...... Expand
  8. SuperRogue
    Jul 29, 2007
    0
    Whoever said this expansion is addictive is because they're newbs. They don't know it's the same old repetitive, boring, unintelligent rep and instance grinding. My time and money are better spent elsewhere.
  9. JackB
    Aug 8, 2008
    8
    Okey 1. those who doesen't like this game can leave bye bye no one will miss you(seriously). 2. yes this game isin't all that perfect but it is better than many other games imo. If you grind 1-60 yes it can be boring but that just shows how stupid you are (those yellow markers above npc's head means that they have a quest for you) Then there are so much more than just Okey 1. those who doesen't like this game can leave bye bye no one will miss you(seriously). 2. yes this game isin't all that perfect but it is better than many other games imo. If you grind 1-60 yes it can be boring but that just shows how stupid you are (those yellow markers above npc's head means that they have a quest for you) Then there are so much more than just killing mobs there's q that requires you to gather herbs and stuff, need to bomb something, visit somewhere and many other kind of quest's. I know it takes time to level from 1-70 but you don't have deadline to it. And read the quest they often have pretty interesting storyline to tell you. It's okay if you don't agree with me but don't cry about it .And last but not least if WoW was a free MMO(RPG) it wouldn't have as much content than it now has. PS. Guild Wars bah ! you must be joking right ? Expand
  10. CrazyD.
    Jan 18, 2007
    9
    Looks like they might have "fixed" their endgame and not made it about 20 hour raid craziness where guilds are required.
  11. DavidH.
    Jan 19, 2007
    10
    Amazing new content! This is a must buy for the legions of WoW fans around the world. Just when I thought I was out, they pull me back in.
  12. FranciscoC.
    Jan 20, 2007
    1
    I loved the first game, but this think will mark Blizzard! By the bad side... This expansion should be just a patch, blizzard is making us waste our money, you want an advice? Buy "Guild Wars: nightfall" that is a pretty good game.
  13. Hyjal
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    L2P if you gave this less than a 8. This game pwns GW. The xp is fantastic. First set of quests are new and fresh. Most people will upgrade their gear within 3hrs of playing, unless you have full T2 or T3. And the quests let you make a TON of gold. I had made over 35g in 1hr via quests. This game was way worth the $$$. Thanks Blizzard for all your hard work and a great xp! Keep it up!
  14. AdamR.
    Jan 20, 2007
    0
    Does not fix most of the problems of WoW like laggy servers, does not add any depth to an already boring game which centers on grinding monsters to do the fun bit which is raiding WoW and Burning crusade should be free if you are going to be charged such a large subscription per month to play them There are many better games out there to spend your time on, WoW just seems to be a way for Does not fix most of the problems of WoW like laggy servers, does not add any depth to an already boring game which centers on grinding monsters to do the fun bit which is raiding WoW and Burning crusade should be free if you are going to be charged such a large subscription per month to play them There are many better games out there to spend your time on, WoW just seems to be a way for people to waste time and escape life Expand
  15. LoganH.
    Jan 21, 2007
    10
    Great story, ALOT of new content added, and the two new races are AMAZING! A MUST BUY IF YOU OWN World of Warcraft!
  16. ThornR.
    Feb 12, 2007
    10
    After doing almost everything I could as a lvl 60 I am to be able to play this game. Now a lvl 70, I have so much more end game content to explore. This expansion was well worth the money and the wait.
  17. JamesP.
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    The depth of the quests in Shadowmoon Valley alone give this game an amazing feeling, this expansion is the better game of its predecessors, the new races come at a very good time and dungeons have become an excellent challenge, lag and stuff may sometimes be still an issue butthis still gets a 10 from me, not disappointed by 1 bit, this game is *EPIC*.
  18. SamuelC.
    Mar 3, 2007
    3
    Better games out there...Don't be fooled by the new gear, mounts, races its the same thing it was. Instancing, raiding for counless hours It just doesnt compare too the new better mmos coming out in the market. Game hasnt gotten any better quit wasting your money$$$.
