Dragon Ball Z: Budokai PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Dragon Ball Z: Budokai Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 74 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Enter the Dragon Ball Z Budokai. A spectacular 3D world filled with the fiercest fighters the universe has ever known. Test your skills against the most powerful Dragon Ball Z heroes and the most sinister villains. Every battle is more intense, more dangerous, and more epic than the oneEnter the Dragon Ball Z Budokai. A spectacular 3D world filled with the fiercest fighters the universe has ever known. Test your skills against the most powerful Dragon Ball Z heroes and the most sinister villains. Every battle is more intense, more dangerous, and more epic than the one before. Will you be the last warrior standing? [Infogrames] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 28
  2. Negative: 3 out of 28
  1. A Dragonball fan’s dream. It is the first "true" American game based on the series, and Infogrames really came through on this one.
  2. netjak
    83
    Officially the first fun Dragonball Z game to hit the market. While it has a couple problems in the lack of jump or flight and a few strange mini-games in story mode, this fighter is remarkably deep and entertaining.
  3. Between the terrific cinemas, TV voice actors, and perfectly re-created story lines, you'll really feel like you're playing the show. And isn't that what you've wanted all along? [Feb 2003, p.136]
  4. Fighting Game Fan: "I'll admit, I was surprised at how deep the game is, and I actually enjoyed the Story mode, despite the oddball characters." [Feb 2003, p.104]
  5. If you're an aficionado of the series, then you won't be disappointed with the quality of this title. However, as a fighter the game falls short of the top titles in the genre and will more than likely be too simplistic for fighter fans.
  6. 67
    Slick cut-scenes. [Feb 2003, p.38]
  7. PSM Magazine
    30
    In recreating the action of the cartoon show, the developers have gone the easy route, implementing automatic special attacks rather than an effective combination system. [Jan 2003, p.42]

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 41
  2. Negative: 8 out of 41
  1. EddieS.
    Jan 14, 2003
    10
    This game is awesome if your a DragonballZ Fan, I would not recommend this to anybody who does not like DBZ though. But snice I'm one This game is awesome if your a DragonballZ Fan, I would not recommend this to anybody who does not like DBZ though. But snice I'm one this gets a ten. Expand
  2. IkabarúG.
    May 18, 2003
    10
    The best game ever!!! however, there is more story to be played! not only 3 sagas... where is majin boo? of Super sajain 3?
  3. NightmareVegetaKingVegeta
    Aug 3, 2005
    10
    This game is perfect and this is the first step of Budokai, and there are now Budokai 2, and Budokai 3. So The best of them is Budokai3, but This game is perfect and this is the first step of Budokai, and there are now Budokai 2, and Budokai 3. So The best of them is Budokai3, but if you like DBZ I think that you should have B1 and with Budokai 2. And have fun... I give it 10 Because it's the best of the best. See Yeah... Expand
  4. RichardI.
    Apr 24, 2003
    9
    First thing's first, this is the best DBZ videogame I have ever played. PROS: The graphics are superb, and the gameplay and control is First thing's first, this is the best DBZ videogame I have ever played. PROS: The graphics are superb, and the gameplay and control is great. You can use each character's signature moves and abilities. CONS: Since I AM a DBZ fan, it would have been better if it went up to the Majin Buu saga. You can't jump, or fly left and right, and they should've made it harder to beat. Overall, this game is worth every penny, and if you're a DBZ fan (and have a PS2) I recomend getting this game. Expand
  5. Mar 7, 2011
    8
    Dragon Ball Z: Budokai is a great fighter, with a great selection of characters, and a fun story mode, but is lacking in tournament modes andDragon Ball Z: Budokai is a great fighter, with a great selection of characters, and a fun story mode, but is lacking in tournament modes and replay value, but has some pretty good multiplayer, if your a fan of the DBZ Budokai series and you want to see where it began this is a great purchase. Expand
  6. J.H.
    Jan 7, 2003
    7
    It's DBZ. That's all that really matters. A decent to below average fighting system. Tedious capsule collecting. A short, but fun It's DBZ. That's all that really matters. A decent to below average fighting system. Tedious capsule collecting. A short, but fun story mode. Voice acting, solid music and earth shattering special moves wrap up the package nicely. But like it was said before, without the DBZ license, this fighting game would not be worth a purchase. Pick it up only if you are heavily into DBZ... like me. Expand
  7. Acemebrotha5fingazyomamaVentura
    Dec 8, 2002
    0
    this is the best game i ever palyed in my life. why did i give it a 2?? CUZ thsis game is hott you can actually have sex during the gamethis is the best game i ever palyed in my life. why did i give it a 2?? CUZ thsis game is hott you can actually have sex during the game play!! can you believe it well u need game shark of course and a special combo to unlock and id say i beoive i can fly~~ i beileve i cna touch teh sky thsi si a hott gamwe!!! excellente my brotha five fingers jo wat~jo mama~~~~<^> Expand

See all 41 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

11
#11 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2002
79
#79 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2002