User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1552 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 18, 2014
    0
    Level 1: Kill 10 boars, collect 10 apples. Level 10: Kill 10 cats, collect 8 apples. Level 30: Kill 10 ghosts, collect 6 apples. Level 80: Oh you get there from level 1 since a friend "resurrect scroll"ed you. Collect 6 apples though. Level 90: Raid same dungeon over and over and over and over.... Collect 4 apples. This game is crap. The Realm Vs Realm is crap. Each server has 1 realm with drastically more people, and they always destroy. Literally ANY game with a 3 realm system is better by far.

    Don't waste your time or money.
    Expand
  2. Apr 15, 2014
    7
    HOW I RATE: 10-9 score: perfect or near-perfect don't exist; 8 score: one of the best games ever. Top score; 7-6 score: great but not one of the best; 5-below score: serious gameplay flaws.
    ===========
    The art-style, the music (OMG the music), the sound design of characters and objects. Some zones (the Badlands) still have the tedious fetch and go-kill quests which is why I stopped
    playing at level 46. I wanted to go through Outland and Northrend but... Expand
  3. Apr 8, 2014
    5
    Content: Stupid Blizzard Entertainment doesn't even care that we have to pay $15 a month anymore, all they care about is $$$. The game keeps putting up extra expan$ion$ that have no purpose, and Blizzard recently decided that they should put up MICROTRANSACTIONS! Great! An already expensive as crap game, now with microtransactions!
    Gameplay: It was the first of its kind, but look at the
    MMORPG market now. Guild Wars 2 is a HECK of a lot more fun than this game, and that's only a one time pay game. The gameplay really is not bad, but not worth all that cash.
    I give this game a 5/10.
    Expand
  4. Mar 15, 2014
    4
    I can see how this was a good game 10 years ago, but it's absolutely out-dated and lacking everything a modern MMO should have nowadays. Paying 10$ monthly to play this game is ridiculous.
  5. Mar 4, 2014
    4
    I played World of Warcraft for 1 year. I played also first extension Burning Crusade.
    I played Wow because it was published by Blizzard. It was the first time I have played an MMO RPG.
    Players that know only WoW would like it. But if you played Diablo 2, Warcraft 3 or Guild Wars 1 you can't like it. It success is based on franchise and the image of Blizzard.
    I think it was a good game
    in 2004 like Everquest 2 and Lineage 2 for a certain category of players.
    the first Lineage had 40 millions players, WoW had 13 millions players

    Good things : community, more than 8 races and starting points, battle fields, cities, dungeons, big boss, if you like farming and playing always in group, mounts, craft, world, can swim, classes, skills, attributes, arena

    less : graphics, background, scenario, leveling up, quests, potions between fights, exploration, duel pvp, factions vs factions

    Game play : 4/10, graphics : 5/10, back ground : 5/10, lifetime : 8/10, sound : 7/10, community : 9/10, world : 8/10
    Expand
  6. Feb 26, 2014
    6
    I played from Vanilla to Cataclysm and for me the game hit its high point in Wrath. After that, the design ideas seemed to be pretty limited and repetitive.

    At this point, the game really shows its age. Its time to fold up and create WOW 2; you cant keep milking the cash cow forever Blizzard (sorry, Activision, whoops sorry Vivendi). Hey, come to think of it, the first really bad WOW
    expansion was the first wholly under control of Activision. Anyone think there might be a connection? Expand
  7. Feb 26, 2014
    9
    My opinion is an opinion of player who played WoW for almost 4 years (2007-2011), spending over 2500 hours for it (and still never reaching the top tier armor or entering top guild).

    First of all, WoW is always FUN! No matter how many time you spend and which sides of game you prefer.

    Second, from the very beggining, unlike most Korean MMOs, developers tend to limit your timespending
    by limiting maximum quantity of top tier dungeons and raids you can visit per day or per week, respectively, and doing about the same in PvP (limiting the number of top tier badges you can acquire per week). Ofcourse people who strive to play more go into grinding, gathering, crafting, trading or runmultiple characters. Please, don't spend your life playing videogames!
    Third, Blizzard is constanly adding something new to the game. While back then in 2000's it required to reach max level, indeed, to have really enjoy the game, now some many possibilities are added that you may enjoy the game from level 10, literally. While leveling also became much faster. It became possible to reach level 40 in one day without a severe grinding. Even faster if your acdcount is reffered to friend, and you get leveling boost.

    Fourth, it becomes really repetitive only in two occasions: 1) you agree for it yourself, usually it refers to cases when you are grinding reputation for some exotic mounts, usually takes between two weeks and one month and is never obligatory; 2) you are striving to be top tier in PvE, but when you reach such ambitions you are most likely to integrate into community that much, that repeatedness won't be a severe burden.
    Of course, game will require time, but there is no MMO, which fits those who want to spend couple of hours once per week.

    Fifth, you will be astounded, how reach the RP and LORE part is, now rich the story of Azeroth and neighbouring world is and outdated, little grotesque, graphics doesn't prevent enjoying the atmosphere. When you feel yourself a true hero of Azeroth, which is imposied by long questlines, it is difficult to compare with anything. You'll be wishing to come back again and again, and then you will have a feeling of nostalgy about the game.

    And the last but not the least, what really happened to the game over almost a decade? It became much easier, what many old-school WoWers (incl. myself) found frustrating, but for new players that must be good news!

    Thank you for spending your time reading my review, I hope I have helped you to form your own opinion concerning the game.

