Dynasty Warriors 4 PlayStation 2

  • Publisher: Koei
  • Release Date: Mar 25, 2003
  • Also On: PC
User Score
9.3

Universal acclaim- based on 200 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 200
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JimmyWoodnut
    Aug 21, 2004
    6
    Good 4 about 3 days but then is just plain boring i would recomend this game but not any of the other dynasty warrior games by the way if ure thinking of buying this game and have been put of buy me saying i got bored after 3 days i just wanna tell u that 3 days is good for me.
  2. AndrewL.
    Apr 15, 2003
    5
    Its fun, but sort of one-dimentional a little boring.
  3. AdamB.
    Mar 27, 2006
    7
    Serves as a great introduction to the series, but brings forth nothing fundamentally new. The character editor is a welcome addition, but lacks depth. The remixed music is inspired, and the dialog is as always, both informative and humorous. And the gameplay remains as flawlessly fluid as fans have come to expect. But after playing the Xtreme Legends or Empires games, the standard games Serves as a great introduction to the series, but brings forth nothing fundamentally new. The character editor is a welcome addition, but lacks depth. The remixed music is inspired, and the dialog is as always, both informative and humorous. And the gameplay remains as flawlessly fluid as fans have come to expect. But after playing the Xtreme Legends or Empires games, the standard games in the series feel just that: too standard. Expand
  4. XactingFlow
    May 19, 2003
    7
    It can be monotonous and repetitive. The music is a good thing. Edit-A-Warrior a bad thing. Too little options, too much similarity. Let's try and be creative for the next one if there will be a next one. Maybe a whole new series that blends Dynasty Warriors and Romance of the Three Kingdoms VII. That would be neat. Keep the brutal AI if you want. That's fine. It would be a lot It can be monotonous and repetitive. The music is a good thing. Edit-A-Warrior a bad thing. Too little options, too much similarity. Let's try and be creative for the next one if there will be a next one. Maybe a whole new series that blends Dynasty Warriors and Romance of the Three Kingdoms VII. That would be neat. Keep the brutal AI if you want. That's fine. It would be a lot more strategically challenging with the broadness of the RTK games and the upclose action of DW. I am unable to give it more than a 7 Expand
  5. RobL
    Nov 23, 2008
    7
    A lot of new features and levels, but it often dies on me mid-battle, sending me back to the menu unsaved (no not because of the start+select code) other times I simply fall over dead for no reason. there are quite a few bugs with the new moves. Leaving your commander alone for *one second* results in loss on higher difficulty settings. New and fun, but it doesnt feel right for me.A lot of new features and levels, but it often dies on me mid-battle, sending me back to the menu unsaved (no not because of the start+select code) other times I simply fall over dead for no reason. there are quite a few bugs with the new moves. Leaving your commander alone for *one second* results in loss on higher difficulty settings. New and fun, but it doesnt feel right for me. DW3 is still my fave Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2016
    7
    This and DW3 are my favourite games of the series. If I have to compare them I would say DW3 is more "stylish" or "cool" in terms of design and visual effects and has better gameplay (especially weapon drop system), while DW4 is darker/heavier and made every character weapon and attack more distinctive. Other than that DW3 is better. They both have good music though. DW3 is moreThis and DW3 are my favourite games of the series. If I have to compare them I would say DW3 is more "stylish" or "cool" in terms of design and visual effects and has better gameplay (especially weapon drop system), while DW4 is darker/heavier and made every character weapon and attack more distinctive. Other than that DW3 is better. They both have good music though. DW3 is more electronic, while DW4 is more rock/metal. Even if you think this series is **** it might be worth playing the 2 games just for the music!

    This game should be an 8 but the **** charge attack auto lock system absolutely killed the enjoyment. I wish there was a patch to remove the stupid target auto lock.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. Dynasty Warriors 4 is good, but it's the same kind of good that Koei has been releasing for almost three years now.
  2. Edge Magazine
    70
    Yes it is almost the same, but when it's brilliant fun, and no other publisher is releasing games like this, who cares? [June 2003, p.104]
  3. 80
    AI is greatly improved.