Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. 73
    I liken it to a big, dumb, friendly guy: an affable, warm-hearted chap that you'd be friends with in real life even if he doesn't offer any useful insights or advice. Reliable, trustworthy and true: that's Arc the Lad: Twilight of the Spirits.
  2. A refreshing game that is straightforward, easy to follow and most importantly, it's fun.
  3. The graphics and music are very strong, and often approach "Final Fantasy X" quality, but the visual design is much less inspired. [July 2003, p.32]
  4. A nice try at an RPG – it has a nice fresh plot that can both bore you and enthral you at the same time.
  5. This 40-hour quest could've really used a few legitimate dungeons to explore, but the narrative and combat alone kept me hooked. [July 2003, p.106]
  6. 70
    Though flawed and not very much like previous Arc titles (Random battles! In an Arc game!), Twilight's fast-paced fighting and decent story save it from RPG oblivion. Don't worry—it does pick up after the beginning.
  7. 67
    This game needed to get a big kick in the pants in the gameplay and graphics area, and that plot seriously needed to be worked on. This could have been a lot more fun...but it definitely needed a lot more work.
  8. Despite the fun combat, decent visuals and eclectic but strangely catchy soundtrack, the lack of depth and unfulfilling story left me lukewarm and yearning for another adventure with Arc, Elc or Alec... A solid RPG, nothing less, but nothing more. [July 2003, p.75]
  9. Most RPG fans will find some good fun here. However, it just doesn't live up to the older games in the series. It features some interesting perspectives with its dual stars, but its questionable delivery and lack of really compelling gameplay holds it back.
  10. Not the best that the genre has to offer. But, the battle system and the decent story go a long way towards making the experience worth the while.
  11. Perhaps the biggest disappointment is just how easy the game is - winning battles doesn't take much strategy, at least not until the final boss.
  12. Technically competent but uninspired and ultimately unsatisfying, “Twilight of the Spirits” is this year’s sacrificial lamb to the altar of the next-generation RPG genre’s rising standards.
  13. There's nothing to stop a dedicated RPG fan from having a thoroughly good time but the Arc the Lad games have always had a derivative heritage and this is competent but sadly no different. [Sept 2003]
  14. The story and the graphics certainly make the grade, but a few tweaks are still needed in the gameplay to cement this one as a classic.
  15. 60
    Tries hard to please RPG and strategy fans, but it spreads itself so thin in the process that it won't do much for either. It isn't terrible, but everything in it has been done to death.
  16. While your average consumer may struggle to justify another investment of time and money in such an incredibly generic adventure, we genuinely found a lot to like in Sony's latest RPG and we feel a sense of injustice that this enjoyable little game is in danger of being overlooked completely ... the game still delivers an enchanting experience. [Feb 2004, p.122]
  17. The genre has moved on. I hope that the next entry in this series can catch up.
  18. Overly generic... This game has been made before, and its has been made better. [July 2003, p.71]
  19. I actually found myself being so bored at one point that I took to reading out the characters lines in silly voices just to entertain myself.
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Oct 7, 2012
    7
    This game is excellent. The game actually has deep characters(despite looking heavily cliche at the beginning of the adventure) who change asThis game is excellent. The game actually has deep characters(despite looking heavily cliche at the beginning of the adventure) who change as the story progresses, a great combat system for 2003-2004 and a large world that's pretty interesting. This game is an amazing example of a videogame story done right, with us seeing multiple perspectives and making us morality, making us care for the characters and holding to an array of many different themes on the topics of revenge, good, friendship, power and love. A game I would heavily recommend for anybody who likes a good RPG and is interested in an excellent story.

    I would recommend it alone for the character Bebedora, who is probably one the most interesting characters I have ever encountered in an RPG. .
    Full Review »
  2. BrianK.
    Nov 7, 2005
    9
    Excellent RPG actually, what makes it excellent are the story and plot and character development, I don't mean stats but emotional, Arc Excellent RPG actually, what makes it excellent are the story and plot and character development, I don't mean stats but emotional, Arc the Lad:TOTS has living, breathing characters with conflict, emotion and goals that evolve as the game progresses, the story is also great and will keep you guessing and wondering what will develop next, I actually care what will happen to each character, and until it finally happened I wondered what would happen when Karg and Darc finally meet, the fact they begin the game having no idea the other exists, then slowly and subtley crossing each other tracks until they finally meet in an emotional conflict was great to witness as in unfolded, I also love the battle system, strategy plays pretty heavily sometimes, everyone player seems to have a role which I like you have your fighters, mages, archers, and healers. I love some of the battlegrounds later in the game, m only quip is the voice overs though they are good they are way too few far and between, more voice would of been great. Love it still though! Full Review »
  3. Sep 10, 2013
    8
    A really great, if unnoticed, RPG of it's time. Great animation. Ingenious combat system that was ahead of its time. Plus a strong and uniqueA really great, if unnoticed, RPG of it's time. Great animation. Ingenious combat system that was ahead of its time. Plus a strong and unique dual story arc that was done rather well. However, all the praise aside, it also suffer from being a tad too generic following patterns and designs of countless other JRPGs of its time.

    Overall:
    On it's own it is close to being flawless. But it's overall generic design and execution make it enjoyable, but also rather forgettable.
    Full Review »