Final Fantasy X-2 PlayStation 2

Final Fantasy X-2 Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 416 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Taking place two years after Yuna's fateful journey to defeat Sin, the once chaotic world "Eternal Calm." The people of Spira now shun the teachings of Yevon and have opened their arms to former foes, the Al Bhed and the use of machina. It is a time of the "Machina Revolution" where peopleTaking place two years after Yuna's fateful journey to defeat Sin, the once chaotic world "Eternal Calm." The people of Spira now shun the teachings of Yevon and have opened their arms to former foes, the Al Bhed and the use of machina. It is a time of the "Machina Revolution" where people now believe that machina is useful and beneficial, as long as it is used properly. However, even with the peaceful life they now lived, there is emptiness in Yunaís heart that is keeping her from moving on as the others have. One day, Yuna obtains a mystical sphere that contains imagery of what might be the Blitzball player she thought was gone forever. Although Yuna isnít certain that it is him or if he is even alive, she's driven to seek him out. Yuna needs closure to their unexpected parting, even if only to find that she will never see him again. So begins her journey, this is Yuna's story. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. Cheat Code Central
    100
    It's a quality production from start to finish, always letting fans in on the joke and treats the FF universe with great respect and more importantly, a sense of fun that is always present on both sides of the screen simultaneously. Your Diva's await...
  2. Play Magazine
    91
    Square has taken a risk with Final Fantasy X-2, and even if they don't always hit the mark, when they do, it's a glorious cupid shot right through our FF-Loving hearts. [Dec 2003, p.67]
  3. A respectable follow-up, but it doesn't come close to rekindling the magic of the original. [Dec 2003, p.132]
  4. 84
    FFX-2 will keep the FF fan on the edge of their seat, but may cause the average gamer to die of boredom.
  5. At its best, FFX-2 is every bit as poignant, endearing, and engrossing as its forebears, and it's this similarity to stronger games in the series that ultimately makes X-2's minor flaws forgivable.
  6. X-2 comes off as a flashy expansion pack, and not the full fledged sequel promised. The mission-based approach will work for some, but to me, it comes off as a cheap excuse to skimp out on a proper narrative.

See all 45 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 132
  2. Negative: 21 out of 132
  1. MichelleM.
    Apr 27, 2005
    10
    THIS GAME IS THE BEST! thats all i can say THIS GAME IS THE BEST EVER! anywais g2g
  2. Josh
    Feb 26, 2004
    10
    Square revolution.
  3. May 2, 2013
    10
    In my opinion, the best Final Fantasy title on Playstation 2. Also, I think this is the best one since the Super Nintendo titles wereIn my opinion, the best Final Fantasy title on Playstation 2. Also, I think this is the best one since the Super Nintendo titles were released, they had something going, too bad they messed it up with 11 and 12. Expand
  4. BrianO.
    Dec 11, 2003
    9
    This game is good I love the new spin and yuna and riku are complimented by an interesting character paine I look forward to playing it againThis game is good I love the new spin and yuna and riku are complimented by an interesting character paine I look forward to playing it again and again before getting the bonus ending. Expand
  5. Mai
    Apr 24, 2004
    8
    It's not as good as ffx but allowed more freedom. The battle systems good but way too easy, I found that battle was over before it It's not as good as ffx but allowed more freedom. The battle systems good but way too easy, I found that battle was over before it started! The beginning was a bit too charlie's angels but it got better, and the song 1000 words is good. It's a good game and the only things keeping me from giving it a 10 is the fact that the beginnig is a let down and game play too easy. I was expecting more of a challenge. Still, can't stop playing! Expand
  6. IreprepA.
    Nov 26, 2003
    7
    Disappointment! The music is totally crap. I mean what kind of an idiot did they had composing this garbage? Not a good idea not having mr. Disappointment! The music is totally crap. I mean what kind of an idiot did they had composing this garbage? Not a good idea not having mr. Uematsu doing the tunes. And then the charachters. Oh boy. Rikku is sexy but.. This game does not have the magic of Final Fantasy. I have put my hopes on FF XII. Expand
  7. EricB.
    Dec 2, 2003
    0
    Game sucks, I've played every single Final Fantasy from 1-X2. This and Final Fantasy XI are by far the most horrible out of the series. Game sucks, I've played every single Final Fantasy from 1-X2. This and Final Fantasy XI are by far the most horrible out of the series. The Music is pure crap, the whole game is a complete joke. No weapons, No Armor, No Limit Breaks, No Overdrives, No Aeons. Garmet Grids and Dress Spheres?? This game should be called Final Fantasy: Barbie. Its so feminine, I can't believe so many GUYS are giving it the praise it DOES NOT deserve. Horrible game. Expand

See all 132 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Data Tracker: How Does "Final Fantasy XIII" Compare?

    Data Tracker: How Does
    Published: March 9, 2010
    The newest installment in the 23-year-old Final Fantasy franchise arrives in stores this week. How does it compare to past titles in the series?

Awards & Rankings

#1 Most Discussed PS2 Game of 2003
#4 Most Shared PS2 Game of 2003