Burnout 3: Takedown Image
Metascore
93

Universal acclaim - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 179 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Burnout 3 takes the hit series even further, now featuring a unique "crash and burn" racing concept and a one-of-a-kind special effects engine that delivers spectacular visuals. The intensity heats up as players race, and often crash, their way through oncoming traffic in an attempt to claimBurnout 3 takes the hit series even further, now featuring a unique "crash and burn" racing concept and a one-of-a-kind special effects engine that delivers spectacular visuals. The intensity heats up as players race, and often crash, their way through oncoming traffic in an attempt to claim the top spot. Boasting multiple single-player, multiplayer and online crash and race modes, Burnout 3 offers players the opportunity to race through busy city streets and be rewarded for taking risks that result in heart-pounding action and electrifying crashes. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 52
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 52
  3. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. 100
    Burnout 3 is special. It's not just another racing game, and despite lacking certain features car enthusiasts hold dear (such as customisation and ultra realism) it's easily the most fun we've ever had with any racing game. [Oct 2004, p.96]
  2. If you don't like Burnout 3: Takedown, there's something wrong with you...It has completely spoiled me, making it near impossible to enjoy other games in the genre. [Oct 2004, p.102]
  3. Damn near flawless in almost every way shape and form. Brilliant visuals, ear pleasing audio, highly addictive game play, and enough modes and tracks to keep you busy for months on end.
  4. 94
    Burnout 3 will remind you why you started playing games – not because of the competition, or to enter into some fifty hour experience grinding session online, but because of an experience that constitutes such pure fun that it’s impossible to stop a grin breaking out on your face.
  5. With incredibly realistic damage modelling transforming every crash into a work of art fit to be framed and hung on the walls of Paris' Louvre museum, Burnout 3 is a visual dynamo that will floor players with its speed and gorgeous vistas. [Oct 2004, p.122]
  6. It still possesses the series’ trademark ability to deliver Tempest-like ‘in the zone’ moments of remarkable intensity unlike any of its contemporaries, but now comes with a confidently revised dynamic, marking this as Criterion Games’ finest hour. [Oct 2004, p.100]
  7. A dose of high-quality gaming fast food that tastes fine but leaves you wanting something that sticks. [Oct 2004, p.77]

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 83
  2. Negative: 1 out of 83
  1. PabloQ.
    Sep 7, 2004
    10
    Holy Sh*t i cannot believe this game!!! It is so realistic and fun to play...even your grandma would love it!
  2. JamieR.
    Jun 10, 2007
    10
    Absolutely stunning. One of the best games there are on the PS2. It gives you a real sense of speed (even the slowest cars) and the fastest Absolutely stunning. One of the best games there are on the PS2. It gives you a real sense of speed (even the slowest cars) and the fastest cars make you feel like they're doing 300! I don't see how you could improve on this game...but still let them try. Expand
  3. AlastairY.
    Sep 13, 2004
    10
    It gains the sense of incredible speed that no other game even touches and the takedowns just are the most fun i have ever had on any videoIt gains the sense of incredible speed that no other game even touches and the takedowns just are the most fun i have ever had on any video game. this game is possibly the best game i have ever played. Expand
  4. Neil"Frog"W
    May 3, 2005
    10
    Its good to see that majority people find this game exciting, thrilling, and majorly addictive. Though this game is really huge when u play Its good to see that majority people find this game exciting, thrilling, and majorly addictive. Though this game is really huge when u play the career mode. But gives u a bit of a challenge. Involves major crashes, High speeds, and hectic driving. It's a fantastic experience! whoever doesn't like this game. obviously. can't do it. Expand
  5. JayT.
    Sep 3, 2004
    10
    Burnout re-defines the word fun.
  6. Nov 21, 2011
    9
    Burnout 3 has been my first and last racing game, and not surprisingly my favorite racing game. All of the game modes are very fun and theBurnout 3 has been my first and last racing game, and not surprisingly my favorite racing game. All of the game modes are very fun and the World Tour took me forever to finish. So far I haven't had any problems with this game. Expand
  7. HatM.
    Oct 24, 2004
    3
    This game is ok, but way overrated. OOHHH!!! LOOK AT ME!!! I GET TO DRIVE A CAR!!!! Give me a break. I drive a car everyday and it's no This game is ok, but way overrated. OOHHH!!! LOOK AT ME!!! I GET TO DRIVE A CAR!!!! Give me a break. I drive a car everyday and it's no big deal. Video games are supposed to be an escape from reality, where you get do something you can't do in real life. But it's becoming increasingly popular to do stupid things in video games that you can do in real life like drive. It won't be long before we have "Put On Your Pajamas and Brush Your Teeth: The Video Game." Why don't people try a game where they get to experience something new, like A Dog's Life. In that game you get to be a dog!!! Has anyone here ever been a dog?!! No, it's something new and that's why you should play it. You waste time in video games driving cars or playing football or buying property or delivering pizzas, when you could escape reality. So why are games like the Sims popular? Because people are stupid. People as a whole like bad movies, bad music, bad politicians, bad books, and of course bad video games. It's because of those people that the video game industry is going to hell. But ya, Burnout 3 is OK, but come on, let's try something new people. Expand

See all 83 User Reviews