User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 961 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JonB.
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    Dear John D, It may be interesting for you to hear that over 50% of players that left WoW to play WAR have returned for WotLK. It should also be mentioned that the retail game is a very different experience from the beta, because the retail game is a finished product, whereas the beta is meant for testing, balancing and bug removal. Also, gear replacing is not as rampant in the early Dear John D, It may be interesting for you to hear that over 50% of players that left WoW to play WAR have returned for WotLK. It should also be mentioned that the retail game is a very different experience from the beta, because the retail game is a finished product, whereas the beta is meant for testing, balancing and bug removal. Also, gear replacing is not as rampant in the early levels in WotLK compared to TBC. In closing, perhaps playing the finished product, in conjunction with keeping an open mind and not being a fanboy of a WoW competitor will help you craft a more sensible, reasonable and overall credible review. Expand
  2. MikeA
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    If you don't like WoW, don't buy this game. If you already enjoy WoW, there is a lot that's good about this expansion. New vehicle based missions can be really fun. New Wintergrasp battleground is a lot of fun. Characters keep getting stronger, which is always fun I think lol. The game really does look a lot better than it used to if you turn your graphics to highest. They If you don't like WoW, don't buy this game. If you already enjoy WoW, there is a lot that's good about this expansion. New vehicle based missions can be really fun. New Wintergrasp battleground is a lot of fun. Characters keep getting stronger, which is always fun I think lol. The game really does look a lot better than it used to if you turn your graphics to highest. They did a good job on the shadows and the zones have great architecture. You don't replace your epics as fast as some people would have you believe. I'm nearing level 75 and haven't replaced nearly half of my gear. There's a lot of content that's going to be released in the upcoming patches to meet the needs of die hard gamers. Oh yeah, read the quests! Expand
  3. JamesH.
    Nov 25, 2008
    9
    Queues? What queues? I'm on a fairly low population server, and haven't been queued once. You do know that Blizzard offers free character transfers for people on high pop servers, yes? Bottom line, Lich King is more WoW. The graphics have been improved a bit and the new quests are more fun and inventive than anything that's come before, but it's still the same game. If Queues? What queues? I'm on a fairly low population server, and haven't been queued once. You do know that Blizzard offers free character transfers for people on high pop servers, yes? Bottom line, Lich King is more WoW. The graphics have been improved a bit and the new quests are more fun and inventive than anything that's come before, but it's still the same game. If you like WoW, you'll love this expansion. If you're a WoW hater, there's nothing here to change your opinion. Expand
  4. SethD
    Nov 26, 2008
    10
    I can't help but laugh at some of the negative user reviews that have shown up on here. A lot of the facts are down right incorrect. For example, you can use your flying mount in Northrend, however you must first reach level 77 and spend 1000 gold for the Cold Weather Flying training in Dalaran, but I digress. This is a fantastic addition to the WoW universe. Wrath of the Lich King I can't help but laugh at some of the negative user reviews that have shown up on here. A lot of the facts are down right incorrect. For example, you can use your flying mount in Northrend, however you must first reach level 77 and spend 1000 gold for the Cold Weather Flying training in Dalaran, but I digress. This is a fantastic addition to the WoW universe. Wrath of the Lich King brings a ton of new features, zones, abilities, monsters, instances, raids, and factions to the table. There is more then enough content to keep even the most die hard player busy for months, especially if they're the OCD type that feels every faction must be Exalted. The quests are a lot of fun and there have been several new and unique quest types that are actually a lot of fun. The instances and raids are beautiful and a lot of fun to do. Boss mechanics focus on fun and interesting strategies rather than the popular gear check tank and spank that plagued past content. Of course we can't forget the new Death Knight class, and while there is a huge influx of players rolling this class at the moment this will eventually die down. Their group mechanics are off the wall and fill many different rolls. Blizzard went above and beyond to deliver such an amazing expansion and it'll only get better with future content patches. Expand
  5. ScottC
    Nov 30, 2008
    7