    P.S.: I quit WoW in the late 2011, due to some circumstances, but I really miss the game and often think of returning back to it.
    Expand
  8. Feb 24, 2014
    5
    This game still has a solid basis back from 2004. Despite all what has been done to this game later, it still is ok more or less. Levelling is very accessible and fun at times. Group play is very accessible too. As the years went, some of the problems the game had were solved while other problems were created. Some things were improved, such as the graphic engine or reducing the number of people required for raiding. As it is now however, the game is unimmersive, it's atmoshere is gone and the social dimension of it disappeared. Yet the world still has its beauty and under the layers of more recent additions, the genius of the original is still to be felt. The game began as an RPG and headed towards the design of many Facebook games lately. It's very much about achievements and numbers rather than people, persistent world and a story. As such it still appeal to many, but the best times this game had are long gone. Be it shortly after Wrath of the Lich King expansion was released, I would have given this 10 points. The same goes for the game as it was before this expansion. The breaking point for this game has been the first post-Ulduar patch 3.2. Both in terms of the growth of the player-base and in terms of game design decisions. With few exceptions, the game has gone mostly downhill since then. Even though I have many precious memories from this game, I would not recommend it in its current state. Even though it is a subscription based game, a cash shop has made its way into the game, which made the overal feeling even cheaper. Many elements of the current game make it mosly average, but still worth playing if you just want to relax, take it easy and if you like games based on collecting achievements and other things. Expand
  9. Feb 21, 2014
    10
    My favorite game of all time. This beast was ahead of its time back in 2004, and still lives on 9 years later. The art style and game engine have scaled extremely well. Blizzard has continually made updates to their engine. They learn lessons every expansion and apply them to the next. I've make sure to play every other MMO that comes out (Guild Wars 2, Rift, Star Wars: The Old Republic, ... the list goes on), but WoW is the golden standard they all have to compete with. Other games are just minor distractions to this ever dominate KING. Expand
  10. Feb 14, 2014
    10
    Almost 10 years on the market and still is the best MMORPG that you can find. The major problem about the bad reviews is that people still wants the game to be like Vanilla or complain about the graphics....
  11. Feb 11, 2014
    10
    This is the gold standard of MMORPGs and is the foundation to which all other MMORPG games will be built upon in the years to follow. World of Warcraft is a vast yet tight game experience that only gets better with friends and perfect strangers playing together. The amount of content to play through and all of the things you can do, competitively and cooperatively, is unparalleled. Add in the fact that you can play this game through several times as different classes and get a very unique experience every time and you have a game that can steal all of your free hours without remorse or regret. Though it has now been a while since the game launched, there's still a slight allure to World of Warcraft. Should Blizzard ever follow up on it with a new iteration of it, say a World of StarCraft entry, there's sure to be a repeat of history. Expand
  12. Feb 10, 2014
    3
    This is one of the worst MMOs I've ever played. I just disliked it. I found it obnoxious, irritating and just generally dis-likable. The graphics are bad but to be fair graphics don't make a game good, story and characters do. I would recommend a different MMO like DCUO, Lord of the Rings Online or Star Wars: The Old Republic. You can try it for free, so if you're considering purchasing it prior to playing it I recommend doing that. Expand
  13. Feb 10, 2014
    10
    This is the best game ever. You may get people saying, "Oh, this game's graphics are terrible, and dated!" I say that the game is almost ten years old and is ageing surprisingly well. Some may say, "Oh, the mechanics are old and boring!" To you I say, 7.9 million people believe that these mechanics are entertaining and fun, and have kept them playing to this day. This game is the perfect blend of humour, epic moments, teamwork, and all around fun that any gamer could ask for. WoW, I salute you, old friend. Expand
  14. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    After all these years, still a consistently amazing, fascinating game. Excellent programming, great tech support and literally and endless amount to do. Highly recommended
  15. Feb 3, 2014
    9
    Story: 7 out of 10, Graphics: 8 out of 10, Fun: 9 out of 10, Controls: 8 out of 10, Ease to Learn: 7 out of 10, Length: 10 out of 10, Re-play: 9 out of 10, Value: 9 out of 10

    Regardless of the wide variety of ratings, this is a game most everyone should try (which can be played for free for the beginning stages of the game) and that many that try it will find they really actually enjoy it!
  16. Feb 3, 2014
    8
    World Of Warcraft is one of my fav mmo games that i played
    i enjoyed playing as a horde or alliance in the game
    it one things that game improve is more easyer on story and quest side of the game
  17. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    Amazing game, fun classes, great missions, great bosses, a huge variety of spells attacks, melee attacks, and ranged attacks. Fun market, and shops, however there is a crappy community in WOW.
  18. Jan 13, 2014
    10
    This is the most epic and fun game in the world!!! if you don't want to buy you can play FREE on starter edition ( play to level 20 ) ( you can do quest or dungeon etc ) the standard edtion is not expensive so what do you waiting for.....
  19. Jan 12, 2014
    9
    This is a very fun game! It's worth the monthly fee, though I do have my doubts from time to time. It's a little hard to catch on to at first, but it's really fun once you do. There's so much to do, such as questing, dungeons, and PVP. The different classes are very well-made. It's not for everyone, though. I recommend you try the starter version before committing to the monthly fee. Overall, a well-made, fun to play game. Expand
  20. Dec 25, 2013
    10
    World of Warcraft been playing off/on since somewhat of its early release. I believe this game set the standards for MMO's. Competitive play PvE/PvP if anyone tells you different the haven't played the game to its fullest. To people complaining that the game is too easy I can tell they haven't tried end game content. This game is being tuned constantly to please its player base and they do listen to their players and hire out of their player base in some cases. The problem with WoW is its extremely time consuming So Blizzard has made it easier to acquire sub par gear such as LFR. I think with the time this game has been out Blizzard has been trying to keep up with new ideas buts it hard putting out and balancing the game in time for players won't get bored. Its a great game has its ups and downs. If your looking for a great PvP game WoW is prob the best if not top 3 the MMO world(In my opinion). If you wanna give the game a try go for it but if your planning on being just a casual I wouldn't say this is the game for you. I think its about time for WoW to upgrade its graphics which I believe would be hard(due to having a crap load of servers already) but its worth it imo. Expand
  21. Dec 12, 2013
    0
    These guys are the worst you get a 30 day trial they expect you to pay or lock your account or bann you there gm sucks ass and there service sucks as well... -0 you u guys sucks ass
  22. Dec 5, 2013
    8
    I made an account just so i could summarise something here: 1) The game does not require grinding to level up,I agree the system for leveling could be improved but there is no grinding i assure you 2)People who say minecraft graphics are better have clearly not played world of warcraft 3)The sound-track is not brilliant sadly =( 4)The game has an immersive story which at first may be difficult to understand however by reading the quest logs you may begin to understand the story

    5) The game does have a subscription fee but i believe the price is adequate

    6) Sadly but recently all servers have been having lag (Probably because of the sheer amount of players)

    Overall: I would reccomend the game to somebody who is not new to the mmo genre as it can be complicated to play at higher levels requiring exact keystrokes or failure awaits :p
    Expand
  23. Nov 22, 2013
    0
    GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER ༽つ つ GIVE BACK WINDRUNNER Expand
  24. Nov 5, 2013
    10
    i still cant belive being 9 years old this is still my fav RPG experiance ever id honestly say put whatever you are playing down and come play this wonderfull game its givin me so many memories that i will tresure for ever this game is amazing in the shear content and i think this is better then guildwars 2 in my opinion the best MMO and will always be in this gereration anybody that gives this game a low score must be a jockstrapp or somthing any RPG player would lose weeks in this loot grabbing 40 man raid fantasy epic must buy an easy 10/10 from me Expand
  25. Nov 1, 2013
    8
    Well, writing a review about World of Warcraft is like stand at crossroads and think where to go. This game for sure took a big part in my life as well as in my heart. You may say that such games are waste of time, but actually whole our life is a time killer...

