World of Warcraft PC

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 2225 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 30, 2011
    4
    It was as good as it gets back in the day. However, that time is gone. Most of the content in the World of Warcraft set the standards for every major mmo to come. Speaking from today.. the content is extremely stale, and very unbalanced due to badly designed expansion packs. If you end up playing or are playing this game keep in mind that the content is focused on PvE and waste your lifeIt was as good as it gets back in the day. However, that time is gone. Most of the content in the World of Warcraft set the standards for every major mmo to come. Speaking from today.. the content is extremely stale, and very unbalanced due to badly designed expansion packs. If you end up playing or are playing this game keep in mind that the content is focused on PvE and waste your life away raiding schedules. As for PvP, the game has no real PvP focus, it never has, they just offer it. Regarding the future of this game, it's already undergoing a slow painful death. If your willing to purchase 100+ dollars in expansions and a subscription on top of that by all means go ahead. Just keep in mind it's not as good as it was. Expand
  2. May 20, 2012
    1
    i would love to play but their are so many games like it that are free. It is pointless to play when it has 100s of copies free to play. waisting 15 dollars a month i am suprised it has such a large community. this game is Great fun gameplay but that much for this just go play somethign else like Forsaken world rappelz and many more F2p mmorpgs:(
  3. Feb 10, 2014
    3
    This is one of the worst MMOs I've ever played. I just disliked it. I found it obnoxious, irritating and just generally dis-likable. The graphics are bad but to be fair graphics don't make a game good, story and characters do. I would recommend a different MMO like DCUO, Lord of the Rings Online or Star Wars: The Old Republic. You can try it for free, so if you're considering purchasing itThis is one of the worst MMOs I've ever played. I just disliked it. I found it obnoxious, irritating and just generally dis-likable. The graphics are bad but to be fair graphics don't make a game good, story and characters do. I would recommend a different MMO like DCUO, Lord of the Rings Online or Star Wars: The Old Republic. You can try it for free, so if you're considering purchasing it prior to playing it I recommend doing that. Expand
  4. Jul 5, 2016
    0
    This is not an actual review. I have never played this game and I really really would like to do so, but I can't thanks to this "monthly fee" bull****. Paying for a game each month? Is this some kind of a sick joke, Blizzard?
  5. Sep 4, 2014
    2
    Not bad, but not the best. This game is incredibly stale and for some reason a subscription based MMO. I understand it is difficult to keep up servers for millions of people (back in 2004) , however that does not mean the price should be the same. As hosting the game does not require extremely high end servers compared to EVE online, where every core counts.
  6. Nov 19, 2014
    4
    An elitist filled, douche bag fest of a game, loved only by those sad, sad individuals who have spent so much time in the game they refuse to let go ro accept any form of criticism of their beloved WoW no matter how bad it gets.

    Good - A huge and often vibrant and diverse world with lots of different options. Leveling can be quite fun for a while. Bad - Pretty much every server is
    An elitist filled, douche bag fest of a game, loved only by those sad, sad individuals who have spent so much time in the game they refuse to let go ro accept any form of criticism of their beloved WoW no matter how bad it gets.

    Good - A huge and often vibrant and diverse world with lots of different options. Leveling can be quite fun for a while.

    Bad - Pretty much every server is filled with the type of douche bags I described above. An example; somebody in the general chat is looking for a player to join a party, but then specifies exactly what stats they must have and that they must have great gear. No seriously, this actually happens, there are actually people as sad as this. Its like, where the hell is the fun in that?

    The graphics are far too cartoony, most armor looks crap as you will most likely be wearing pieces from different sets which seldom look good together. The gameplay is now terribly dated and boring.

    Verdict - WoW IS NOT and never has been a great game. If you can deal with or ignore most of the other players it is just ok, average at best but not really worth the cash. Also got to laugh at the review that stated 'by far one of the best PC games of all time' lol, I assume the person was joking, or smoking crack at the time. Not only is not even in the top 100 best pc games of all time, its not even the best MMO.
    Expand
  7. Dec 25, 2014
    3
    World of Warcraft was one of the greatest games of it time, but the problem with MMORPGs is they are much like bars. You can go to a brand new bar and the opening is great, the interior is great, the music(content) is great, you can have a good time, but after some time it loses it glamor. If you don't continue to have friends go to the joint, then there is less and less reason to return.World of Warcraft was one of the greatest games of it time, but the problem with MMORPGs is they are much like bars. You can go to a brand new bar and the opening is great, the interior is great, the music(content) is great, you can have a good time, but after some time it loses it glamor. If you don't continue to have friends go to the joint, then there is less and less reason to return. New expansions are like grand re-openings drawing players back, but every time you hit that cycle where you wonder why you are playing. Then you have to start wondering what is missing and why you or your friends don't stay.

    The biggest problem is repetitiveness and occurs with all games of the genre. Re-playability is reduced with theme-park style games. At some point grinding and hack-n-slash combat become boring and causes players to lose interest. Another problem is immersion. If the player doesn't begin to feel the character is important to the world and those around, the player never becomes hooked. Immersion is successful when the character makes an impact on the world and those around. As a comparison Star wars galaxies an often hot debated topic of the past had great immersion in the days of sandbox gaming where the character was yours, the land could be cultivated and thus yours, the economy was mostly player driven, and equipment constructed could be yours often having unique masterpieces. World of Warcraft misses in this and its themepark progression and cartoony characters and combat.

    Finally, its about community. If the game appeals to young teens who recently just got done playing Wizard 101 or Club Penguin and have moved to something bigger, it will have a huge community. Problem is many of the teens on these games have lost all etiquette and it shows with the constant duel requests, nature of chat, and other losses of social behavior. Thus WoW is now the game for early post-pubescent children. Older adults I know that still play WoW do so out of the same action as drinking the same old beer and not moving on to fine wine or champagne.
    Expand
  8. Apr 20, 2012
    1
    Simply out of date with times. When WoW first came out it was at the top of it's game with people who cared about what the gamer wanted. Over time Blizzard Entertainment lost focus doing things for the player and started doing things to keep all the subscriptions it could. In short to Blizzard money became king and not the player. WoW history from day one to now reflects this, anyone whoSimply out of date with times. When WoW first came out it was at the top of it's game with people who cared about what the gamer wanted. Over time Blizzard Entertainment lost focus doing things for the player and started doing things to keep all the subscriptions it could. In short to Blizzard money became king and not the player. WoW history from day one to now reflects this, anyone who played during the early days can tell you the game was fun because it was challenging but over time became a dumbed down care bear game in order to keep your 15 USD a month flowing too it. One of the major current problems other then having a random 14 year old rage at you for now being geared right when you just want to run an instance to have fun is that playing this game feels like WORK. Yes...WORK. One example of this is you HAVE to get such and such armor sets and such and such weapons before you can advance to the next "thing" (Really do not know what else to call it.). I am going to stop here before I risk turning this into a rant and not a review.

    But the bottom line is that World Of Warcraft is a dumbed down game by a developer who lost focus on doing things for the player and started doing things for the money. Blizzard Entertainment MIGHT be redeemed some when Diablo 3 comes out but as far as World of Warcarft goes your money would be better spent on one of the younger MMORPGs from a studio who cares.....about the player.
    Expand
  9. Aug 14, 2013
    4
    Although interesting to begin with, World of Warcraft soon gives way to excessive grinding which is tedious to say the least. The endgame quickly becomes boring after completing all the raids and no matter how many times Blizzard try to flog the dead horse with new expansions, in the end it becomes the same scenario and players soon have to turn to PvP for fun which in turn becomes a raceAlthough interesting to begin with, World of Warcraft soon gives way to excessive grinding which is tedious to say the least. The endgame quickly becomes boring after completing all the raids and no matter how many times Blizzard try to flog the dead horse with new expansions, in the end it becomes the same scenario and players soon have to turn to PvP for fun which in turn becomes a race for the best gear.

    World of Warcraft may have been the glamorous mansion of MMOs, but is now becoming abandoned as new, more inventive ones are being released. It has become apparent that Blizzard are attempting to grab as much money as they can before the doors close for good.
    Expand
  10. May 8, 2014
    3
    I suppose those that find like minded players with which to play these MMORPGs may enjoy the camaraderie of working together to level up and customise their characters but, as a game, World of Warcraft is just downright dull. Now a decade old the gameplay simply requires the player to go to location X, kill Y, and collect a set number of Z over and over until you gain enough XP to level upI suppose those that find like minded players with which to play these MMORPGs may enjoy the camaraderie of working together to level up and customise their characters but, as a game, World of Warcraft is just downright dull. Now a decade old the gameplay simply requires the player to go to location X, kill Y, and collect a set number of Z over and over until you gain enough XP to level up your character.

    There is no nuance to the combat or skilful platforming required with the game only rewarding the player for the amount of time they spend glued to their screen. Virtually every game in the genre has copied World of Warcraft but that is down to its sales success not the quality of its gameplay I'm afraid.
    Expand
  11. Nov 20, 2014
    4
    I played the F out of this game for like a year. And what do I have to show for it? Nothing. The game is a complete waste of time. It does everything in its power to convince you that its NOT a waste of time, but it is. This game is like the matrix. Your real life is somewhat boring and you know your plugging into a fake world but you do it anyway. Im glad I grew out of it. It becomes aI played the F out of this game for like a year. And what do I have to show for it? Nothing. The game is a complete waste of time. It does everything in its power to convince you that its NOT a waste of time, but it is. This game is like the matrix. Your real life is somewhat boring and you know your plugging into a fake world but you do it anyway. Im glad I grew out of it. It becomes a full time job after a while. You do "jobs" in the game over and over again to improve your character. Ill go ahead and give the game a 4 because I did enjoy my fake life while it lasted. And when I broke my foot and couldn't put weight on it for 2 months this game was a godsend. In real life I was a cripple but in this game I was powerful warlock or rogue. Expand
  12. Nov 30, 2012
    1
    The game as it stands now is just plain pathetic.

    I remember this game when it first came out--you felt immersed, like you were in the world. You were the character. EVERYTHING you did affected the outcome, but it was still too linear--it still is. You only have ONE choice in the storyline. You can NEVER deviate from it. That makes the immersion and storytelling of WoW's storyline
    The game as it stands now is just plain pathetic.

