User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 50
  2. Negative: 5 out of 50

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. WimmekeBelgium
    May 7, 2004
    10
    Nick Van A. You are a faker! You have never even heard of the game! It's a magnificent game! 10 out of 10 stunning grafics and great gameplay.
  2. JimB.
    Jan 30, 2004
    10
    Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance is amazing. BG:DA2 looks like a disapointment. EverQuest is the best game I have ever played, and I am a hardcore gamer. BG:DA in the great world of Norrath with EQ races and classes = NUFF SAID!
  3. MateusC.
    Feb 3, 2006
    10
    Better than Diablo and Dungeon Siege, this is the definitivie 'hack and slash' action RPG ever.
  4. Randy
    Feb 24, 2004
    10
    Game is awesome, if ur not a everquest fan, dont start now , very addicting... to many days i sit there and think wow....
  5. MichaelI.
    Mar 4, 2005
    10
    Champions of Norrath have great music, story, lovely graphics and a ton of replay value. A must in anyones PS2 collection. This is game is absolutely fantastic!
  6. JonnyJ.
    Nov 24, 2004
    10
    This is the best rpg game I have ever played its so cool and you never want to stop i just cant wait until Champions Return to arms come out. This is the best game ever that i have played so far.
  7. SamD.
    Jan 13, 2004
    10
    A new improved DA game from probably the best devs on the PS2, pushing the console beyond it's known limits. The latest videos look fantastic, the levelling looks deep, and replay value is unmatched because of algorithmic architecture, levelling designed for 3 play throughs, and the best player customising needed for this genre. This game will be the champion console A new improved DA game from probably the best devs on the PS2, pushing the console beyond it's known limits. The latest videos look fantastic, the levelling looks deep, and replay value is unmatched because of algorithmic architecture, levelling designed for 3 play throughs, and the best player customising needed for this genre. This game will be the champion console hack'n'slash RPG until the next gen consoles. Collapse
  8. Rader
    Jan 18, 2004
    10
    It's one of the first ps2 online games that actually live up to diablo2.
  9. JeremyM.
    Feb 15, 2004
    10
    This is a great, neverending fun fest!!!
  10. JesseJ.J.
    Jul 23, 2004
    10
    This is a really awsome game but Jeremy... its not neverending i beat it too many times.
  11. Rich
    Feb 11, 2004
    10
    Great graphics, great gameplay!
  12. ChrisM.
    Feb 16, 2004
    10
    Great game.
  13. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    This is PS2 RPG perfection! People keep a PS3 around just to play this game! You will love this game and can import your characters into the sequel too!
  14. BryanP.
    Feb 12, 2004
    9
    Amazingly dazzling graphics, extremely addictinve hack-and-slash game play, and the character customization goes beyond all those currently avaliable on any gaming console out there. Dark Alliance 2 was a major dissapointment unltil I found out it was not made by SnowBlind Studios. SnowBlind Studios has the gaming world's attention, and with its second blockbuster game already Amazingly dazzling graphics, extremely addictinve hack-and-slash game play, and the character customization goes beyond all those currently avaliable on any gaming console out there. Dark Alliance 2 was a major dissapointment unltil I found out it was not made by SnowBlind Studios. SnowBlind Studios has the gaming world's attention, and with its second blockbuster game already storming the market. THis is the game to have if you are a dedicated gamer with the lust for an addicitve action rpg that will keep you up till the wee hours of the morning so you can just complete "one more quest". Trust me, I know! Expand
  15. Jay
    Feb 8, 2004
    9
    Visualy stunning! If your a fan of the BG:DA series you'll love Champions of Norrath. Snowblind has hit a home run with this one. The have taken the clasic hack and slash "Gauntlet" style game to a whole new level, combining the great world of Everquest without the months of commitment needed to level up. I'm sure that Champions of Norrath will be a hit with die hard Everquest Visualy stunning! If your a fan of the BG:DA series you'll love Champions of Norrath. Snowblind has hit a home run with this one. The have taken the clasic hack and slash "Gauntlet" style game to a whole new level, combining the great world of Everquest without the months of commitment needed to level up. I'm sure that Champions of Norrath will be a hit with die hard Everquest fans and newcommers alike. Another great aspect of the game is that it's online and FREE!!! thats right gamers it's free. Online or offline this is a game that fans of Everquest or newcommers alike will want to pick up A.S.A.P. Expand
  16. RobinofLocksley
    Mar 1, 2004
    8
    Good fun, but it sticks to the same prototype as Baldur's Gate, Heroes, etc. It would be nice to see the genre evolve.
  17. MalachiA.
    Sep 25, 2004
    8
    This game so rocks, but takes to long to run around and finish quests and doesn't have massive batles just like 12 at the most at one time. Thats why it gets an 8.
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 51 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 51
  2. Negative: 0 out of 51
  1. A lot of time and effort was put into making sure that a good strong continuous game was played. The player does not feel disjointed by going into a new zone or another act. It is all tied in very well.
  2. Though not the never-ending chain of quests found in a "real" EverQuest game, Champions certainly stands as the longest, deepest title in the "Baldur's Gate: Dark Alliance' vein yet seen on a console. [Mar 2004, p.102]
  3. 90
    Ah, multiplayer, how I love thee. Multiplayer in Champions of Norrath is incredible.