    Anyway, the game is amazing in many aspects! Blizzard tried to do so the player is fully immersed in the world of Warcraft.
    The soundtrack is beautiful piece of art that makes you feel every piece of this virtual world as if it was real. The visuals... it's a mind-blowing. The graphic artists done a lot of great work. You will be surprised many times during your travel how talented are the people who made this. Every location has it's own story and you starting to believe in it. The storyline also great. For all those priceless moments I got in this game I give 8 score. I can't give it 10 points because of it's gameplay. Many hours will be wasted on grinding, especially on high levels. I don't like the concept of instances that ruins the integrity of the world. I don't like the casual PVP, you can't lose your items so you don't feel much adrenaline in combats. The character inventory is boring. The world could be more interactive. Expand
  26. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Despite haters, i strongly recommend this game if you want to experience being in a whole other world, adventuring alongside of other players immersed as you are. -Rich and exciting world -Plenty of different races, stories and flavors -Incredibly good animations -Really nice game system overall, from quests to UI, to inventory and health/resource -Beautiful artwork, stylized
    -Fantastic class design (all classes feel unique and fun to play)
    -Combat is fast paced and addictive
    -Tons, tons and tons of content
    -Well designed around playing with others
    -The best endgame out there by far, raids are fun and challenging
    -Very polished in every front

    This game is insanely good and the best mmo by orders of magnitute.
    I played it for years and it awarded me one of the best experiences i had in games by far. It's an adventure worth checking.
    Expand
  27. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    Pre expansion WoW was possibly the best game I've ever played. It felt like a living world, so immersive. It may not have been perfect but perhaps those less convenient things only added to the experience. I have only good memories of those days and I still listen to the soundtracks and think back to a time where life was so simple and carefree hanging out in westfall, goldshire, stormwind, ironforge and the bonding time with my brother and friends. It just had so much to offer and so many different environments. What I really like is that the world was so big that there were places that were just there. Unfortunate that the expansions lost touch somehow and that they are dragging this game out still. But for what it was back then, it deserves a solid 10. Expand
  28. Oct 24, 2013
    10
    World of Warcraft is simply an amazing game that features endless innovation and growth. Additional content and ever changing character balance tweaks keep players challenged. Each expansion introduces new character classes and changes. Players that want to "Finish" the game are missing the point. World of Warcraft is a sandbox game there is no end. You are never forced to do anything in the game, you can even level cap and tweak your character at a particular level. Leveling options are expansive to say the least with at least 7 that I am aware of; 1. Follow Quest Chains and do quests. 2. Farm Mobs without regard for quests. 3. Play PVP Battlegrounds. 4. Do Mining or Herbalism to gain experience. 5. Do dungeons and raids. 6. Engage in Pet Battles. 7. Complete seasonal quests.

    The game has a wide range of Professions that can be followed and levelled and features a very active trading community via the Auction House or in-game trade.

    Although deployment of expansions or occasional content updates usually have some bugs or glitches, up until now Blizzard has always fixed or removed content that causes problems.

    Given the choice between paying for World of Warcraft subscription or buying a new game each month the choice is an easy one for Millions of World of Warcraft players.

    For those who claim "Vanilla WOW was the best", they are ignoring the occasional upgrades to the graphic engine, innovation to skill trees, quest assistance which eliminates the need of quest helper add-ons.

    Most regular players play for a few to several hours a week, however there are some players who simply have to be the best and end up sacrificing disproportionate time for rewards gained. This is not a game issue though, it is a player issue.

    World of Warcraft creates an illusion of a living, ever changing environment and has generated a backdrop of Lore entrenched in ageless conflicts and subterfuge and betrayals.

    Trying to level as fast as possible is almost futile and detracts from the enjoyment that can be derived from just exploring everything the game has to offer and enjoying level appropriate content and challenges.

    Because the game is massively multiplayer with a strong interaction focus players may experience both good and bad interactions in the game and each guild will have a different feel based on the Guild master's guild design choices, morals, ethics and of course the general membership in the guild. Some guilds are helpful, while others exploit their members, so players may need to do quite a bit of guild hopping to find a guild that suits their game focus and social requirement.

    Players who respond negatively are most likely experiencing "Resistance to Change", however the one thing this game does expect from players is to constantly respond to continuous change and progression.

    Blizzard also regularly re-balance the game creating subtle imbalances which shift advantages and disadvantages between classes of character or talent specializations within a class. The deck gets shuffled more or less with each expansion or new PVP arena season.

    Players can expect to get many years of top notch interactive enjoyment as Blizzard devotes a lot of resources to keep changing, updating and enhancing the game. How many more expansions there will be is difficult to assess, but it is certain that players have at least one or two more to look forward to after Mists of Pandaria.

    This game has a lot to offer, and Blizzard have done a fine job maintaining a steady growth of new content and challenges. This game is overwhelming in that there is always something new to do and often not enough time to do it all. However for the many years of quality and dedication this game deserves the highest score possible.
    Expand
  29. Oct 15, 2013
    7
    This IS a good game. A great game in fact. A BRILLIANT game in fact. There is just so much to do, so much to explore, this by far the best mmo rpg I have ever played, EVER. You might think the game play becomes repetitive, but it doesn't, the quests are just SO different and if you get bored of questing, you have raiding, pvp and dungeon raiding, with so much to do, this game becomes awesome fun, and you will waste weeks of your life playing it. The graphics suits the game very well. There is obvious effort put into making this game. And then, your subscription runs out. This game should not have a subscription fee, it just feels like... To be honest Candy Crush Saga, and it is the same story with ANY subscription fee game. The vanilla game should be completely free, the only things you should have to pay for is the DLC, as it makes perfect sense to give players an opportunity for a new challenge. The only problem with this game is the vanilla subscription fee, but that is a VERY BIG problem, it is also the main cause of hackers in this game. The game has all the aspects of a f2p, but isn't. Expand
  30. Oct 6, 2013
    10
    Giving this game low score for other reason than this game's age I think, is complete nonsense or as in my country's tongue, 'hunger for some public attention'. This game first released on what, 2004? 5? Since then, I couldn't find a SINGLE replacement for the online MMORPG genre. And I'm from Korea, a country made out of online games. I agree that the game is no more enjoyable than the previous WOW titles. Half or quarter value at best. But c'mon... This game is beyond the boundary of legendary. Show some respect. Rawrr Expand
  31. Sep 15, 2013
    3
    A terrible MMO that has became a shadow of it's former self. It's become nothing more than a vessel to exploit the ignorant and uninformed with it's extortionate expansion prices and draconian subscription. Do yourself a favor and play TERA or Guild Wars 2 instead. They are cheaper, have much better combat and infinitely better quests.
  32. Sep 8, 2013
    5
    Great fun to play with friends, still the most playable and responsive mmo i have experienced. Do not get sucked into the end game content unless you enjoy not having a life outside of azeroth.
  33. Sep 2, 2013
    6
    Hmm....Considering it says just "World of Warcraft", I'm wondering if I should review what the game was, or what it is now. I suppose I will touch into both a little.

    Vanilla WoW was one of the best games ever developed. It has turned into one of the most boring and lifeless MMOs you can find. The 40 man raids, the challenge, and the interactivity with other players was a huge plus, but
    now, they've dumbed down the game and recycled their ways over and over with every single expansion.

