User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RichH.
    Mar 1, 2006
    5
    Terrible sequel, back to the dark days of EA's barely indistinguishable yearly updates. Offers absolutely nothing new over Fight Night 2.
  2. Michael
    Mar 20, 2006
    4
    Fight Night Round 2 delivered a lot better what 3 copied and badly, buggy graphics, changes to cutman system and lack of actual speed and movement fluid to the sport ruined this on PS2
  3. Tony
    Mar 3, 2006
    8
    This game is a mixed bag. It is a step down from Round 2 in terms of presentation and career mode (and it's not like Rnd 2 had a great career mode itself). And the soundtrack is good, but could seriously use some more tracks. The number of real fighters leave a lot to be desired. So in those respects it is disappointing. But when it comes down to the "meat and potatoes" of the game, This game is a mixed bag. It is a step down from Round 2 in terms of presentation and career mode (and it's not like Rnd 2 had a great career mode itself). And the soundtrack is good, but could seriously use some more tracks. The number of real fighters leave a lot to be desired. So in those respects it is disappointing. But when it comes down to the "meat and potatoes" of the game, the gameplay itself, it shines. Rnd 3 does a good job of toning down the haymakers, or at least making it a little more difficult to pull off (you have to set them up properly and timing is key). I just hope the next installment does a better job with delivering a more compelling career mode. And it really SHOULD, seeing as how it will definitely have to comeout on all of the next generation of consoles. Expand
  4. JesseM.
    Mar 26, 2007
    9
    Best boxing game i ever played, besides the old school knockout for nintendo.
  5. MikeG.
    Mar 30, 2006
    7
    Same game as round 2, but more confusing when it comes to following your career. One online experience is enough to not wanna play ANY online games for a while. Online, created charictors just jab the whole 30 seconds that the fight lasts. Sad thing is that FNR3 had a represntitive on g4 w/kevin saying how good online play would be, fire that man. Never again should we consumers ever buy Same game as round 2, but more confusing when it comes to following your career. One online experience is enough to not wanna play ANY online games for a while. Online, created charictors just jab the whole 30 seconds that the fight lasts. Sad thing is that FNR3 had a represntitive on g4 w/kevin saying how good online play would be, fire that man. Never again should we consumers ever buy a EA game without first renting it. Expand
  6. AnonymousMC
    Jul 3, 2006
    7
    if you want a really good boxing game get fight night round 2 not 3.round 2 fells more realistic its more fun has even got better graphics.it also has more boxers than round 3.in round 3 they also messed up the cutman mode and also the create a champ mode.

    BUY FIGHT NIGHT ROUND 2.ROUND THREE IS A WASTE OF MONEY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  7. PhilH.
    Jul 8, 2006
    1
    Having played on the original 2004 version, round 3 is absolutely terrible. The movement is sluggish, every fighter plods like a snail and a boxer that is punched does not freeze for a couple of seconds as it does here. DO NOT listen to the favourable reviews elsewhere or purchase this blatant cashin, buy the 2004 version.
  8. JavierT.
    Aug 9, 2007
    2
    Yeah..this fools right. i bought fight night 2004 and it was the best game. i just bought round 3 last week expecting even more and what i got was very disappointing. ea sports slowed down the gamespeed, im guessing to make defensive easier...well it sucks...and the espn announcer says the same stuff over and over again. they need to get mike tyson in one of these games
  9. SteveH.
    Mar 17, 2006
    9
    the best game of the fight night series so far. not good enough-sized roster of fighters considering how many knockout kings 2001 had, and that was almost 5 years ago! it also lacks in presentation as well. more than one announcer would have been nice. also a more tv-style presentation as well. the gameplay is great. no haymaker-only fights anymore. much more strategy involved. great the best game of the fight night series so far. not good enough-sized roster of fighters considering how many knockout kings 2001 had, and that was almost 5 years ago! it also lacks in presentation as well. more than one announcer would have been nice. also a more tv-style presentation as well. the gameplay is great. no haymaker-only fights anymore. much more strategy involved. great create-a-player options too. Expand
  10. JoeK.
    Mar 31, 2006
    8
    Great grahics, great fun! The loading freezes up on my PS2 sometimes after a Title Fight, and that is VERY annoying because I have to start over. Other than that, I think this game is at the top of its, uh... game. I've yet to play a game where you can sutomize the cahracter with such amazing detail. They need to add some world locations to fight at, EA needs snatch the licences of Great grahics, great fun! The loading freezes up on my PS2 sometimes after a Title Fight, and that is VERY annoying because I have to start over. Other than that, I think this game is at the top of its, uh... game. I've yet to play a game where you can sutomize the cahracter with such amazing detail. They need to add some world locations to fight at, EA needs snatch the licences of some of the great fighters that aren't in the game, like Butter Bean and Little Mac. Collapse
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Round 3 certainly doesn't shirk in the gameplay department one bit, as it has everything Round 2 offered and more. [Mar 2006, p.98]
  2. 90
    The best boxing game in the business keeps getting better.
  3. Fight Night Round 3 takes the sweet science of boxing to bloody new levels, and he results are certainly impressive. [Mar 2006, p.40]