User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 116 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 5 out of 116

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 10, 2012
    10
    The best dragon ball z game ever made period. i wish they doing this as a hd collection for the 360. hopefully in the future. ..............................................
  2. ShaneSammut
    Nov 1, 2007
    10
    People say that budokai 3 has been and will be the best DBZ game to ever be released i say no. Tenkaichi 3 for dbz fans will deliver the dbz experiance your looking for!!! it's not that there is over 150 characters, its that the characters are more unique than most would think, this time round they have changed moves for the better. The fighting is more intense and defined, there isPeople say that budokai 3 has been and will be the best DBZ game to ever be released i say no. Tenkaichi 3 for dbz fans will deliver the dbz experiance your looking for!!! it's not that there is over 150 characters, its that the characters are more unique than most would think, this time round they have changed moves for the better. The fighting is more intense and defined, there is no DBZ game so far that you can get hold of better than Tenkaichi 3 Expand
  3. Nov 16, 2012
    10
    When I say the BEST, I really say that this game is the BEST Dragon Ball game in history, and one of the best shonen-anime game too. Hundreds of different characters and more than 40 transformations, hours and hours playing the history mode or playing with your friend at your home. In ps3, we really miss games like this. This game is much better than the two Raging Blast games or UltimateWhen I say the BEST, I really say that this game is the BEST Dragon Ball game in history, and one of the best shonen-anime game too. Hundreds of different characters and more than 40 transformations, hours and hours playing the history mode or playing with your friend at your home. In ps3, we really miss games like this. This game is much better than the two Raging Blast games or Ultimate Tenkaichi ones in PS3.
    I was only 12 years old when I was playing this game, and then my parents bought me my PS3 ... and then I stop playing this AWESOME game. Perhaps the best dragon ball game made in history....
    Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2014
    10
    Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Tenkaichi 3 è il miglior videogioco dedicato a Goku e ai suoi amici e sicuramente è uno dei migliori picchiaduro per PS2.Un capolavoro fenomenale.
  5. Apr 18, 2013
    8
    This is the definite Dragon Ball Z game, and heaps of fun. For those new to the Budokai Tenkaichi trioligy, it's a 3D fighting game that's fairly simple but at the same time takes ages to truly master. You'll have to pick up more techniques as you play, but you can still jump right into the game with the basic skills you need. You can have heaps of consecutive what-if battles with theThis is the definite Dragon Ball Z game, and heaps of fun. For those new to the Budokai Tenkaichi trioligy, it's a 3D fighting game that's fairly simple but at the same time takes ages to truly master. You'll have to pick up more techniques as you play, but you can still jump right into the game with the basic skills you need. You can have heaps of consecutive what-if battles with the game's huge roster, basically containing 90% of the Dragon Ball cast. That's roughly 150 (don't qoute me on that) playable characters. The story mode features most of the major battles of the anime, but not much else it cuts out a lot of other battles just to feature the most barebones experience. Especially dissapointing because there's a huge roster that you can put to use to feature every last battle in the story. Thankfully, you can do this yourself in the standard versus mode and play the story from start to finish (Maybe write down all the battles and what characters and stages to use). Other modes include five different tournaments, which is also good fun. Especially if you can get a friend or two to join. You can also collect Dragon Balls this way, and once you have all seven you can make a wish to Shenron (or one of the other Enternal Dragons, it's randomly generated) and get new characters, stages and customization items. And then there's 'Ultimate Battle', which features a simulation-ish mode where you pick a character and train up until the day of your next fight comes, and through this mode you can get new missions for the mission mode. Clear enough missions and you also unlock a survival mode, where you play one of three scenarios to try and beat as many of the 50 opponents as you can. If you own the first two games you can also use what's called 'Disc Fusion' to access one specific mode from both games. You should be able to find the game pretty cheap as with most old PS2 games. I played the PS2 version, the Wii version adds motion controls with the Wii Remote and Nunchuck so you can use the fighter's powers by performing the motions to use it (you can also use a Classic Controller to play standard style), and you also get online mode, although from what I've heard it suffers from lots of lag, and even then you wouldn't find any matches online nowadays. If you're looking at what one Dragon Ball game to try out I'd reccomend this one, it was one of my first ones. Excellent fighting game for Dragon Ball fans and just pure fun. Expand
  6. Feb 19, 2015
    5
    I'm usually a bit more eloquent with my writing, but simply put, this game was awful. I rented it for a day, and never bought it or played it after that. It delivered none of the fun and the excitement that transpired playing Budokai 3 with friends and family. The controls scheme was horrible, full of meaningless and repetitive button mashing. The voice acting was really terrible,I'm usually a bit more eloquent with my writing, but simply put, this game was awful. I rented it for a day, and never bought it or played it after that. It delivered none of the fun and the excitement that transpired playing Budokai 3 with friends and family. The controls scheme was horrible, full of meaningless and repetitive button mashing. The voice acting was really terrible, especially noticeable with super and ultimate attacks. Supers and ultimates were done poorly and gave you none of the satisfaction that the ones with Budokai 3 gave you. The disc fusion was a gimmick and the potara earings for customizing your character was no where near as good as the capsule system. The capsule system wasn't perfect either, but it was much better than the potara earing system. The soundtrack of Budokai 3 was superb. The soundtrack for Tenkaichi 3 was gutter trash. I really don't understand why some people even liked this game. They have to get their head screwed back on straight. Expand
  7. Mar 11, 2015
    10
    To the date of this review, no 3D fighting game measures up to dbz: bt 3.