    The game is worth $15 a month, and, frankly, back in the day, it might have been worth it. However, at this point, you're paying for a game that is heavily struggling to stay afloat and has become a lifeless bore that is somehow very addicting.

    Don't buy it. I've played the game for years, and I have hated what it has become. If you're looking for a Blizzard title, buy Diablo 2 instead. Way cheaper as well.
    Expand
  34. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    World of Warcraft. This game is just fantastic. When i started playing this game i did not have a clue what was happening however after a few hours everything came to me. It has a truly beautiful and massive world filled with millions of other fellow gamer's. If you have never tried an MMO check this one out as it is the best one going.
  35. Aug 16, 2013
    10
    Definitely the best Mmorpg out there. It keeps me entertained for hours and I never get bored of it. The new patches and expansions always add new content to keep me playing for hours. Graphics don't look that amazing, but they were never a factor to me. WoW Ftw!
  36. Aug 14, 2013
    4
    Although interesting to begin with, World of Warcraft soon gives way to excessive grinding which is tedious to say the least. The endgame quickly becomes boring after completing all the raids and no matter how many times Blizzard try to flog the dead horse with new expansions, in the end it becomes the same scenario and players soon have to turn to PvP for fun which in turn becomes a race for the best gear.

    World of Warcraft may have been the glamorous mansion of MMOs, but is now becoming abandoned as new, more inventive ones are being released. It has become apparent that Blizzard are attempting to grab as much money as they can before the doors close for good.
    Expand
  37. Aug 1, 2013
    6
    This game was the best!!! until the end of Wrath of the lich king, then it went downhill, with bad expansions, and less interference in the game, just more time spend on the dungeon finder, which kinda made the game less of a multiplayer, i loved those days when you only went to raids once a month, and a dungeon was so hard to find people for that it took at least a week to get in to. stoped after cataclysm, that was the worst ever.... Expand
  38. Jul 31, 2013
    10
    Still the best MMORPG, and I hope it always will be... You can't find find the fun you have while doing RBG's or Arenas in any game but WoW. In PvE, there may be better games but talking as a PvP player; BEST!
  39. Jul 29, 2013
    9
    Surely one of the best games of all time, especially its first, vanilla version, before they got acquired by Activision and dumbed everything down. At least you can still play it in its original 1.12 state on some private servers..
  40. Jul 27, 2013
    7
    Kinda like it except that some some the quests are confusing and you get lost easily and sometimes it gets boring when there's not a lot of people in overall good game recommend to those mmorpg fans try the free version if you're interested in the game
  41. Jul 13, 2013
    10
    I played this game for a long time and i all ways loved it! I all ways thought that this game easily deserved a 100/100. Sadly the new expansion "Mists of Pandaria" did not turn out as well as i thought but all the other ones were good and i can't wait to see what new expansion comes out next! :D
  42. Jul 9, 2013
    3
    I have played every MMO out there.I'm a beta tester for a lot about to come out.So I know a good mmo when I play it.WoW is not a a good mmo.It has no difficulty at all.a boring poorly written story.Boring combat,and just all around a boring game.The only reason this game took off as it did is because at the time of release there wasn't much competition.If it was released today it would be a flop.
  43. Jun 30, 2013
    5
    I honestly find WoW boring. I mean it's fun for a bit, but I think it really fails as a game. It can be fun, and I'm sure it was back a few years. WoW just isn't good anymore, and can't compare to MMORPGS such as the indie Pokemon MMO, or DCUO.
  44. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    Judging from the variety i would say 10/10 because has big content inside it. Judging from the storyline, (yes this game has a storyline) i would say 10/10. Judging from the graphics( most MMO's dont need perfect graphics) i would say 8/10 Juding this game as a social game a game that u can play with friends) i would say 9/10 About the subscription price i think is 9/10 good because this is a big game and has a lot of content and you can play with your friends have fun on PvP or PvE.

    This game got 2 planets, very good story lore .It allows the players to play with friends and the most important are challenges and competition.

    As most games, this games got its problems. PvP is not 100% balanced and its based on burst .
    Not everygame is perfect.
    Expand
  45. Jun 6, 2013
    5
    World of Warcraft is in my opinion highly overrated. with the extremely unpayable price combined with playing against thousands of nerds and boring game play makes a after 20 hours of gameplay a thumbs down to blizzard. 18 dollars a month just isn't okay.
  46. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    World of Warcraft is by far the best video game I've played in my life, and will play. I feel so much nostalgia for this game and so do the people who played back then. Blizzard truly HAS made a WORLD, a real, palpable, world.
  47. May 18, 2013
    0
    I tried World of Warcraft once. And it was one of the most bad games I've ever played. The graphics were fine. But the story was very bad. I wouldn't recommend it to anyone.
  48. May 16, 2013
    0
    this piece of crap ruined my warcraft sires that was all about stragy. this reminds me nothing of warcraft. when i got it after 100s of hours on warcraft 3 i thought what was this and i threw it away and picked up warcraft 3 and played that
  49. May 8, 2013
    9
    When you look at a game like World of Warcraft it is hard to explain in words. Pretty much everything is perfect. Unfortunately, every expansion, the fan base is left hanging for years. Another thing is getting to the level cap, a long, tiring and sometimes boring journey and the price is quite honestly, a bit overly expensive. All in all, however, World of warcraft is an excellent game and hopefully will last for sometime. I did not include the good things because they would be overflowing and reading about them may be somewhat useless as one once you play the free demo you find them. Expand
  50. Apr 19, 2013
    8
    One of the better MMOs its pretty good and stands strong. Sure it takes time to get into but its worth that time! Its rewarding but very user friendly, if your new to the game then every kill feels like the same extremely repetetive compared to other MMOs but........... Then you actually get used to grinding and repetetiveness you unlock more join a guild, and meet new friends. Which is kind of cool right.

    It has flaws like its a bit too easy, PVP is not difficult if you have Hairlooms but you will piss new players off.

    PVP we are talking about a 700 hours of playtime before you should start playing PVP.

    Pros
    -Tons of spells
    -Nice Combat
    -Good Missions
    -Good PVP
    -Balanced Classes
    -Beautiful areas
    -Dungoens
    -Responsive gameplay
    -High levels are fun!

    Cons
    -Alot of bugs
    -Not very challenging
    -User Friendly
    -Extremly repetetive
    -Copy and pasted areas
    -Low levels Arent too fun
    Expand
  51. Apr 17, 2013
    10
    Let me start this review as a message towards other reviews. THIS IS A PAGE FOR VANILLA WOW REVIEWS. Stop reviewing its expansions, there are separate pages for that. I read reviews that said it was great during vanilla (which means original essentially, or before the expansions) but bad when expansions came in. Uhhhh hello? Then review the expansions and give it a low review.