    I remember this game when it first came out--you felt immersed, like you were in the world. You were the character. EVERYTHING you did affected the outcome, but it was still too linear--it still is. You only have ONE choice in the storyline. You can NEVER deviate from it. That makes the immersion and storytelling of WoW's storyline really bland, boring and extremely bad.

    Next, the gameplay. The game was using a talent system where you got talents and then as you levelled up, you'd put points into them. It was a complicated system but it worked for WoW. Now they introduced this 'faceroll easymode' setting into the game where you now have to wait 15 levels between each talent point.

    And it's obvious Blizzard favors certain specs and classes over the rest. Arcane magi were the best mage spec in Cataclysm, but now with MoP? It's about as useless as trying to fling mudballs at a dragon and hoping it'll die from being dirty. Rogues are now 100% useless in all situations. Every other class can out-damage them, can out-endure them, and can even find ways to make your CCs even more useless.

    And oh and don't forget the grinding. Blizzard's 'attempt' at making this game compete with others by trying to make it challenging? Failed. The game, for the most part.. is boring as hell, and you spend 99% of your time in PvE just grinding. There's no real thing about this game which gives it that 'unique' feeling. There is no immersion, there is no satisfaction, certain classes are useless in all regards, and they made the game more attuned to some stupid 5 year-old mindset rather than to the MAJORITY of the game's populace, which are 18+ individuals who want a good story, a good immersion, and good gameplay.

    Against other games such as Guild Wars 2, which is focused primarily around hard as hell challenges to force you to get better or stay as you are; or games like Star Wars: The Old Republic, where you are FULLY immersed into it and every decision in a questline is decided by YOU, the player, not pre-coded by a developer... WoW just falls short. Diablo 3 fell short. Starcraft 2 fell short.

    Blizzard has to come to terms with reality that they just can't do whatever they feel like doing, and expect it to all work out. And since they don't really -listen- to their players anymore, there's not much the populace can do for the game.

    In my honest opinion? Go find a different game, this one isn't worth your time or your money. World of Warcraft is nothing more than a money sink and a time-waster.
    Expand
  13. Sep 12, 2014
    0
    Pros: N/A

    Cons: "Pandaria" is obnoxious and didn't exist in the lore until Activision-Blizzard wanted to contrive another money-grubbing expansion for the game; the Panda-China theme is unneeded and annoying, and probably shows Blizzard's new market bias; the game lore was destroyed after Deathwing came back to life for the "Cataclysm expansion; highly inflationary economy; terrible
    Pros: N/A

    Cons: "Pandaria" is obnoxious and didn't exist in the lore until Activision-Blizzard wanted to contrive another money-grubbing expansion for the game; the Panda-China theme is unneeded and annoying, and probably shows Blizzard's new market bias; the game lore was destroyed after Deathwing came back to life for the "Cataclysm expansion; highly inflationary economy; terrible leveling and gear systems where for example a level one character cannot even harm a level 80; each new expansion effectively resets the game, making your previous achievements through time invested worthless; game is deliberately designed like a giant money-generating hamster wheel for the players to run on, that is it rewards time invested very much and actual skill very little; once a new expansion is out, you can really no longer play the older versions of the game you had paid for.

    Score Breakdown: Sound Effects and Music 9/10, Game Stability 8/10, Graphics 8/10, Loading Screens and Frame Rate 5/10, Voice Acting 5/10, Background Story 1/10, Plot Development 0/10, Realism 0/10, Gameplay 0/10, Replay Value 0/10, Game Publisher's Ethics -100/10, Total Score 0/10

    Conclusion: Ignore this game instead of playing or buying it. (Please note that this review is for the current version of World of Warcraft, as of the Mists of Pandaria expansion).
    Expand
  14. Feb 3, 2015
    3
    The most destructive video game of all time. Recommending this game? That's like inviting your friends and family to smoke crack. It is not addictive in a fun and happy way, it's the beginning of the end of your pathetic wasted life.
  15. MichaelA
    Oct 4, 2009
    0
    Blizzard has ruined WoW - don't even give it a chance. There is much better and newer MMOs to spend your money on. WoW isn't good for you, don't try it...
  16. Jet
    Sep 20, 2005
    1
    Boring once you reach 60. It's Everquest all over again but not as well developed.
  17. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    WoW was a fantastic game in the past. It was filled with adventure, discovery, and most importantly, teamwork. However, the game has been going downhill recently with the release of the new expansion, the Mists of Pandaria. It has become too simplistic, and plays like a console game. There is no sense of accomplishment and adventure anymore. Clearly, Blizzard is now targeting a differentWoW was a fantastic game in the past. It was filled with adventure, discovery, and most importantly, teamwork. However, the game has been going downhill recently with the release of the new expansion, the Mists of Pandaria. It has become too simplistic, and plays like a console game. There is no sense of accomplishment and adventure anymore. Clearly, Blizzard is now targeting a different demographic - the game is now for kids. If you enjoy paying a monthly fee AND playing with (other) children, this game might be for you. Expand
  18. Apr 3, 2015
    0
    World of Warcraft is a grindy mess of an almost idle game with bad graphics that could easily be played on an N64. The game has literal hundreds of micro-transactions that you need in order to thrive in the game, and if you don't get the overpriced level 90 character boost, then you better be prepared to sacrifice hundreds of hours of your life, probably thousands. The game itself causedWorld of Warcraft is a grindy mess of an almost idle game with bad graphics that could easily be played on an N64. The game has literal hundreds of micro-transactions that you need in order to thrive in the game, and if you don't get the overpriced level 90 character boost, then you better be prepared to sacrifice hundreds of hours of your life, probably thousands. The game itself caused me to moan much too often, at the "go across the entire country to talk to this dude" and "kill 83 of these things for a belt" quests that you need to complete in order to progress. Expand
  19. ClintE.
    Oct 5, 2007
    1
    Fun for about 15 minutes. thats when you really start to realize, youve been grinding for the last 5 levels, and youll be grinding for 55 more.
  20. MikeF.
    Mar 5, 2008
    0
    BORING.. levelling up is very time consuming, beginning quests can be overwhelming.. no payoff for team building.. cost$ is not worth the effort and replayablilty is dull...no mission markers or real assistance that could be helpful. Play Guild Wars. It's free and wants you to succeed/fail at times... but never overwhelms you but challenges you... WOW does not challenge.. it BORING.. levelling up is very time consuming, beginning quests can be overwhelming.. no payoff for team building.. cost$ is not worth the effort and replayablilty is dull...no mission markers or real assistance that could be helpful. Play Guild Wars. It's free and wants you to succeed/fail at times... but never overwhelms you but challenges you... WOW does not challenge.. it frustrates and leaves you feeling empty in gaming and wallet. AVOID THIS GAME!!! Expand
  21. MarcelB
    Nov 5, 2009
    0
    I loved it but now i lost all of my money on this shit and looked what happend to my life. THIS GAME IS LIFE DESTROYING DONT EVER PLAY THE GAME ANYTHING BUT THIS
  22. AnonymousMC
    Jun 20, 2009
    2
    A highly overrated, super expensive game. Also sadly addicting. I have seen people get divorced over this game. Luckily, I have not fallen victim of this game. I have quit playing and regret every second spent playing. If you want to be a normal gamer who is not an addict to some stupid online fad, by all means do NOT break the piggy bank and buy this game!
  23. Feb 21, 2012
    0
    There is a long story that reflects why i score this game so low. However you don't want to hear some guy ranting about how he 'hates wow and all that it stands for'. So let me shorten my reasons to a general feeling. Wow feels, to me - like it was tweaked to perfection. The problem is that it's blizzard's perfection, not ours. What is the one thing that binds you into not leaving a roomThere is a long story that reflects why i score this game so low. However you don't want to hear some guy ranting about how he 'hates wow and all that it stands for'. So let me shorten my reasons to a general feeling. Wow feels, to me - like it was tweaked to perfection. The problem is that it's blizzard's perfection, not ours. What is the one thing that binds you into not leaving a room for 3 hours? Not wanting to be disowned by players who will have their game affected by you leaving. Wow is designed to let the players dictate their own entrapment. Everything, from the farm-like quests to the way people are tied to things - reflects blizzard planning how they can commit you to the game. The thing is, people often don't see these cogs turning. And they believe the feeling of 'place' and 'community' is everything. And it is. In the real world. Don't get me wrong, I am not against games or mmo's. I am against this very specific mmo. Because It's kind of evil. Expand
  24. Dobiec
    Jun 18, 2008
    2
    This game gets a 2 from me. Graphics: 5 (Lame but yet stylistic). Gameplay: 1 Same old crap that got boring in Ultima Online. Detail 9 The game is very detailed and vast i give it that. -8 For not being immersive at all though you don't feel included in the storyline what so ever - Not like there is one really anyway. Community: 2 Some good people in there but mostly full of hunched This game gets a 2 from me. Graphics: 5 (Lame but yet stylistic). Gameplay: 1 Same old crap that got boring in Ultima Online. Detail 9 The game is very detailed and vast i give it that. -8 For not being immersive at all though you don't feel included in the storyline what so ever - Not like there is one really anyway. Community: 2 Some good people in there but mostly full of hunched teenagers that spend countless hours doing the same chores. It's all gear based. TBC imo ruined it, lots of classes were dumbed down and then buffed needlessly. Addiction, even though i found this game utter sh*te i have many friends who are addicted to this. Beware! Expand
  25. AnonymousMC
    Jun 8, 2008
    0
    Awful game. This is a game best suited to labotomised chimps; possessing an intelligence above this you will find yourself bashing your head on the keyboard in boredom. Not to mention the fact that the game is populated by the uniquitous sexually frustrated 12 year old whose 'mom' won't their subscription for another month cos they've been a bad boy. As a resultAwful game. This is a game best suited to labotomised chimps; possessing an intelligence above this you will find yourself bashing your head on the keyboard in boredom. Not to mention the fact that the game is populated by the uniquitous sexually frustrated 12 year old whose 'mom' won't their subscription for another month cos they've been a bad boy. As a result everybody has to act like a spoilt rich kid to stop everybody ninjaing everything. 'OMGZ hUntERZ wEPPONZ.' Expand
  26. AnonymousMC
    May 24, 2007
    0
    it was shizzit and it made me want to murder my family and golfish coz i hizzatecd soooo much
    world of dorkraft sux. and lotza dorks play it and there souls are forever the property o blizzard. the evil empire that makes the nazis look like saints. and ur all a bunch o shite kents!
  27. NicholasG.
    May 26, 2007
    0
    It must be embarrassing for me to cast a zero on this game but this is the way my heart hurts when I think of what Blizzard want to turn into. Easy money. No hard work. Single-player games take too much efforts and the result is not so predictable as for MMORPG. These are like online poker games. No real story, no characters, no real plot. Just play and do it for an eternity (while It must be embarrassing for me to cast a zero on this game but this is the way my heart hurts when I think of what Blizzard want to turn into. Easy money. No hard work. Single-player games take too much efforts and the result is not so predictable as for MMORPG. These are like online poker games. No real story, no characters, no real plot. Just play and do it for an eternity (while we're preparing yet the another great addition). There must be the end for this. Blizzard must understand why we love it (still). Expand
  28. Jan 11, 2013
    0
    Over the years, I've played over 100 different MMO's of all types. Mists of Pandaria tops that list as the worst expansion to ever be created. Bugs go unfixed for months and months, all the while Blizzard's response to bugs is to add more dailies to the game. Mists of Pandaria's focus lies on doing dailies and nothing else, unless you like the horrible pet battle system they put inOver the years, I've played over 100 different MMO's of all types. Mists of Pandaria tops that list as the worst expansion to ever be created. Bugs go unfixed for months and months, all the while Blizzard's response to bugs is to add more dailies to the game. Mists of Pandaria's focus lies on doing dailies and nothing else, unless you like the horrible pet battle system they put in (boring after 1 minute). Expand
  29. Jul 25, 2014
    3
    This game is very overrated, and gets very boring quickly. To hit someone you have to challenge them to a duel, the open world is big but traveling is very boring, the task can get repetitive, and level up is very hard and it takes forever. I personally hate that, because I'm not a guy that sits at a computer all day. Within two days I canceled my WOW account. A lot of fanboys willThis game is very overrated, and gets very boring quickly. To hit someone you have to challenge them to a duel, the open world is big but traveling is very boring, the task can get repetitive, and level up is very hard and it takes forever. I personally hate that, because I'm not a guy that sits at a computer all day. Within two days I canceled my WOW account. A lot of fanboys will disagree with me but I think this game lame. Expand
  30. Dec 22, 2011
    0
    Dangerously old. Good back in the day but at this point it, it's washed up endless recycled content. A washed up old has been of an MMO that ripped off every MMO before it.
  31. Jan 17, 2012
    1
    WoW is a beautiful game love dungeons, raids and pvp a superb in general.
    My only problem with WoW is how over priced it is for what you get, as a male gamer i of course use XbL and i get the same amount of fun for half the price of WoW (give or take a few £) over a wide variety of games.
    i recently played wow after receiving a month free and one of the first things i heard
    WoW is a beautiful game love dungeons, raids and pvp a superb in general.
    My only problem with WoW is how over priced it is for what you get, as a male gamer i of course use XbL and i get the same amount of fun for half the price of WoW (give or take a few £) over a wide variety of games.
    i recently played wow after receiving a month free and one of the first things i heard was "WoW is on the chopping block and about to be executed by one time payment MMO 's such as rift and guild wars (i think it was these games :S)" and to be honest i agree, if Blizzard doesn't lower those prices or make it a one time payment game (i mean the expansion packs alone are over £30 each) then it is the chopping block for WoW :(
    Expand
  32. LeahR
    Dec 28, 2009
    2
    WoW has been many things over the years. Its highest measure of success--its popularity--is ultimately its downfall. The community, which was barely tolerable to begin with, is absolute garbage now, 5 years post-launch. Once the crown jewel of the MMO world, a brilliant synthesis of the best ideas of previous MMOs, WoW is now the red-headed stepchild that everyone loves to bash, even WoW has been many things over the years. Its highest measure of success--its popularity--is ultimately its downfall. The community, which was barely tolerable to begin with, is absolute garbage now, 5 years post-launch. Once the crown jewel of the MMO world, a brilliant synthesis of the best ideas of previous MMOs, WoW is now the red-headed stepchild that everyone loves to bash, even while they admit to being addicted to it. To reiterate: worst community ever. Expand
  33. Apr 11, 2015
    1
    how to win at wow:
    step 1: wait 5 minutes for something to spawn
    step 2: right click on the enemy 2000 times.
    step 3: repeat

