DRIV3R Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 107 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DRIV3R is an action-packed driving adventure game that recreates the excitement of a Hollywood blockbuster and plays like an interactive movie. DRIV3R stays true to its roots, incorporating the cinematic gameplay and gritty street crime of its predecessors with ground breaking graphics andDRIV3R is an action-packed driving adventure game that recreates the excitement of a Hollywood blockbuster and plays like an interactive movie. DRIV3R stays true to its roots, incorporating the cinematic gameplay and gritty street crime of its predecessors with ground breaking graphics and three mammoth wide open city environments. Featuring Hollywood-level production values and a gripping, narrative story line, DRIV3R casts players once again as Tanner, a jaw breaking, no-holds-barred undercover cop and master "Wheelman" who does whatever it takes to bring the bad guys down. Tanner, alongside his longtime partner, Tobias, must infiltrate a global car theft ring in tire squealing chases and fierce on-foot firefights while tailing gangsters, chasing witnesses, stealing cars and unloading massive clips of ammo to bring the criminals to justice. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 51
  2. Negative: 11 out of 51
  1. The graphics are divine, with vast urban locales and spectacular crashes. The cars handle well, and each vehicle has its own characteristics. Yet this is no easy driving game — one of the reasons why, subject matter aside, it carries a 16+ rating.
  2. This is the first game to successfully mix death-on-the-freeway antics with a plot you might actually care about, and it's worth a shot for that alone.
  3. If you’re looking for a racing or action game, you’re better off buying a title more focused on those genres.
  4. The character controls are pretty standard to both third person and FPS titles, but they are very stiff and slow. Not the kind of thing you want in a shoot-out or high-speed chase.
  5. 54
    On its own, it's troubled with unforgivably terrible AI, poor out-of-car controls, and some awfully designed levels...Compared to other games of its kind, DRIV3R falls on its face.
  6. Rockstar take three years to produce masterpieces, benchmarks of game design, but Reflections have taken almost double that time and give us an unfinished, unpolished mess.
  7. Edge Magazine
    30
    This game did not need to be a bad one: the premise remains ripe with extraordinary possibilities. This, however, simply squanders them, showing a determination to prioritise style over substance which cripples the game and damages gaming as a whole. [Aug 2004, p.94]

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 36
  2. Negative: 16 out of 36
  1. ToddT.
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    this game is awsome the only prob is it is very glitchy.
  2. Christian
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    Great game.. the physics the gameplay, graphics.. they are all good
  3. ChrisW.
    Jul 1, 2004
    9
    People need to stop compairing this game to GTA. This game is better than GTA. If you remember Driver 2, you could do everything that you People need to stop compairing this game to GTA. This game is better than GTA. If you remember Driver 2, you could do everything that you could do in GTA (subtract beating hookers and shootouts). So really, GTA copied Driver. Driver was better then, and it's better now. Graphics are amazing. Yes, some clunky controls, but then can be forgiven by the gameplay and graphics. great game, a must own. Expand
  4. MikeHBC
    Aug 11, 2004
    5
    Would you people PLEASE stop comparing the game to GTA? Can't a game be good or bad on its own merits? Personally, GTA III and Vice City Would you people PLEASE stop comparing the game to GTA? Can't a game be good or bad on its own merits? Personally, GTA III and Vice City are my two favorite games ever, but that doesn't mean Driv3r should get a zero because I don't think it is as good as GTA. This game has some great aspects: huge cities, a wide variety of cars, and a good Driving Games mode. However, there are SO FEW missions that 90% of the city's roads are untapped in the story mode, and the free ride mode has absolutely no purpose whatsoever. The graphics are OK, but far from great, and there are a lot of bugs. The lifespan of the game is very short- once you've completed the missions and the driving games, there's very little left to do. Driv3r isn't horrible (it's title might be, but the game isn't). The problem is that the game simply isn't that good. The city goes mostly unused, there's no replay value, many of the missions are very similar, the sound is merely average, and overall, a whole lot of things could have been much better. Expand
  5. VroonJ.
    Apr 15, 2007
    4
    There are many things I would like to say about this game. First, when I began playing I realized that I handed over my hard earned two weeks There are many things I would like to say about this game. First, when I began playing I realized that I handed over my hard earned two weeks of work in exchange for a box of chickens posing as turkeys. Have you ever heard a cat bark or a dog meow? Its how I feel about this HUGE GTA WANNABE! The game was put together so horribly that it's as if the makers really want you to think that they played a GTA title and then they said," Dude let's make a copy of this!" After my comments you might want to think why I rated it 4. The game does have its moments but the story most makes me speechless. I'm talking BORING! So anyhow, a nice feature is that you can record videos of you playing and play them back. Expand
  6. DavidR.
    Sep 6, 2004
    2
    This game sucks u cant even run through a light post when ur driving. the graphics are good tho.
  7. AverageGuy
    Jun 22, 2004
    0
    This was going to be a killer-game, or a publisher-killer.
    I think it could be the latter.
    After so many delays, and pumping so much money
    This was going to be a killer-game, or a publisher-killer.
    I think it could be the latter.
    After so many delays, and pumping so much money into this, Atari *had* to release it in order to try and recoup their losses.
    You can only polish a turd so much. This is an expensive turd - adios Atari.
    Expand

See all 36 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.

Awards & Rankings

20
#20 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2004
10
#10 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2004