Drakengard Image
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 55 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.4

Universal acclaim- based on 92 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Conflict has erupted between the Empire and the Union. The Empire, once part of the Union itself, has forsaken peace and accumulated awesome power in a surprisingly short time. Caim, a Union warrior and former prince of a small kingdom destroyed by the Empire, has received word that his castle is under attack. To make matters worse, his sister, Furiae, is still trapped within its walls. In an effort to save her, Caim manages to infiltrate the castle gates, but is mortally wounded in the battle. Slowly dying from his wounds, Caim comes upon a captured red dragon that also lies on the brink of death. Desperate to survive and continue his battle with the hated Empire, Caim decides to enter a pact with thedragon. By nature, the dragon herself is a proud beast that is unwilling to cooperate with humans, but she, too, has no choice but to accept Caims offer in order to live. The pact is a bitter compromise, as it requires the human partner to sacrifice some part of his or her body; the price for Caim is the power of speech. But the instant Caim joins souls with the dragon, the two pactpartners are given new life, and become bound together until death. With his strength restored, Caim rescues Furiae and sends her away to safety with a childhood friend, Inuart. Caim and the dragon then begin their quest to unravel the mystery behind the Empires sudden rise to power. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 55
  2. Negative: 8 out of 55
  1. One of the most important factors of gameplay is the layout of the controller. Square Enix has done an excellent job of making all of your tasks simpler by utilizing the DualShock 2 efficiently and naturally.
  2. The dragon gameplay makes a good gimmick, and the story is strong, but for gameplay, it only has a Dynasty Warriors hack and slash system backed up by good experience gain.
  3. The most glaring error in the game, however, is the pop up. Enemies appear out of nowhere because the engine is unable to draw them close enough. [Apr 2004, p.7]
  4. Just isn't fun enough to keep you playing. With repetitive missions, no multiplayer and mediocre gameplay, it often devolves into a chore.
  5. I'll say it again, if the game had had the guts to end after the first ending it would have been great.
  6. It's uninspired and pretty ugly.
  7. It takes many of the flaws from "Dynasty Warriors" (i.e. repetitiveness and pop-in), and makes them much worse.