    Characters: Almost all relevant figthers in the whole saga, including gt, are here. So pick the one that fits your liking. Story: A quick, shallow version of the series. What's the point of wanting to wath the anime in a game? GO WATCH IT ON THE TV if you want the story! At least it stays true to the story as a
    To the date of this review, no 3D fighting game measures up to dbz: bt 3.

    Characters: Almost all relevant figthers in the whole saga, including gt, are here. So pick the one that fits your liking.

    Story: A quick, shallow version of the series. What's the point of wanting to wath the anime in a game? GO WATCH IT ON THE TV if you want the story! At least it stays true to the story as a whole. It also features some relevant sagas that are not extrictly canon (like Broly)

    Design: Flawless. Both the art and 3D models are up to date.

    Combat: The absolute best in 3D fighting to the date. Fast paced. Precise. Variable. Exciting. Although casuals are also capable of putting the easier combos up for a deluded feel of grandeur, it's only after you expend both hours in training and hours beating your friends that you become as good as in the real anime, letting you relive and even improve the best combats in the anime. You felt frieza and goku talked too much (and they did). Screw that! Get your friend to pro Frieza and fight him in a volcanic Namek. You will feel not only as goku on an about to explode Namek, you will feel a stronger rush from the fight itself than in all those 20'ish chapters all together.