  19. JasonR.
    Mar 7, 2007
    1
    Exactly the same over-done repeated things you did for the first 60 levels, only with tree's and hills in different spots. If your lucky a different looking mob but no real advancement to anything but your level count. Graphics, Questing, Crafting system(with the exception of adding a new crafting type) basically haven't changed. Just means longer fights for less reward and the Exactly the same over-done repeated things you did for the first 60 levels, only with tree's and hills in different spots. If your lucky a different looking mob but no real advancement to anything but your level count. Graphics, Questing, Crafting system(with the exception of adding a new crafting type) basically haven't changed. Just means longer fights for less reward and the endless cycle of boredom that is WoW continues. Expand
  20. DerickC.
    Apr 2, 2007
    6
    I was expecting the expansion to be nothing short of a major improvement of the World of Warcraft such as the Frozen Throne expansion for Warcraft 3. This was sadly wrong, as this expansion had not, in my opinion added enough content into the original to make it more appealing to new players then it was before. The game still has the same repetitive gameplay and features. Even something I was expecting the expansion to be nothing short of a major improvement of the World of Warcraft such as the Frozen Throne expansion for Warcraft 3. This was sadly wrong, as this expansion had not, in my opinion added enough content into the original to make it more appealing to new players then it was before. The game still has the same repetitive gameplay and features. Even something like a minor graphic update would have been welcomed. Despite these points, the expansion is still very effective in terms of giving current World of Warcraft players more things to do and run around for. However, I don't think that wasting 40 dollars is worth it as they should have given the content for free. Expand
  21. MaxD.
    Apr 9, 2007
    5
    This expansion pack adds a nice addition to Wow but i am disappointed in it. The two new races and the Outlands are cool but other than that it doesn't really help characters from lvls 1-40 it is a waste of $30
  22. KevinL.
    May 5, 2007
    9
    World of Warcraft:The Burning Crusade is a excellent expansion, its almost a new game by itself. CONTRARY to other people who give it 0's or 1's, they must appreciate the wealth of monsters, quests, areas, people, npcs, items, dungeans, visuals, goals, and the all famous level 70 whos-gonna-get-there-first bragging rights. All in all, its a 9 becuase, technically, its the same World of Warcraft:The Burning Crusade is a excellent expansion, its almost a new game by itself. CONTRARY to other people who give it 0's or 1's, they must appreciate the wealth of monsters, quests, areas, people, npcs, items, dungeans, visuals, goals, and the all famous level 70 whos-gonna-get-there-first bragging rights. All in all, its a 9 becuase, technically, its the same game, only more. Sort of like getting 2 shirts. Both of em are shirts, but ones better. Kind of like Burning Crusade. Its like the reguler World of Warraft, only better. Expand
  23. RobertC.
    Jul 20, 2007
    5
    The end game ruins the game grind grind boring as hell. pvp is ok but too unbalanced especially the classes that fear you over and over and over wow fun.
  24. MikeP.
    Aug 30, 2007
    6
    A lot of new material that isn't necessarily a good thing, once you get to 70 you realize that the only thing to do is grind to get the materials for Items, for rep to get items and instances to get items. With that all said it's fun to explore everything and get new powers, but I think it kinda broke it's fan base. I had just gotten to 60 when the expansion came out, but I A lot of new material that isn't necessarily a good thing, once you get to 70 you realize that the only thing to do is grind to get the materials for Items, for rep to get items and instances to get items. With that all said it's fun to explore everything and get new powers, but I think it kinda broke it's fan base. I had just gotten to 60 when the expansion came out, but I would feel that for the people who had spent like 400 hours raiding before the expansion came out and had everything would be annoyed as hell that you can get better items just from playing the expansion for an hour. It's really well decorated grinding when it comes down to it. Furthermore, with the news of another expansion in the works it makes 30-40% of the content in this game pointless because the most powerful items in this game will be overshadowed in the first hour of the next one most likely. Expand
