X Rebirth Image
Metascore
33

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.2

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 1301 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In the distant future, the X universe faces a period of profound and irrevocable change. While the universe stumbles towards an uncertain future, countless adventures await as new enemies rise in search of power. Enter a young adventurer and his unlikely female ally traveling in an old,In the distant future, the X universe faces a period of profound and irrevocable change. While the universe stumbles towards an uncertain future, countless adventures await as new enemies rise in search of power. Enter a young adventurer and his unlikely female ally traveling in an old, battered ship with a glorious past - two people alone against the galaxy, playing a key part in the events to come. The fate of the universe rests in the hands of the player... Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
X Rebirth - Teaser Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 24
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 24
  3. Negative: 24 out of 24
  1. Nov 20, 2013
    47
    To top off a growing tower of gripes, navigation around space in Rebirth is an astounding hassle.
  2. Dec 2, 2013
    43
    No matter what happens with stability and bug-fixing patches, its poor controls, awful interface, and dull pacing ensure that X Rebirth will remain unpleasant for all but the most forgiving, die-hard space jockeys.
  3. Dec 4, 2013
    40
    X: Rebirth will get better over time, and anyone who’s open-minded enough to look past the ‘X’ branding and see the ‘game’, may even find many hours of entertainment.
  4. Dec 3, 2013
    30
    You can (barely) fathom some good ideas about offering the players more accessibility in a saga that surely needed some, but they soon get lost in the utter and complete mess of unfinished mechanics and bugs that, sadly, is X Rebirth.
  5. Dec 11, 2013
    30
    Long story short: In its current state, X Rebirth is just a sad affair.
  6. Jan 7, 2014
    28
    Patches may stop the glitches, but I think this space sim is far beyond repair.
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    16
    Somewhere in this mess is an X as you know and like it: Smaller, but prettier and with a solid foundation. But with problems like game-stopping bugs and bad design decisions all the ambition goes down the drain.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 634
  1. Mar 5, 2015
    10
    I pre ordered this game and it was disappointing when it had a lot of glitches. The X series has been my favorite since X-Beyond. I knew theI pre ordered this game and it was disappointing when it had a lot of glitches. The X series has been my favorite since X-Beyond. I knew the old games backwards and the new one was alien. I have since grown to love the game. The developers have been patching / fixing / improving the whole time and it's now a great game.
    Looking forward to the next installation.
    Expand
  2. Nov 16, 2013
    8
    Although it does have some bugs and general issues to work out, the game is beautiful and shows a vast and endless amount of possibilitiesAlthough it does have some bugs and general issues to work out, the game is beautiful and shows a vast and endless amount of possibilities with a bit of modding like all X games.

    It's not perfect, but no game ever is despite what people claim. Personally, I like how they did things and i believe that this game has potential with a few months of bug fixing.
    Expand
  3. Nov 19, 2013
    5
    This is my review I did of X Rebirth on my review site, http://tiger-gaming.org

    There has been a lot of hype surrounding the release of
    This is my review I did of X Rebirth on my review site, http://tiger-gaming.org

    There has been a lot of hype surrounding the release of this game, and Egosoft has put a lot of time into creating such a game. After all, with the huge success of X3 and the X series in general there is a lot to live up to. However, no one can argue that the X games are complicated beasts. Advanced fleet management, combat, trading networks etc. Egosoft needed to “re think” and re design the game in a way to not lose the complexity, but to simplify the learning curve to allow more people to become fans of this very deep, and complicated world they created. Well, this has back fired! Is that a terrible thing, I don’t think so. The complexity is still there. It is just hidden behind somewhat inefficient menus, and interfaces. But don’t think for a second this is the end, far from it.

    X-Rebirth is a game that Egosoft has been working on for the past 7 years, and the amount of time and effort put into this game shows. Sure, the models for some NPCs aren't the best, and the dialogue can be a little cheesy, but the real impressive feat is the dynamic living Universe they made. You are just simply a squirrel trying to get a nut in this huge Universe. Of course, that doesn't mean you can’t make a name for yourself, quite the opposite… You are free to do anything at all. You can be a space pirate and pillage any space craft you see, you can be a large scale trade tycoon making Millions, or be the best military combat pilot there is! It’s all up to you, and X Rebirth will let you do it all, at least that is what the plan was.

    The game so far for many people has been a let down. There are problems with random crashing, performance issues, bad dialogue, and poor voice acting just to name a few. I was really excited for this game, and wanted to build up a huge trading empire, and eventually build my own space stations. I haven't been successful so far either due to crashing, being stuck in the campaign, or just plain frustration.