    not joking, the game is boring, graphics look like **** dont play this game.
  34. Feb 1, 2012
    4
    It was a good game for its time in past. Now it just turned into reward/hour with daily/weekly caps grindfest, where developer makes a plan of the week for all players and expect players to blindly grind according to his plan of the week or just stay behind the rat race. Add to this old, old graphics and the last cataclysm expansion with ARROGANT voice acting wannabe, made by one ninja devIt was a good game for its time in past. Now it just turned into reward/hour with daily/weekly caps grindfest, where developer makes a plan of the week for all players and expect players to blindly grind according to his plan of the week or just stay behind the rat race. Add to this old, old graphics and the last cataclysm expansion with ARROGANT voice acting wannabe, made by one ninja dev who thinks he is multitalented (ok 2 people - one male and one female). It ended up the way that puts each player in the place of grandson listening to grandpa's fairy tale with grandpa modulating voice for each character in his tale. Its just insulting for monthly subscription and expansion's price. Some says: it doesnt matter how you start - it matters how you finish. WoW's finish is disgusting. Expand
  35. Jan 3, 2012
    0
    It's just a terrible terrible game now, and the addition of the Pokemon Kung Fu Panda just makes this game that much more comical. There was a time when the game was a decent game, 40 man raids, a community of people working towards the same goals. Now you get at the most a 10 man raid, and everyone in the raid always pissed off because you can't kill a boss. It got to be a chore to raidIt's just a terrible terrible game now, and the addition of the Pokemon Kung Fu Panda just makes this game that much more comical. There was a time when the game was a decent game, 40 man raids, a community of people working towards the same goals. Now you get at the most a 10 man raid, and everyone in the raid always pissed off because you can't kill a boss. It got to be a chore to raid rather than a time to have some fun with 24 or 39 other players. There was no reason to do 25 mans when the idiot devs for this game made 10 and 25 loot the same. For shame WOW! You ruined a good game, and now it gets the lowest rating ever. a ZERO! Expand
  36. PalliN.
    Apr 2, 2005
    0
    This game is overhyped and overrated. It was fun for a week, but then it got pretty boring and repetitive and it barely deserves the mmorpg tag. PvP is useless since there's no reward for doing it. You can gank as much as you like, but in the end you get nothing from it. Hunting for crappy +1 items gets boring really fast too, so that leaves nothing to do. After a few weeks I found This game is overhyped and overrated. It was fun for a week, but then it got pretty boring and repetitive and it barely deserves the mmorpg tag. PvP is useless since there's no reward for doing it. You can gank as much as you like, but in the end you get nothing from it. Hunting for crappy +1 items gets boring really fast too, so that leaves nothing to do. After a few weeks I found googling random crap more entertaining that this game. I come from DAoC and it had excellent PvP / RvR system apart from awful unbalanceness in the end, but still Blizzard should've taken a lesson from DAoC how to do awesome PvP system and keep it interesting. Kids only go for this game because it has "Warcraft" in the name, or they remember Blizzard from such a point'n'clickers as Diablo and it's easy to play. End gamers from older, real mmorpg games find it not challenging and too arcade in the end. Stay away from this, so countdown for cancellation can begin. Zero pointer. Expand
  37. Feb 9, 2011
    0
    Warps the concept of video gaming and rpgs into a dull, lifeless, never ending mess. The game is designed to help the player forego the traditional concepts of quality video game storytelling and progression in rpgs in exchange for the illusion of community and the shameless cycle of quests, grindin more »g, and treasure simply for the sake of itself. Additionally eschews theWarps the concept of video gaming and rpgs into a dull, lifeless, never ending mess. The game is designed to help the player forego the traditional concepts of quality video game storytelling and progression in rpgs in exchange for the illusion of community and the shameless cycle of quests, grindin more »g, and treasure simply for the sake of itself. Additionally eschews the healthy concept of moderation by tapping into that horrible little part of our minds that far too many give in to; an endless and easy alternative to an otherwise boring life. World of Warcraft and it's numerous counterparts terrify me because I've seen the behavior of those addicted to it, leading me to conclude that WoW is the ultimate example of exactly how video game(r)s can sometimes go too far. And these are clear implications on where the human race is undoubtedly headed: To a delusional fantasy facade covering a pit of isolation, depression, neglect, and fear. I don't care how good of a game it is, World of Warcraft is stands higher on its achievements as a detriment to video games and the human race as a whole. Expand
  38. Jan 23, 2012
    0
    Used to be fun. Now its just dumbed down and boring. Where it stands now i feel as though you could name 5 or 6 other mmo's better. The thing they did was made a game so easy any moron could play it, and they do. You run into people who rarely speak, but also typically don't even respond when you ask them a question. I often imagine them not even having a keyboard. The dungeon que systemUsed to be fun. Now its just dumbed down and boring. Where it stands now i feel as though you could name 5 or 6 other mmo's better. The thing they did was made a game so easy any moron could play it, and they do. You run into people who rarely speak, but also typically don't even respond when you ask them a question. I often imagine them not even having a keyboard. The dungeon que system seemed great at the beginning, but then you realize now you get linked with more people you don't know and they can be from any server, so why bother making friends. You can level up just by spamming dungeons if you wanted. The biggest problem i had with this game will always be the lack of real skill required, i understand it's a video game and all, but when your job endgame as a DD is the spam the number 1 2 3 4 on your keyboard over and over cuz that produces the best DPS, thats just lame. If you didn't follow that guideline, people got angry with you, cuz the difference between 3000dps and 3050dps is apparently the end of the world. People were so obsessed with max everything, swapping new gear cuz it gave you 2 more str, when the old one was giving 250 and the new was giving 252. At one point wow had it, and then they just let it slip away with patch after patch nerfing the last best class, and then nerfing the new best one, and with expansion after expansion, adding more crap and diminishing the actual good things about the game. Expand
  39. SusanL
    Oct 9, 2009
    2
    I've played it for almost 2 years now, and just quit. I've done it all: PVP, Arena, raiding, grinding, achievements, topping DPS charts... and I'm quitting because I just can't stand the community anymore. If you're a normal, balanced adult, you'll find that, no matter how hard you try to shield yourself from it, the sheer amount of HORRIBLE PEOPLE who play I've played it for almost 2 years now, and just quit. I've done it all: PVP, Arena, raiding, grinding, achievements, topping DPS charts... and I'm quitting because I just can't stand the community anymore. If you're a normal, balanced adult, you'll find that, no matter how hard you try to shield yourself from it, the sheer amount of HORRIBLE PEOPLE who play this game will drive you away. I like WoW. But it's just not feasible to play a game made for dishonest sociopaths. You can't truly enjoy PVP battlegrounds because almost everyone on your side is busy AFK'ing and complaining about people wanting to actually win the damn thing. Can't enjoy Arena either, because you either lose to drooling sociopaths, or team up with them and have to do as you're told. Can't enjoy raiding either, because, in a PuG, you're either going to be cheated out of loot, or are going to spend 6 hours racking up repair bills, and never finish the damn thing. In a guild run, you're going to face the same thing, plus being harassed by the RL's pals, GF or family members, who think they deserve more than anyone for half the effort, and who usually get away with it. If you decide to make your own guild, everyone in it will fight amongst themselves, making your life miserable. All that nastiness is fed by Blizzard with a silver spoon: Blizzard knows that the best addicts are the mean ones, the ones who'll kill people for drug money, so they'll bend what little "story" the game has to feed into that mentality (Trial of the Crusader is a fine example), along with jerk-rewarding loot rules that make ninja'ing not only accepted, but expected. Blizzard has already announced Cataclysm to invest even MORE in that hate factor, with heightened competitiveness inside guilds. Now you won't just have to grind for repair gold, buff foods, reputation, mounts, flasks, gear, get all the addons you can and scan Elitist Jerks every week for the latest changes to DPS rotations in your class to get a raiding spot, you'll ALSO have to grind guild rep by doing quests and PVP so your Guild Leader can grab some nice stuff and give it to his brown nosing pals. No thanks. Expand
  40. Dec 9, 2011
    4