    I like the expansion but I will have to agree with some people, while its no where near a 0 or a 3, its the same old stuff, and Blizzard just doesnt seem to really keep areas that transcend to other areas, like you wouldnt find a desert or a wasteland right next o a forrest, you would hit scrubland between. yet cold and warm are right next to each other a few stories above or below. The I like the expansion but I will have to agree with some people, while its no where near a 0 or a 3, its the same old stuff, and Blizzard just doesnt seem to really keep areas that transcend to other areas, like you wouldnt find a desert or a wasteland right next o a forrest, you would hit scrubland between. yet cold and warm are right next to each other a few stories above or below. The first few dungeons were worse than TBC, while they look sweet, they are boring runs. the vehicle combat seems out of place in a fantasy realm, thats were the warhammer theme did it better, at least it was gnome powered or some animal. yes I know that dorfs had tanks and stuff but they werent being used and you didnt see them in use. its a fun expansion but its no 10. Expand
  6. TedroRedro
    Dec 13, 2008
    10
    One word: EPIC. From the music to the quests, low fantasy has returned to WoW in a big way. The Burning Crusade was a half-hearted expansion, which never really felt like the original. While the gear was great and the art was impressive, the style was way off and the quests seemed fragmented. WoTLK is the return of the old WoW, but with an impressive upgrade in graphics, art, music, and One word: EPIC. From the music to the quests, low fantasy has returned to WoW in a big way. The Burning Crusade was a half-hearted expansion, which never really felt like the original. While the gear was great and the art was impressive, the style was way off and the quests seemed fragmented. WoTLK is the return of the old WoW, but with an impressive upgrade in graphics, art, music, and functionality. The view distances are huge! WoTLK demands a far better hardware spec than the original. Single-player is as rewarding as dungeon/raiding (in terms of scope and content). If you liked WoW before TBC, or if you have a 70 sitting around, you owe it to yourself to renew and buy the expansion. It will not disappoint. Expand
  7. HerbE.
    Dec 26, 2008
    2
    More of the same. Soon enough you'll be on your party mount in Dalaran, AFK waiting for something interesting to happen. That is, if you can't devote your life to raiding the ridiculous high-end content that only a minuscule percentage of the player base gets to see, let alone conquer. However, the game retains it's great environment aesthetic, one of the only memorable More of the same. Soon enough you'll be on your party mount in Dalaran, AFK waiting for something interesting to happen. That is, if you can't devote your life to raiding the ridiculous high-end content that only a minuscule percentage of the player base gets to see, let alone conquer. However, the game retains it's great environment aesthetic, one of the only memorable features of the game. Expand
  8. SeanM
    Jul 12, 2008
    0
    Fail. Take their money and let them stay hooked. As for me I know this game is just more of the same. WoW is still bad and will always be. A few petty adjustments and addons does not compensate for its lack of real gameplay. I seriously hope that Diablo 3 is nothing like WoW. Thanks for trying Blizzard.
  9. sethw
    Jan 12, 2009
    2
    i have played wow for 4 years so far and this game made me dispise wow, i hated every aspect of the game with this expansion, i came to hit lvl 80 within the 1st week of relase and soon realized the content was awful let alone challenging no wonder the top guilds in wow beat all the new content in by the sunday following the release. the new pvp system is rediculouse picure a battle feildi have played wow for 4 years so far and this game made me dispise wow, i hated every aspect of the game with this expansion, i came to hit lvl 80 within the 1st week of relase and soon realized the content was awful let alone challenging no wonder the top guilds in wow beat all the new content in by the sunday following the release. the new pvp system is rediculouse picure a battle feild full of over powered characters and the only way to win now is to be the 1st to deal damage, skill is not a factor in wotlk for pvp. the only part i enjoyed was returning back to naxx again wich was awsome and the only reason why i didnt give it a 0 Expand
  10. MattS
    Jan 24, 2009
    3
    I've played WoW since the original release. This is a review of the actual product, not of the "WoW mindset" or whatever everyone is talking about. Raiding and dungeons are way too easy, PvP is balance is worse than BC and the playstyle is dumbed down, quests should be renamed errands, since you never have to travel more than 100 yards from the person who gave it to you. Everything I've played WoW since the original release. This is a review of the actual product, not of the "WoW mindset" or whatever everyone is talking about. Raiding and dungeons are way too easy, PvP is balance is worse than BC and the playstyle is dumbed down, quests should be renamed errands, since you never have to travel more than 100 yards from the person who gave it to you. Everything in the game has been dumbed down. There are a few good things, achievements are fun, the ambiance and story are nice too. Overall though, it's crap in a pretty package. Expand
  11. Max
    Nov 13, 2008
    10
    Definitely keeping with the Blizzard and WoW tradition, this game delivers even more fun for lovers of the series, and even for new 70s like me. Going into Northrend is quite amazing, and the game is definitely worth the 40 dollars and 15 monthly.