    Overall: 9. It's not perfect, and without a solid group of harcore gamers it gets old fast for single player is not as fun. but...
    Given all the crap there is out there in 3D fighting games (say... budokai!), my score is: a perfect 10!
    Expand
  8. GustavtGamer
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    Amazing Game!! I'm not kidding!!!! Really incredible...150 characters...very sharp graphics, no original BSO ough!!! More combos, more stages, and an incredible much more deep fighting system than Tenkaichi 2. I'm currently playing the Japan region title...And I Love it!!
  9. FedericoS.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    It's just like the anime series!!!! The Story mode...I must say way better than tenkaichi 2, the overall speed of the gameplay it's better now, the graphics...10 points!! I own Budokai 3, Tenkaichi 2 and Tenkaichi 3...and Tenkaichi 3 it's the best! It has so many combos that you could spend a whole year before untapping all the fighting posibilities of this game...and NO It's just like the anime series!!!! The Story mode...I must say way better than tenkaichi 2, the overall speed of the gameplay it's better now, the graphics...10 points!! I own Budokai 3, Tenkaichi 2 and Tenkaichi 3...and Tenkaichi 3 it's the best! It has so many combos that you could spend a whole year before untapping all the fighting posibilities of this game...and NO 151 character...161!! with transformations, skins and altered states, later is the music topic...no problem!! It's really great...no like the original but is ok. But this can be changed if you make a simple mod...just google it. Overall I give it a 10! Expand
  10. KristN.
    Dec 7, 2007
    10
    Simply put, a dream DBZ game. It looks perfect, the sounds are top, and the gameply is brilliant. Sure, it has it's flaws, but these are only minor, and easy to look past. This game rewards the longtime player (and is incredibly unforgiving to anyone unwilling to put the effort in to practice), but once you're able to hold your own against the sometimes infuriating AI, Simply put, a dream DBZ game. It looks perfect, the sounds are top, and the gameply is brilliant. Sure, it has it's flaws, but these are only minor, and easy to look past. This game rewards the longtime player (and is incredibly unforgiving to anyone unwilling to put the effort in to practice), but once you're able to hold your own against the sometimes infuriating AI, you'll be hooked. Expand
  11. dragonballfantopqualitygamer
    May 21, 2009
    10
    The best dragonball game ever, despite minor flaws in graphics engine.Improved control system (although its a little difficult at the beginning).The best recreation of the fights that we saw on TV series. Highly addictive and enjoyable.