See all 55 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 2 out of 14
  1. Apr 4, 2013
    10
    I voted 10 because it just is my favourite game of all times. I know it has its issues and if I was professional reviewer, I'd probably lose my job right away, but I don't really care. There is just something that makes me play this game even after all those years. The most interesting thing about the game is definitely story especially thanks to the unique, mostly completely insane bunch of characters that are far from your everyday heroes. I don't want to spoil much, but let's say our party consists of mass murderer that enjoys killing above all, cannibal that eats children, pedophile, and racist. Oh well... Now about gameplay. Most of you probably know that this game is combination of Panzer Dragon and Dynasty Warriors and it's pretty spot on description. There are 3 types of mission Dungeons, where you have to fight alone, in the air, where you fight airships with your dragon and combination of both, mostly on some plains where you are given choice to either fight on foot or from the back of your dragon. You can get down and call for her anytime. Ground battles are the part of the game I found most fun. During the course of the game you come across many many weapons (around 60), everyone can be leveled to level 4, gain unique combos and more importantly magic, which by the end of the game gets really devastating and quite satisfying to use. Then there is fairly interesting chain system that gets you hooked up during longer battles since you get more experience, buffs, health orbs and other bonuses, the higher is your combo count. Air missions have less variety if you ask me, but it's not really bad. Dragon can shoot homing (weaker) fireballs as well as huge fireball with manual aiming. And just like Caim, she has MP gauge that fills up after certain number of kills, which means you can use overdrive. But like I said it is the story and overall atmosphere (I guarantee you, that music in this game is nothing you have ever heard anywhere else and it's awesome!) that keeps you interested. The game has 5 endings, to which applies simple rule They get more and more crazy. This, along with weapon collectibles and leveling, kinda ensures fairly long playtime and high replayability. Just give the game chance and maybe you will like it. Be prepared though. It's definitely not for everyone, that's for sure. Expand
  2. SquizzyT.
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    Where to start ? this game is unique in many ways like for instance where have you aver come across anything like the pact - partner role . ive played hundreds of games in my time and none give me as much satisfaction as drakengard, i mean who wouldn't want to go round killing anything and everythin that moves. collecting the weapons is probably the hardest part of the game(by the way you need every weapon in the game to get the final ending and i'm at 74% weapon collection so not long left till my jaw drops and i collect flies in my mouth again . the graphics are typical of square- enix hello all you fianl fantasy fans graphics look familiar .this is definately one of my favourite games . if you dont buy it you're missing out so find one of your friends that already has it and beg to borrow. if you like devil may cry you'll love this!!!! Expand
  3. BradT.
    Sep 7, 2005
    10
    This is another great game made by square-enix. I love the fighting style in this game, how you can choose to do melee comboat, or take to the air, and fight with your dragon. Expand
  4. SEGA
    Nov 6, 2007
    8
    Drakengard is a fairly good game by sqaure. I enjoyed it quite a lot. Graphics....In game graphics are average I suppose. The beautiful FMV's though, those are another matter entirely. Love em. Storyline is a little weird at times, but not bad. Pretty original. I like it. Strange at times it seems like it's implying incest or something... And maybe it's just me, but Selee being preyd upon by certain in game characters is a litle disturbing....but that doesn't make the story bad. Just make sure you know what you're in for: quite a different story. And with 5 endings, it really shines each time. Plus the characters are very expansive...hearing Inuart scream "Furiae!" in chapter 6 sends a shiver down your spine. Soundtrack....a lot of people blasted the soundtrack. So many in fact other than the anon guy below, I've never seen a positive review for it. In my opinion, the soundtrack to this game is one of the greatest soundtracks ever made. Get the soundtrack, even if you don't get the game. I can't go into it....it's like classical meeting.....I dunno! Every track could be a last bos or 'ultimate' theme in my opinion. The worst thing is that during some of the verses there are unique pieces of the music used in the chapters, but it has speaking on it. The soundtrack for the game omitted these pieces, and I'd like to hear full versions of the music used in the FMVs as well: you always get a sense that the music has been cut off halfway through. Drakengard 2, the sequel really messed up with the music in my opinion. Gameplay is average. Split into two parts, ground on foot and flying in the sky.A little below Dynasty Warriors because of the lack of a two player mode. The environments are huge, some of the levels in chapter 5 especially make it impossible to kill every enemy on foot without the hour time limit running out. Hack and slash through loads of goons, block sometimes. Plus you can change into other partner characters if you need a hand, and trust me, Chapter 12 is where you'll need it. In the sky, it's a little like panzer dragoon. Lock-on, shoot enemies down, unleash crazy magic. It can be a little hard until you really get to grips with the doging and everything, but it's good. Collecting the weapons is to be honest a little exhaustive, and with no real clues on how to get them, you'll probably be gamefaq.com-ing most of them. But you'll do it just to get reach chapter 13 and take on one of the most hardest levels ever made. Really tough and unique as well. Should have been a few more levels and it'd have been insane. All in all a good game with a great soundtrack, but maybe you should listen to first because a lot of people hate it. A lot of people hate Streets of Rage 3 soundrack as well, even though that's good. Expand
  5. May 2, 2013
    8
    Probably the most f***ed up game I've ever played in my 12 years of video gaming.
    The soundtrack is a blast. Growing Wings FTW )
    The
    characters, except for some, are damn disturbing.
    And the story is just extremely bizarre and it has some of the most depressing and mindf**k endings ever. I'm looking at you Chapter 12 & 13 )
    It's like playing a real existing creepypasta!
    But I've enjoyed every second of it, but too bad the gameplay is pretty stale and that the NA and EU versions are censored because of some taboos in the game such as; incest, cannibalism, etc. It'll make the story very unclear, but you can always look things up on the 'net.
    Drakengard, like I said, is one of the most f***ed up game I've ever played with an awesome soundtrack, average to good graphics and supported with delicious FMV cutscenes...with repetitive and stale gameplay that's unforgiving at certain moments. Damn you save system!)
    Can't wait for Drakengard 3!
    Collapse
  6. AnonymousMC
    Mar 8, 2004
    7
    Dynasty Warriors does a better job of on the ground fighting, and the air missions are aggrivating. Even more aggrivating is how the dragon and Veredelt will pop up to yell nonsense at you during missions and obscure the friggin' minimap.

    For all that, though, I like this game. It's not very deep, but if you just want to slice up some suckers, it's fun. The worst part is DEFINITLY the story, which is totally nonsensical. Anyone who says it's deep or even understandable is a liar. I brought, but you should rent.
    Expand
  7. Bameboy
    Feb 28, 2004
    2
    This is no match for panzer dragon orta and forget it!

See all 14 User Reviews