  12. WolfMan
    Nov 15, 2008
    6
    When I saw the Lich King Trailer I said to myself, "Its World of Warcraft! =D. After installing I sat in a one hour queue trying to log in and once I got there I saw Northrend was flooded with hundreds of heroes all killing the same thing, and the docks filled to the max with fishermen and women, and I said to myself, "Its World of Warcraft! =(. Maybe the WOW background is growing thin on When I saw the Lich King Trailer I said to myself, "Its World of Warcraft! =D. After installing I sat in a one hour queue trying to log in and once I got there I saw Northrend was flooded with hundreds of heroes all killing the same thing, and the docks filled to the max with fishermen and women, and I said to myself, "Its World of Warcraft! =(. Maybe the WOW background is growing thin on me but if you are on the fence as to whether to get it or not, I suggest you wait until the flood subsides. I might return to it in a few months when the population dies down a bit Expand
  13. JimJ.
    Nov 17, 2008
    1
    this game is so bad. There is nothing new but 10 lvls of the same crap and a riding mount that goes alittle faster. I do have to admit that the overpower shammy is getting more powerful with the new bump spell. You cant even ride your 50 dollar flying mount in the new zone.
  14. [Anonymous]
    Nov 21, 2008
    0
    Terrible graphics, unbalanced gameplay, textwall quests, tons of bugs, boring music in the ambience, same and same animation all the time when walking and unmature players. What more to say? This game takes your life, you become a nerd, you loose real-life friends the higher level you reach. Deathknights are overpowered and forces you to buy from burning crusade to wrath of lichking Terrible graphics, unbalanced gameplay, textwall quests, tons of bugs, boring music in the ambience, same and same animation all the time when walking and unmature players. What more to say? This game takes your life, you become a nerd, you loose real-life friends the higher level you reach. Deathknights are overpowered and forces you to buy from burning crusade to wrath of lichking because you will still meet deathknights that will defeat you in no time even you're 5-10 levels higher than yourself. I highly recommend you not to buy it if you don't want to end like a nerd and should start using glasses because you will begin start staring at your monitor that shows your world of warcraft. When you finally know that you can take all cloths off except underwear, you want to create a female character with a random name and you will take her cloths off until you see this *cough* neat woman with her bikini. You want to stare at her in hours and your eyes gets broken and can't read at 10 foot distance because of your monitor leeches your sharpeness in your eyes. Therefore, this deserves a bloody zero and alot of thumbs down as it already stole 10-16 million peoples lifes. Expand
  15. AnonymousMC
    Nov 23, 2008
    7
    Just more of the same great stuff. WoW is a great game...no question... but they refuse to fix the same problems they've always had. PvP is unbalanced and gear dependent. A few bad (ie. immature) players tend to ruin the game for others, and with the recent expansion (and tech problems) the in-game GMs are about 6 hours away. Why bother reporting players, bots or other cheaters?Just more of the same great stuff. WoW is a great game...no question... but they refuse to fix the same problems they've always had. PvP is unbalanced and gear dependent. A few bad (ie. immature) players tend to ruin the game for others, and with the recent expansion (and tech problems) the in-game GMs are about 6 hours away. Why bother reporting players, bots or other cheaters? Nothing is ever done about it. Expand
  16. MMORPGAddict
    Nov 23, 2008
    0
    Same stuff all over again. Woopie, 10 more levels and a different character set! Who cares. This whole game is a waste of money now. People actually stayed home for three days straight, skipping school/work, to level up to 80 to get "ahead" of everyone. Tons of no lifers. If you want an MMORPG that is actually exciting and does not have tons of kids or people with anger management Same stuff all over again. Woopie, 10 more levels and a different character set! Who cares. This whole game is a waste of money now. People actually stayed home for three days straight, skipping school/work, to level up to 80 to get "ahead" of everyone. Tons of no lifers. If you want an MMORPG that is actually exciting and does not have tons of kids or people with anger management problems, get EVE Online or Warhammer. Expand
  17. Leonleon
    Nov 24, 2008
    9
    Great expansion to a great game. Still improving gameplay mechanics and story. Music keeps up with previous good work, making you dive in Northrend like a real epic story. Didn't vote 10 cause there's no perfect game. It can still be improved.