    Game Revolution : " I can respect Funimation
  12. SureshM.
    Nov 22, 2007
    10
    This game is a dream come true. Best 3d fighting game ever. The action will leave you enthralled for hours. The learning curve may be a bit steep but once you get the hang of it will be awesome. If you are a dragon ball fan then this should surely not be missed.
  13. Jan 12, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Ridiculously fast paced, many characters and has tons of action, this has got to be the greatest DBZ game i have ever played. If you've played older Tenkaichi games before try this out! If your a newbie to the DBZ world you'll probably have a hard time learning the controls. I give this a 10 out of 10. Expand
  14. Jun 3, 2011
    10
    awesome is just the right word to describe this amazing game.not a fan of DBZ and it's the first game of the series i have played but after 5hours of game play,i just couldn't stop playing.a very addictive game i must say. Being a big fan of naruto,i must confess that naruto's battle system pales in comparism to tenkaichi 3. With such a fast pace combat,a deep deep battle system,fantasticawesome is just the right word to describe this amazing game.not a fan of DBZ and it's the first game of the series i have played but after 5hours of game play,i just couldn't stop playing.a very addictive game i must say. Being a big fan of naruto,i must confess that naruto's battle system pales in comparism to tenkaichi 3. With such a fast pace combat,a deep deep battle system,fantastic game modes and of course lot and lots of playable characters,this game definitely deserves a 10/10.only wished the 2player mode was in btw 2-d and 3-d like tekken 5 rather than the split screen Expand
  15. Dec 8, 2011
    9
    This game is just amazing!The music is f***ing great, the game-play is mind-blowing, everything's good expect...the story mode.
    The game is a master piece its just great...The specials are good even the voice acting is good, good characters and almost all transformations in Dragon Ball History.
    But like i said earlier the story mode horrible and sometimes its like dragon ball AF...You can
    This game is just amazing!The music is f***ing great, the game-play is mind-blowing, everything's good expect...the story mode.
    The game is a master piece its just great...The specials are good even the voice acting is good, good characters and almost all transformations in Dragon Ball History.
    But like i said earlier the story mode horrible and sometimes its like dragon ball AF...You can change the story in every mission and specially in the movies representational, for an example: Broly movie you can kill while playing with master Roshi or Piccolo or Vegeta or...ETC.
    Other example is the Bardock movie where Frieza doesn't kill Bardock(like he does in the story line)but Bardock kills him.
    There's also an adventure mode (like an online game) where you grow level earn Z-points Zeni and other things.
    So yeah if you have a great PS2 collection and don't have this game in it go buy it in E-bay or in the closest gaming store!
    Expand
  16. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    The budokai and the tenkaichi series made my childhood alongside with the anime they are based one. One of the greatest fighting games, if you really are a dbz fan. Go get it!
  17. Feb 8, 2012
    10
    I'm actually writing this review is a response to another review I just saw about this game the annoyed me a great deal. This game is great. It's as simple as that. The Tenkaichi series is quite possibly the great of all DBZ games and Tenkaichi 3 is the best of the series. Although Tenkaichi 2 comes in as the a close second but the third comes out ahead due to balance. First andI'm actually writing this review is a response to another review I just saw about this game the annoyed me a great deal. This game is great. It's as simple as that. The Tenkaichi series is quite possibly the great of all DBZ games and Tenkaichi 3 is the best of the series. Although Tenkaichi 2 comes in as the a close second but the third comes out ahead due to balance. First and foremost I want to say that none of the Tenkaichi games are very well balanced, NONE! However, in Tenkaichi 2 some characters had attacks that were mind-numbingly powerful(Great Ape Baby's Throw), rushing attacks took ZERO ki if they didn't connect and the customization setup was a true game-breaker(Halo for starters cut down energy needed for all attacks in half with no real consequences). Also, everyone has been given their own unique combo set this time around instead of having the generic setup as the other games did and some character have had their move-set changed to avoid having redundant attacks and to keep their techniques more in line to the attacks they actually performed in the anime. So anyone who played Tenkaichi 2 before laying their hands on this will realize that its a bit more difficult to play since you can no longer mash your opponents into oblivion. It actually takes some skill this time around and any DBZ fan should at least have the patience to play this game and realize it's not worth giving a "0" rating. Collapse
  18. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    It's Dragon Ball Z is the best, the battle that are successful is the ultimate battle mode and the scenario are the best but it's the graphic that I was disappointed but despite the ca game is very playable and 'are over 70 playable characters, what good game
  19. May 16, 2012
    9
    A game that needs an award. Why the gaming rating webs rated this game so low. It's fun and addictive. It is flash, and visually stunning for a PS2 game. This is a perfect game for a PS2, and one of the best fighting games ever. But, still I'm surprisingly mad by the bad rating from the gaming rating webs. (9.7)
  20. Sep 7, 2012
    9
    A great game made from my favorite anime the only flaw on the game is the story felt much more weaker than tenkaichi 2 did but overall this is one of the best games on the ps2.
  21. Feb 15, 2013
    8
    When i was younger i loved this game. Yes, the 1st Tenkaichi was too difficult for me, and I had so much frustration with it. Now this game improved that. Controls were good, and i always managed to pull off sick combos. Well okay i played on the easiest difficulty but THAT DOESN'T MATTER! This game is fun, and awesome, especially if you are a DBZ fan.
  22. Oct 26, 2013
    9
    this game is great
    its very adictive because the gameplay is fast and dynamic
    i liked the characters and the attacks
    best dragon ball z game of ever
  23. Nov 8, 2013
    10
    Best DBZ game so far for me. t's basically about every DBZ game ever released, starting out with the first one to the last one. The graphics are similar to DBZ Budokai Tenkaichi 2 and the controls are spot on. The characters are at it's best and the other necessities of DBZ make this the best game so far. The camera can be controlled by you and it makes the best prequel to any other DBZBest DBZ game so far for me. t's basically about every DBZ game ever released, starting out with the first one to the last one. The graphics are similar to DBZ Budokai Tenkaichi 2 and the controls are spot on. The characters are at it's best and the other necessities of DBZ make this the best game so far. The camera can be controlled by you and it makes the best prequel to any other DBZ Budokai Tenkaichi game in the series. Nonetheless, I give this game my highest regards. Keep on doing what you're doing, Akira and Funimation. Expand
  24. Mar 9, 2015
    10
    Best Dragon Ball Z game ever to be made. Literally everything about this game was perfect. Imma go as far as to say that this is the best overall fighting game ever created, right up there with naruto ultimate ninja storm 3
  25. Jan 29, 2015
    9
    Dragon Ball Z has always been larger than life and had been a staple for anime games. Unlike its counter part Budokai 3, this DBZ game is far more absurd, and that is fine. If it is a dragonball game it not suppose to be a Street Fighter emulator, it should feel like a dragon ball episode. This is where the Budokai Tenkaichi delivers massive 3D arenas, the ability to throw energy bombs,Dragon Ball Z has always been larger than life and had been a staple for anime games. Unlike its counter part Budokai 3, this DBZ game is far more absurd, and that is fine. If it is a dragonball game it not suppose to be a Street Fighter emulator, it should feel like a dragon ball episode. This is where the Budokai Tenkaichi delivers massive 3D arenas, the ability to throw energy bombs, instant transmission and Transformations.

