Contra: Shattered Soldier PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Oct 22, 2002
User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 22
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 22
  3. Negative: 7 out of 22

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DH
    May 8, 2008
    1
    One of the worst games ever made. I appreciate the fact that they stuck to the original action-packed side scrolling genre, but none of the core values of Contra are here. You start with 3 weapons, and only have those 3 weapons throughout the entire game. There are no overhead powerups to shoot down, which was something a gamer could look forward to in the originals. There are three One of the worst games ever made. I appreciate the fact that they stuck to the original action-packed side scrolling genre, but none of the core values of Contra are here. You start with 3 weapons, and only have those 3 weapons throughout the entire game. There are no overhead powerups to shoot down, which was something a gamer could look forward to in the originals. There are three different difficulty levels, and the only thing they change are the number of continues you start with. There is no platforming except for maybe 5% of each level when you battle the "halfway" boss. All in all, this game in an utter disappointment compared to it's predecessors. This game makes me pity the Konami corporation. Expand
  2. TarikT.
    Nov 10, 2002
    2
    Games need change, this is what Contra Shattered Soldier is missing.
  3. JimmyP.
    Jan 6, 2003
    0
    What a waste of money! This game sucks. This game is more frustrating than fun. What was Konami thinking?
  4. JimmiA.
    Jun 4, 2005
    8
    Very good old fashioned shoot´n up. Hard pump action in old school way.
  5. PeterD.
    Nov 1, 2002
    0
    Maybe Im so angry because I had I expectations for this game, but I was truly disapointed with everything about it. They took the original and upgraded nothing or at least what they did upgrade made it worse.The game should never sell for 50 dollars but Konami knows it will because of the name they slapped on it. Save 40 dollars and buy the original for 10. YOU WILL HAVE MORE FUN THAN Maybe Im so angry because I had I expectations for this game, but I was truly disapointed with everything about it. They took the original and upgraded nothing or at least what they did upgrade made it worse.The game should never sell for 50 dollars but Konami knows it will because of the name they slapped on it. Save 40 dollars and buy the original for 10. YOU WILL HAVE MORE FUN THAN THIS DISAPPOINTING GARBAGE!!!! Expand
  6. J.Palm
    Nov 9, 2002
    0
    This game has to be the worst game in history. So, instead of buying this game buy a super Nintendo an get the original or buy GTA:Vice City. (I would pick vice out of both of them though.)
  7. JackD.
    Nov 9, 2002
    8
    Contra: Shattered Soldier is an excellent sidescrolling shooter. Its execution is polished and intuitive, and the stage design is nicely varied, full of cool boss fights and that rarest of commodities in today's gaming world, a genuine challenge. If you can take the heat and aren't a series purist looking for a verbatim repeat of the exact same Contra you played years ago, this Contra: Shattered Soldier is an excellent sidescrolling shooter. Its execution is polished and intuitive, and the stage design is nicely varied, full of cool boss fights and that rarest of commodities in today's gaming world, a genuine challenge. If you can take the heat and aren't a series purist looking for a verbatim repeat of the exact same Contra you played years ago, this one's for you. Expand
  8. JamieW.
    Jan 18, 2003
    9
    What a great game!! Being a fan of the original Contra game, I was anxiously awaiting this game. With sharp, and clear graphics, it is easy on the eyes, but the beauty to this game, is found in the reminiscent gameplay. each time you run through the level, you pick up on more and more ways to pass the level with ease, until you bolster your Hit Rate % (in search of extra levels) to the What a great game!! Being a fan of the original Contra game, I was anxiously awaiting this game. With sharp, and clear graphics, it is easy on the eyes, but the beauty to this game, is found in the reminiscent gameplay. each time you run through the level, you pick up on more and more ways to pass the level with ease, until you bolster your Hit Rate % (in search of extra levels) to the seemingly impossible 100%; and that is only on easy. I can not even imagine the sheer difficulty of this game on the hardest level, but one day I will accomplish this feat. This is a great game to pick up when you have some time to kill, because the action is fast, and quickly pleasing. Once a mastery of the different functions is gained, the levels become much more appealing, and the gameplay much more enjoyable. To fully enjoy this game, you must have played it for more than an hour, so pick it up, if you are game for a challenge. Expand
  9. SamuelV.
    Jan 9, 2003
    10
    Hey-this is da'best game of konami (Contra) run n' gun is back -this game is awesome -"da'classic"
  10. ShaunB.
    Feb 11, 2003
    10
    The enemies are great. it is challenging yet fun. the best bit is the unlimited amount of ammunition. this game is class. i love it!!!
  11. SuperContraDude
    Mar 7, 2003
    10
    Kick ass contra game, its up there with the series of contra games.
  12. JasonP.
    Dec 28, 2002
    4
    Very Tough, but it was much like the origonal, well the one on SNES not really like the one on NES. in any case it was ok, I was going to get Vice city... my friend talked me into getting this. *wishes he trusted his instincts instead* -.-
  13. RickS.
    Jan 10, 2003
    9
    First let me just say that all you people that gave it less than 7 or gave it 0, don't even call yourself a gamer.. Even the critics, since when does "GameCritics or PSX nation knows what a good game is... If any one played the original, listen critics and jimmy, Imran, Tarik, and Peter, you would know that this game is built on strategy, every boss or stage has a weakness or a First let me just say that all you people that gave it less than 7 or gave it 0, don't even call yourself a gamer.. Even the critics, since when does "GameCritics or PSX nation knows what a good game is... If any one played the original, listen critics and jimmy, Imran, Tarik, and Peter, you would know that this game is built on strategy, every boss or stage has a weakness or a simple way to defeat it.. You people are acting like you never played a challenging game before... I mean come on this is not a finally fantasy game that has 4 hours of cut scenes, this is a game that keeps you on your toes and actually make you think... And im not even a hardcore gamer, i play games like devil may cry and GTA, Red Raction, silent hill etc... Konami has done a great job in recreating the old version with graphics and sound(metal), and gameplay.. What did you people want it to be, just run around shooting stuff..Thats not how the old contra was so konami kept the true gameplay and style the same...I mean damn alot of you people and critics are soft gamers.. And this game is fun, if you know what your doing, you should not have bought the game if you did't play the first one, so stop whining you wussys.. If anyone played the first game and was a fan from the start BUY THIS GAME, The graphics are mindblowing and the gameplay is the same, challenging.. Expand
  14. BillS.
    Mar 31, 2003
    8
    Contra has made a fine return to form. The current generation of pussy gamers need not apply. Unless you're around 18 or 19 and enjoyed the originals (or if you think you've got the skill to tackle a Contra game) then you won't be able to appreciate. Sad too, since it's a stellar old-school shooter.
  15. ImranK.
    Dec 24, 2002
    1
    I rate this a one just because I was a huge fan of the Contra series. The graphics stay true to the original but this game is so tough it is like eating a bowl full of leather with gravel as granola. No save progress feature and two player is just as hard. What a let down!!!
  16. Satisfied
    Dec 21, 2002
    8
    I'm just glad to see another Contra. You can only beat the originals so many time before you want more.
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 33
  2. Negative: 1 out of 33
  1. While Contra: Shattered Soldier is a short game, fans of the original will eat it up. It’s also a game for anyone looking for a challenge.
  2. Adding lots of enemies and huge bosses only makes the game more frustrating. Expect veins to pop out of your cranium, and a few broken controllers. Although I did have a tough time getting through the missions, I did have fun.
  3. 80
    Make no mistake, you will die like a fly playing this game, very early and very often. But the pattern design is good enough that skill and perceptive analysis offers the possibility of mastery for dedicated players.