  25. JamesS.
    Aug 30, 2007
    7
    The gap is astonishing within the user ratings, it's like half 10's and half 0's. Such emotional responses to this game, it seems to me that the people who gave it 0's are people who just hate it because of what others have said about it or playing another game and violently insist it's over-rated; and the people who say it's 10 are people who are addicted to The gap is astonishing within the user ratings, it's like half 10's and half 0's. Such emotional responses to this game, it seems to me that the people who gave it 0's are people who just hate it because of what others have said about it or playing another game and violently insist it's over-rated; and the people who say it's 10 are people who are addicted to the game play. I was really addicted to this game for a while, I would never turn down another activity to play it however. I have a level 70 Mage in this game. In the time I've played it's been really fun, what really captivates me about it is just how complete much of the world seems. The world as a whole is very unified and filled with very diverse creatures, items and environments; the plot is continuous, compelling and epic in scale; the graphics are stylized but work flawlessly with the intent of the game world. From a technical standpoint I haven't experienced any networking issues that cause me anything more than mild annoyance every two months or so. I feel that Blizzard has pulled off a technical marvel in having as little errors as they have had on the scale they are building on. The negative traits of the expansion are the negative traits of the original game but magnified. For everybody who hasn't reached level 70 yet, the game play changes completely after you reach level 70, the only things you can do after that point is grind, and it's magnified remember, so it takes almost four times as long as it did in the original to make progress. so to create a mid-high range level 70 item finding all the materials by yourself will require you to keep track of your cool-downs for anywhere from 4-28 days unless you want it to take longer, and a good 10-20 hours of grinding for other materials unless you want to pay a huge amount of game currency to get them faster. So the devotion required to get one of those items requires you to spend 8-26 hours grinding if you accomplish this in a month as I did, you will have spent 1/30th of your time that month getting an item in a video game. Since I got that hard won object I have had no desire to play that game since, I canceled my subscription eight days later. In addition to that, the news of another expansion pack will mean everybody who grinded for 200 hours in the original WoW to get the best items and found in the Burning Crusade those items can be replaced in an hours time, and also the people who will have grinded for 400 hours in the the Burning Crusade will probably find that their items can be replaced in as little as 4 hours time in the next expansion pack. The fact that there will be another expansion reduces the playability of this expansion and makes all that grinding for rep, gold and items that much more pointless. I paid $100 for this experience including four months subscription fee, before you buy this game, think of other forms of entertainment with an equivalent price tag, I'm not saying don't buy it, I had an enormous amount of fun with it till the event I mentioned. Expand
  26. BrianP
    Sep 4, 2008
    3
    Basically this expansion took wow and launched it again but without the magic and addictiveness of the first installment. With gamebreaking problems and balance issues (warrior, RNG, ect) TBC might as well have not even been released.
  27. TomE.
    Jan 17, 2007
    10
    I've been playing WoW for a long time now, have several 60'd and a number of other various level characters. BC gives us players a chance to explore a TON of new content, or start new races. With Paladins for the Horde and Shamans for the Allaince we all now have to rethink how runs can be done. I love the new 25 man cap for raids, sinec it means mid-sized guilds now have a I've been playing WoW for a long time now, have several 60'd and a number of other various level characters. BC gives us players a chance to explore a TON of new content, or start new races. With Paladins for the Horde and Shamans for the Allaince we all now have to rethink how runs can be done. I love the new 25 man cap for raids, sinec it means mid-sized guilds now have a shot, not just the big hardcore ones. Expand
  28. JoeJok
    Jan 17, 2007
    0
    This game is laughable. It's amazing what people will pay just for an upgrade that really should be downloadable. Blizzard will keep on sucking the money out of all of you fools.
  29. JM
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    Loving this expansion pack so far. There is tons of new content for both the hard core and casual players alike. The new continent of Outland is expansive and very scenic, and the new quests are extremely well implemented. All told, a must buy for any WoW player. And if you hit level 60 and got bored (like many have, I'm sure), here's a reason to keep playing. A terrific expansion pack.
  30. AndrewC.
    Jan 18, 2007
    9
    Great new content, awesome new races. A must buy for anybody who enjoys WOW, hardcore players and casual alike. Although plauged with the expected launch issues, give it a week or so, and it will be a whole new game to love.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    90
    New areas and races are well thought out and there is tons of stuff to do. Some hardcore raiders will not love the new 25 player raid cap, though, and the guild aspect of the game could have used more improvements. [Jan 2007]
  2. 100
    The new locations, characters, items, and monsters are nothing short of awesome. The voice acting is perfect, the sound effects spot-on, and the score at times both ominous and uplifting.
  3. 90
    Launch issues aside, there's absolutely no reason why any World of Warcraft player should hesitate to pick it up. Consider it essential.