    If you haven't played Wow before, you should definitely try it. Since Cataclysm's release, Wow has become the friendliest it has ever been to new players, and at first, it will be a lot of fun. The developers have a knack for taking the best aspects of other prominent MMOs and incorporating them into Wow.


    Starting in Wrath (possibly in TBC too, though I didn't play


    If you haven't played Wow before, you should definitely try it. Since Cataclysm's release, Wow has become the friendliest it has ever been to new players, and at first, it will be a lot of fun. The developers have a knack for taking the best aspects of other prominent MMOs and incorporating them into Wow.



    Starting in Wrath (possibly in TBC too, though I didn't play for most of it), the game's target audience has gotten younger, leading to streamlined gameplay and dumbed down, repetitive mechanics. Too difficult to talk to other players and find a group? Add an automatic tool that does it for you! Too hard to pick talents? Lets reduce and simplify!



    The main issue with this is when you reach the maximum level (85) and discover that not only have you met no one in game to play with (after all, who needs to befriend that exceptional tank/healer/DPS when you can just queue up and be antisocial?), but your choices are between sitting in the auction house waiting for your queue to pop and doing repetitive daily quests for reputation and gold, Wow gets old pretty quickly.



    To be fair, the devs are aware of the issues. In an effort to balance out the reduced human contact in finding dungeon groups and repetitive game play, Cataclysm implemented guild levels to encourage players to join massive, active guilds. Though I haven't tried any of the smaller, tight-knit raiding guilds, I have tried huge, high-level ones and tiny, brand new ones, and it seems like you must choose between a guild that is as impersonal as Wow itself or a guild that can't get the XP to level up because no one wants to join a guild that is level 1.



    Finally, regarding the player base: there are friendly players who are willing to help you and take the time to explain game and fight mechanics if you ask them, and then there are elitists who will spew venom at you because they see you as an easier target than the tank. It is a mixed bag, and unfortunately you take the good with the bad.



    tl;dr Starting out is fun, but endgame is a grind. Don't stick around.

