Dynasty Warriors 5 Empires PlayStation 2

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Dynasty Warriors 5 Empires Image
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 24 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In Dynasty Warriors 5 Empires, the armies of the kingdom are at your command. The player's ultimate goal is to conquer the 25 regions of Ancient China and build an entire Empire using cunning diplomacy and uncompromising force. Before each battle, the player will meet with the war council toIn Dynasty Warriors 5 Empires, the armies of the kingdom are at your command. The player's ultimate goal is to conquer the 25 regions of Ancient China and build an entire Empire using cunning diplomacy and uncompromising force. Before each battle, the player will meet with the war council to decide upon military and political policies for the kingdom, then it's time for war. The game gives armchair generals total control of their kingdom. Now, gamers can issue direct orders to each officer or signal general commands to officers on the field. Players will order when the army will take the offensive, defend their ground, or have all officers gather for an ambush. Gamers can also choose the officers for an attack force, entice captives into joining the kingdom's service and even expel officers from the kingdom. There's even greater authority over Government, Product Development, Diplomacy and Battle Tactics with the game's 25 new policies for a total of 75 in all. The game's imperial-sized action includes 4 scenarios to unlock, 2-Player Co-Op play in "Empire" and "Free" modes, new items to unlock, and control of over 200 officers! Once the dust has settled, there's the real history of Ancient China to discover in the game's detailed Encyclopedia. [KOEI] Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 23
  2. Negative: 4 out of 23
  1. Empires makes the series bigger and better than ever with new scenarios, large scale battles, new policies and plenty of strategy to keep your mind fully engaged.
  2. Play Magazine
    85
    In the fusion of strategy and action, the game proves itself worthy of continuing the Dynasty. [May 2006, p.53]
  3. 80
    Empires provides equal portions of action and strategy, and dishes out an adventure that will gleefully eat up huge chunks of players' time.
  4. Official Playstation 2 Magazine UK
    60
    We're tired of the senseless bloodshed, so the core action drags - the tactical elements are definitely improving though. [July 2006, p.89]
  5. Game Informer
    60
    If you like this franchise's simple brand of mind-numbing hack 'n slash action, then Dynasty Warriors 5: Empires will deliver exactly what you want: more of the same. [May 2006, p.98]
  6. Games Master UK
    55
    Feels archaic, despite the additions. Best wait for Koei's PS3 output. [July 2006, p.84]
  7. Play UK
    35
    Shun this bloody awful game. [Issue 141, p.90]

See all 23 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. AlecS.
    May 21, 2006
    10
    This game's AWSOME! especially that u can play online!!! i have the new ps2 that includes a network adapter inside of it! so you dont This game's AWSOME! especially that u can play online!!! i have the new ps2 that includes a network adapter inside of it! so you dont have to plug in, and this game's really cool, i like playing multiplayer with friends etc. Collapse
  2. AdamB.
    Apr 9, 2006
    9
    Improves upon the last installment of Empires in almost every way. DW veterans will appreciate the inclusion of a playlist-type feature (with Improves upon the last installment of Empires in almost every way. DW veterans will appreciate the inclusion of a playlist-type feature (with over 100 music tracks), along with new strategic elements in both planning and action phases. The two-player mode is nearly unplayable due to pop-up issues, and the game in general is very imbalanced at times, both in favor of and against the player. Once all scenarios are completed, which takes around 20 to 30 hours, the game loses the majorty of its replay value. The voice acting is superb, although characters repeat phrases so often it becomes grating to the ear (expect to hear the word "base" upwards of 10 times per minute). The omission of an online mode of play, and multiplayer vs. in empire mode continues to hold the series back, but overall it is a very enjoyable game. Expand
  3. CareyA.
    Jun 6, 2006
    9
    This is an excellent strategy game. I love strategy games, but dynasty warriors 5 empire is the first strategy game that I get excited about. This is an excellent strategy game. I love strategy games, but dynasty warriors 5 empire is the first strategy game that I get excited about. Sure it has some flaws, and they can be aggravating, but overall it Expand
  4. AdamM.
    Jul 4, 2006
    9
    its a great game everything is ace stratagey and controling your officers in battle is ace. but for experianced dynasty warriors players its its a great game everything is ace stratagey and controling your officers in battle is ace. but for experianced dynasty warriors players its quite easy and vetran players can finish it quite fast. Expand
  5. Mar 27, 2016
    9
    I miss this game the whole idea being that you can unleash strategies through the cards you get makes the game that much better. Love itI miss this game the whole idea being that you can unleash strategies through the cards you get makes the game that much better. Love it really wish the newer games had things like this... Expand
  6. FueV.
    Aug 16, 2006
    8
    We as koei fan, in future game of dynasty, we like to see the graphic like dynasty warrior 3, instand of 4 and 5. because the 3 graphic is We as koei fan, in future game of dynasty, we like to see the graphic like dynasty warrior 3, instand of 4 and 5. because the 3 graphic is much better and it's more realytic. however, we like to see each troop represent each number. not just 20 troops represent 20,000 troops. for example if u have 5,000 troops can koei make 5,000 soldiers instand of 20 soldiers. or reduce the maximane troop to 2,000 instand of 20,000 in DW5-E and make 2,000 soldiers. Expand

Awards & Rankings

#90 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2006
#84 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2006