  18. PatrickC.
    Nov 24, 2008
    6
    Same graphics, not much improvement even though the box says it is. The only fun I had in beta was the Death Knight, PVE is just more of the same excpet for the arial battles, which are innovative to a point. They bring back Ungoro crater and mix it with Nessaringway (cant he just die?) the whole land is out of sinc, frozen areas are right next to warm area with trees flowers etc just 40 Same graphics, not much improvement even though the box says it is. The only fun I had in beta was the Death Knight, PVE is just more of the same excpet for the arial battles, which are innovative to a point. They bring back Ungoro crater and mix it with Nessaringway (cant he just die?) the whole land is out of sinc, frozen areas are right next to warm area with trees flowers etc just 40 feet down, no real transition area. lts like blizzard doesnt think at times. Expand
  19. JoshT
    Nov 24, 2009
    0
    If you want to have a life, don't play World of Failcraft. If you don't sell your soul to World of Warcraft, you will be considered a noob. If you do decide to sell your soul to the game and become the best at what you do, you will get the vain praises of others on your in-game realm only to realize that you are slowly severing yourself from your real family and life. Source: Experience
  20. WillS
    Dec 14, 2009
    2
    This game has shown to be one of the most played world-wide. Yet, the expansion reveals nothing but dull content and false advertisements. Hence the true example of over rated. As mentioned before the expansion, they stated there would be flying combat mounts in Winter Grasp, new dances, guild battlegrounds, guild housing, and many of the other illusions that could have been converted This game has shown to be one of the most played world-wide. Yet, the expansion reveals nothing but dull content and false advertisements. Hence the true example of over rated. As mentioned before the expansion, they stated there would be flying combat mounts in Winter Grasp, new dances, guild battlegrounds, guild housing, and many of the other illusions that could have been converted into actual content. Please, and be rational of what you're saying Blizzard. Although there are a few positives to this expansion, but as little as a rating of 2 must do. Although, with the previous 3.3 patch, questing and dungeons have made a slight smile to the fan base due to simple, reliable, interfaces implemented. Yet in comparison, they are speckles of paint versus a concrete wall. Of course you'll understand that some day. Again, I hope all the best content goes into Cataclysm as hopefully they've learned these lessons. But I would rather have them contemplate rather than take a GLANCE. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 47 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 47
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 47
  3. Negative: 0 out of 47
  1. It’s brilliant, inspired and will easily secure their supremacy as the leader in the MMOPRG market.
  2. 90
    Seeing the innumerable changes and tune-ups to the game engine and the rules, you get the sense that World of Warcraft is a finely-tuned machine that its makers just can't stop tinkering with in an obsessive effort to keep it fresh, relevant, and above all, fun. For now, mission accomplished.
  3. 100
    Wrath of the Lich King takes the best-of-breed MMO and improves everything about it. It's a work of supreme confidence and quality that is twice as fun and ten times as beautiful as classic WOW, not to mention anything else in the genre. But above all else - in the breathtaking sweep of Northrend, in the assured, epic storytelling, in the constellation of brilliant quests - it is a grand adventure. Perhaps the grandest adventure in all gaming.