    This
    review may be useless, considering it no longer exists, but the original WOW was amazing. This game defined the MMORPG. Everything about it has been reused and mimicked by other MMORPGS because, lets admit it, this is as good as it gets. I understand that it sucks the life from you (it did for me) but in order to be able to do that, or to get people willing to put up to 8 hours a day into it means that it is good right? Who would put that much time voluntarily into something they don't like? Expand
  52. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    World of Warcraft is hands down one of the best, if not the best RPG out there.
    Blizzard has definitely done a lot to this game and it has a gameplay to account for it.
    I and my friends will continue playing this game for a long, long time.
  53. Mar 14, 2013
    1
    I started with classic WoW, played Top5(PvE) worldwide during BC and owned several gladiator titles. WoW was great til the 2nd addon was released. Today WoW is an unbalanced game for casual games/kids. There is no need for strong guild/ingame friends/skills/knowledge anymore. If you want to play casual style together with some kids, you will find the perfect game. Blizzard destroyed the communities with server, name and race changes for all players. There are no challenges anymore, just easy ways for all stupid kids to get full epic in 5 days. Expand
  54. Jaz
    Feb 24, 2013
    7
    There are a lot of people who consider the original WoW, the "Vanilla" as they call it the pinnacle of MMOs. Too much nostalgia i guess. For lots of players it was their first MMO. Not for me. i had already been a veteran of Everquest 1 and 2. So after failing to adjust in Everquest 2 because of its complete lack of solo content then, i tried WoW. I found a decent game which had lots of solo content -and group one too if you felt like it. It had PVP also. Game was not bad as i said, but i left it after a few months. Main reasons being: Class skills were watered down -compared to EQs-, graphics were too cartoony for my taste and last but not least, community -on average- was far below EQs standards. And in MMOs community is the most important factor. So, no the game was not perfect, but still it was a good MMO. Expand
  55. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    WoW has been considered one of the best online games ever created it takes you to a whole different world full of strange stuff. You can personalize your character and upgrade his gear by the time you level up.
    But the only bad thing is that it is addicting as hell you can spend there 3-4 hours without noticing it , i'll recommended only in vacations for your own good.
  56. Jan 12, 2013
    7
    WoW is a good game. Some of the quests are very boring however, nothing like the epic quests seen in Runescape. WoW also lacks the character development i expect in a MMORPG unlike Runescape which has great character development. Overall forget WoW just play Runescape!
  57. Jan 11, 2013
    0
    Over the years, I've played over 100 different MMO's of all types. Mists of Pandaria tops that list as the worst expansion to ever be created. Bugs go unfixed for months and months, all the while Blizzard's response to bugs is to add more dailies to the game. Mists of Pandaria's focus lies on doing dailies and nothing else, unless you like the horrible pet battle system they put in (boring after 1 minute). Expand
  58. Dec 10, 2012
    9
    The original World Of Warcraft was everything players who loved the universe wanted it to be, sticking to the lore and feeling of the massively popular Warcraft III. A true test of skill and patience for all those who played. Sadly each expansion has "Casualized" this now to its current product.

    This rating is based on the original vanilla version.
  59. Nov 30, 2012
    1
    The game as it stands now is just plain pathetic.

    I remember this game when it first came out--you felt immersed, like you were in the world. You were the character. EVERYTHING you did affected the outcome, but it was still too linear--it still is. You only have ONE choice in the storyline. You can NEVER deviate from it. That makes the immersion and storytelling of WoW's storyline
    really bland, boring and extremely bad.

    Next, the gameplay. The game was using a talent system where you got talents and then as you levelled up, you'd put points into them. It was a complicated system but it worked for WoW. Now they introduced this 'faceroll easymode' setting into the game where you now have to wait 15 levels between each talent point.

    And it's obvious Blizzard favors certain specs and classes over the rest. Arcane magi were the best mage spec in Cataclysm, but now with MoP? It's about as useless as trying to fling mudballs at a dragon and hoping it'll die from being dirty. Rogues are now 100% useless in all situations. Every other class can out-damage them, can out-endure them, and can even find ways to make your CCs even more useless.

    And oh and don't forget the grinding. Blizzard's 'attempt' at making this game compete with others by trying to make it challenging? Failed. The game, for the most part.. is boring as hell, and you spend 99% of your time in PvE just grinding. There's no real thing about this game which gives it that 'unique' feeling. There is no immersion, there is no satisfaction, certain classes are useless in all regards, and they made the game more attuned to some stupid 5 year-old mindset rather than to the MAJORITY of the game's populace, which are 18+ individuals who want a good story, a good immersion, and good gameplay.

    Against other games such as Guild Wars 2, which is focused primarily around hard as hell challenges to force you to get better or stay as you are; or games like Star Wars: The Old Republic, where you are FULLY immersed into it and every decision in a questline is decided by YOU, the player, not pre-coded by a developer... WoW just falls short. Diablo 3 fell short. Starcraft 2 fell short.

    Blizzard has to come to terms with reality that they just can't do whatever they feel like doing, and expect it to all work out. And since they don't really -listen- to their players anymore, there's not much the populace can do for the game.

