Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 15
  2. Negative: 1 out of 15
  1. It's the most manic cartoon fun that you can have on your PC right now, and in a world full of ever bloodier FPSs and beardier strategy games, that's a breath of fresh air we should all be grateful for. [PC Gamer UK]
  2. Everything that makes a game good is featured here: Worms 3D looks amazing, plays like a dream and is drenched in fun and funny.
  3. Team17 did a fantastic job mixing the old style with the new graphics. The quality of the graphics fits this type of game and the game play hasn’t changed, a few things have been added but the core is still there.
  4. Despite the criticisms, Team 17 has still managed to pull off an impressive evolution of a much-loved series. The core game has remained barely unchanged, but the 3D engine introduces a lot of unexpected elements to get used to, both good and bad.
  5. Just as addictive as its predecessors, but features more thoughtful challenges and conquests. [Mar 2004, p.97]
  6. Worms 3D's new engine isn't a necessary improvement on the classic and enduring 2D game, but the upgrade works, even if it makes the controls a little more cumbersome. It still has the tone, humour and playability that is synonymous with Worms.
  7. Bright, colorful, and absurdly caroon-y, Worms 3D is great fun to watch. [Aug 2004, p.64]
  8. There are endless hours of gameplay submerged in this gem of a game, and if you really want a game that will last through the ages, any game with the ‘Worms’ title will fill your need and Worms 3D is no exception!
  9. A cute, quirky little strategy game that has some excellent multiplayer capacity. However, the old-timers out there may find that though the transition to 3D is novel, it doesn't really have much impact on the overall experience.
  10. Use of certain weapons and locomotion across the map can be cumbersome, and the game just doesn't have that same pendulum energy of before in the fights. [Apr 2004, p.64]
  11. Singleplayer is weak - despite well-worked tutorial and mission modes it always feels like target practice for combat with friends - and the lack of online support disappoints. But despite a potentially hazardous dimensional switch, it remains as appealing a way of antagonising your friends as ever. [Dec 2003, p.108]
  12. We love the new look, but we're not thrilled about the tarnished gameplay. [May 2004, p.64]
  13. 70
    The lighthearted, quirky nature of the Worms franchise remains wholly intact, only delivered in a new setting that may take some adjusting to, but will still not fail to appeal.
  14. You'd think jumping would be precisely tuned in a game about accuracy, but here, it feels like a crapshoot. [May 2004, p.85]
  15. While Worms 3D essentially delivers what it says on the tin, in surrendering its intuitive interface the concept has evolved into a far less attractive proposition. A shame. [Dec 2003, p.126]
User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Jun 8, 2013
    10
    This is by far a really great multiplayer game for everyone and I like when I see some fine good worms games so if you are a worms fan like everyone out there then give this worms game a try. Full Review »
  2. Jan 7, 2011
    10
    I played this game for the first time a couple years after it was released. At first I was troubled and frustrated by the controls, but after committing to learning them I was comfortable with the gameplay after a few hours, and after a couple days I was so good I could hit an enemy worm dead-on clear across the map behind an object with high winds, with the trusty ol' bazooka. At that point I had to admit that if I had quit the game due to frustration, not only would I be missing out on what would become one of my top five favorite games of all time, I would be the one at fault, not the games controls. So yes, the learning curve may be high, but it is well worth it to stick it out just for a few hours to learn them and master them. This game has a high value both as a single player game and for challenging your friends to compete strategies. The replay value is also way higher than average for games of this kind - the maps are customizable, the weapons are all unique, and the many different battle settings make for a game you will never get bored with. As you finish one scenario, you will find that you have just thought of another.
    Worms 3D also does not leave you wishing it were in the traditional 2-d format, as it made a very impressive transition to 3-D, with smooth camera angles and new opportunities to approach an enemy worm and shoot, punch, blow up, or gas it dead.
    Overall, I give this game a well earned solid 10, as my favorite game in the worms installment and one of my favorite games of all time - a score you will rarely see me flaunt around.
    Full Review »