Burnout 3: Takedown Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 308 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Burnout 3 takes the hit series even further, now featuring a unique "crash and burn" racing concept and a one-of-a-kind special effects engine that delivers spectacular visuals. The intensity heats up as players race, and often crash, their way through oncoming traffic in an attempt to claimBurnout 3 takes the hit series even further, now featuring a unique "crash and burn" racing concept and a one-of-a-kind special effects engine that delivers spectacular visuals. The intensity heats up as players race, and often crash, their way through oncoming traffic in an attempt to claim the top spot. Boasting multiple single-player, multiplayer and online crash and race modes, Burnout 3 offers players the opportunity to race through busy city streets and be rewarded for taking risks that result in heart-pounding action and electrifying crashes. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 52
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 52
  3. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. games(TM)
    100
    Burnout 3 is special. It's not just another racing game, and despite lacking certain features car enthusiasts hold dear (such as customisation and ultra realism) it's easily the most fun we've ever had with any racing game. [Oct 2004, p.96]
  2. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    100
    If you don't like Burnout 3: Takedown, there's something wrong with you...It has completely spoiled me, making it near impossible to enjoy other games in the genre. [Oct 2004, p.102]
  3. Damn near flawless in almost every way shape and form. Brilliant visuals, ear pleasing audio, highly addictive game play, and enough modes and tracks to keep you busy for months on end.
  4. 94
    Burnout 3 will remind you why you started playing games – not because of the competition, or to enter into some fifty hour experience grinding session online, but because of an experience that constitutes such pure fun that it’s impossible to stop a grin breaking out on your face.
  5. With incredibly realistic damage modelling transforming every crash into a work of art fit to be framed and hung on the walls of Paris' Louvre museum, Burnout 3 is a visual dynamo that will floor players with its speed and gorgeous vistas. [Oct 2004, p.122]
  6. Edge Magazine
    90
    It still possesses the series’ trademark ability to deliver Tempest-like ‘in the zone’ moments of remarkable intensity unlike any of its contemporaries, but now comes with a confidently revised dynamic, marking this as Criterion Games’ finest hour. [Oct 2004, p.100]
  7. Play Magazine
    75
    A dose of high-quality gaming fast food that tastes fine but leaves you wanting something that sticks. [Oct 2004, p.77]

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 90 out of 96
  2. Negative: 2 out of 96
  1. FJ
    Aug 20, 2004
    10
    The burnout series just keeps getting better...and faster...
  2. JamieR.
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    Absolutely stunning. One of the best games there are on the PS2. It gives you a real sense of speed (even the slowest cars) and the fastest Absolutely stunning. One of the best games there are on the PS2. It gives you a real sense of speed (even the slowest cars) and the fastest cars make you feel like they're doing 300! I don't see how you could improve on this game...but still let them try. Expand
  3. SnotRag
    Sep 13, 2004
    10
    Wow. Period. If you purchase this game, you will NOT be disappointed. I would gladly spend 80 smackers just for the online play. Wow. Wow. Wow.
  4. BillA.
    Jun 12, 2005
    10
    I just acquired this game when it reached GREATEST HITS status, the other night, I sat down in front of the PS2 and played this thing until I just acquired this game when it reached GREATEST HITS status, the other night, I sat down in front of the PS2 and played this thing until 1:30 in the morning without even realizing it. My two favorite modes are Road Rage and crash. This is a good distraction..okay granted, there are better racing games out there, I will admit that but I just have tons of fun running racers off the track and watching them crash and causing mayhem in crash mode and it's all in the safety and comfort of my bedroom without resorting to it in real life. Graphics are nice, the cars are nice, the price is nice and I figure 4 million dollars in sales in 8 months of shelf life isn't chump change, not to mention the 80,016 people @ 49.99 a pop cannot be wrong...Buy this game, you can't go wrong either. the only criticism I have of the game is the DJ racing rules and crash rules that come on everytime I play, I guess I better read the instructions and see if I can turn it off. that aside, BUY THIS GAME, you won't be sorry. Expand
  5. ScottW.
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    The best racing game you'll ever play!!!
  6. JohnD.
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    This game is so near the perfect game... It's so much fun, but the only thing that starts to get frustrating is crashing into other cars This game is so near the perfect game... It's so much fun, but the only thing that starts to get frustrating is crashing into other cars (thank god this flaw was fixed in revenge). Expand
  7. Mar 24, 2016
    2
    This is suck game for knuckleheads . bad graphics for 2004 , suck phisics . This is baddest criterion games game . Good soundtracks , butThis is suck game for knuckleheads . bad graphics for 2004 , suck phisics . This is baddest criterion games game . Good soundtracks , but Burnout Legends soundtracks better than Burnout 3 Takedown . Expand

See all 96 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

2
3
#3 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
5
#5 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004