User Score
4.1

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 28 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 28
  2. Negative: 14 out of 28
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 26, 2015
    3
    This game seems to intentionally want to be hard to play. It has multiple levels that are exactly the same, with no way around them, and has other parts that would be fairly workable if the cameras were in sensible spots. They aren't, so you can't see where you are trying to jump, then they shift mid-way through your action, so what was a right move is now a wrong move, you fell, haha tryThis game seems to intentionally want to be hard to play. It has multiple levels that are exactly the same, with no way around them, and has other parts that would be fairly workable if the cameras were in sensible spots. They aren't, so you can't see where you are trying to jump, then they shift mid-way through your action, so what was a right move is now a wrong move, you fell, haha try again. And again. And again. I got tired of trying to get us past everything.
    It's just not fun.
    Expand
  2. Feb 22, 2015
    2
    Don't ever consider buying this game like I did. Movie-to-game never works and it shows in this "game". Graphics are **** Gameplay is **** Everything is **** Do NOT buy this crap.
  3. PeteS.
    Aug 17, 2005
    10
    This game has bad graphics terrible gameplay but johnny depp is hot so that works.
  4. JohnR.
    Aug 6, 2005
    9
    I rented this game from the local video store and love playing it! I originally wanted to buy it. I'm halfway through the game now so there's no sense in buying it. I'm just going to pay the late fees and finish the game. The game does have some flaws with moving and doing some commanding of the Oompa Loompas. I enjoy games like these. I'm not very much of a fan of the I rented this game from the local video store and love playing it! I originally wanted to buy it. I'm halfway through the game now so there's no sense in buying it. I'm just going to pay the late fees and finish the game. The game does have some flaws with moving and doing some commanding of the Oompa Loompas. I enjoy games like these. I'm not very much of a fan of the shoot-em up style. If any games sucks it's the Grand Theft auto series! They make the games way too hard. I bout Vice City with my hard earned cash and resold it because I was bored after a half an hour. Expand
  5. BonbonAliano
    Aug 6, 2005
    5
    Better than the GBA version. But the game is BAD.
  6. RobertoL.
    Sep 7, 2005
    1
    So mind-numbingly boring, that I actually died.
  7. TonyW.
    Oct 4, 2005
    1
    This game is pure cack, I'm thinking of sueing.
  8. Thinkablefire
    Jul 6, 2005
    5
    Yet another game based on a movie. This game should be rented before bought. If you ever played "The Series Of Unfortunate Events" than you know what the style of this game is. It does feature some interesting things within the game like the creepy umpaloompa. in all the game is ok.
  9. KavveenK.
    Jul 28, 2005
    10
    I love chocolates........ Chocolates for free I love chocolates........ Chocolates for you and me!!!!
  10. YeWorma
    Aug 4, 2005
    10
    Yeah! Who doesn't love Chocalate? And my game came packed with a free chocolate bar inside! Wonderful!
  11. Paige
    Nov 19, 2005
    1
    Thank Goodness we rented it first. At least I'm only out 6 bucks. One of the worst games we've ever had.
  12. ChrisM.
    Aug 11, 2005
    5
    The game stinks, Flat out normally when I rent a game I play with it for hours. Yep, only one damn for this one. It's for people who have no sense!
  13. DEVINDEHART
    Jan 22, 2006
    6
    THE WILLY WONKA FACTORY IS A PIECE OF CRAP SO BORING THE GRAPHICKS PREETY MUCH FLAT OUT ARENT TO GOOD THE GAME IS ALRIGHT ITS A WAIST OF MONEY. DONT GO SAVING UP MONEY TO BUY IT. THE MOVIE IS WEIRD. JUST WATCH THE MOVIE IT'S BETTER A WHOLE LOT BETTER MUCH BETTER
  14. BenF.
    Apr 17, 2006
    6
    This game has very short length, but good acting and music. It is not too bad of a game. I consider it an average game. If you liked the movie, you may end up wanting it. Rent it first.

Awards & Rankings

#78 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#86 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
35

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 21
  2. Negative: 19 out of 21
  1. 30
    As I painfully maneuvered my Charlie from room to room, I grew more and more desperate in my attempt to find redeeming qualities in the game.
  2. 45
    It could have played like a slimmed down version of Pikmin crossed with quirky, yet solid platformer elements. Unfortunately, bad control and poor execution ruin the experience.
  3. Charlie and the Boring Factory. It's hard to make a fun game based around these kinds of properties, but that doesn't justify bad gameplay, or a lack thereof.