User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 59 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 59
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 59
  3. Negative: 4 out of 59

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 2, 2014
    10
    Even today, a decade later, those characters I flew with for so many hours as a child are among the most memorable and beloved I know. Ace Combat 5 still soars as a dramatic, poetic anti-war story even today, so many years later. Blue skies, everyone.
  2. Jun 14, 2014
    10
    this is by far the best ace combat game i have ever played. it has some unique missions, beautiful soundtrack, some good characters, great development, and great story. great story and development are 2 things that i really love. the development i mean is the fact that the more you play the campaign, you and your team will be more feared by your enemy, your team mates will call you ACE OFthis is by far the best ace combat game i have ever played. it has some unique missions, beautiful soundtrack, some good characters, great development, and great story. great story and development are 2 things that i really love. the development i mean is the fact that the more you play the campaign, you and your team will be more feared by your enemy, your team mates will call you ACE OF ACES and you will feel like ONE, and it feels really GREAT. it and the engaging story: there are sorrow, betrayed, proud and more; mixed with beautiful soundtrack and epic mission, they make the game indescribable moments. you have to play it yourself. Expand
  3. May 3, 2014
    9
    A completely underrated game. Flying games are usually frowned upon by everyone, but if only they played the Ace Combat series, then they'll regret any ill thought they have towards the flight genre. Of course there are flying games that are terrible, but the Ace Combat series is not only not terrible, but superb, especially Ace Combat 5. This has the most aircraft in the series to dateA completely underrated game. Flying games are usually frowned upon by everyone, but if only they played the Ace Combat series, then they'll regret any ill thought they have towards the flight genre. Of course there are flying games that are terrible, but the Ace Combat series is not only not terrible, but superb, especially Ace Combat 5. This has the most aircraft in the series to date (50+ licensed aircraft plus a few fictional ones). The story is also amazing. In an fictional version of Earth (we fans dub it "Strangereal"), a war has broken out between two countries, Osea and Yuktobania. The characters are quite memorable, and you'll experience a surprising plot twist. The gameplay is amazing and easy to play. The graphics, for a 10 year old game, is stunning. Get this game because it's cheap and amazing. It can hold its own to today's games. Make an HD remake of this game already, Namco! Expand
  4. Jan 7, 2014
    10
    As you might have guessed from my username this is one of my all-time favorite games. Everything about it is perfect, with the possible exception of Nagase's voice actor (in the English version), whom I was not a huge fan of. Two thumbs up without a doubt.
  5. Jun 23, 2013
    10
    Ace Combat 5 is the best game of the Ace Combat series in my opinion. First of all, this game is much longer than the other two games on the PS2 having nearly thirty missions while the other games have around 18. Secondly, I like how this game incorporates the squadron as a whole, while AC04 is solo and ACZero is a duo. You actually grow to know your squadmates as the story goes on andAce Combat 5 is the best game of the Ace Combat series in my opinion. First of all, this game is much longer than the other two games on the PS2 having nearly thirty missions while the other games have around 18. Secondly, I like how this game incorporates the squadron as a whole, while AC04 is solo and ACZero is a duo. You actually grow to know your squadmates as the story goes on and more is revealed about them. Thirdly, this is the most challenging of the PS2 games in my opinion. I'm pretty good at flight sims and there were a few missions that I had a difficult time with. The challenge enhances the experience in my opinion. The storyline for this game is one of the most unpredictable I've come across in gaming, especially for the game being almost completely linear in nature, which is the only drawback in comparison to Ace Combat Zero. As far as overall gameplay goes, it obviously isn't the most realistic game out there, but the lack of realism makes the game more fun because nobody wants to only have 4 missiles and have to worry about blacking out. I don't give out tens often, but I feel this game really earns it based on the storyline and the gameplay which are both great in their own ways. Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2012
    9
    This game is the most consistent out of all the Ace Combats, the roster is simply perfect, unlocked by playing the missions and by scoring points with them you unlock their variants, and you get to personally choose the layout of your unit, while your wingmen don't help out drastically, it still helps to arrange them based on the mission as described in your brief. Missions also change,This game is the most consistent out of all the Ace Combats, the roster is simply perfect, unlocked by playing the missions and by scoring points with them you unlock their variants, and you get to personally choose the layout of your unit, while your wingmen don't help out drastically, it still helps to arrange them based on the mission as described in your brief. Missions also change, some start out as full-on ground attack missions and instantly switch to a named squadron battle where a fighter helps out immensely. Missions layout is great, with variety and a few missions purely based on story telling, they really improve the quality of the story telling but some replay value is lost in them. The characters are great save for Nagase, she annoys the hell out of me. AC5 sets up the story exceedingly well, adding in memorable characters and pasts. The story is dynamic and twists and turns, with you becoming friends with some unexpected characters and past friends becoming enemies. The soundtrack is excellent as always, with some real gems showing through the all-around good orchestral pieces. The game does a good job of rewarding people who play through it 5+ times by adding in hidden plane parts to build an expensive fictional aircraft. The cinematics are downright beautiful, even to this date they rival today's AAA titles, with even AC6 not being as good. The game has a breathtaking climax. However, the dialogue gets a tad cheesy at times(mainly with Nagase), and all around really gets better with later characters like Pops added in. Expand
  7. Feb 13, 2012
    10
    This game is incredible. Although the actual game-play graphics are rather poor, the CGI animations during cut scenes is so high-quality that there are even a couple of small moments when I mistake them for real actors. The plot is incredible, and is not just another cheap war game where you work your way into the enemy and hit their capital and wipe them out. The whole complication withThis game is incredible. Although the actual game-play graphics are rather poor, the CGI animations during cut scenes is so high-quality that there are even a couple of small moments when I mistake them for real actors. The plot is incredible, and is not just another cheap war game where you work your way into the enemy and hit their capital and wipe them out. The whole complication with the Gray Men of Belka made it really interesting, especially with the 8492nd Squadron and Captain Hamilton. Like the previous game in the series, Shattered Skies (A.K.A. Distant Thunder in Europe), it does not take the war lightly. For example, in the mission where you escort the Kestrel and other ships out of Port Hewlett, there is a brief cut scene in the middle, which is appropriate seeing as this is the first mission that you fight planes that aren't unmanned aerial drones, in which the news reporter narrates seeing living people drowning in the ocean after shooting down the Yuktobanian planes, and becomes emotional and begins saying "Just stop this! I can't take it anymore!" This game amazes me even further with the new addition of commands to your wingmen. The action your wingmen take can really change the course of the battle, because they do not go off and clear out enemies if you have them following you in cover-mode the whole battle. Expand
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 57 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 50 out of 57
  2. Negative: 0 out of 57
  1. The lack of multiplayer or online play does hurt the title a bit, especially when multiplayer has been included in previous Ace Combat titles.
  2. 80
    For veterans, it'll feel like the same gameplay found in all previous Ace Combat games--and that's not necessarily a bad thing considering this is a shooter that's still worthy of sitting in first class.
  3. The trouble is, all this story is presented with some of the most god-awful writing and voice work I've ever heard. [Dec 2004, p.112]