DRIV3R Image
Metascore
57

Mixed or average reviews - based on 51 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DRIV3R is an action-packed driving adventure game that recreates the excitement of a Hollywood blockbuster and plays like an interactive movie. DRIV3R stays true to its roots, incorporating the cinematic gameplay and gritty street crime of its predecessors with ground breaking graphics andDRIV3R is an action-packed driving adventure game that recreates the excitement of a Hollywood blockbuster and plays like an interactive movie. DRIV3R stays true to its roots, incorporating the cinematic gameplay and gritty street crime of its predecessors with ground breaking graphics and three mammoth wide open city environments. Featuring Hollywood-level production values and a gripping, narrative story line, DRIV3R casts players once again as Tanner, a jaw breaking, no-holds-barred undercover cop and master "Wheelman" who does whatever it takes to bring the bad guys down. Tanner, alongside his longtime partner, Tobias, must infiltrate a global car theft ring in tire squealing chases and fierce on-foot firefights while tailing gangsters, chasing witnesses, stealing cars and unloading massive clips of ammo to bring the criminals to justice. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 51
  2. Negative: 11 out of 51
  1. The graphics are divine, with vast urban locales and spectacular crashes. The cars handle well, and each vehicle has its own characteristics. Yet this is no easy driving game — one of the reasons why, subject matter aside, it carries a 16+ rating.
  2. This is the first game to successfully mix death-on-the-freeway antics with a plot you might actually care about, and it's worth a shot for that alone.
  3. If you’re looking for a racing or action game, you’re better off buying a title more focused on those genres.
  4. The character controls are pretty standard to both third person and FPS titles, but they are very stiff and slow. Not the kind of thing you want in a shoot-out or high-speed chase.
  5. While the PS2 version of Driver 3 doesn't have quite as many glitches and problems as the Xbox release, the game still feels like a buggy, unfinished product. What's more, much of the gameplay is uninspired, frequently frustrating, and boring.
  6. Rockstar take three years to produce masterpieces, benchmarks of game design, but Reflections have taken almost double that time and give us an unfinished, unpolished mess.
  7. Only a masochist would have the patience and stamina to finish it. I was on one of the game's final missions when, after what was at least my twenty-fifth re-start, I impulsively hit the OFF switch on my television. I'd had enough. I opened a beer, then sat in the darkness, enjoying the sudden silence and the fact that this game, which had been vexing me for days, was once and for all out of my life.

See all 51 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 32
  2. Negative: 13 out of 32
  1. ToddT.
    Dec 7, 2005
    10
    this game is awsome the only prob is it is very glitchy.
  2. Christian
    Jun 29, 2004
    10
    Great game.. the physics the gameplay, graphics.. they are all good
  3. ChrisW.
    Jul 1, 2004
    9
    People need to stop compairing this game to GTA. This game is better than GTA. If you remember Driver 2, you could do everything that you People need to stop compairing this game to GTA. This game is better than GTA. If you remember Driver 2, you could do everything that you could do in GTA (subtract beating hookers and shootouts). So really, GTA copied Driver. Driver was better then, and it's better now. Graphics are amazing. Yes, some clunky controls, but then can be forgiven by the gameplay and graphics. great game, a must own. Expand
  4. ArakahsW.
    May 22, 2008
    5
    This game had the potential to be good, but with all of the flaws on it, it ccan barely be called a game. A two year old could have made a This game had the potential to be good, but with all of the flaws on it, it ccan barely be called a game. A two year old could have made a better game than this. It was a huge disappointment. Expand
  5. VroonJ.
    Apr 15, 2007
    4
    There are many things I would like to say about this game. First, when I began playing I realized that I handed over my hard earned two weeks There are many things I would like to say about this game. First, when I began playing I realized that I handed over my hard earned two weeks of work in exchange for a box of chickens posing as turkeys. Have you ever heard a cat bark or a dog meow? Its how I feel about this HUGE GTA WANNABE! The game was put together so horribly that it's as if the makers really want you to think that they played a GTA title and then they said," Dude let's make a copy of this!" After my comments you might want to think why I rated it 4. The game does have its moments but the story most makes me speechless. I'm talking BORING! So anyhow, a nice feature is that you can record videos of you playing and play them back. Expand
  6. Thuko
    Jun 28, 2004
    2
    It's NOT GOOD. It's NOT worth half the money. You can't be serious if you rate this a 10.. it sucks big time. It's a It's NOT GOOD. It's NOT worth half the money. You can't be serious if you rate this a 10.. it sucks big time. It's a major dissapointment, an huge anticlimax after all the waiting. No brilliant detailed graphics at all (everything looks terribly pixelated), the controls are terrible and the camera's rigid. All the cars drive the same (they all have the same saggy suspension that's fine with american cars, but not in place with smaller european vehicles) so the driving bit feels terribly dated. In fact *everything* feels dated. It feels like Driver 1 and it looks like driver 1. I guess they never intended it to look good on PS2. It feels and looks like a very bad PC-port. They should have spent more of the huge advertising budget on PS2 optimalization and learned from Rockstar. Shame on you, Reflections and Atari! Expand
  7. AverageGuy
    Jun 22, 2004
    0
    This was going to be a killer-game, or a publisher-killer.
    I think it could be the latter.
    After so many delays, and pumping so much money
    This was going to be a killer-game, or a publisher-killer.
    I think it could be the latter.
    After so many delays, and pumping so much money into this, Atari *had* to release it in order to try and recoup their losses.
    You can only polish a turd so much. This is an expensive turd - adios Atari.
    Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews

    Critical Misfires: 40 High-Profile Games with Disappointing Reviews Image
    Published: October 4, 2012
    Mediocre reviews for a high-profile videogame? It does happen from time to time, as the new release "Resident Evil 6" demonstrates. Inside, we look at 40 games from the past decade that earned disappointing reviews despite major anticipation.