    Atari had been really generous with its character selection, with over 150 characters which includes fighters spanning from the Dragon Ball, Dragon Ball Z, and Dragon Ball GT universe, which only assists character customization. This is where the ability to make a character truly your own comes into play. For example King Kai's training gives you one or two extra bars of health, and Dende's healing ability heals you through out the battle, which really helps you in those extra long very close fights.

    The story mode is also a rewarding feature of the games, not only because you play through the sagas you have watched on TV before but also because you get to earn Dragon Balls through the process, collect all seven and guess what you get to make a wish, now granted it is not exactly a wish like in the anime, but it offers many unlockables, characters, and stages. This coupled with the tournament mode makes for a great game that as timeless as the Akira Toriyama's work.

    However at this point the DBZ characters are being rehashed and reused, but there is no way around that and that is understandable, but some of the lower tire characters have the same moves, finishers, and style, and that is just lazy.

    9/10 - A great game for any dragon ball fan, not the best arcade fighting game but it is still a treat to Dragon Ball fans. If you have a copy cherish it, if you don't find one at a reasonable price before it gets super expensive.
    Expand
  26. Apr 14, 2015
    9
    This game is truly amazing! This game has many things to offer . It has very good graphics for a ps2 game
  27. Feb 8, 2012
    0
    I'm actually writing this review is a response to another review I just saw about this game the annoyed me a great deal. This game is great. It's as simple as that. The Tenkaichi series is quite possibly the great of all DBZ games and Tenkaichi 3 is the best of the series. Although Tenkaichi 2 comes in as the a close second but the third comes out ahead due to balance. First andI'm actually writing this review is a response to another review I just saw about this game the annoyed me a great deal. This game is great. It's as simple as that. The Tenkaichi series is quite possibly the great of all DBZ games and Tenkaichi 3 is the best of the series. Although Tenkaichi 2 comes in as the a close second but the third comes out ahead due to balance. First and foremost I want to say that none of the Tenkaichi games are very well balanced, NONE! However, in Tenkaichi 2 some characters had attacks that were mind-numbingly powerful(Great Ape Baby's Throw), rushing attacks took ZERO ki if they didn't connect and the customization setup was a true game-breaker(Halo for starters cut down energy needed for all attacks in half with no real consequences). Also, everyone has been given their own unique combo set this time around instead of having the generic setup as the other games did and some character have had their move-set changed to avoid having redundant attacks and to keep their techniques more in line to the attacks they actually performed in the anime. So anyone who played Tenkaichi 2 before laying their hands on this will realize that its a bit more difficult to play since you can no longer mash your opponents into oblivion. It actually takes some skill this time around and any DBZ fan should at least have the patience to play this game and realize it's not worth giving a "0" rating. Collapse
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 24
  2. Negative: 1 out of 24
  1. Undeniably the best DBZ game to date. The fighting engine has been considerably deepened, the Dragon History mode is flawed but great, and the graphics far surpass the anime.
  2. After three games, you should know by now that this series is primarily for longtime fans, and they have plenty to like. [Holiday 2007, p.82]
  3. The game isn't great, but it delivers the goods for the fans, and that's all it really needs to do.