    Expand
  41. AnonymousMC
    Mar 9, 2008
    3
    10 million subscribers can't be wrong, can they? Well, what's better, McDonalds or that neat restaurant in your neighborhood? Of course, the restaurant is better, yet McDonalds net is spread all over the world. Now, ask yourself another question - what's better, the mediocre, gray, boring and outdated grindfest like WoW with main concept that got old by the time Ultima10 million subscribers can't be wrong, can they? Well, what's better, McDonalds or that neat restaurant in your neighborhood? Of course, the restaurant is better, yet McDonalds net is spread all over the world. Now, ask yourself another question - what's better, the mediocre, gray, boring and outdated grindfest like WoW with main concept that got old by the time Ultima Online came out - or a real, innovative MMORPG like Guild Wars or EVE-Online, neither of which dream of stripping you of another 50 bucks for an "expansion"? It's up to you, but my personal rating for this joke of a game is FAIL. 7 pre-TBC, 3 after. Expand
  42. ViroonY
    Sep 9, 2009
    0
    WARNING! This game is sort of like, "what's the buzz?" when you first hear about it, and then there's the DEMO. So, after playing for 10 minutes, you get hooked, then you play for hours, then days, months, years, and finally, you devote your life to this game. I'm telling you, DON'T PLAY THIS GAME! IT WILL RUIN YOUR LIFE! But overall, the game play is awful repetitive, WARNING! This game is sort of like, "what's the buzz?" when you first hear about it, and then there's the DEMO. So, after playing for 10 minutes, you get hooked, then you play for hours, then days, months, years, and finally, you devote your life to this game. I'm telling you, DON'T PLAY THIS GAME! IT WILL RUIN YOUR LIFE! But overall, the game play is awful repetitive, and you will find yourself doing the same quests again and again, but with new monsters. Raids into dungeons aren't anything much, just another RPG dungeon. But, that's not all. Blizzard makes you buy the game AND the game CARDS, and it's $30[?] for 2 months. At first, that doesn't seem like much, but it adds up. For a great RPG with lots of playability, I recommend The Elder Scrolls: Oblivion. Expand
  43. RetiredG.
    Sep 11, 2006
    1
    Ignore all the hype. Don't let all the Burning Crusade nonsense lure you into World of Warcraft. What's billed as an MMORPG is a dull, repetitive, unrewarding and downright irritating pile of bugs and other nasty things which I don't have the right words for yet. Here's a rundown of what's bad about it. 1. Horrible online community To those mature, respectable Ignore all the hype. Don't let all the Burning Crusade nonsense lure you into World of Warcraft. What's billed as an MMORPG is a dull, repetitive, unrewarding and downright irritating pile of bugs and other nasty things which I don't have the right words for yet. Here's a rundown of what's bad about it. 1. Horrible online community To those mature, respectable players out there I apologise, this doesn't concern you. But the 90% or so others are pre-pubescent nerds whose idea of a good time is to jump up and down in front of your face, request duels every 10 seconds and yell and spam chat channels ad-infinitum. 2. Pathetic Gameplay What was that quest again? Oh yeah, same as the last one, go to so-and-so, kill so-and-so creatures, come back to so-and-so and then deliver a letter to so-and-so telling so-and-so of the so-and-so's you've killed. So-and-so then tells you to go and talk to so-and-so who asks you to kill so-and-sos. Really, World of Postman or World of Milkman would be a much better title for this game. For 60 levels you're basically an errand boy/girl. Totally repetitive, infinitely irritating and not in the least bit enjoyable. 3. End-game OK, now you're level 60. What now? Oh yeah, more hours and hours and hours at a single sitting doing raids. How fun. Beats going outside and doing something normal doesn't it? 4. Techincal problems Lag. Lag. Disconnections. Lag. Servers down. Lag. Servers down. Disconnections. Disconnections. Lag. A bit more lag. Some more servers down. And some more lag. Then there's the multitude of bugs that range from weird FPS problems to BSOD on logging in. If you've ever expereinced any problems you'll know the standard reply to your queries will be either "check your firewall" or "check for viruses and make sure your drivers are up-to-date". Yeah, like I never tried that. Very helpful replies from a company that's made billions in profit so far. 5. Exploits Bots. Chinese gold farmers. Some more bots. Oh hang on, I've reached Tyr's Hand. AKA the Farming Region of Asia. Then there'll be some bots. Oh, not to mention the random whispers, says and yells advertising gold-selling sites. The only redeeimng fature of this game is the environment. They range from the cheesy Elwynn, to the deserts of Tanaris, to the frostbitten Winterspring and numeroous other interesting locales. it's such a pity it's contained in a game as frustrating as WoW. I'd love to see this game world in an offline single-player RPG or action adventure. So to anyone who hasn't played it yet - please don't. Expand
  44. Jul 1, 2014
    1
    I played it's a constant scam from being DC'd at the auctioneer only to re log and find whatever you were looking at to be marked up dramatically in the few moments it took to change IP and relog,to being DC at every "point of interest" to being able to do entire dungeons unscathed then DC and not be able to survive it's soo obvious it's being controlled by blizzard when you send a ticketI played it's a constant scam from being DC'd at the auctioneer only to re log and find whatever you were looking at to be marked up dramatically in the few moments it took to change IP and relog,to being DC at every "point of interest" to being able to do entire dungeons unscathed then DC and not be able to survive it's soo obvious it's being controlled by blizzard when you send a ticket I say good riddance to crooks,wow is a bunch of petty little cliques selling each other to the hacks each harbor,no use in playing go give ur money to a schoolyard bully you'll have twice as much fun Expand
  45. Nov 1, 2015
    4
    I absolutely love the World size, environments, and characters in this game. However, gameplay can NOT be overlooked. Since day one I felt the combat to be a joke. Though, players insisted it gets better as you level is sadly didn't... I was always disappointed by this and returning to the game many years later you really see how poorly it aged. The questing is pretty monotonous,I absolutely love the World size, environments, and characters in this game. However, gameplay can NOT be overlooked. Since day one I felt the combat to be a joke. Though, players insisted it gets better as you level is sadly didn't... I was always disappointed by this and returning to the game many years later you really see how poorly it aged. The questing is pretty monotonous, dungeons and raids are OK. But really what this game did was ruin MMOs in the sense that so many tried to emulate its structure. Not an awful game a I would say a safe choice in for someone new to MMOs. This or runescape Expand
  46. JoshC.
    Jun 29, 2005
    2
    Ok admins time to wake up and smell the roses this game is not worth it. The admins have to be the most inconsiderate, impolite people I have ever met. They ignore almost all user import. I wanted to write a letter to Blizzard telling them how impolite they are. Ive been told twice to f--k off and to shut the f--k up. Oh and uberness, whats the point of playing when the rogues and shamansOk admins time to wake up and smell the roses this game is not worth it. The admins have to be the most inconsiderate, impolite people I have ever met. They ignore almost all user import. I wanted to write a letter to Blizzard telling them how impolite they are. Ive been told twice to f--k off and to shut the f--k up. Oh and uberness, whats the point of playing when the rogues and shamans were unbeatable?!? Lag is terrible..... no fixes. And just to inform you I DONT CARE ABOUT BATTLEGROUNDS!!!! Id rather enjoy a lag free game. I tried to return it but they wouldnt take it so i did what i thought was best, I snapped the cd in half and threw it out, cancelled my subscription and vowed never to play it again. I gave it a two because it had some good features that i will not get into. Expand
  47. Kyle
    Jul 24, 2009
    0
    This game will ruin your life. It will addict you until all you do is play it. It takes your money, and makes you think its worth it. Seriously, if you play this game, you are probably in denial. I'm not trying to be rude, but if you play this more than an hour a day you should get a life. Honestly, its for your own benefit.
  48. AnonymousMC
    Jan 10, 2007
    0
    This game is THE worst MMO. Ever. There's massive patches being released every few months, which means people playing on low-bandwidth can't play. Theres a 60-level cap, and the game pretty much is the same run and cast spells, kill this, go here, kill that, go all the way back here, get a reward and go about your business. Also, WoW addicts have pretty much no life and haveThis game is THE worst MMO. Ever. There's massive patches being released every few months, which means people playing on low-bandwidth can't play. Theres a 60-level cap, and the game pretty much is the same run and cast spells, kill this, go here, kill that, go all the way back here, get a reward and go about your business. Also, WoW addicts have pretty much no life and have nothing better to do than twiddle around on Azeroth talking to pedophiles. Also, what scares me is that one guy had his account deleted, and that drove him to suicide. SUICIDE. As in he took his own life. Another case is that this guy was a father, who didnt feed his kid because he was busy staring at his level 60 night elf priest, and his kid succumbed to starvation. If repetition, horrible graphics, and suicidal people make a good game, also, a $15-per month subscription fee, then Blizzard just dropped the biggest turd on the gaming market Pass this, and run far, far away from it. Expand
  49. May 25, 2011
    3
    This game is SEVERELY overrated. The same premise (kill this, obtain this, etc.) gets very old. I have no idea why this game sells so much. Even as an MMO, Minecraft TROUNCES this game.
  50. SomeGuy
    Mar 24, 2006
    0
    This game turns you into a mindless drone intent on leveling up for hours upon hours a day (read: literally all day). It steals your friends from you. If you plan on not having a life, this is the game for you!
  51. amac
    Jun 10, 2006
    0
    worst. grind. ever. anyone who gives this a high rating has not played endgame long enough. nuff said.
  52. Aug 29, 2012
    0
    no...just no. this game was good (in 2003) and deserved the high subscription fees because of lack of technology propelling the internet. Most people ran on dialup! moden days, everyone is basically unlimited and now it is very cheap to keep servers up, but blizzard continues to charge full price on subscription on this abomonation of a game. play any other mmo for a good time, especiallyno...just no. this game was good (in 2003) and deserved the high subscription fees because of lack of technology propelling the internet. Most people ran on dialup! moden days, everyone is basically unlimited and now it is very cheap to keep servers up, but blizzard continues to charge full price on subscription on this abomonation of a game. play any other mmo for a good time, especially gw2 (no subscription fees) Expand
  53. Jan 4, 2012
    0
    Fail, Blizzard. Been playing the game on and off since release, and you still dont listen to the fanbase. Further, you go down for maintenance, say that you fixed something, and, hey! its not fixed.... Thank the makers that a real MMO in the form of SW:TOR came out. Hey Blizzard, kiss my money goodbye!
  54. Dec 14, 2015
    0
    This game has honestly ruined my life, I started playing this game when i was 11 i'm now 19, yes i had a choice, to ether live my life without this game or play the game, but the game is so addicting, and i could never stop playing it, i never spent time with my family, i never got any friends and i never got good education because the only thing i could think about is trying to be theThis game has honestly ruined my life, I started playing this game when i was 11 i'm now 19, yes i had a choice, to ether live my life without this game or play the game, but the game is so addicting, and i could never stop playing it, i never spent time with my family, i never got any friends and i never got good education because the only thing i could think about is trying to be the very best i could on this game, in my opinion i wish it was never invented, or even came about or i wish i never knew about it, because it has really made me a total loser, who sits at home and doesn't do anything, i know i could have made some better choices, but i didn't want to, with this game because it always made me escape, which is good for a short amount of time, ii spent every last dime i got for the holidays on this game, every last cent, and now i look back and thing what the hell was i thinking, because i absolutely hate this game, and i have been saying that for several mounths, but continued to play due to the fact i have no friends, no job, and i'm a total loser, back than the game really was fun, and entertaining, it made a lot more since than it does now, i can honestly say that i have been suspended so many times i have lost count, 99% of the time it's the players on the game, they are absolutely malicous, and mean, which leads me to the game masters who could give a rats ass about anybody else but themselves and think that they are all gods gift and i'm always the one who is out of line, when 99% of the time, the interaction with the players is bad. The game masters, always make me feel like i'm the bad guy when to be honest i was just defending my own rights, just defending myself, using bad language yes, the game masters just plane didn't care about me, or how long i had been playing i'v spent over40.000$ on the products and the subscription alone, they don't care about me, or what i have to say, i have been suspended for things other accounts did as well, and the game masters never fix it, never apologize, i'm to this day truly dissapointed at the way the game has changed who i am as a person, and the way i'm treated on it, and by it's game masters, if you have kids, don't let them play this game because (warning) you won't ever see them again, and i can promise you that, no shopping, no eating dinner with them, no going out with them, unless you can minimize that down to 1-2 times a week or if you wan't to keep them busy, sure spent the $14.99 for a subscription, OH and if your childs account gets hacked don't worry about it because the game masters will just tell them they can't do anything about it, it's always the same bs, and take it from someone who has played for 9 years, 9! that's just reddiculous, i wish i could do something, i wish i could turn back time to when i first saw this game, i never had gotten it if i knew this would be the outcome writing a review, because the game masters, don't care about me, or what i have to say, and i don't have the money to sue them, so it's really just up to me to try and tell people the truth about the game, i don't hate it i'm mostly just disapointed, iv wasted my time, my life, and my family's money on it because i don't have any, granted this game was an outlit but, an outlit should not last 9 years. PLEASE if you are reading this don't let your child play this game, it will ruin them, and i'm not just ranting about that, i mean it take it from someone who has nothing because of this game. Expand
  55. Jan 6, 2012
    0
    Once a good game, it has been ruined by FotM, gamebreaking bugs for the classes Blizz doesn't like (ie- pets for hunters spawning with 500 hp and promptly being one shot by an aoe, a bug that's been in almost two years without a fix), as well as a complete change from challenging raids and fun pvp to gear grinding. If you enjoy korean grindfests, this game is right for you. Don't be fooledOnce a good game, it has been ruined by FotM, gamebreaking bugs for the classes Blizz doesn't like (ie- pets for hunters spawning with 500 hp and promptly being one shot by an aoe, a bug that's been in almost two years without a fix), as well as a complete change from challenging raids and fun pvp to gear grinding. If you enjoy korean grindfests, this game is right for you. Don't be fooled by the 10 million subs, 80% of those are Chinese that don't pay monthly for the game.

    The game was good once, now it's not. But, at least we have pokemon and pandas to look forward to.
    Expand
  56. [Anonymous]
    Apr 15, 2006
    0
    No one should play this game! It is a waste of time and once you hit it is unberable to play and just takes way to much time! And everyone hates hunters even though hunters are by far the hardest class to win with in PvP!
  57. Grant
    Jun 7, 2007
    1
    Warcraft, hmm.. There is an easy way to put this game, if you like to see numbers scroll up, i guess this is for you.
  58. Apr 8, 2016
    4
    Even though I'm a huge Blizzard fan and I love basically all their games, the only one that always flew under my radar was WoW, I never liked MMO genre, so I just ignored it back when it was released and never even tried it. Recently however, there was a cross-game event to get a new hero for Hearthstone by leveling up a character in Wow to level 20 and to level 20 there is a StarterEven though I'm a huge Blizzard fan and I love basically all their games, the only one that always flew under my radar was WoW, I never liked MMO genre, so I just ignored it back when it was released and never even tried it. Recently however, there was a cross-game event to get a new hero for Hearthstone by leveling up a character in Wow to level 20 and to level 20 there is a Starter edition to try out for free, so I just said to myself - why not, let's do it, it should be fun. But it really wasn't. I spent 3 days in this and I don't ever remember playing such a boring rpg with such generic quests. Maybe it was just my starting zone (Chose the beloved night elves), but the story never got interesting, all quests are either fetch quests like go there get the 5 of this and bring it back, or go there kill 6 of these and come back to me and it's going like this over and over. Combat is really bad, there is no challenge, no fluid combat mechanics, if you are used to complex responsive combat systems such as Souls series, this is a joke compared, basically click on thing and wait until it's dead. The online element of other players running around the same world doing the same thing as you seemed more annoying than anything, conflicting with my quests and so on. Yes, the world is huge, there are many different starting zones and I'm sure that back in the day this was a big thing that you could lost yourself for countless days, but from today's point of view it really doesn't have much to offer. That said I definitely see the influence this game had, the only other mmorpg i played was Guild Wars 2 and even though I think that was much better and fun game, you can really see how much it drew from WoW, the interface, all the systems etc. and I'm sure this will be true for many others from this genre. But once again I realized that this genre is probably not for me and I'm gonna stick with good old RPGs with strong stories and interesting quests. 4/10 Expand
  59. Jun 5, 2014
    0
    The definition of dropping the ball, World of Warcraft is as of today the biggest misguided MMO I've ever seen. Class & race balances are shuffled around with the same kind of care and thought as a rabid wolf trying to eat a bloody stake and I don't mean any puns with that due to the ongoing balance right now having hunters be the masters of DPS, burst and manouverability all at once.The definition of dropping the ball, World of Warcraft is as of today the biggest misguided MMO I've ever seen. Class & race balances are shuffled around with the same kind of care and thought as a rabid wolf trying to eat a bloody stake and I don't mean any puns with that due to the ongoing balance right now having hunters be the masters of DPS, burst and manouverability all at once.

