Delta Force: Black Hawk Down PlayStation 2

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 51
  2. Negative: 3 out of 51
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JeffW.
    May 4, 2009
    10
    Great game!
  2. JacksonH.
    Jul 17, 2006
    10
    its the best army shooting game ever made all the others like splinter cell & that r crap compared to this if u r into shooting games this is a must have.
  3. DaveS.
    Nov 10, 2005
    9
    This has pretty decent graphics and for those who compare it to others games..... just don't. It follows the story line fairly well. Hoooah!
  4. Will
    Aug 25, 2005
    7
    Turn the difficulty up and accept that it's not Rainbow 6 or Halo and you're in for a decent tour of Somalia. No, it's not much like TimeSplitters either and I'm sorry that shanty downs in an extremely poor country aren't very varied. I'd say that's because their shanty towns. It does, however, follow the Blackhawk Down story very well.
  5. TYM.
    Aug 23, 2005
    8
    I thought it was a great game.. but it was very short.
  6. Addy
    Aug 21, 2005
    8
    A tripping game i feel i am a soldier playing this game.
  7. PeteM.
    Aug 16, 2005
    10
    This game is soooooooo good i could just let out a baaaaaaaaaaaaah!
  8. Fratello
    Aug 16, 2005
    7
    stop making comparaisions with other titles...its a different game with differents pros ans cons...when you have that in mind you can make a lot better.
  9. BobbyJ.
    Aug 15, 2005
    10
    Kicks ass
  10. Blizzarddog
    Aug 14, 2005
    3
    Lame graphics, guys get stuck, maps sux, reptitive buildings.
  11. BillyK.
    Aug 14, 2005
    10
    This is the number. Game to me all the Delta force Games are cool.
  12. Opie&AnthonyFan
    Aug 11, 2005
    8
    Awesome.
  13. ZackM.
    Aug 10, 2005
    3
    Save your money for Socom 3. I would only rent this game not buy. Those other people who rated this game a 10 obviously haven't even played it.
  14. JeffW.
    Aug 8, 2005
    10
    Great game!
  15. BobbyR.
    Aug 6, 2005
    10
    Superb game, brilliant graphics. Fabulous multiplayer.
  16. RickV.
    Aug 5, 2005
    6
    Decent character models and some nicely rendered desert locales. Your squad members are virtually useless except for tossing you the occasional ammo and providing some health. Enemy AI is inconsistent and soundtrack is annoying-voiceovers become especially repetitive ("Hell of a shot!") Overall, entertaining and better than MOH EA but not a game with high replay value. Personally, Decent character models and some nicely rendered desert locales. Your squad members are virtually useless except for tossing you the occasional ammo and providing some health. Enemy AI is inconsistent and soundtrack is annoying-voiceovers become especially repetitive ("Hell of a shot!") Overall, entertaining and better than MOH EA but not a game with high replay value. Personally, I'm looking forward more to SOCOM III and COD: Big Red One. Expand
  17. TravisR
    Aug 1, 2005
    8
    For the PS2 (an aging console) I was rather impressed. Could do better with online map selections and downloads.
  18. MikeJ.
    Aug 1, 2005
    10
    Best shooting game.
  19. J.M.
    Jul 29, 2005
    10
    Great online. Good offline too.
  20. RobinS.
    Jul 28, 2005
    10
    Dump the rest - it's the best.

Awards & Rankings

#48 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2005
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 25
  2. Negative: 4 out of 25
  1. Edge Magazine
    40
    Frustratingly, the game’s on-rails sequences exacerbate its lack of invention, whipping up enemies that often inflict damage before their location is revealed. When a single rocket can end the game by killing you or your entourage, this tests the patience more than a prosaic shooter has the right to. [Aug 2005, p.97]
  2. If that's not enough carnage, you can also engage in 32-player (50 on Xbox Live) online deathmatch missions, which is technically twice the bloody chaos of "Halo 2."
  3. 90
    With a harrowing 16-mission single-player experience, and monstrous multiplayer arenas, this disc is worthy of your hard-earned per diem, grunt.