    In my honest opinion? Go find a different game, this one isn't worth your time or your money. World of Warcraft is nothing more than a money sink and a time-waster.
    Expand
  60. Nov 7, 2012
    3
    This game was brilliant ... 10 years ago. Today it is just a tire rehash of the same old button mashing grind. The graphics are terrible. The only thing keeping this game alive is a dedicated group of players who have been paying monthly for years. It is a financial investment. Yes WoW was a great game, but it is like the 40 year old, former high school quarterback that just can't seem to understand that the glory days of his youth are only in his own mind. R.I.P. WoW Expand
  61. Oct 14, 2012
    6
    World of Warcraft fue un buen juego para mi, en lo personal juegue 6 años y fue bastante divertido, luego de Cata deje de pagar la suscripción porque ya no me gustaba lo que veía, le doy un 6 porque todos estos años de diversión fueron buenos, pero ahora blizzard solo saca dinero por tonterías.
    Graficos: 5 Sonido: 9 Jugabilidad: 7 Contenido:
    6 y solo por el hecho de tener que pagar por las expanciones mas el costo mensual, le doy un 6 en total, si solo fuera costo mensual talvez le doy un 8.5.
    pero ya wow esta llegando a su fin, Espero que proyecto titan tenga algo nuevo que ofrecernos.
    Expand
  62. Oct 5, 2012
    7
    I love WoW, and I find it kind of sad that pretty much everyone hates it. Sure, the payments are high and the leveling is painful, but that doesn't take much out of the actual game, for anyone who's actually tried it. But I really think they're making too much expansions. And they gradually went down hill on MoP. Cata and WotLK were the best imo.
  63. Sep 29, 2012
    9
    I began playing World of Warcraft in mid-2006, and in its original form, it was a work of brilliance. Never before in my life have I been gripped with addiction so completely by a game's lore, gameplay, social life, crafting and leveling system. I'd played all three games in the original Warcraft series and was well aware how captivating Blizzard games were, but WoW was their crowning jewel, in my mind. It had everything - socializing, cooperation, solitary playing, lore, and a difficulty level that made me feel that I'd actually accomplished something when I finally got it right because you had to WORK for what you got - gold, levels, raid progression, rare drops, gear - so when you actually accomplished it, it really felt amazing. "Vanilla WoW," as it's now called, will always remain one of the top games in my mind, and my time spend during the original incarnation of this game will always be remembered fondly. Expand
  64. Sep 29, 2012
    9
    Start playing vanilla almost year before bc, I was pretty much one noob so I could not play at high levels, however, I still remember the amazement every time I discovered a new area and how much I loved those times.
  65. Sep 28, 2012
    0
    WoW was a fantastic game in the past. It was filled with adventure, discovery, and most importantly, teamwork. However, the game has been going downhill recently with the release of the new expansion, the Mists of Pandaria. It has become too simplistic, and plays like a console game. There is no sense of accomplishment and adventure anymore. Clearly, Blizzard is now targeting a different demographic - the game is now for kids. If you enjoy paying a monthly fee AND playing with (other) children, this game might be for you. Expand
  66. Sep 6, 2012
    8
    The overall best MMO I\'ve ever played, I don\'t play anymore because I thought Cataclysm was pretty lame and MoP does not interest me, but the game is 8 years old and is packed with content. You could do a lot worse.
  67. Aug 31, 2012
    10
    *This review is for World of Warcraft "Vanilla" and in general. I'll make separate reviews for each expansion. *World of Warcraft of course is still "king" of mmos and for many it was there first experience playing an MMO, myself included. World of Warcraft gave me 6+ years of satisfying gaming entertainment before I started to become bored of it about a year ago. *Blizzard is always adding new content to the game, adding new features to the game for better quality of life for the players and polishing and improving the features already in the game. Blizzard is always experimenting with new technologies to improve the game (phasing, cross-server grouping, etc.) and is not afraid to take risks. Many times new things they add are successful, occasionally they are not, but Blizzard is not afraid to admit mistakes and take actions to fix things later. *Blizzards customer service has treated me like a King on the few occasions that I have had problems. I can count on one hand the times I've needed to contact technical and customer support so that's quite an achievement when I've been playing the game for 7 years, 6 years full time that I've only had a few issues over the years.

    *The game is very fun to play. The quests and the characters are often very humorous and are also often parodies of real pop culture people and events. It's nice that the game does not take itself too seriously. I think it is the light-hearted humour that has made me feel most at home in the world of Azeroth for my years of spending time there.

    *The original "Vanilla" World of Warcraft was not perfect, but it was excellent for the time when it was released and it has set the standard for what other MMOs need to aim for so for that I must give it a 10 rating.
    Expand
  68. Aug 29, 2012
    0
    no...just no. this game was good (in 2003) and deserved the high subscription fees because of lack of technology propelling the internet. Most people ran on dialup! moden days, everyone is basically unlimited and now it is very cheap to keep servers up, but blizzard continues to charge full price on subscription on this abomonation of a game. play any other mmo for a good time, especially gw2 (no subscription fees) Expand
  69. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    The following statement is just as true today as it was seven years ago: every RPG must be compared to WoW. Otherwise, why would you play it? World of Warcraft does an excellent job of keeping players coming back, again and again. Just when you think you're out, it pulls... Well, you get the picture. People will say it's lost its edge or its greatness, and they're right. It's still better than 99% of games being released today, though. Considering it's nearly 8 years old, that's saying a ton. Expand
  70. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    This is by far the greatest game of all time, yes it is addicting, and yes there are elitist jerks on it, but as far as MMORPG's go this game is the King to never be dethroned. The only people saying it sucks are baddies, who could not defeat any raid bosses.
  71. Aug 27, 2012
    10
    Quite possibly the best game of the last decade. It's pure, fun, visceral gameplay hasn't been matched yet by any MMO. Unfortunately, as with everything mainstream, some people who got bored with this game decided to attack it furiously, mostly due to frustration that their game X or Y didn't kill it as they predicted it would.
  72. Aug 15, 2012
    5
    [WOW] I tried playing this game in 2011.08 - 6 years after release: I did not get it, I could not get it or I did not want to get it. There must be something wrong with me. 10 million people cannot be wrong. 10 million people define what good is and what is not - that is what the good book of the free market states. I am clearly mentally deficient and lacking in neurons. I am some genetic screw up that should be sent back to the vat. I am an old fart - a has been - a pervert - a loser - the lowest dog in the pack - [insert your culturally pre-determined derogatory racist and morally superior moniker here ]. [My PC] i7-2600K 3.4GHz / ASUS Z68 ProGen3 / 8Gig RAM / Radeon 6870 / 1920x1200 / W7 PRO SP1 / G15 / ExpertMouse / Syncmaster 275T

    [MyFavorites] [PC Win7] TheDreamMachine Crysis&Warhead&Crysis2 JustCause2 Rage [PC XP] DeuxExHumanRevolution&TheMissingLink DeadSpace1&2 Fallout3&NewVegas HalfLife1&2 Bordelands BatmanArkumAsylum AssassinsCreed1 Magicka RedFaction Portal1&2 FromDust MrRobot Sam&MaxSeasons1&2 CulpaInnata TheSecretOfMonkeyIsland DreamfallTheLongestJourney Syberia1&2 CrayonPhysicsDeluxe DefenseGridTheAwakening PlantsVsZombies Prototype Bioshock1&2 UnrealTournament3 Quake4 [360] AfroSamurai BrutalLegends [XBOX] HALO KOTOR1&2 Crackdown ArmedAndDangerous AggressiveInline BeyondGoodAndEvil DeadOrAlive1&2&3&ExtremeBeachVolleyball Psychonauts [AppleG4] DeusExMachina ReturnToZork Suspended UnrealTournament TombRaiderSeries [Born] 1964
    Expand
  73. Aug 6, 2012
    10
    The greatest MMO of all time. The often mocked graphics of WoW actually have pretty good design. Models, animations and the overall style is very beautiful and similar to Warcraft 3. Character mechanics are not too complicated or simple. The music, sounds and voices are top-notch.
    But the truly wonderful thing about WoW is its social aspect: making guilds with friends, raiding, chatting,
    making awesome guild events, levelling in groups or just messing around and doing silly stuff. This game really created fond memories that will not be forgotten. Expand
  74. Aug 2, 2012
    9
    Somewhere around patch 1.7, during the vanilla wow period, this game was near perfect. A lot of you don't even remember those times. It's just sad how bad things have gone since then.
  75. Jul 31, 2012
    6
    I really think there is a good reason why this game has done so well over so many years, it is a very solid and well made mmo.
    I think the only negative in my opionion is that the graphics and CC are pretty dated and lacking now. But the world iself is interesting and very detailed, lovely to explore. I love the fishing and the progress of the crafting and other professions. I love to do
    crafting in a game and they have set this up and supported it very well in WOW. I am glad I have spent some hours this summer immersed in the WOW world, its been really nice and smooth levelling. I have found that in many newer mmos the difficulty in reaching level cap or in crafting or in making enough money to get important items just put me off and I left. This game has everything polished and is a very enjoyable and comfortable ride to the top.

