• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Mar 24, 2003
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 34 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Superior to the original in every way, and retains its charm while creating a new direction for the series to follow. It is without a doubt one of 2003's best titles, not only for PS2 but across all platforms.
  2. 100
    An awesome sequel to Frequency and one of the best music games on the PlayStation 2.
  3. An easy enough game to pick up and play on the easier songs, but also very challenging and intense on later levels. It also has one of the most fierce multiplayer modes I’ve ever experienced.
  4. One of the most finely crafted gaming experiences I’ve ever had the pleasure of taking part in... You would be doing your ears a great disservice if you were to pass over the game because it doesn’t quite seem like your thing. I can assure you with complete confidence that it most certainly IS your thing.
  5. Amplitude has two great qualities going for it: it's addictive to play and the music really pumps you up. This is one of those rare games where it is actually fun to go back and replay the levels you've already cleared.
  6. 91
    For music and rhythm fans, this is a sure bet, and for gamers in general, Amplitude is an incredibly compelling, addictive game.
  7. If you're not wearing a stupid smirk of satisfaction when you nail your first song, you should immediately check for a pulse. [21 Mar 2003, p.121]
  8. It might take some getting into and it’ll all but certainly fry your brain after extended play but trust us… Amplitude is well worth the mental and physical torment and you won’t play a better music game this year.
  9. Accessible to everyone and extremely addictive to anybody who picks up the pad. It’s a meltdown of different sensations and probably the type of videogame you’d pick to generalise exactly what ‘Playstation’ is all about.
  10. 90
    Only slightly harmed by a few too many big-name acts and micro-glitches, Amplitude is nonetheless a supreme masterpiece; barring its predecessor no music-centred game will ever come close. No, not even "Rez."
  11. I normally want to kick off a few points for a title that closely matches it's original, but in this case, the gameplay is near rock solid.
  12. It's a perfect match for music fans and parents looking for a constructive - rather than destructive -game experience.
  13. 90
    It’s supremely addictive, fun, and entrancing, and not just because of the flashing psychedelic tunnels of light. Plus, the feeling that you’re actually in control of a drum set or a base line is about as good as it gets.
  14. Music/rhythm game with loads of top artists and online options. [Jan 2007, p.106]
  15. It's an engaging, addictive experience that outstrips its predecessor and brings innovation to the genre.
  16. Amplitude has blown the doors off its predecessor with more tunes and power-ups, better control, and crazy new background graphics. [May 2003, p.83]
  17. The improved multiplayer interface, seamless online integration, improved musical diversity, and tricked out visual presentation outdoes its predecessor in every conceivable way. Rhythm-based perfection, thy name is Amplitude.
  18. The closest anyone's got to nailing the mainstream music game concept. If it was just 20 quid, we'd tell everyone to get it. [PSM2]
  19. It’s nice to see that Harmonix decided not to rest on their laurels and instead try some new things with Amplitude, and the diversity in the available music tracks is commendable.
  20. 86
    Graphically, Amplitude is as trippy as some of the songs it features.
  21. The gameplay is simplicity itself, as are the graphics…some may be turned off by this but they will miss out on a fun game that stands apart from your standard fare.
  22. 83
    The biggest change - the flattening of "Frequency's" cylindrical play field - ends up as more of a curse than a blessing. [May 2003, p.49]
  23. Nothing but simple, addictive fun. [May 2003, p.68]
  24. To pull out an old but fitting cliché, "Amplitude rocks". It's easy to pick up (with two suitably patronising tutorials) and surprisingly addictive, despite a lot of songs we don't even like.
  25. Without question a fantastic release, but not the glorious and blinding achievement that many have proclaimed.
  26. Amplitude is actually the perfect sequel. Not an expansion pack; a game that doesn't set out to mimic its forefather, but seeks to change the rules slightly without wholly perverting the initial concept. [June 2003, p.92]
  27. The online implementation is the best I've seen in a PS2 game. [May 2003, p.90]
  28. On its highest difficulty level, Amplitude requires almost superhuman reflexes. [May 2003, p.36]
  29. Different, imaginative and entertaining, it's even more deserving of success than its predecessor.
  30. A great looking and playing game that is ultimately hampered by a limited selection of songs.
  31. 80
    The wide selection of music ensures that it will have something for just about anyone, and the gameplay is challenging and incredibly addictive.
  32. 79
    Amplitude's chaff-heavy soundtrack and flavorless gameplay keeps it from reaching the top of the pops.
  33. Plus, chicks dig it, making it great for couples play. [May 2003, p.113]
  34. You won't be thinking so much as grooving - your fingers just race through the key presses on their own.
  35. The way that Amplitude is structured lends itself more to good reflexes, the memorization of patterns, and concentration rather than simply a good ear for music.
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. aspentitan
    Jan 15, 2010
    10
    This game rocks! (pun intended). It is 2010 as I write this and I'm puzzled because even though this game came out in 2003 it is the This game rocks! (pun intended). It is 2010 as I write this and I'm puzzled because even though this game came out in 2003 it is the first game I'm rating as a perfect 10. It has been a while since I played this but I honestly can't remember anything at all that bothered me about this game and I remember really enjoying it from start to finish. Graphics, gameplay, design, controller mapping, replay value, online, unlocking, remixing songs. At no point in any area of the game could I find any flaws. I started to replay in 2009 and also enjoyed just as much as when I first picked it up. It is so well done and fun it is still worth looking for and picking up, but unfortunately the online aspect has been terminated. It's till a 10 offline only anyway though. Now that it is 2010 I'm really glad to own this because although I don't mind rhythm games, I'm not enough of a fan of them to pretend to play them with a fake guitar controller such as with guitar hero. Full Review »
  2. Inn0cence
    Apr 29, 2005
    10
    I play anyone online, and i'll take you down.
  3. Dexx
    Feb 12, 2005
    10
    Super game! i'm addicted!