    All that is left of this soulless game is meaningless grinding in the form of laughable "daily missions" which was Blizzard's trumphcard to try and make people come back to the game but ultimately only served to reinforce the notion that blizzard priorities income>fun instead of making genuinely fun and enjoyable products.

    I can only hope that they will not also screw up Heroes of the Storm.
    Expand
  60. anonymous
    Nov 30, 2009
    0
    it's all about kill 30 pigs and collect 100 livers which will take you about 2 hours to do it, and then you'll find yourself doin the same thing over and over again and pay for it, while dealing with the 10 year olds, and it'll be all about who's got better gear in the end, waste of time and money!!
  61. AnonymousMC
    Apr 30, 2007
    0
    I'm a huge fan of the Warcraft series and all of Blizzard's other work, but this killed part of my soul. I mean, what is the appeal? Wheeee, we run out, do the same quest with a different name over and over, and then Blizzard releases an expansion, and we do it all over again!
  62. Jul 8, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. warning you get herpes and dreads and glasses by playing this **** game bad controls boring boring gameplay,it look like it could be made in the 80`s Expand
  63. BobbyG.
    Dec 18, 2007
    4
    This game will absorb your life and make you completely severed from the outside world. If you are prepared to give up everything in your life from the moment you get this game, then its OK at best. I suggest not even trying it.
  64. AnonymousMC
    Mar 3, 2008
    4
    At first it is fun. But then it gets repetitive (kill this,kill this to get these kill these so you can get this). In the end the only enjoyable part was pvp. In my humble opinnion if they put in a system thats lets you go strait to pvp (like guildwars has). I think it would be much more enjoyable
  65. StyleXerk
    Nov 12, 2009
    4
    Well, I've played this game on a regular base, not fanatic, but frequently. While leveling it's an OK game, although after setting the same DOT series for the thousanth time, it get's a bit 'worn out'. Nevertheless the goal is clear: level-up! Then when you reach that top level, it seems you just reached the beginning! Gear, Gear,GEAR!! And now the trouble starts: Well, I've played this game on a regular base, not fanatic, but frequently. While leveling it's an OK game, although after setting the same DOT series for the thousanth time, it get's a bit 'worn out'. Nevertheless the goal is clear: level-up! Then when you reach that top level, it seems you just reached the beginning! Gear, Gear,GEAR!! And now the trouble starts: if you don't play like A LOT you can't do that or this instance in group, which you need to do for that epic item... Lateron while all the fanatics have tier whatever gear you can't join them either because you're 'under-geared'... Chicken and eggs kinda stuff. So I only give it a 4, to bad for the people who actually LIVE in that World (and don't live in real life), but that's the score. Oh and to all those I know that lost their job, girlfriend, friends, hobbies or whatever by playing to much: do yourself a favour and quit or play less, by playing less you'll get bored. Expand
  66. DylanS
    May 4, 2008
    4
    I being quite the geek and nerd, believe this game is unbelievably overrated. Sure, I love online MMORPG's - but WOW is just one of those games that leave you annoyed and irritated knowing its one of the top PC games; and yet no one you know actually enjoys it [Except for people you meet online]. I tried it, I could not get into it - They say the graphics are wonderful ; But I think I being quite the geek and nerd, believe this game is unbelievably overrated. Sure, I love online MMORPG's - but WOW is just one of those games that leave you annoyed and irritated knowing its one of the top PC games; and yet no one you know actually enjoys it [Except for people you meet online]. I tried it, I could not get into it - They say the graphics are wonderful ; But I think they had no idea what they were trying to make, seeing all the ridiculous objects and characters in this game. After playing this game, I ended up crying every night for 4 weeks straight, taking therapy after a coma, waking up only to suffer a stroke of people over using the word Noob over and over as poor desperate insults... Paying for this game is like praying for a god you know doesn't exists... Expand
  67. pippop
    Sep 2, 2007
    4
    Mixed feelings on this one. One the one hand this is an alright game with lots of content and reasonable graphics, on the other hand it is repetitive yet addictive and will slowly drain your bank account along with your popularity down to nothing. Another note to players looking to play the demo, when you register for the demo it will ask for your credit card details even though you will Mixed feelings on this one. One the one hand this is an alright game with lots of content and reasonable graphics, on the other hand it is repetitive yet addictive and will slowly drain your bank account along with your popularity down to nothing. Another note to players looking to play the demo, when you register for the demo it will ask for your credit card details even though you will not be charged for the game. This seems to me not very safe and should be avoided for your identities sake. Expand
  68. MichaelU.
    Feb 7, 2008
    1
    I don't see how this is a game, its more of a software program that wastes your time and has nothing to keep you interested. Lets see some of the flaws: 1. It takes forever to do anything, including traveling and leveling up. 2. There is almost no exploring. You find one area with monsters and level there for days or weeks until the monsters don't give you experience and you I don't see how this is a game, its more of a software program that wastes your time and has nothing to keep you interested. Lets see some of the flaws: 1. It takes forever to do anything, including traveling and leveling up. 2. There is almost no exploring. You find one area with monsters and level there for days or weeks until the monsters don't give you experience and you move on to the next area. 3. 75 % of the armor and items look horrible, making your character look like a hobbo. 4. The graphics look cartoonish, and the characters strangley shaped. 5. Most of the quests are boring and involve killing some monsters, talking to someone, or gathering some ingredients. 6. Classes are completely unbalanced: Paladins take a long time to level up and they suck, while hunters level up twice as fast and dominate every other class. I could talk forever on how bad this game is. Its expensive too. If you were to play for 3 years you would spend $540. Trust me, by the time you reach level 15, you will be bored to death. Get Oblivion or Morrowind instead. Expand
  69. StevenH
    Sep 7, 2009
    0
    The game will not ruin your life unless your life is already susceptible to being ruined. I bought and subscribed to this game about a month after it came out. I only played it for about 2 days before I realized it was basically the worst MMORPG I've ever played. The graphics are abysmal. The sound has a low sample rate. The gameplay rips off basic elements of Korean MMORPGs (such as The game will not ruin your life unless your life is already susceptible to being ruined. I bought and subscribed to this game about a month after it came out. I only played it for about 2 days before I realized it was basically the worst MMORPG I've ever played. The graphics are abysmal. The sound has a low sample rate. The gameplay rips off basic elements of Korean MMORPGs (such as Lineage, for example). The setting is like a parody of Warhammer, but takes itself seriously. Overall the game is another cookie cutter product pushed out by Blizzard with clever marketing and timing, resulting in its tasteless fanbase of hundreds of millions of people eating it up instantly. This means that if you work with other players in game (and you don't necessarily have to, but would be a fool not to if you're subscribing for a paltry single player experience) then you will be playing with 11 year olds that don't know the difference between "your" and "you're" and think everything is "gay". If you become addicted to this game then there is truly something wrong with your life. Expand
  70. Alan
    Jul 18, 2006
    1
    7/10 gameplay 9/10 for graphics 0/10 for originality 0/10 for customer service 0/10 for online community 1/10 for "massive" multiplayerbility.
  71. StevenM.
    Jun 16, 2007
    0
    Terrible, waste of time, money, and your life. Seriously the worst game ever made. Nothing original and nothing a rational minded gamer would like
  72. SH
    Sep 27, 2009
    1
    The people who play this game are absolutely horrible to new players. I tend to blame the software, since there's so little to do late game that high level players feel they have nothing to do but gank low levels, and treat their customer base poorly. Do not buy this game if you're a new player.
  73. Qkumba
    Dec 4, 2004
    3
    As a MMORPG, it is definitely top of its line, with comparatively better graphics against others of its kind. Honestly, as a software game, WoW is repetitive and slow paced. the combat system, not matter how powerful you are, is inflexible, and unexciting. the graphic despite receving compliments everywhere, is not really impressive to say the least, in fact it looks like some thing 4 As a MMORPG, it is definitely top of its line, with comparatively better graphics against others of its kind. Honestly, as a software game, WoW is repetitive and slow paced. the combat system, not matter how powerful you are, is inflexible, and unexciting. the graphic despite receving compliments everywhere, is not really impressive to say the least, in fact it looks like some thing 4 years ago. all the sounds including music, are all very low quality. the sounds in-game from npcs and such are really not what Blizzard games are known for. I'm not really sure how to convince you about the quality of this game in the presence of so many good reviews (i'm not sure if i'm gonna trust reviews as much now). If you honestly find it a over 90 score game without being affected by other's opinions and the hype about it, then you truly deserve to be cheated by this game. Very simply explained, the game is MMORPG, where producers aim to accomodate as many customers as they can to get as much cash as possible. to do that, they must lower the quality for lousier computers. And the design of the game would be to be played for a long time, but not necessary good, they could just put in many tedious quests. in saying so, you're actually paying for a sub quality game. =] Expand
  74. AnthonyO.
    Feb 17, 2008
    4
    I have to say that of all RPGs out there, this may possibly be the one I hate the most. It seems to me that it takes the mindless droning of a sub-teenager to be able to sit glued to your computer screen repetitively killing the same monster over and over for hours on end to level up.... once. Also, the game's lack of depth in terms of difficulty and what I call 'intelligence I have to say that of all RPGs out there, this may possibly be the one I hate the most. It seems to me that it takes the mindless droning of a sub-teenager to be able to sit glued to your computer screen repetitively killing the same monster over and over for hours on end to level up.... once. Also, the game's lack of depth in terms of difficulty and what I call 'intelligence requirements' are rather low, resulting in an experience that feels degrading. I must admit however, that the game has a somewhat decent look to it, and the graphics have a nice touch to them, but are still sub-par in the current world of gaming. Overall, I did not enjoy my experience with this game. Expand
  75. Nov 7, 2012
    3
    This game was brilliant ... 10 years ago. Today it is just a tire rehash of the same old button mashing grind. The graphics are terrible. The only thing keeping this game alive is a dedicated group of players who have been paying monthly for years. It is a financial investment. Yes WoW was a great game, but it is like the 40 year old, former high school quarterback that just can't seem toThis game was brilliant ... 10 years ago. Today it is just a tire rehash of the same old button mashing grind. The graphics are terrible. The only thing keeping this game alive is a dedicated group of players who have been paying monthly for years. It is a financial investment. Yes WoW was a great game, but it is like the 40 year old, former high school quarterback that just can't seem to understand that the glory days of his youth are only in his own mind. R.I.P. WoW Expand
  76. Oct 16, 2015
    0
    Buggy as **** Even after several patches, still broken. You can glitch through terrain very easily. Each expansion means just more pointless grind where you don't get more powerful. All gear which isn't high level is worthless but you need it to get the end-game gear - fail. Traveling in this game is pathetic. An easy aggro system which is unchallenging. The crafting? So terrible. TimeBuggy as **** Even after several patches, still broken. You can glitch through terrain very easily. Each expansion means just more pointless grind where you don't get more powerful. All gear which isn't high level is worthless but you need it to get the end-game gear - fail. Traveling in this game is pathetic. An easy aggro system which is unchallenging. The crafting? So terrible. Time limits on some things, collecting mats is either flying around for days or farming to buy them, some crafting actually relies on high level dungeon drops, so you cannot even make decent gear without joining a group and being a liability. Pots are entirely useless... Oh and people make chars on alliance and horde to pk you... world pk is useless and an obstruction to levelling, if you are low or have no gear it is just annoying and you cannot do anything, pk servers always die first. pkers are **** idiots who are angsty and flame you... pvp is only fun on equal grounds, because it actually indicates skill. The only notable thing is the quest tracking system, which still doesn't work properly and still has broken quests. Expand
  77. Jun 1, 2012
    3
    The expansion packs did not work with our group - i thought when i finally got past all the troubleshooting that I would enjoy the game but it got very boring very quickly. When i meet face to face with players who love the game - i notice that one common fact is that they all haven't played anything else out there.
  78. Sep 15, 2013
    3
    A terrible MMO that has became a shadow of it's former self. It's become nothing more than a vessel to exploit the ignorant and uninformed with it's extortionate expansion prices and draconian subscription. Do yourself a favor and play TERA or Guild Wars 2 instead. They are cheaper, have much better combat and infinitely better quests.
  79. Mar 14, 2013
    1
    I started with classic WoW, played Top5(PvE) worldwide during BC and owned several gladiator titles. WoW was great til the 2nd addon was released. Today WoW is an unbalanced game for casual games/kids. There is no need for strong guild/ingame friends/skills/knowledge anymore. If you want to play casual style together with some kids, you will find the perfect game. Blizzard destroyed theI started with classic WoW, played Top5(PvE) worldwide during BC and owned several gladiator titles. WoW was great til the 2nd addon was released. Today WoW is an unbalanced game for casual games/kids. There is no need for strong guild/ingame friends/skills/knowledge anymore. If you want to play casual style together with some kids, you will find the perfect game. Blizzard destroyed the communities with server, name and race changes for all players. There are no challenges anymore, just easy ways for all stupid kids to get full epic in 5 days. Expand
  80. May 16, 2013
    0
    this piece of crap ruined my warcraft sires that was all about stragy. this reminds me nothing of warcraft. when i got it after 100s of hours on warcraft 3 i thought what was this and i threw it away and picked up warcraft 3 and played that
  81. May 18, 2013
    0
    I tried World of Warcraft once. And it was one of the most bad games I've ever played. The graphics were fine. But the story was very bad. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
  82. Jul 9, 2013
    3
    I have played every MMO out there.I'm a beta tester for a lot about to come out.So I know a good mmo when I play it.WoW is not a a good mmo.It has no difficulty at all.a boring poorly written story.Boring combat,and just all around a boring game.The only reason this game took off as it did is because at the time of release there wasn't much competition.If it was released today it would be a flop.
  83. Feb 26, 2015
    0
    They,suck they don't do there job, they let there report systems run on other players, so that means if 2 people or more report you, you're most likely going to get suspended even if it's false accession, after playing this game for 9 years i realized i have no life... because of it and that it has destroyed relationships, i wish i have never been introduced to this game, for 1 the playersThey,suck they don't do there job, they let there report systems run on other players, so that means if 2 people or more report you, you're most likely going to get suspended even if it's false accession, after playing this game for 9 years i realized i have no life... because of it and that it has destroyed relationships, i wish i have never been introduced to this game, for 1 the players are all **** and you get harassed all the time, constantly having to open tickets and report people, for harassing me and it ending with me getting banned/suspended which is **** i'm currently suspended do to, 2 players harassing me, and i have just about had it with all of the **** period. i'm most likely going to cancel my member ship which i have done off and on throughout my 9 years of no respect from the game masters, or the players. i highly do not recommend this game for kids, parents, please! don't let you're kids play this, they will become addicted and they will never want to see you again, my daughter plays it, i can never get her to come out of her room anymore, my daughter is constantly getting sexual messages from guys/girls on there, several messages have been death threats, from players... the game masters don't give a **** about your kid, just your money.