    But, for all that is bad and disappointing about this game, there is a silver lining. Egosoft is very dedicated to the fans, and surprisingly they have been very supportive with the community and expressed sincere apologies for the issues players are having. I applaud them for doing that. Also, they have been busy working around the clock investigating the issues with X Rebirth and are truly listening to the feedback from the game community.

    There is great potential for this game. After having problems with the campaign mode I decided to give the "Free Play" mode a try. And, in this mode it worked quite well. Exploring the Universe that Egosoft created can be breath taking. It is quite large and very well done. You'll find space stations, merchant ships, mining vessels and more just out there, doing their thing. It's all fully controlled by AI.

    Another aspect of the game that does work well is Combat. I had some fun while going after raiders. I am terrible at combat in these kinds of games, but I still had some fun. It's especially nice to blow a ship up that is just getting on your nerves. And after gaining some credits currency you can upgrade your ship, and that makes flying and combat even better.

    As for my recommendation for this game, it's a tough one. Sure, X Rebirth is not without problems, and I am sure you can read about many peoples experiences on the forums and community, but I like to believe there is still hope for X, and so far the developers have shown me that this is true. If you are an X fan then I say buy the game for sure. You know best that the X games have their share of problems on release, but they also have excellent developers and the games become truly great products. If you are new to the X Universe, you may want to wait for a major patch update, or a sale. But I still would suggest that you don't write this game off as a failure.
    Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    2
    To get my overall opinion out of the way, this is an exceptionally poor attempt by egosoft.

    I'm a fan of the x series of games in general
    To get my overall opinion out of the way, this is an exceptionally poor attempt by egosoft.

    I'm a fan of the x series of games in general but occasionally find them a bit too deep and meaningful, you can't just jump and be up and running in a couple of hours. Rebirth seems like it was designed to be that kind of title very suspiciously so) however falls flat on its face trying to implement it.

    Gone are the many, many different systems, gone are the many, many hard to find but ultimately satisfying to get right commands, gone is the ability to fly different ships. What do you gain? An extremely poorly voiced and annoying co pilot, a single ship with very limited upgrade potential, very little control over anything else you own, game breaking bugs even in the tutorial section how can they get this wrong), very poor performance on a relatively high spec machine, about 3 different station interiors to explore....with about 5 people to talk to lots of other annoyances.

    They've pretty much manages to take everything that was attractive about the previous games and either remove or ruin it. Not sure what the development plan was is or if there was a major shift that we dont know about causing the issues but 7years to produce an unfinished game charged out at £40 a time is nothing short of scandalous.

    New players will be baffled as of to why they should persevere, fans of the series will be disgusted with the changes. No amount of patching will fix this game.
    Expand
  5. Nov 25, 2013
    1
    $50 AUD for a game of this quality is absolutely unacceptable. The released version feels like an Alpha test given that all the promised$50 AUD for a game of this quality is absolutely unacceptable. The released version feels like an Alpha test given that all the promised features are still under development, and the sheer amount of crashes and bugs that riddle this game.

    As a new comer to the X-series, I dearly want to like this game. I was sold to the concept of a space exploration game where you could build your own empire. I will never buy another product from Egosoft, I have to vote with my wallet for this one.
    Expand
  6. Mar 16, 2014
    0
    Вам продают новую машину без мотора, какая будет у вас реакция заплатив за нее 100% и что за новая мода продавать не готовую игру (альфу) поВам продают новую машину без мотора, какая будет у вас реакция заплатив за нее 100% и что за новая мода продавать не готовую игру (альфу) по стоимости целой? Expand
  7. Nov 17, 2013
    0
    Having played all X games as they came out from X:BTF, I am very saddened by this release. I pre-ordered because I had faith in Egosoft. ThisHaving played all X games as they came out from X:BTF, I am very saddened by this release. I pre-ordered because I had faith in Egosoft. This game has so many fundamental *design* flaws that there really is no hope that I can see for it. Flying in space is pretty so perhaps they can take the engine and make X4, but the core game play of X: Stillbirth is so bad that I doubt any amount of modding will ever make it right.

    It is obvious they designed it for consoles, and I'd bet all the money in my 401k we'll see PS4 and XBONE ports directly. Sad, because the X series was always a pc based complex trading game. I loved them for that, spent thousands of hours of my life playing the series.

    They kept the game under tight wraps, didn't even send out review copies until release day. Now we know why. Egosoft will never get another dime from me. Hopefully Star Citizen or Elite will fill the void for a fun space sim, because this game never will.
    Expand

See all 634 User Reviews