• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Dragon Ball Z: Sagas Image
Metascore
49

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 22 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Recreate the most exciting elements of the Saiyan-Cell Games Sagas, and experience all-new elements from the show that have never been seen before. It is a journey worthy of a Saiyan. Features action/adventure style gameplay; Six playable heroes, including Goku, Gohan, and Piccolo, complete with their Super Saiyan/Super Namek forms as appropriate; Six extended missions covering the major plot points from the Saiyan Saga through the Cell Games Saga; Fight the big Boss enemies, including Raditz, Nappa, Captain Ginyu, Frieza, and Cell; Destructible environments that can be smashed apart; Authentic DBZ combat system, including Ki attacks, smash attacks, and tactical teleporting; Numerous secret areas, unlockable characters, and never-before-seen parts of the DBZ story; Upgradeable characters; Multiple game modes including Single player Adventure mode, Arena Arcade mode, and Team-based cooperative mode. [Atari] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 13
  2. Negative: 6 out of 13
  1. The visuals are bright and colorful, the controls are simple, and overall, the game is just enough fun to spend a rainy weekend with.
  2. 70
    If you're a diehard, you'll relish playing through your favorite early battles in the epic story. Sagas is a competent first entry to the action genre, just not exemplary.
  3. 65
    While the game does look great in still shots, when it's in motion, it never maintains a steady framerate throughout an entire scene.
  4. Uninspired art and level design. [June 2005, p.95]
  5. Dragon Ball Z Sagas is completely broken.
  6. 40
    Control, the most important factor in many games (and certainly fighting games) suffers from a lack of precision and finesse. Most of the environments feel bland, and level layout is equally uninspired.
  7. The story is lame, the gameplay is repetitive and the entire control system is compromised in one way or another. Let the developers fix their mistakes before you throw any money in their direction. Don't even rent this one.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Apr 7, 2011
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I think this game is great. It shows off a new gameplay not yet seen in dbz games. The story sticks to the anime and the bosses are challenging. Having to finish off bosses quickly while transformed is a great example. It may seem frustrating but just because you cant hurt them doesn't mean you cant knock em around to keep them from attacking you. All that gave bad reviews to this game are entitled to their own opinions, but i think their thoughts are a bit misplaced. Anyways bottom line is that i loved this game when i played it with my friends and ,even with the 7th gen consoles, will probably end up buying it since I've only rented it lolz Expand
  2. AmedP.
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    This game was awesome!!!!!
  3. Mar 6, 2011
    9
    This is what I wish more anime games were anime based games were like, fun simple brawlers, it has great co op, and good controls, and is a lot of fun, my only complaint is that some boss fight are annoying because you have to change to a Super Sayain, and it's a pain to do, that aside this is a great purchase for fans. Collapse
  4. JJBaumann
    Mar 31, 2005
    6
    Great concept, but lacks control and the lack of payable characters is a major downside. A sequel needs to be made to show what this game is capable of. Add control and length and this game would be good for not just DBZ fans. All DBZ games have always fallen short of being a breakthrough success. Expand
  5. BarryC.
    Apr 3, 2005
    6
    I was excited that DBZ went to Atari. I see now that it made no difference. The DBZ line of games is living off of it's anime rep. This was the last time I'll try a DBZ game. I can't find one good thing to say about it. Expand
  6. Mar 8, 2013
    5
    This game is a very interesting take on the Saiyan to android saga's of Dragon ball z. As a beat em up style game, this game is quite broken, and has alot of bugs and issues, but still can be very fun to dbz fans. i wouldnt reccomend this to gamers who arent dbz fans, but dbz fans will be able to appreciate this game for doing a good job of following the dbz story arch, as well as do a good job of capturing the feel of the dbz universe, with graphics and music, as well as sound effects and voice acting, that represent the series well. the game mechanics are broken, and if your not appreciating this game for being a dbz game, you might not appreciate it at all. this is really a game thats for the fans, and i reccomend it if your a dbz fan looking for something new. Expand
  7. JeremyH.
    Apr 10, 2005
    4
    There isn't anything good I can say about this game, and I am a huge DBZ fan. Bad controls, bad camera, graphics are a little outdated, low replay value (I mean come on you unlock everything after beating it the first time except the one armed Gohan character which, I guess, takes more then 1 time through), the fights, combo & energy attacks are unspectacular, levels too small, not enough freedom to roam about & the flying is too restricted when it comes to how high you can fly (I mean whats great about an air battle that takes place only about 10 feet off the ground and then is bound to only last for a few seconds), and the storyline is just the exact same from the series (which I expected & there is nothing wrong with making a game that follows the storyline exactly but it was done in such a way I never felt moved by what was going on, but that could be because I had watched the series). Anyways, to say the least I was very disappointed and let down with the game, I was expecting so much more with all the hype about it, but I say its an insult to the series itself and to the past budokai games. I think its time to find a new developer cause it seems that Atari can't get it right, the budokai games are great but they are not without their flaws as well and could be so much better. Sorry if there is anyone who disagrees with my opinion. Expand

See all 10 User Reviews