    If you are unsure of whether to play this game or not, do the free trial, Im sure you will be hooked by the time you reach level 20 :)
    Expand
  76. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    World of Warcraft holding in a mixed rating is not even close to be fair, most of the negative rating you can see here are raging players that would never leave the game anyway, they just don't like the way it is changing and it can be understandable but the best MMO out-there can't receive such a poor rating.. I'm putting 10, because World of Warcraft brought me the best online experience I've ever had, belonging to the ones that started at the very beginning, and I'm totally objective about my next sentence despit I tried a lot of online games: WoW is the most epic game you can experience out there it takes social, brain and good playing skills to master the game, its the most complete game ever produced and if no MMO ever did as good it's because no MMO proposed such a great and opened playstyle with an awesome universe.

    when you see franchise like Star Wars, LoTR or Warhammer Online failing crappily, you understand how Blizzard game is a true work of art in it's category and changed forever the face of MMORPG games.
    Expand
  77. Jul 30, 2012
    10
    The classic WoW is simply the best MMO of all time, a game never struck me so hard that i was litterly stopping my school just to play this game, simply great MMO!
  78. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    I don't see how someone could hate this game. Sure it may be $15.00 a month but its worth it! For all of the haters that say its too easy, its really not. When you finish the game why don't you just restart! Also for the people who say that the end is boring? If you do everything then there will probably be another expansion out. I cant see how people could hate this. Its a beautiful game with so much content. Expand
  79. Jul 16, 2012
    10
    If you are a gamer and haven't played World of Warcraft then you must give it a go. It is one of the most fascinating and engrossing experiences you will have in a game. The world is immense and varied. The classes all offer unique and interesting play styles. The depth of the game mechanics takes months of play to realise its full potential. Be prepared to lose some of your free time because once you are hooked you will want to play every chance you can get. It can be 'turned down' to run on low end systems or 'turned up' to run on high end systems. Don't hesitate if you haven't tried it. If you get really involved in it, you won't be disappointed. I give it a 10 because its is the best game I have ever played for an extended period of time. Expand
  80. Jul 8, 2012
    9
    Quite a lot mixed feelings over here. The game is awesome. It brought MMO to a higher level, in my opinion. Have played it not much long before the 'Burning Crusade' expansion. I got in the World of Azeroth, thanks to a couple of my friends. They tought me the basics. Graphics are awesome and your PC doesn't need the specifications of a space shuttle to run it on 'Ultra' settings. The music is one thing that will always stick with me, and every time I will hear the soundtrack, it will take me back to those good times. If you played this game a bit longer than your average game, you'll notice that this is one hell of a masterpiece. Creating a game this complex, and therefor, needs a huge team with a lot of experts. Not that surprising they have of course.

    Yet on the other hand, the expansions are sweet, but don't they bring the game only to a lower level? Honestly, most people (of which I am one) find this set back since the beginning, because once a Raid where die hard players with skill. Now they have brought all these features that help the beginning player (which is nice for them), yet easily letting them gain entry with these die hard players. which makes it all the more quite a waste of time. But let's not forget this game is fantastic. Stopped playing it for a while, but from time to time... I really wonder getting started, and getting addicted again.
    Expand
  81. Jul 8, 2012
    0
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. warning you get herpes and dreads and glasses by playing this **** game bad controls boring boring gameplay,it look like it could be made in the 80`s Expand
  82. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    Still the best game out there. After 8 years nothing can top it. Guild Wars 2 may have a chance to do it but the other pretenders can't match the interface, addictive reward and advancement systems, and tremendous variety of things to do in this game.
  83. Jul 3, 2012
    7
    I have played wow for 7 years. And up until cata it was wow or nothing. But in recent content wow has burned and crashed. It had a chance to pull it back in Cata, but chose to ignore feedback and stick to its massive subscribers. Blizzard is rich and gets feed even though its players are leaving, so they took advantage over the fact and left wow to die. Rumor is Blizzard is making a new mmo, possible a mmofps, as of 2012, the genre started and became a gamers lust. all in all Wow let me down after years and years of passive grind. Expand
  84. Jun 27, 2012
    9
    The Burning Crusade was good, Wrath of the Lich King was OK, Cataclysm ditto. But the original game was an absolute revelation when it came out and when taken as a whole, and considering what existed before WoW came along (and even to this day it has very few serious competitors almost a decade later) then you can only conclude that the World of Warcraft experience is about as perfect as it gets.
  85. Jun 24, 2012
    8
    This game changed the gaming history. It has been so influencing, inspiring and fascinating like few was and will be. Soundtrack is majestic, colors and landscapes are delightful, exploration is immersive. Millions of players and years of market sovereignty cannot lie.
  86. Jun 20, 2012
    8
    I literally just jumped on the WoW wagon last week with a few friends. I have to say the games been fun! I have great internet though I do encounter Ip disagreements so sometimes I cant get online but when I do it's overall enjoyable. I was very anti-WoW for a long time but all you out there who haven't tried it, it's free to play, so why not!
  87. Jun 10, 2012
    9
    World of Warcraft is the best MMO I have played. Its pvp, dungeons, and classes are all fantastic. However, I feel that character customization should be improved. Also, once you get to the point where you can raid it requires a lot of time and effort to be allowed to raid by other players.
  88. Jun 3, 2012
    9
    this game is so great i mean hours on hours of game play meeting many people online doing a lot of quest


    down low rating why it never got 10 is because this is not free to play and 60gb worth of download update i rather use my gb on something more important
  89. Jun 2, 2012
    6
    Vanilla was great. Simple, without all this **** around. You want to play a dungeon, you have to go to the stone and get in the waiting list. It was all fun, because you had to communicate really. Now it´s a real bull****. The whole Land is empty, you can run and run and you will see nobody. Everyone is in Ironforge or else and go to the Dungeon, Kill the Boss, Farm and get back to the Sell the Items. And they do that the whole **** day. Or better, they buy directly the Armor Set for 20 bucks in real. This all was pathetic and ridicoulous. So i give a 6 because of the beginning. Expand
  90. Jun 1, 2012
    3
    The expansion packs did not work with our group - i thought when i finally got past all the troubleshooting that I would enjoy the game but it got very boring very quickly. When i meet face to face with players who love the game - i notice that one common fact is that they all haven't played anything else out there.
  91. May 20, 2012
    1
    i would love to play but their are so many games like it that are free. It is pointless to play when it has 100s of copies free to play. waisting 15 dollars a month i am suprised it has such a large community. this game is Great fun gameplay but that much for this just go play somethign else like Forsaken world rappelz and many more F2p mmorpgs:(
  92. May 15, 2012
    10
    World of Warcraft will always be known as the best MMO ever created. it was the first MMO that defined an entire genre of gaming and it'll always be known as "THAT MMO THAT DID IT ALL".
  93. May 7, 2012
    6
    The game was great a few years ago. I remember when I knew what all the items in the game looked like, when it mattered to have rare gear, when the people playing could be relied on to have a bit of skill and some manners. Expansion packs have inflated everything in the game so much and dumbed it down so much that everything has lost meaning. Everything is an endless grind, even grinding raids now. If you've never played it, give it a go, but it's just not the same astonishing experience any more. Expand
  94. Apr 20, 2012
    1
    Simply out of date with times. When WoW first came out it was at the top of it's game with people who cared about what the gamer wanted. Over time Blizzard Entertainment lost focus doing things for the player and started doing things to keep all the subscriptions it could. In short to Blizzard money became king and not the player. WoW history from day one to now reflects this, anyone who played during the early days can tell you the game was fun because it was challenging but over time became a dumbed down care bear game in order to keep your 15 USD a month flowing too it. One of the major current problems other then having a random 14 year old rage at you for now being geared right when you just want to run an instance to have fun is that playing this game feels like WORK. Yes...WORK. One example of this is you HAVE to get such and such armor sets and such and such weapons before you can advance to the next "thing" (Really do not know what else to call it.). I am going to stop here before I risk turning this into a rant and not a review.

