Darkwatch PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Aug 16, 2005
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 37 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 37
  2. Negative: 1 out of 37
Buy On
  1. A generic and quickly tiresome shooter, with a contrived premise which, unfortunately, does nothing to elevate it.
  2. Neither multiplayer scheme makes or breaks the game because the single-player is better than both of them, offering a fast-paced, good-looking first-person fragfest for either system.
  3. games(TM)
    60
    The real joy of Darkwatch, however, is its simplicity. It's a pure, no-nonsense shooter, entirely focused on allowing the player to dispose of innumerable undead in ever more amusing ways. [Dec 2005, p.115]
  4. Edge Magazine
    50
    Nearly all enemy behaviour consists of direct charges, calling on the butt of your gun as frequently as its barrel. While it’s undeniably intense, it soon becomes apparent that this intensity is the only string on the designers’ banjo, plucked with increasingly feverish rapidity instead of ever-changing chords. [Nov 2005, p.105]
  5. AceGamez
    70
    The ever changing campaign, which goes from gunplay to horseback and even skeleton crushing buggies, does a good job of offering new experiences to keep the gameplay fresh, which definitely makes Darkwatch one to spend some time with during the next gaming drought.
  6. Playing good or evil has little effect on the loopy story; although the game kept me entertained, I didn't feel the need to replay for the alternate ending.
  7. 65
    Darkwatch gives vampires, undead, cowboys and plenty of bullets to fire. But that's about it. Otherwise, Darkwatch is a fairly standard affair that's worth a rental.
  8. Despite the outlandish setting and undoubted promise, what survives is just an average first-person adventure without bite.
  9. Darkwatch doesn't amount to much more than your run-of-the mill first-person shooter. [Sept 2005, p.91]
  10. The Campaign won't last long, and the multiplayer modes can be played in any first-person shooter; a short-lived title if it's not careful.
  11. Computer Games Magazine
    50
    Quotation forthcoming. [Nov 2005]
  12. It’s a wonderful and unique experience that really shows a lot of polish.
  13. There's tons of potential here, but it's mired by a lack of variety, pacing that charges through important bits, and a lack of distinct personalities or identifiable characters. It's decent, but what's there wasn't used nearly well enough.

Awards & Rankings

#63 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
#43 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2005
User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Sep 14, 2016
    7
    Currently Im going back and checking out ps2 games that may still hold up today (2016). I think I played about half of this game then put itCurrently Im going back and checking out ps2 games that may still hold up today (2016). I think I played about half of this game then put it down and Im not sure what happened but I sold it even though I thought it was pretty decent. Something about this game just didn't appeal to me as a keeper. The graphics seemed decent, the gameplay was not too bad, the game was glitch free and the theme seemed ok. The chapters seemed the right length, and there was enough player choice. So, I'm not sure why i sold the game but something seemed missing somehow. It is just possible there are too many shooter games that Ive played and although solid this game somehow didn't elevate itself to my likings for whatever reason. But still I would recommend this game it was decent and clean and I can't honestly define what it is about it that didn't catch with me so i have no hesitation saying this game deserves a go even today. Full Review »
  2. ColeH.
    Jul 10, 2007
    8
    It is a great game to play I love how Jerico slauters the zombies and punishes teh EVIL!!! It is a very good game and It is definatly one of It is a great game to play I love how Jerico slauters the zombies and punishes teh EVIL!!! It is a very good game and It is definatly one of my favorite game to play. Full Review »
  3. Anonymous
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    Vampires...cowboys...hmmmmm.