    BAD, BAD, BAD, BAD, BAD, GAME!!!
    Expand
  84. Mar 4, 2014
    4
    I played World of Warcraft for 1 year. I played also first extension Burning Crusade.
    I played Wow because it was published by Blizzard. It was the first time I have played an MMO RPG.
    Players that know only WoW would like it. But if you played Diablo 2, Warcraft 3 or Guild Wars 1 you can't like it. It success is based on franchise and the image of Blizzard. I think it was a good game
    I played World of Warcraft for 1 year. I played also first extension Burning Crusade.
    I played Wow because it was published by Blizzard. It was the first time I have played an MMO RPG.
    Players that know only WoW would like it. But if you played Diablo 2, Warcraft 3 or Guild Wars 1 you can't like it. It success is based on franchise and the image of Blizzard.
    I think it was a good game in 2004 like Everquest 2 and Lineage 2 for a certain category of players.
    the first Lineage had 40 millions players, WoW had 13 millions players

    Good things : community, more than 8 races and starting points, battle fields, cities, dungeons, big boss, if you like farming and playing always in group, mounts, craft, world, can swim, classes, skills, attributes, arena

    less : graphics, background, scenario, leveling up, quests, potions between fights, exploration, duel pvp, factions vs factions

    Game play : 4/10, graphics : 5/10, back ground : 5/10, lifetime : 8/10, sound : 7/10, community : 9/10, world : 8/10
    Expand
  85. Apr 18, 2014
    0
    Level 1: Kill 10 boars, collect 10 apples.
    Level 10: Kill 10 cats, collect 8 apples.
    Level 30: Kill 10 ghosts, collect 6 apples. Level 80: Oh you get there from level 1 since a friend "resurrect scroll"ed you. Collect 6 apples though. Level 90: Raid same dungeon over and over and over and over.... Collect 4 apples. This game is crap. The Realm Vs Realm is crap. Each server has 1
    Level 1: Kill 10 boars, collect 10 apples.
    Level 10: Kill 10 cats, collect 8 apples.
    Level 30: Kill 10 ghosts, collect 6 apples.
    Level 80: Oh you get there from level 1 since a friend "resurrect scroll"ed you. Collect 6 apples though.
    Level 90: Raid same dungeon over and over and over and over.... Collect 4 apples.
    This game is crap.
    The Realm Vs Realm is crap. Each server has 1 realm with drastically more people, and they always destroy. Literally ANY game with a 3 realm system is better by far.