    But the bottom line is that World Of Warcraft is a dumbed down game by a developer who lost focus on doing things for the player and started doing things for the money. Blizzard Entertainment MIGHT be redeemed some when Diablo 3 comes out but as far as World of Warcarft goes your money would be better spent on one of the younger MMORPGs from a studio who cares.....about the player.
    Expand
  95. Mar 14, 2012
    7
    good times,this game was the greatest way to kill time,i used to no life it for hours XD but sadly the game died with cataclysm for me,all those new add ons just messed it up.The pvp was a beast but i couldn´t really give a damn bout the quests,if you have never played wow before definatley try it out although personally i dont play it enymore as i prefer swtor with its updated graphics and a good storyline. Expand
  96. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    Classic: 9 TBC: 8 Wotlk: 7 Cata: 4,5. Vanilla WoW was an innovative change to the mmorpg world and for some people mmorpgs started here. Right now Cata is far from fun and they made the game pretty dull with that expansion. I wrote a big review there.
  97. Mar 4, 2012
    10
    wow is the best mmo that there is, i like the graphics and music in it, and the ppl saying something about the gms i have never had problems with them and they are realy nice and polite and jokeing little :)
    and they who say it is too easy thei probably havent done a single heroic raid boss.
    only problem with the game realy is that when the last content of a expansion is out then the game
    starts to get boring until new expansion is released
    and hi who said it took 4-5 weeks to get a hacked account back is lying it normaly takes just max few days
    Expand
  98. Feb 25, 2012
    7
    This review considers the fact that WoW was very different in it's early days, relative to itself today, and especially relative to games in general. In it's early days it was outstanding, a very significant game for the industry. But of course nowadays the same cannot be said, from the point of view of other games today, WoW has become so mediocre, so banal and yesterday, and that can only get worse over time. It did deserve Metacritic's 93 when it came out. But if it came out right now, with all expansions and everything, there is no way it would earn a 93, it would score far lower, and that has nothing to do with graphics although the graphics are quite outdated at this point (and they were cartoony to begin with). I played for a couple years, and it did have some great moments. But I can't rate this game very high for one reason: it's lasting impression on me. Games that I truly enjoy, that are truly interesting, they stick with me for a long time after I have stopped playing. The gameplay becomes a memory that I treasure to some degree, that's what a good game does for me. WoW does the opposite; it leaves a nasty taste in your mouth, and for many people, unpleasant withdrawal symptoms. The game is designed to be as addictive as possible, as opposed to intriguing or profound, which is why for so many their relationship with WoW just gets worse and worse over time, like all addictions. The gameplay is quite boring, but the game does everything it can to get you to play through that. But for me gameplay that isn't even interesting will ruin the experience quite thoroughly. I don't care if the maps are nice and there are some fun guilds you can hang with, if the gameplay itself sucks, so does the game, and no amount of lovely landscapes and achievements can obscure this fact from me. An evening of playing WoW becomes a disassociated blur, peaks of fleeting highs scattered among oceans of boredom and a trance-like time-wasting stupor. The game was once great, now I don't think it can die soon enough. My rating of a 7 is a compromise between what I would have rated it in it's early days (9) and what it deserves today (5). Expand
  99. Feb 21, 2012
    0
    There is a long story that reflects why i score this game so low. However you don't want to hear some guy ranting about how he 'hates wow and all that it stands for'. So let me shorten my reasons to a general feeling. Wow feels, to me - like it was tweaked to perfection. The problem is that it's blizzard's perfection, not ours. What is the one thing that binds you into not leaving a room for 3 hours? Not wanting to be disowned by players who will have their game affected by you leaving. Wow is designed to let the players dictate their own entrapment. Everything, from the farm-like quests to the way people are tied to things - reflects blizzard planning how they can commit you to the game. The thing is, people often don't see these cogs turning. And they believe the feeling of 'place' and 'community' is everything. And it is. In the real world. Don't get me wrong, I am not against games or mmo's. I am against this very specific mmo. Because It's kind of evil. Expand
  100. Feb 1, 2012
    4
    It was a good game for its time in past. Now it just turned into reward/hour with daily/weekly caps grindfest, where developer makes a plan of the week for all players and expect players to blindly grind according to his plan of the week or just stay behind the rat race. Add to this old, old graphics and the last cataclysm expansion with ARROGANT voice acting wannabe, made by one ninja dev who thinks he is multitalented (ok 2 people - one male and one female). It ended up the way that puts each player in the place of grandson listening to grandpa's fairy tale with grandpa modulating voice for each character in his tale. Its just insulting for monthly subscription and expansion's price. Some says: it doesnt matter how you start - it matters how you finish. WoW's finish is disgusting. Expand
  101. Jul 13, 2013
    0
    I played this game for a long time and i all ways loved it! I all ways thought that this game easily deserved a 100/100. Sadly the new expansion "Mists of Pandaria" did not turn out as well as i thought but all the other ones were good and i can't wait to see what new expansion comes out next! :D
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 56 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. Combines not only technical prowess and fine-tuned gameplay, but pleasure as well, making this the new standard for the competition. Word to the other companies: this is the reason your registered users are dwindling.
  2. 90
    The game isn't flawless, nor is it technically finished - a good many quests fall into a "kill 20 of enemy X and collect 9 of item Y" pattern, a lot of promised end-game content still isn't in, and there are still bugs being squashed - but it's easily the closest MMORPGs have yet come to perfection. If this one doesn't hook you, nothing will.
  3. Although it's not as technologically proficient as "EverQuest II," World of Warcraft has a more pronounced sense of style...If you're looking for a new MMORPG, then the World of Warcraft is the very first place you should visit.