Fight Club Image
Metascore
36

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 28 Critics What's this?

User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 19 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Learn the 8 Rules of Fight Club. In the underground world of Fight Club, the fight isn't over until someone goes limp, taps out, or is beaten. Immerse yourself in this gritty, visceral world of bare-knuckle fighting, with action, story elements and environments true to the Fight Club movie. The extreme realism of the game will make you feel every punch and kick by delivering shocking visuals, untraditional moves, and special effects in fully interactive environments. [Vivendi Universal] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 28
  2. Negative: 23 out of 28
  1. Plays surprisingly well on its foundation of three schools of combat: brawler, marial artist, and grappler. Place it next to Japan's best and the game gets pummeled. [Nov 2004, p.75]
  2. It's a flawed and shallow button masher (very few moves and no technique) but also visually alluring and reasonably entertaining for a second-tier fighting game.
  3. The fighting mechanics are highly outdated and just don't reach to the heights of something like "VF4."
  4. 40
    It's hard to figure how they could have got the story, characters, and point more wrong than this. Perhaps by replacing Tyler Durden with, say, Dick Cheney, things would have been worse.
  5. A resounding failure. Unless you're a masochistic Fight Club fan looking to purposely have your sensibilities offended, then you'd be well advised to stay far away from this game.
  6. The absence of Ed Norton's and Brad Pitt's likenesses makes the generic characters look like a pack of half-naked Ken dolls, excepting the one with man boobs. [Dec 2004, p.108]
  7. Sure, it's pretty generic underneath it all, but the layering of sheer badness elevates it to a certain legendary state. Give it a rent, and let the hilarity begin at the fact everything comes off as either a really clever parody of licensed games-or one of the worst things you've ever had to play.

See all 28 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 10 out of 15
  1. BrockV.
    Jan 12, 2005
    10
    The first rule of Fight Club PS2...play it until your fingers hurt! HA! Seriously, i thought this game was a very very good adaptation of the movie. I'm playing it right now with my other hand! Great work, I can't wait to play this game again after I'm done this time! Expand
  2. CristopherP.
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    Finally a game that I really enjoyed!The characters skins do not look supernatural like mk or tekken.I also liked the idea of creating your own characters although the options where limited. Collapse
  3. Mar 4, 2014
    8
    Grimy little fighting game. Silly, trashy and short, the first game I've ever finished in one go. Good stuff if you enjoyed the movie and want to beat up a big chested Meatloaf . Expand
  4. A
    Nov 23, 2004
    1
    I honestly thought this game was gonna be something great, especially with the advances in the gaming industry. But I was extremely disappointed. The story line sucked, it was not at all challenging. And the cut scenes were all stills not action, what the heck is going on. I do not reccomend you buy nor even rent the game. Expand
  5. Dec 8, 2013
    1
    This is one of the worst games I have ever played, the game is a fighting game and in all regards a really horrible one at that. I couldn't get pass the forth level and to be honest I still would of hated it, graphics were very aged even by PS2 standards. The controls are be on worthless, the tutorial is down right worthless and I fell like the my time was wasted on this game forget about this game and watch the movie once because just like the game it only takes one viewing for you to forget about your experience. Expand
  6. DragonKnightofFinalFantasy
    Nov 26, 2004
    1
    This is a load of CRAP!! A button mashing glitchy pile of shovelware. Not only is the movie crud, the game is being released 4-5 years after the movie's premeire geez it's sorta unresponive and the health bar IS REALLY GLITCHY once I was fighting in the game and all of a sudden Player 2's health shoots up from critical to full while mine's stay critical and never ever boosts up! WTF!? Also all I have to do is button mash to win if the other's player's health doesn't shoot up tremendously. Also the characters whebn injured look really strange, unatural,and disfigured BLEH! Run far far away from this fighting game disgrace. Expand
  7. Gak
    Dec 3, 2004
    0
    Its either smash(10) or trash(9). This game came quite close to being ditched in a cess pool. It was such a dissapointment I returned the game an hour later and proclaimed that it didn't work just to exchange it with a better game. Seriously think to yourself if you liked the movie then buy that, if you think the game will be good like that...well lets just say I cried like a one legged man in an ass kicking contest. Expand

See all 15 User Reviews