    Don't waste your time or money.
    Expand
  86. May 24, 2014
    0
    This were Blizzard started to go down and got greedy and terrible.
    WOW is probably one of the most overrated games,
    Base game $90 plus subscription fee 150 a year on top of your internet connection HAH NO THANKS.
  87. Dec 29, 2014
    2
    While the game is the MMO with the largest player base, does it really deserve it? I mean seriously Blizzard, we already bought the game, why would we have to pay every month to play it. You can't put a price on entertainment. Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying this game is entertaining, let's be honest, it isn't. I mean it's fun for a while, then it gets super repetitive. Boring fetchWhile the game is the MMO with the largest player base, does it really deserve it? I mean seriously Blizzard, we already bought the game, why would we have to pay every month to play it. You can't put a price on entertainment. Don't get me wrong, I'm not saying this game is entertaining, let's be honest, it isn't. I mean it's fun for a while, then it gets super repetitive. Boring fetch quests, mindless grinding, repetitive quests (talk to that person, bring me the letter he will give you, go back to him and give him this, then come back to me...). It all gets super boring in the end at least for me. Let's not even talk about the subscription. I've already talked about it a bit in the beginning of this review, but I feel like it's not enough.
    Let me bring up that the subscription you have to pay per month, is pretty big. I mean 15 euros for a month of grinding and repetitive quests? Doesn't seem like that good of a deal to me.
    Seriously Blizzard, why don't you actually work on making the game fun, rather than inventing new methods to squeeze the most money out of your players. World of Warcraft should look up to
    Guild Wars 2.
    Expand
  88. Sep 1, 2016
    0
    It's funny but i don't know for how long:it's the same soup always the same soup.
    My personal review is 6,5/10, i gave 0 to balance all that noob fanboys that everytime see Blizzard gave 10
  89. Jan 8, 2016
    0
    The truth is that Blizzard have been bleeding this game for years. Every year we get less for our money. Less content, non-existant customer support and no new players as people come to realise this is simply a giant cash cow for the company behind it. The developers care infinitely more about the bottom line than the community. There will, as always, be endless promises that everythingThe truth is that Blizzard have been bleeding this game for years. Every year we get less for our money. Less content, non-existant customer support and no new players as people come to realise this is simply a giant cash cow for the company behind it. The developers care infinitely more about the bottom line than the community. There will, as always, be endless promises that everything will be better in the new expansion and as usual this will turn out to be lies. Save your money and spend it with a company that at least pretends to care if you are having a good time. Expand
  90. Aug 11, 2016
    0
    The game has undead and blood, so it's not part of what I would expect from an MMO.
    I want an game that has no blood and undead.
    That is all I need to write for my personal review.
  91. LewisW.
    Nov 23, 2007
    2
    To be honest this isnt really a game, ITS A DRUG! I got hooked on it for 4 months and the whole time I was complaining to myself and my friends about all of the flaws and yet I still played it non-stop. The Flaws: 1. Completly rubbish and unbalanced starting areas. 2. Completly rubbish and unbalanced classes. (Warrior sucks, Warlock is a demon) 3. Terrible graphics and the geography dosnt To be honest this isnt really a game, ITS A DRUG! I got hooked on it for 4 months and the whole time I was complaining to myself and my friends about all of the flaws and yet I still played it non-stop. The Flaws: 1. Completly rubbish and unbalanced starting areas. 2. Completly rubbish and unbalanced classes. (Warrior sucks, Warlock is a demon) 3. Terrible graphics and the geography dosnt make sense. (Snowy Mountain Ranges next to Tropical Jungles) 4. 60 out of 70 levels are there to make you pay more. All the GOOD features are reserved for the high levels, ok there are a few quests early on, but after level 10 its just a grind fest that slowly gets more and more tedious until you get to level 30 when you will either: A. Realise your wasting your life, uninstall the game, cancel your account and warn everyone about this game. OR B. Keep playing until your skin turns green from sunlight depravation, then realise that your dog has died and you should have probably fed it instead of playing the game. But seriously this game is waste of your money and your life, dont try it youll get hooked but after seeing the light you will look back and ask: "How did i find a reason to pay for that piece of poo?" Expand
  92. AnonymousMC
    Jan 19, 2007
    1
    Horrible, absolutely horrible customer service/game master department. Many people's accounts are getting hacked lately and Blizz isn't helping people at all. They are making everyone wait 4-5 weeks to investigate and many aren't getting any accomodation at all. Some are getting their accounts banned even with the blame being thrown on them (as if people are asking to beHorrible, absolutely horrible customer service/game master department. Many people's accounts are getting hacked lately and Blizz isn't helping people at all. They are making everyone wait 4-5 weeks to investigate and many aren't getting any accomodation at all. Some are getting their accounts banned even with the blame being thrown on them (as if people are asking to be hacked and lose everything). Post anything at all on forums making them look bad and it will be deleted then forum access revoked. GG blizz. Recommend going elsewhere for your gaming dollar. Blizz does not care about the player. Expand
  93. DylanP.
    Oct 27, 2007
    2
    Totally overrated. Blizzard is one of my favourite companies, however this monstrosity of an MMO will leave you disappointed dispite all the hype. At first glance, you will be in awe of the vast and creative world set before you. The huge world that requires very little loading between zones presents to you a huge task of WALKING everywhere until you hit level 40. At first you will hit Totally overrated. Blizzard is one of my favourite companies, however this monstrosity of an MMO will leave you disappointed dispite all the hype. At first glance, you will be in awe of the vast and creative world set before you. The huge world that requires very little loading between zones presents to you a huge task of WALKING everywhere until you hit level 40. At first you will hit level 5 and go this is great, and then you will hit level 10 and will soon realize that you are running in circles. This repetitive gameplay will annoy and frustrate you and you will soon discover that its like this the whole game all the way up until you hit level 60. And the expansion, they follow the same format, AWE and then disgust/boredom up until level 70. Anyone who says this game deserves a 10 has absolutely no idea what they are talking about, or has chosen this game to be their first MMORPG. Expand
  94. Dox
    May 14, 2007
    1
    95% of WoW players are playing their first MMORPG. Thats why they don't know WoW is a complete ripoff of Asheron's Call 2 and Everquest 1. Just with simplified gameplay and possibility to solo all the way up to max level. From the interface layout, dressing rooms, raiding system, itemization to the reputation grind ... we all saw that already in EQ/AC. What new brings WoW is the 95% of WoW players are playing their first MMORPG. Thats why they don't know WoW is a complete ripoff of Asheron's Call 2 and Everquest 1. Just with simplified gameplay and possibility to solo all the way up to max level. From the interface layout, dressing rooms, raiding system, itemization to the reputation grind ... we all saw that already in EQ/AC. What new brings WoW is the amazing amount of kids that make PUGS look like the worst thing to do (you know, doing PUGS in regular mmo's IS possible). End-Game after BC looks like farming reputation for 15 different factions, that each give one item. The challenge in the game is just an illusion. Illusion made by kids that didn't know there should be a tank and a healer in a group. Old-school MMORPG players had never problems with all the raid content in WoW. And you bet there isnt many of them around. Mostly because they realized that there is so many other beter MMORPG out there. Expand
  95. JakeC.
    Jun 28, 2007
    1
    Far inferior to DDO, boring and repetitive, uninspired and uncustomizable character design, lots of annoying children playing alongside.
  96. JesusC.
    Jul 8, 2007
    2
    I played it. From launch. It was fun. Then I actually got past the first 30 or so levels. Have fun on one of the worst grinds ever. When you finally get to cap, have fun having to raid and farm from about 10x longer and more frequently to stay on top, you still don't have any good gear by the time you get to 60. PvP is uninspired, only the people who do it often know how to play. I played it. From launch. It was fun. Then I actually got past the first 30 or so levels. Have fun on one of the worst grinds ever. When you finally get to cap, have fun having to raid and farm from about 10x longer and more frequently to stay on top, you still don't have any good gear by the time you get to 60. PvP is uninspired, only the people who do it often know how to play. Ultimately it is a addictive MMO on easy mode, the main selling point being the addicting aspect, please do us all a favour and do what you will do months down the road out of frusturation anyway. Quit. Quit and delete your account so you arn't tempted to go back, you will be astounded how much of your time you get back. Expand
  97. AlexS
    Aug 17, 2007
    0
    This game fails it in every way possible. From it's Nintendo 64 graphics to it's simplistic and dull GUI interface, World of Warcraft deals a critical hit to the series. You are required to pay for each month you waste away your life, the gamepla is flat out repeditive, and there is just no fun factor in it. The people who play it scare me the most. I saw someone who does to my This game fails it in every way possible. From it's Nintendo 64 graphics to it's simplistic and dull GUI interface, World of Warcraft deals a critical hit to the series. You are required to pay for each month you waste away your life, the gamepla is flat out repeditive, and there is just no fun factor in it. The people who play it scare me the most. I saw someone who does to my school constantly talking about the game. This is what happens when you get hooked to it like the game is your girlfriend. Speaking of girlfriends, this is a real statistic: 75 percent of all people who play WoW non stop lose their girlfriends. No joke. The other 25% I don't even want to think about. Plain and simple, the game is terrible, don't waste your money, life, and lucky lady. Expand
  98. PaulG.
    Sep 7, 2007
    2
    This game will destroy your life. 15 dollars a month to click on monsters? The combat is about as deep as a puddle. Avoid.
  99. AnonymousMC
    Jan 12, 2008
    2
    I will give this game a 2 because when I first played it I was in awe of the vastness of the game. But as I leveled up I began to realize how repetitive it was. I began to grow bored of it and eventually canceled my account. Wow was fun but the monthly fee takes my vote from a 7 to a 1. I now play guild wars which is a much more satisfying game. because of the no monthly fee you canI will give this game a 2 because when I first played it I was in awe of the vastness of the game. But as I leveled up I began to realize how repetitive it was. I began to grow bored of it and eventually canceled my account. Wow was fun but the monthly fee takes my vote from a 7 to a 1. I now play guild wars which is a much more satisfying game. because of the no monthly fee you can play it whenever you want with ought feeling like your wasting your money when you're not. I hope many wow players will switch to guild wars and support it for guild wars 2 which should be amazing. Expand
  100. AnonymousMC
    Jan 1, 2008
    0
    this game... well...i hate it everything about it...its taking over real peoples lives and replacing them with online lives.....come on this game is actually going to kill someone one day......like you can actually get married on it??? get real.. to be fair, i dont care what anyone says.... praticaly the worst game ever. you have to pay to play online??? im sorry its just really utterthis game... well...i hate it everything about it...its taking over real peoples lives and replacing them with online lives.....come on this game is actually going to kill someone one day......like you can actually get married on it??? get real.. to be fair, i dont care what anyone says.... praticaly the worst game ever. you have to pay to play online??? im sorry its just really utter garbage. support me people hate this game with me. that is all Expand
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Combines not only technical prowess and fine-tuned gameplay, but pleasure as well, making this the new standard for the competition. Word to the other companies: this is the reason your registered users are dwindling.
  2. 90
    The game isn't flawless, nor is it technically finished - a good many quests fall into a "kill 20 of enemy X and collect 9 of item Y" pattern, a lot of promised end-game content still isn't in, and there are still bugs being squashed - but it's easily the closest MMORPGs have yet come to perfection. If this one doesn't hook you, nothing will.
  3. 90
    Although it's not as technologically proficient as "EverQuest II," World of Warcraft has a more pronounced sense of style...If you're looking for a new MMORPG, then the World of Warcraft is the very first place you should visit.